> Methodist College KL Thread, Scholarships for Alvls/AUSMAT available!

TSinvinciblebunny
post Oct 24 2008, 03:19 PM, updated 15y ago

597 posts

2011 Merit & Special Scholarship Form (editable PDF)

Scholarship applications MUST be accompanied by a completed admission form and required documentation.

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Oct 13 2010, 10:10 PM
raymones89
post Oct 24 2008, 07:34 PM

281 posts

lol, promote tongue.gif
cmteo
post Oct 25 2008, 02:22 AM

190 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by cmteo: Apr 25 2010, 04:35 AM
evanesence117
post Oct 25 2008, 02:51 AM

769 posts

Well I graduated from MCKL, frankly it was quite good. I had 1 of those scholarships too
CluelessNick
post Oct 25 2008, 03:36 AM

322 posts

hey i wana ask is GCE o lvl counted as another A?
TSinvinciblebunny
post Oct 25 2008, 03:39 AM

597 posts

QUOTE(CluelessNick @ Oct 25 2008, 03:36 AM)
hey i wana ask is GCE o lvl counted as another A?
nope..

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Oct 25 2008, 03:39 AM
cmteo
post Oct 25 2008, 02:50 PM

190 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by cmteo: Apr 25 2010, 04:26 AM
TSinvinciblebunny
post Oct 25 2008, 06:29 PM

597 posts

PARTIAL LIST OF UNIVERSITY PLACEMENTS

UNITED KINGDOM

University of Cambridge
Oxford University
Imperial College
University of Manchester
London School of Economics
University of Leicester
University of Warwick
University of Kent
University of Durham
University of Leeds
University of Bristol
University of Glasgow
University of Cardiff
Oxford Brookes University
University of Birmingham

EUROPE

Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
University of Duisburg, Germany

NORTH AMERICA

Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada
University of Virginia

SINGAPORE

Nanyang Technological University
National University of Singapore

MALAYSIA

University of Nottingham
International Medical University
Melaka Manipal Medical College
Cyberjaya Medical University
HELP University College
Taylor's University College
International Islamic University
Curtin University of Technology, Sawarak
cmteo
post Oct 26 2008, 05:46 PM

190 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by cmteo: Apr 25 2010, 04:26 AM
ilovecookies92
post Oct 27 2008, 12:18 AM

SPM Candidate 2009ā„¢
765 posts

QUOTE(evanesence117 @ Oct 25 2008, 02:51 AM)
Well I graduated from MCKL, frankly it was quite good. I had 1 of those scholarships too
I am not a KL-ian, Methodist College is located around where and how long it takes from 1 Utama?
cmteo
post Oct 27 2008, 02:47 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(ilovecookies92 @ Oct 27 2008, 12:18 AM)
I am not a KL-ian, Methodist College is located around where and how long it takes from 1 Utama?
brickfields..go to the link below for location map
http://www.methodistcollegekl.edu.my/about...on/?layout=blog
ilovecookies92
post Oct 27 2008, 12:16 PM

SPM Candidate 2009ā„¢
765 posts

QUOTE(cmteo @ Oct 27 2008, 02:47 AM)
brickfields..go to the link below for location map
http://www.methodistcollegekl.edu.my/about...on/?layout=blog
And yeah, I read the map you have posted. But it seems, I have no clue where is KL-Sentral. Never been there before.
TSinvinciblebunny
post Oct 28 2008, 07:28 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(ilovecookies92 @ Oct 27 2008, 12:16 PM)
And yeah, I read the map you have posted. But it seems, I have no clue where is KL-Sentral. Never been there before.
kl sentral is very near klcc lar...
CluelessNick
post Oct 28 2008, 08:40 PM

322 posts

eh can i ask my trials right ... now its 6 or 7a1 . then the rest is b3.

my school is own paper .... no jps ... do u guys think i stand a chance?
ilovecookies92
post Oct 28 2008, 08:57 PM

SPM Candidate 2009ā„¢
765 posts

QUOTE(CluelessNick @ Oct 28 2008, 08:40 PM)
eh can i ask my trials right ... now its 6 or 7a1 . then the rest is b3.

my school is own paper .... no jps ... do u guys think i stand a chance?
Yes. About 25%-50% partial scholarship.

Added on October 28, 2008, 8:57 pm
QUOTE(invinciblebunny @ Oct 28 2008, 07:28 PM)
Haiz, hopeless. I wish too, but too bad it won't be in my parent's list.

This post has been edited by ilovecookies92: Oct 28 2008, 08:57 PM
cmteo
post Oct 29 2008, 12:26 PM

190 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by cmteo: Apr 25 2010, 04:24 AM
Sarah0925
post Oct 29 2008, 02:09 PM

120 posts

Does Methodist College have any open days or whatsoever? So that we can go and have a look..
TSinvinciblebunny
post Oct 29 2008, 09:27 PM

597 posts

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Apr 25 2010, 04:22 AM
cmteo
post Oct 30 2008, 12:49 AM

190 posts

[cool.gif[/b]
[url][/url]

This post has been edited by cmteo: Apr 25 2010, 04:25 AM
Sarah0925
post Oct 30 2008, 11:52 AM

120 posts

can i know how much's the fee for a levels arts 4 subjects? for the whole 1 & 1/2 yrs. thx.

hm. actually im pretty interested wink.gif where's the exact location? do you have a map of it? when can i go? weekdays or weekends? around what time? morning? noon? will there be someone to bring me ard to college to have a tour of it?
cmteo
post Oct 30 2008, 03:30 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(Sarah0925 @ Oct 30 2008, 11:52 AM)
can i know how much's the fee for a levels arts 4 subjects? for the whole 1 & 1/2 yrs. thx.

hm. actually im pretty interested wink.gif where's the exact location? do you have a map of it? when can i go? weekdays or weekends? around what time? morning? noon? will there be someone to bring me ard to college to have a tour of it?
All the information is on their website... smile.gif

Website ==> www.methodistcollegekl.edu.my

This post has been edited by cmteo: Apr 25 2010, 04:40 AM
Sarah0925
post Oct 30 2008, 09:12 PM

120 posts

mm. k. but the fees page can't be viewed.

This post has been edited by Sarah0925: Oct 30 2008, 09:15 PM
neorelated4
post Oct 30 2008, 11:10 PM

130 posts

I'm not going there but i have the pamphlet.

A lvl fees for 2009

Tuition fee:(per semester)
-3 subj 4k
-4subj 4.5k
-3 subj(march intake only) 3.2k
-4 subj(march intake only) 3.6k

science lab fees:(per science subject per semester) RM400

ICT lab fees(per semester) RM300

MQA subjects(per subject) RM150

registration fee RM300

student activity fee RM500

academic resource fee RM900

refundable deposit RM500

insurance RM40

Sarah0925
post Oct 30 2008, 11:14 PM

120 posts

thanks^^ for march intake rite, isit 3.6k per semester for 3 semesters?
cmteo
post Oct 31 2008, 06:05 PM

190 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by cmteo: Apr 25 2010, 04:36 AM
TSinvinciblebunny
post Oct 31 2008, 06:11 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(Sarah0925 @ Oct 30 2008, 11:14 PM)
thanks^^ for march intake rite, isit 3.6k per semester for 3 semesters?
3.6k is for the 1st sem only.

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Oct 31 2008, 06:11 PM
Sarah0925
post Oct 31 2008, 09:27 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(cmteo @ Oct 31 2008, 06:05 PM)
As a past scholarship holder, I really would like to see people applying for this, because I felt it was one of the most important opportunities in my life, and I do not regret studying there. I met so many interesting and opinionated people, had inspiring teachers, discovered a passion for a subject I'd never thought I'd like, and experienced a whole different sort of education. That was probably the best thing about having the chance to be part of a small college community.
ooh. hm but actually im wondering...less people=less social life rite?
terrior147
post Nov 1 2008, 08:00 PM

53 posts

is the scholarship alot?... or is it guaranteed if got gud results for my forecast and not bad extra curicular activities? ... past scholarship holder pls giv some info on it thx...
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 2 2008, 10:56 PM

12,696 posts

From MCKL's website:
1. 97% passing rate out of 102 students who sat for their final A-Level examination.
2. 32% of our students scored 3A’s and above

32% with 3A's and above. Very impressive. Have anyone got comparative figures from Taylor or Sunway? My guess is, I doubt not even Taylor or Sunway can match those percentage figures. Even more impressive when you consider the fact JPA do not send their scholar to this college, unlike Taylor.

Added on November 2, 2008, 11:18 pm
QUOTE(Sarah0925 @ Oct 31 2008, 09:27 PM)
ooh. hm but actually im wondering...less people=less social life rite?
I knew this college pretty well. If your purpose is to have a unchecked social life and boyfriends and girlfriend etc, then MCKL is probably not for you. Nor is it for you if you wanted fanciful modern facilities to impress your friends, thought this may be changing.

On the other hand, if you wanted a academically focused & friendly & pastoral environment, then MCKL is for you. I doubt there is another similar college with such environment and impressive academic records as MCKL in KL. IMO, that is because they are still 100% owned by the Methodist church but they welcome student from any other religious background and they don't go out to change your belief. Their main focuses are education and character building.

So from a parent point of view and student with enough mature thinking, MCKL should be top choice.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Nov 2 2008, 11:19 PM
Sarah0925
post Nov 3 2008, 12:27 PM

120 posts

ic. cuz imo, a good social life is important also cuz u'll be going out to society working soon and all that, but not as in bf/gf kind =) thx.

btw. does anyone know what's the passing rate & results of taylor's and Help's a lvl?
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 3 2008, 12:48 PM

12,696 posts

It does not mean no social life. Think of it as this way. If you are being distracted by bf/gf and your academic results suffers as a result, they will call up your parent.

I have an old Taylor's 2006 newspaper advertisement. It listed 1047A's. 61 with 5As. 71 with 4As. 72 with 3As. I inquired and was told there were about 800 students in that batch. That means <25.5% with 3As and above. I also have a Yayasan UEM newspaper advertisement and I think theirs was also around the 25% region. But bear in mind these 2 college do get very good student to start off with, aka JPA scholars. I don't think JPA send their scholar to MCKL.

Anyone got newer data? It would be very interesting to compare.
TSinvinciblebunny
post Nov 3 2008, 11:25 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Nov 3 2008, 12:48 PM)
It does not mean no social life. Think of it as this way. If you are being distracted by bf/gf and your academic results suffers as a result, they will call up your parent.

I have an old Taylor's 2006 newspaper advertisement. It listed 1047A's. 61 with 5As. 71 with 4As. 72 with 3As. I inquired and was told there were about 800 students in that batch. That means <25.5% with 3As and above. I also have a Yayasan UEM newspaper advertisement and I think theirs was also around the 25% region. But bear in mind these 2 college do get very good student to start off with, aka JPA scholars. I don't think JPA send their scholar to MCKL.

Anyone got newer data? It would be very interesting to compare.
I have an old Taylor's 2007 newspaper ad. It listed 13.2% achieved at least 4As while 18.3% obtained at least 3As. The pass rate for 2007 was 95.3%, an increase from 2006’s 93.5%.

Sarah0925
post Nov 4 2008, 09:20 PM

120 posts

so it's like 31.5% scored 3As and above..
so i guess MCKL's results not bad as well =)
but why TAYLOR has the Name and not MCKL?
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 5 2008, 07:14 AM

12,696 posts

Big advertisement budget. Modern facilities like library and banks of computers with big "wow" factors. JPA scholars. The "must be" place for those who fear Kiasu. Of course, must also have good teachers etc. But so many students so how to know each of them well? But they are undeniably a big commercial success with good track records.

MCKL. Old fashion focus on teaching and just as importantly, character building. And of course older facilities with decisively low "wow" factor in comparison. Small in size so can provide friendly environment whereby teacher know their student very well. Pastoral care. Not surprising because this college still belongs to the Methodist church. In the past, they do give 1/2 fee to student of the Methodist faith almost automatically.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Nov 5 2008, 09:19 AM
yongyc
post Nov 5 2008, 07:30 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(Sarah0925 @ Nov 4 2008, 09:20 PM)
but why TAYLOR has the Name and not MCKL?
Private education institution operated under the Methodist Church is famous for NOT advertising commercially for their success. Their name is made known through word of mouth.

MCKL sister school Wesley Methodist School is so well known for their outstanding results in PMR and SPM that the number of applicants vying for the 180 seats available has always been increasing every year and I heard this year there were 600 applicants who sat for the entrance exam for entry into form 1 next year.

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Nov 5 2008, 07:14 AM)
In the past, they do give 1/2 fee to student of the Methodist faith almost automatically.
They still offer this.

This post has been edited by yongyc: Nov 5 2008, 07:38 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 5 2008, 09:35 AM

12,696 posts

Many of those previously church funded school of the old colonial days, be it Catholic or Methodist or whatever, are often one of the very best school in town all over the country. They often have more students wanting to get in than there are places for. But the reverse is happening to MCKL with not many students wanting to go there.

I believe it’s because students only knew about it via word of mouth and not via newspaper advertisement, hence fewer. A pity because I think MCKL is one of the very few, if not the only, 100% owned by the Methodist church offering pre university courses in Malaysia. And with one of the very best result anywhere. Even the famous Taylor couldn't beat her, despite having JPA scholars as students. And I think MCKL is losing money but still do it with the support of the church. May be money isn’t everything to them but higher calling is. Personally, I am very impressed with MCKL.
neorelated4
post Nov 5 2008, 12:22 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(yongyc @ Nov 5 2008, 07:30 AM)
Private education institution operated under the Methodist Church is famous for NOT advertising commercially for their success.  Their name is made known through word of mouth.

MCKL sister school Wesley Methodist School is so well known for their outstanding results in PMR and SPM that the number of applicants vying for the 180 seats available has always been increasing every year and I heard this year there were 600 applicants who sat for the entrance exam for entry into form 1 next year.
They still offer this.

I am currently studying in WMS the sister school. good studies wise. but prepare to lose social life and some rules are ridiculous. there is no doubt MCKL provides good education. But for me I think I can jaga my own studies. I'd rather be more exposed and get a life after 5 yrs of almost hell haha. depends on the student. Would advise weaker students to go to MCKL though. it's cheap some more. wink.gif
Sarah0925
post Nov 5 2008, 11:09 PM

120 posts

hm im very very interested =) gonna pay MCKL a visit end of Nov =)
any current MCKL students here?
evanesence117
post Nov 6 2008, 01:46 AM

769 posts

QUOTE(invinciblebunny @ Oct 28 2008, 07:28 PM)
KL Sentral is NOT near KLCC WEI!!!!!

QUOTE(terrior147 @ Nov 1 2008, 08:00 PM)
is the scholarship alot?... or is it guaranteed if got gud results for my forecast and not bad extra curicular activities? ... past scholarship holder pls giv some info on it thx...
as long as u got the required results the scholarship will automatically be given to u. I was a former holder of this scholarship
Sarah0925
post Nov 6 2008, 08:09 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(evanesence117 @ Nov 6 2008, 01:46 AM)
KL Sentral is NOT near KLCC WEI!!!!!
as long as u got the required results the scholarship will automatically be given to u. I was a former holder of this scholarship
ic. how do you ind MCKL? u studied Alvls there?
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 6 2008, 08:19 AM

12,696 posts

MCKL is about 700 meters from KL Sentral, the transportation hub of KL. LRT, rail, monorail and airport bus from KLIA/LCCT ended up there as well. Perfect for outstation students. From KL Sentral, you can practically go anywhere easily.

The monorail station, Tun Sambanthan monorail station is right n next to it.

http://www.malaysiasite.nl/klsentraleng.htm
TSinvinciblebunny
post Nov 10 2008, 08:39 AM

597 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Apr 25 2010, 04:18 AM
cmteo
post Nov 19 2008, 12:47 PM

190 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by cmteo: Apr 25 2010, 04:28 AM
Sarah0925
post Nov 19 2008, 10:26 PM

120 posts

can anyone tell me whats the difference btwn alvls and ausmat? which is better in terms of recognability and all. thx
TSinvinciblebunny
post Nov 20 2008, 06:46 AM

597 posts

QUOTE(Sarah0925 @ Nov 19 2008, 10:26 PM)
can anyone tell me whats the difference btwn alvls and ausmat? which is better in terms of recognability and all. thx
GCE A Level by the London Examinations Board
International Students can also take up the A Level programmes conducted by the prestigious London Examinations and delivered by Edexcel International. The London Examinations GCE Advanced Levels are exactly the same as the examination in the UK. International students sit for the same examination papers as students in the UK and candidates are awarded certificates of the same standard regardless of where they are in the world.

The London GCE A Level is accredited by the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority (QCA) of the United Kingdom. The qualifications consist of two sets of three units; Advanced Subsidiary (AS) units, generally studied in year one, and A2 units, studied in year two.

Both Science and Arts subjects are available for students who have just completed their SPM or O Level examinations (or its equivalent). The programme is flexible and may be completed in 18 months (3 semesters). Students may take the examination in stages or in one sitting. Most subjects comprise 6 modular units. Students are also allowed to re-sit a unit for an unlimited number of times and only the better grade will be counted. There are two examinations conducted per year (in January and
June). Most combinations of at least 3 subjects are acceptable as entry qualifications to many universities in the world for their undergraduate programmes.

Western Australian Matriculation (AUSMAT)
The Western Australian Matriculation (AUSMAT) is the final year (Year 12) of the secondary school programme offered by the government of Western Australia to enable entry into year one Bachelor’s degree programmes of most universities around the world, such as Australia, the UK, New Zealand, the US, Canada, and private universities in Malaysia.

The AUSMAT is an internationally-recognised pre-university programme administered by the Curriculum Council of Western Australia on behalf of the Western Australian government. Students are graded based on their performance throughout the year, i.e. 50% course and project work and 50% final examination. This arrangement not only helps to remove pressure from the single year-end assessment, but also provides opportunities for the usage of a variety of assessment techniques
in determining the students’ standard of achievement.

The entry requirement into AUSMAT is SPM, O Level certificate or other equivalent qualifications, with a minimum of five credits in the subjects of Science and Mathematics. The student intakes are in January and March. The examination session occurs once a year in the first week of November. The course duration is between eight to 10 months and students are required to take up five subjects including either English or ESL.

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Nov 20 2008, 06:48 AM
Sarah0925
post Nov 20 2008, 09:35 PM

120 posts

so i take Alvls or take Ausmat also can go to Australia then? then which should i take if i were to go to Australia? What if i were to go Singapore? since both also can, which is better?
cmteo
post Nov 20 2008, 11:11 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(Sarah0925 @ Nov 20 2008, 09:35 PM)
so i take Alvls or take Ausmat also can go to Australia then? then which should i take if i were to go to Australia? What if i were to go Singapore? since both also can, which is better?
dependable. both alvls and ausmat are accepted in singapore.

This post has been edited by cmteo: Nov 20 2008, 11:12 PM
Panda12
post Nov 21 2008, 04:38 AM

1,107 posts

where is it ar>? hmm.gif is this a good college?
TSinvinciblebunny
post Nov 21 2008, 05:31 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(Panda12 @ Nov 21 2008, 04:38 AM)
is this a good college?
yup..check out their latest A-Level and AUSMAT results..

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Nov 21 2008, 05:32 PM
Sarah0925
post Nov 21 2008, 08:03 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(cmteo @ Nov 20 2008, 11:11 PM)
dependable. both alvls and ausmat are accepted in singapore.
so which do you think i should go for? Alvls or Ausmat? Since both also can.
cmteo
post Nov 21 2008, 09:12 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(Sarah0925 @ Nov 21 2008, 08:03 PM)
Alvls, since it is the most common pre-U programme for m'sian.
Panda12
post Nov 21 2008, 10:01 PM

1,107 posts

do they provide courses like engineering?
Princess90
post Nov 23 2008, 12:14 AM

289 posts

Oh crap!!!!! Should've went to mckl for AUSMAT! REGRETZ....
Sarah0925
post Nov 23 2008, 11:57 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(Princess90 @ Nov 23 2008, 12:14 AM)
Oh crap!!!!! Should've went to mckl for AUSMAT! REGRETZ....
why? mind telling where you're studying currently? is that place not good?
im choosing where to study now. might be MCKL, but i dowana regret after choosing.
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 23 2008, 08:13 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Sarah0925 @ Nov 21 2008, 08:03 PM)
If you wanted to go to UK university, A Level may be better. But if you wanted to do UK medicine, A Level is MUCH better.

If you wanted to go to Australia Uni, both can do. And AUSMAT is shorter course.

Overall, I think A Level is more widely accepted.

Ian41
post Dec 7 2008, 06:06 PM

Please contact us at 03-22741851 for further information. Hurry! The registration is open from now till 31 December 2008.

The next intake for A-Level & AUSMAT will start on 5 January 2009.

i copied those words from the methodist college website..

does this mean that i can register for my A-level right now for my a-level january intake? or is it on 5january??

This post has been edited by Ian41: Dec 7 2008, 06:08 PM
Sarah0925
post Dec 7 2008, 08:52 PM

120 posts

Can register now. Start school on 5th Jan. You planning to enrol in A level at Methodist? I might be too =)
Ian41
post Dec 7 2008, 10:29 PM

ya i'm planning to study a-level in methodist college

their a-level result attracted me

This post has been edited by Ian41: Dec 7 2008, 10:47 PM
Dhang
post Dec 7 2008, 11:01 PM

131 posts

It would be nicer if their website includes the information on course fees. blink.gif

This post has been edited by Dhang: Dec 7 2008, 11:06 PM
Ian41
post Dec 8 2008, 12:38 PM

QUOTE(neorelated4 @ Oct 31 2008, 12:10 AM)
I'm not going there but i have the pamphlet.

A lvl fees for 2009

-3 subj 4k
-4subj 4.5k

registration fee RM300

refundable deposit RM500

insurance RM40
here..

404 - Page could not be found
http://www.methodistcollegekl.edu.my/admissions/fees#a-level
onimusha_m16
post Dec 8 2008, 01:12 PM

Mr Bean
1,239 posts

how many semester in total for this A-levels ?
Sarah0925
post Dec 8 2008, 05:48 PM

120 posts

3sems.

Added on December 8, 2008, 5:50 pm
QUOTE(Ian41 @ Dec 7 2008, 10:29 PM)
ya i'm planning to study a-level in methodist college

their a-level result attracted me
me too =)
wht secondary are u frm?
wht subjects will u be taking in alvl?

This post has been edited by Sarah0925: Dec 8 2008, 05:50 PM
Ian41
post Dec 8 2008, 10:12 PM

i'm taking biology, chemistry, physics and mathematics

This post has been edited by Ian41: Dec 17 2008, 11:37 AM
TSinvinciblebunny
post Dec 14 2008, 07:19 PM

597 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Apr 25 2010, 04:17 AM
mskvenn
post Dec 15 2008, 12:28 PM

53 posts

LOL! This topic title should be changed into Methodist College KL. tongue.gif

I'm also interested in this college. What about the teachers and is the college recognised? How is it compared to TARC? I'll probably follow my brother's footstep and go to TARC but I don't really want to. In addition, this college is near to my home!

Thank you! notworthy.gif
Ian41
post Dec 15 2008, 02:48 PM

QUOTE(mskvenn @ Dec 15 2008, 01:28 PM)
LOL! This topic title should be changed into Methodist College KL.  tongue.gif

I'm also interested in this college. What about the teachers and is the college recognised? How is it compared to TARC? I'll probably follow my brother's footstep and go to TARC but I don't really want to. In addition, this college is near to my home!
Thank you!  notworthy.gif
LOL i've a brother that go to TARC also..

and i do agree that the title should be change to methodist college kl
TSinvinciblebunny
post Dec 15 2008, 03:15 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(Ian41 @ Dec 15 2008, 02:48 PM)
LOL i've a brother that go to TARC also..

and i do agree that the title should be change to methodist college kl
Thanks for feedback. Have modified.
ilovecookies92
post Dec 15 2008, 06:04 PM

SPM Candidate 2009ā„¢
765 posts

Would like to know it's accomodation. So how was it?? Had read through from the web, but still unsure whether they do provide fans or air-cond?

This post has been edited by ilovecookies92: Dec 15 2008, 06:05 PM
TSinvinciblebunny
post Dec 15 2008, 07:55 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(ilovecookies92 @ Dec 15 2008, 06:04 PM)
Would like to know it's accomodation. So how was it?? Had read through from the web, but still unsure whether they do provide fans or air-cond?
fans
SUSKuro91
post Dec 17 2008, 07:41 PM

43 posts

why doesnt methodist college advertise in the newspaper? how does methodist college attract students to their college?
TSinvinciblebunny
post Dec 18 2008, 09:52 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(Kuro91 @ Dec 17 2008, 07:41 PM)
why doesnt methodist college advertise in the newspaper? how does methodist college attract students to their college?
mckl is a not-for-profit college.
Sarah0925
post Dec 18 2008, 09:58 PM

120 posts

I'm gonna register with MCKL for Alvl jan09 intake nxt wk! =)
Mollai
post Dec 19 2008, 12:00 AM

481 posts

wow..i didn't know MCKL is a hot topic here...lol....
they really don't advertise much, but I was in WMS for few yrs..
they actually focus alot on grades even they say they don't..hahaha...the principle really mind his 'face'...kakaka...
SUSOptiplex330
post Dec 19 2008, 08:38 AM

12,696 posts

Given a choice, would you prefer a principal who wanted face so will make sure his student get good result or another principal who couldn't care less what you do?

From the student point of view, may be the latter.

From the same student who later grown up to be an adult, may be they will prefer the former.

SUSKuro91
post Dec 19 2008, 09:43 PM

43 posts

i heard from my friends that most of the students that study in methodist college is from wesley methodist. is that true?

This post has been edited by Kuro91: Dec 19 2008, 09:44 PM
Sarah0925
post Dec 30 2008, 08:06 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(Kuro91 @ Dec 19 2008, 09:43 PM)
i heard from my friends that most of the students that study in methodist college is from wesley methodist. is that true?
yeah. i went to register and tht guy told me so.
mskvenn
post Dec 30 2008, 08:14 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(Sarah0925 @ Dec 30 2008, 08:06 PM)
yeah. i went to register and tht guy told me so.
You registered today? Tell us what you think about the college when college starts. tongue.gif
SUSKuro91
post Jan 9 2009, 05:55 PM

43 posts

i want to ask is there any other club/society besides CF??
Sarah0925
post Jan 9 2009, 08:59 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(mskvenn @ Dec 30 2008, 08:14 PM)
You registered today? Tell us what you think about the college when college starts.  tongue.gif
hm. definitely not bad. pretty good in fact. i like the environment and the people there. all in all, i didn't regret choosing MCKL =)
silwen
post Jan 13 2009, 08:29 PM

103 posts

I am from the 0707 batch. There are a number of clubs/societies that have various activities. All are self funded and are typically small. In this case, small is good. It is easy to hold activities.

And we use air cons, not fans. Oh wait, we use both. The quality of lecturers is pretty good I'd say. The dedication is excellent. We even sms and e-mail our lecturers questions during the holidays. The environment is conducive. I think its great if there was a party life in college, but the core of college life, is to study.
Results wise, in terms of percentage, MCKL matches places like Taylors and HELP.

After A- levels, the students end up in various places. My batch is the graduating batch and some of us have conditional offers among them is a guy who's got an offer to LSE to read acturial science, another who's got an offer to Imperial College London, Manchester, Melbourne University and King's College London to read acturial science.
Another girl has offers to various universities to read English Literature, among them is King's College London.
Many students go on to do Medicine, both overseas and locally. Many do medicine locally because of financial restraints as most of us are not under scholarship. JPA and Bank Negara send their students to KTJ and KYUEM.

I personally chose MCKL over those two places. Never regreted it.
I have had a blast in the last year and a half. I am going to miss college.

TSinvinciblebunny
post Jan 23 2009, 11:57 AM

597 posts

anyone know how many students enroll in mckl this year?

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Jan 23 2009, 04:41 PM
cmteo
post Jan 23 2009, 01:36 PM

190 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by cmteo: Apr 25 2010, 04:38 AM
TSinvinciblebunny
post Jan 23 2009, 04:42 PM

597 posts

Can any current students give some comments about the course and environment in MCKL?

1) What is your experience that you gained in MCKL?

2) What activities that you have participated in MCKL?

3) Why you choose MCKL?

4) Do u enjoyed the small community in MCKL?

5) How are the lecturers and students in MCKL?

6) How is the environment in MCKL?

Thanks a lot.

SUSKuro91
post Jan 23 2009, 06:51 PM

43 posts

??

CF

3) Why you choose MCKL?
yes

IMO, some are good and some are not good
students are friendly

small
cmteo
post Jan 25 2009, 10:10 AM

190 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by cmteo: Apr 25 2010, 04:30 AM
onimusha_m16
post Jan 30 2009, 05:18 PM

Mr Bean
1,239 posts

What is the exact date of March intake ? If I got admitted into MCKL before I received my SPM result, can I apply the scholarship with my actual SPM result after I have received it ?
fhNicK
post Jan 30 2009, 06:36 PM

402 posts

2008 MCKL former student here.
Below are some of my opinions on MCKL.

- Not sure how to answer this, but MCKL helps as a transition from school to university.

- MCKL Annual Treasure Hunt, various sports such as basketball, table tennis and badminton.

3) Why you choose MCKL?
- Relatively low prices, as well as the scholarships offered there. Quite easy to get 50% - 100% scholarship with good results.

- Yes.

- There are some good lecturers there, willing to help you when you're stuck. Of course, there are a few 'lazy' ones as well. Students there are quite helpful as well.

- Quiet and peaceful.

However, as at 2009, construction for a new wing of the college has started, so the environment would be a bit noisy.

Enrolment for 2009:
AUSMAT = 60
A-Levels = 120+

And yes, you can apply for the scholarship when you receive your actual SPM results.

onimusha_m16
post Jan 30 2009, 10:42 PM

Mr Bean
1,239 posts

When will the construction of the new wing complete?? When does the March intake commence ?

This post has been edited by onimusha_m16: Jan 30 2009, 11:16 PM
TSinvinciblebunny
post Jan 31 2009, 03:37 AM

597 posts

QUOTE(onimusha_m16 @ Jan 30 2009, 10:42 PM)
When does the March intake commence ?
16 march

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Feb 6 2009, 11:56 PM
cmteo
post Feb 1 2009, 04:16 PM

190 posts

[cool.gif[/b]
[url][/url]

This post has been edited by cmteo: Apr 25 2010, 04:30 AM
TSinvinciblebunny
post Feb 1 2009, 04:41 PM

597 posts

Quoting this from MCKL Blog

disclaimer:
1. MCKL is NOT paying me money.
2. This is just my humble personal opinion

With the new year coming up, I'm pretty sure lots of students fresh off SPM are searching for "the next step".

The laziest of them would just fall into the advertising gimmick of Taylors and HELP. Look at the newspapers, your school magazines, fashion magazines, posters and such... Taylors and HELP are everywhere! It almost seems like they're the only ones offering A Levels.

The slightly lazier but smarter people would just google "best college for A Levels", "best college in KL for A Levels", "most happening college for A Levels", "cheapest college for A Levels".. the list goes on.

Well, my personal opinion is, Methodist College Kuala Lumpur or MCKL, is the best college for A Levels. At least, it was the best while I was there in 2006-2007.

Yes, it is small.
But small is what makes it good. We may be small, but we have quality. Small also means smaller classes and a better teacher-student ratio. Hence, better results.

Yes, it looks unimpressive.
Hence, the low fees. So what? Bad packaging, but it's the insides that count. It is proven that hi-tech buildings do not make you smarter. What do you need when studying for A levels? Do you need a gym? A dance studio, a tennis court, a foosball table and such? No! Also, they just end up being a distraction.

Yes, our library is small.
Do you actually need a huge library with 10,000 books in it? I'm in uni and I never borrowed a single book from its big and impressive library. What more A Levels. Besides, the MCKL lecturers are good enough =)

Yes, we do have fun.
So what if we don't have stuff. We still have fun! Despite a majority of our students having major exams every 6 months, we still have 3-4 fantastic events every semester that ALL students and lecturers attend. And every time is FUN!

No, we do not have Asia Cafe next door.
But we have a monorail that's built on former MCKL land, which leads straight to Bukit Bintang and Times Square. And we are walking distance away from KL Central which is ONE ktm stop away from MidValley, ONE lrt stop away from Petaling Street (yummy food =) and few stops away from KLCC. Even so, Brickfields itself has great food!

No, Brickfields is NOT a dangerous place.
What horror stories have you heard? =.=' BLIND people can walk around brickfields at ALL times of the day and they're safe. What makes you think we people with perfectly good eyesight are in danger? We're the ones bringing the danger instead! A clutz and a person who is oblivious to her surroundings like me can survive taking public transport to college everyday, why not you?

Yes, we do have international students.
Despite our tiny size, we do have quite a lot of international students especially in the July intake. They are kick ass young geniuses!

No, Methodist COLLEGE is NOT a school!
Methodist College is a COLLEGE. We do NOT wear school uniforms. It only offers A Levels, AUSMAT and Early Childhood Education (for future kindergaten teachers, it's not a kindergarten).

Yes, there's hardly any adverts.
It means the tuition fees you're paying isnt to pay for advertising.

Yes, there's plenty of gangster looking indians there (back in 2006-07)
So what?! These people are the REALLY SMART and very well mannered indians who are all future doctors and lawyers. They're VERY impressive people who end up inspiring the rest to "buck up" so we don't look too stupid compared to them.

The lecturers:

If I had to describe my lecturers in one word, I'd say "FANTASTIC!" and mean it in every fantastic way possible.

I took 3 subjects, Accounting, Economics and Law.

Accounting:
Mr Ferns. I'm now in Uni and I still say Mr Ferns is the BEST accounting lecturer! I was once one of the biggest accounting haters, and despite my mental wall against accounting, he changed my opinion in just a 10 minute introduction on my first day. He made everything in accounting, so simple! Besides accounting, he is a really knowledgeable man who taught us many other things in his spare time.

Economics:
Mrs Chiu. She's strict yet lenient very often. She has very strong moral stands and harps them into us every chance possible. Her lectures are GOOD! Write down EVERYthing she says! They're IMPORTANT! I still keep my notes from her classes to this day. Also, she marked every single past year paper I did on my own and guided me through personally on how to improve my answers.

Law:
Mrs Dharma. Ooh.. she's a cute little lady, but she's fierce! And she loves scaring her students! But she's a really nice lady with a good sense of humour! Her lessons are very full and well prepared. She doesnt take the short cut and just teach you to pass exams.

Sciences:
OK, I'm an Arts student and didnt take any Science subjects. But I have good feedback from my science stream friends. They say Miss Lim, the Math teacher is THE BEST!!!

In MCKL (when I was there):

Everyone knew everyone.
Birthdays were celebrated by everyone.
Teachers are our friends. They eat and play sports with us.
We have a clean toilet. Phew!
Parking is free =)
We have our own building, a basketball court and a field.
Classes are air conditioned.
MCKL to me:

MCKL didnt just teach me how to pass exams. It gave me an EDUCATION, in academics and morals. Encountering MCKL teachers was when I first understood what it is to "respect teachers". They deserve it.

It is a fantastic bridge from school to university. In that period of my life, I went through many changes academicly and at home. I was a fish out of water. Good friends and good lecturers made sure that I stayed on track and made my days brighter.

I learnt to encourage others around me and build them up the way my peers did to me. I did many things I never thought I'd do. I became what I never thought I could be.
SUSOptiplex330
post Feb 1 2009, 06:55 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(invinciblebunny @ Feb 1 2009, 04:41 PM)
Yes, our library is small.
Do you actually need a huge library with 10,000 books in it? I'm in uni and I never borrowed a single book from its big and impressive library. What more A Levels. Besides, the MCKL lecturers are good enough =)
With A Level, you don't even need a computer because there are no assignment or presentation, let alone borrowing books from library. Not sure about AUSTMAT.

TSinvinciblebunny
post Feb 2 2009, 03:56 PM

597 posts

anyone interested in early childhood education? The next intake is on 30 March 2009.
cmteo
post Feb 6 2009, 11:58 PM

190 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by cmteo: Apr 25 2010, 04:31 AM
aronliew
post Feb 7 2009, 10:40 PM

306 posts

mckl ceo is a ex of mbsskl headmistress
khaishin
post Feb 9 2009, 12:13 PM

happyQ
613 posts

Hello there. biggrin.gif
My friend would join MCKL most probably during March intake.
And just now I visited the website of MCKL,
I saw some guys are getting JPA scholarship to University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus, is that JPA automated scholarship for those who get 9As in SPM?

Derrick Poh
post Feb 9 2009, 01:49 PM

113 posts

Anyone have their course fee structure?
TSinvinciblebunny
post Feb 10 2009, 01:30 AM

597 posts

QUOTE(Derrick Poh @ Feb 9 2009, 01:49 PM)
Anyone have their course fee structure?
A lvl fees for 2009

-3 subj 4k
-4subj 4.5k

registration fee RM300

refundable deposit RM500

insurance RM40
Derrick Poh
post Feb 10 2009, 10:50 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(invinciblebunny @ Feb 10 2009, 01:30 AM)
A lvl fees for 2009

-3 subj 4k
-4subj 4.5k

registration fee RM300

refundable deposit RM500

insurance RM40
Thx~ But how many sems total? smile.gif
khaishin
post Feb 10 2009, 11:01 AM

happyQ
613 posts

Is it okay if my friend visits to MCKL and asks for further details?
Derrick Poh
post Feb 10 2009, 11:30 AM

113 posts

LOL.. Sure can vist one ma.. Visit also need ask meh? tongue.gif
khaishin
post Feb 10 2009, 11:38 AM

happyQ
613 posts

IF he visits there..
where should he head to ?
Any office? Haha... xD

This post has been edited by khaishin: Feb 10 2009, 11:42 AM
TSinvinciblebunny
post Feb 10 2009, 11:42 AM

597 posts

QUOTE(Derrick Poh @ Feb 10 2009, 10:50 AM)
Thx~ But how many sems total? smile.gif
3 sem
Derrick Poh
post Feb 10 2009, 11:45 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(invinciblebunny @ Feb 10 2009, 11:42 AM)
3 sem
Ok.. Can complete in how many years? 1.5 yrs?
TSinvinciblebunny
post Feb 10 2009, 11:47 AM

597 posts

QUOTE(Derrick Poh @ Feb 10 2009, 11:45 AM)
1.5 yrs?
yes
Derrick Poh
post Feb 10 2009, 11:51 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(invinciblebunny @ Feb 10 2009, 11:47 AM)
yes
Good.. Some college just 1 yr only.. sad.gif
ilovecookies92
post Feb 11 2009, 12:29 AM

SPM Candidate 2009ā„¢
765 posts

As an example, if I go for Ausmat Jan Intake and I submit the forecast results and I have a partial of scholarship, will the scholarship get removed if my actual SPM results cannot fulfill their scholarship requirements?

This post has been edited by ilovecookies92: Feb 11 2009, 12:30 AM
TSinvinciblebunny
post Feb 11 2009, 07:32 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(ilovecookies92 @ Feb 11 2009, 12:29 AM)
As an example, if I go for Ausmat Jan Intake and I submit the forecast results and I have a partial of scholarship, will the scholarship get removed if my actual SPM results cannot fulfill their scholarship requirements?
nope..as long as you have passed the cut-off GPA for AUSMAT in your first semester..

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Feb 23 2009, 04:39 PM
Sarah0925
post Feb 11 2009, 07:44 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(khaishin @ Feb 10 2009, 11:38 AM)
IF he visits there..
where should he head to ?
Any office? Haha... xD
yea go in through the main door. once insdide you should see the office on yr right. just tell the people there you're here to visit and they'll guide you =) i'm in MCKL btw. jan09 intake =)
khaishin
post Feb 11 2009, 08:27 PM

happyQ
613 posts

Oh, hehe, okay, thanks ya! biggrin.gif
My friend would probably go in by March.
TSinvinciblebunny
post Feb 16 2009, 10:41 AM

597 posts

The student intake for the A Levels and Australian matriculation programmes this year have increased by 100%. Read the news here.

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Feb 16 2009, 10:45 AM
alive.not.dead
post Feb 16 2009, 10:58 AM

nw stil can apply???
TSinvinciblebunny
post Feb 16 2009, 11:04 AM

597 posts

QUOTE(alive.not.dead @ Feb 16 2009, 10:58 AM)
nw stil can apply???
yes..check the first post..
alive.not.dead
post Feb 16 2009, 11:06 AM

actually a level is for wat ???
nt reli understand it
mind explain to me?
thx

Added on February 16, 2009, 11:07 amactually a level is for wat ???
nt reli understand it
mind explain to me?
thx

This post has been edited by alive.not.dead: Feb 16 2009, 11:07 AM
TSinvinciblebunny
post Feb 16 2009, 11:11 AM

597 posts

QUOTE(alive.not.dead @ Feb 16 2009, 11:06 AM)
actually a level is for wat ???
nt reli understand it
mind explain to me?
thx

Added on February 16, 2009, 11:07 amactually a level is for wat ???
nt reli understand it
mind explain to me?
thx
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advanced_Level_(UK)
cmteo
post Feb 16 2009, 01:07 PM

190 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by cmteo: Apr 25 2010, 04:32 AM
TSinvinciblebunny
post Feb 17 2009, 11:25 AM

597 posts

Anyone here takes AUSMAT at MCKL?
cmteo
post Feb 23 2009, 12:47 PM

190 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by cmteo: Apr 25 2010, 04:32 AM
TSinvinciblebunny
post Feb 23 2009, 04:37 PM

597 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Apr 25 2010, 04:15 AM
onimusha_m16
post Feb 23 2009, 06:26 PM

Mr Bean
1,239 posts

is the scholarship guaranteed if the applicant has fulfilled the academic requirement ?
TSinvinciblebunny
post Feb 23 2009, 06:27 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(onimusha_m16 @ Feb 23 2009, 06:26 PM)
is the scholarship guaranteed if the applicant has fulfilled the academic requirement ?
yes
onimusha_m16
post Feb 23 2009, 06:40 PM

Mr Bean
1,239 posts

QUOTE(invinciblebunny @ Feb 23 2009, 06:27 PM)
yes
Does it cover the 4th subject ?
TSinvinciblebunny
post Feb 23 2009, 06:42 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(onimusha_m16 @ Feb 23 2009, 06:40 PM)
Does it cover the 4th subject ?
yes
johnlau91
post Feb 25 2009, 09:24 PM

55 posts

Anyone have empty room near this college. I am very hectic finding the accommodation. cause i don't want through the school, cause they require me to make 1500 deposit and pay 6 months rental. total is 4500. (contract is for one year!)

i cant afford that and i will withdraw from the coarse if get scholarship.

anyone ? please! thanks! prefer scott villa or central.

PM me!!
ilovecookies92
post Feb 26 2009, 05:35 PM

SPM Candidate 2009ā„¢
765 posts

I read the accommodation brochure. And there's a statement says :

"• Although some apartments may have cabinets, water heaters and air-conditioners installed by the owner, the College is not obliged to
provide these facilities in all apartments."

"• You are not allowed to install your own water heaters or air conditioners."

And yeah, I was told that there's fans as an alternative. But seriously, do we have to take shower with cold water? Is it a ceiling or table fan.
nandayryu
post Feb 26 2009, 06:33 PM

1,072 posts

i thought almost all colleges which provides A-level courses provides scholarships for good SPM results students ?i took mine in KBU last time.for mine last time it costs me around 20k+ .very tough course tho

Added on February 26, 2009, 6:34 pm
QUOTE(johnlau91 @ Feb 25 2009, 09:24 PM)
Anyone have empty room near this college. I am very hectic finding the accommodation.  cause i don't want through the school, cause they require me to make 1500 deposit and pay 6 months rental.  total is 4500.  (contract is for one year!)

anyone ?  please! thanks!  prefer scott villa or central.

PM me!!
and i've never heard of 6 months rental + deposit at once,at least the procedure is just 2+ 1 or 3+1 ,pls correct me if am wrong.

This post has been edited by nandayryu: Feb 26 2009, 06:34 PM
TSinvinciblebunny
post Feb 28 2009, 01:48 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(ilovecookies92 @ Feb 26 2009, 05:35 PM)
But seriously, do we have to take shower with cold water?
nope..

ilovecookies92
post Feb 28 2009, 04:54 PM

SPM Candidate 2009ā„¢
765 posts

QUOTE(invinciblebunny @ Feb 28 2009, 01:48 PM)
nope..
So what you mean is, we can't use water heated but will not get cold water during shower? xD
TSinvinciblebunny
post Feb 28 2009, 07:57 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(ilovecookies92 @ Feb 28 2009, 04:54 PM)
So what you mean is, we can't use water heated but will not get cold water during shower? xD
got water heater larr....if you want to know more about life in MCKL, you can visit the campus..
SUSOptiplex330
post Mar 1 2009, 10:26 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(johnlau91 @ Feb 25 2009, 09:24 PM)
Anyone have empty room near this college. I am very hectic finding the accommodation.  cause i don't want through the school, cause they require me to make 1500 deposit and pay 6 months rental.  total is 4500.  (contract is for one year!)

anyone ?  please! thanks!  prefer scott villa or central.

PM me!!
Accommodation works out to be RM500 per month. On the surface of it, it may sound expensive. But because of it's closeness to MCKL, you save money on transport and time so I reckon RM500 is still ok. And remember, this is right in the middle of city accommodation.

As for scholarship, if you did well in SPM and continue to do well in A Level, I reckon you will get your scholarship. But if your result isn't good enough, nobody owe you anything so no scholarship to be expected.

Added on March 1, 2009, 10:28 am

"• Although some apartments may have cabinets, water heaters and air-conditioners installed by the owner, the College is not obliged to
provide these facilities in all apartments."

"• You are not allowed to install your own water heaters or air conditioners."

And yeah, I was told that there's fans as an alternative. But seriously, do we have to take shower with cold water? Is it a ceiling or table fan.
Since the apartment is high up, it's pretty cool so not really necessary to have air conditioning.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Mar 1 2009, 10:28 AM
ilovecookies92
post Mar 1 2009, 05:49 PM

SPM Candidate 2009ā„¢
765 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Mar 1 2009, 10:26 AM)
Accommodation works out to be RM500 per month. On the surface of it, it may sound expensive. But because of it's closeness to MCKL, you save money on transport and time so I reckon RM500 is still ok. And remember, this is right in the middle of city accommodation.

As for scholarship, if you did well in SPM and continue to do well in A Level, I reckon you will get your scholarship. But if your result isn't good enough, nobody owe you anything so no scholarship to be expected.

Added on March 1, 2009, 10:28 am

Since the apartment is high up, it's pretty cool so not really necessary to have air conditioning.
That will be great. Managed to convince my parents to let me continue my studies there. They are just worrying about the facilities probably thinks the college itself doesn't have a clean toilet. However, I am not from West Msia, so not so convenient for me to have a visit there right this moment.
TSinvinciblebunny
post Mar 2 2009, 06:38 PM

597 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Apr 25 2010, 04:13 AM
khaishin
post Mar 3 2009, 12:04 AM

happyQ
613 posts

Hello, the A-level offered by MCKL has Lan subjects or not?
TSinvinciblebunny
post Mar 3 2009, 12:26 AM

597 posts

QUOTE(khaishin @ Mar 3 2009, 12:04 AM)
Hello, the A-level offered by MCKL has Lan subjects or not?
yes, lan subjects are available.

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Mar 6 2009, 08:21 PM
ilovecookies92
post Mar 4 2009, 05:43 PM

SPM Candidate 2009ā„¢
765 posts

provide these facilities in all apartments
."

QUOTE(invinciblebunny)
got water heater larr....if you want to know more about life in MCKL, you can visit the campus.

Maybe you are one of them got lucky to get water heater that the unit you stay was installed by the previous owner. Btw, I hope someone can post some of the pics from Methodist College. Did viewed some of the pics from the blog, at least it gives me a rough guess. =D

This post has been edited by ilovecookies92: Mar 4 2009, 06:05 PM
TSinvinciblebunny
post Mar 6 2009, 08:26 PM

597 posts

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Mar 6 2009, 08:26 PM
ilovecookies92
post Mar 6 2009, 09:32 PM

SPM Candidate 2009ā„¢
765 posts

QUOTE(invinciblebunny @ Mar 6 2009, 08:26 PM)
Thx. biggrin.gif
ilovecookies92
post Mar 8 2009, 03:17 PM

SPM Candidate 2009ā„¢
765 posts

Oh and I wonder if MCKL considering to open another intake for Ausmat during March coz I might get chosen for NS and then cannot enter to MCKL then. rclxub.gif .
TSinvinciblebunny
post Mar 10 2009, 07:57 PM

597 posts

sanesaint
post Mar 10 2009, 09:07 PM

359 posts

wow mckl having an intake for cat/acca? thats new lol
TSinvinciblebunny
post Mar 13 2009, 01:51 PM

597 posts

Deadline is Extended to March 23, 2009!
khaishin
post Mar 16 2009, 09:13 PM

happyQ
613 posts

When's the deadline for A-level?
Is it over??? xD

My friend got 7As in SPM =.=
Don't have discount right?
I think he just got 2A1..><
TSinvinciblebunny
post Mar 26 2009, 10:35 PM

597 posts

Latest A-Level Results!
January 2009 Result Analysis

1. 100% passing rate for Accounts, Economics, English Literature and Physics subjects.

2. 96.7% passing rate for Mathematics subject.

3. 90.6% passing rate for Biology and Chemistry subjects.

4. 37.5% of MCKL's student scored 3A's and above.

5. 70% scored distinctions in Mathematics.

6. 67% scored distinctions in Economics.

7. 50% scored distinctions in Biology.

8. 37% scored distinctions in Physics.

9. 35% scored distinctions in Chemistry.

10. 75% obtain at least 1A in their final results.

Check out our student who have obtain conditional offer from various prestigious Universities in UK and Australia!

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Apr 25 2010, 04:09 AM
Khriss
post Mar 27 2009, 11:52 AM

123 posts

i wanna ask, the website say if enrol for july intake for A levels, finish only in 24 months??
so long?? means in july 2011??
not 18 months meh? should i finish in november 2010?
TSinvinciblebunny
post Mar 27 2009, 05:58 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(Khriss @ Mar 27 2009, 11:52 AM)
i wanna ask, the website say if enrol for july intake for A levels, finish only in 24 months??
so long?? means in july 2011??
not 18 months meh? should i finish in november 2010?
Like the website stated, A levels (July) should be completed in 24 months.

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Mar 27 2009, 08:29 PM
Khriss
post Mar 27 2009, 07:54 PM

123 posts

yala.. but.. why so long la.. usually 18 months ma..
TSinvinciblebunny
post Mar 27 2009, 08:23 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(Khriss @ Mar 27 2009, 07:54 PM)
yala.. but.. why so long la.. usually 18 months ma..
most university intakes are for fall and classes will only start around Aug/Sept (as is the case in most UK universities).

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Mar 27 2009, 08:29 PM
edennature
post Jun 30 2009, 06:41 PM

294 posts

does it still offers religious studies

TSinvinciblebunny
post Jul 1 2009, 09:51 AM

597 posts

QUOTE(edennature @ Jun 30 2009, 06:41 PM)
does it still offers religious studies
no
edennature
post Jul 1 2009, 04:35 PM

294 posts

no students get this subjects..sigh.
TSinvinciblebunny
post Jul 23 2009, 03:54 PM

597 posts

[url][/url]

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Apr 25 2010, 03:59 AM
TSinvinciblebunny
post Jul 24 2009, 01:16 PM

597 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Apr 25 2010, 04:10 AM
cmteo
post Oct 4 2009, 11:35 AM

190 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by cmteo: Apr 25 2010, 04:34 AM
TSinvinciblebunny
post Oct 4 2009, 11:37 AM

597 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Apr 25 2010, 04:10 AM
C-Note
post Oct 4 2009, 04:23 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

hi all,

Is it recommended to take up 5 subjects(science stream + furthermaths) ? does that mean its actually a total of 6 subjs which includes General studies(forgot what it is)? Is it possible to take the extra subject in school instead of private tuition?

edennature
post Oct 4 2009, 06:37 PM

294 posts

any students take religious studies this year?
gomes.
post Oct 4 2009, 10:35 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Oct 4 2009, 04:23 PM)
hi all,

Is it recommended to take up 5 subjects(science stream + furthermaths) ? does that mean its actually a total of 6 subjs which includes General studies(forgot what it is)? Is it possible to take the extra subject in school instead of private tuition?

Best to ask the college itself.

Added on October 4, 2009, 10:35 pmall I have to say is that you will have to work really hard.. wink.gif

This post has been edited by gomes.: Oct 4 2009, 10:35 PM
TSinvinciblebunny
post Oct 6 2009, 06:45 PM

597 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Apr 25 2010, 04:11 AM
edennature
post Oct 7 2009, 02:40 PM

294 posts

how you know it?
TSinvinciblebunny
post Oct 9 2009, 05:44 PM

597 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Apr 25 2010, 04:11 AM
C-Note
post Oct 26 2009, 11:52 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

Hi all,

To those who are/have studying/studied in MCKL, what do you have to say for the college? Any heads-up for freshmen? Any lecturers to avoid and so on..? smile.gif
ilovecookies92
post Oct 26 2009, 01:23 PM

SPM Candidate 2009ā„¢
765 posts

I am opting to study in MCKL for Ausmat next yr. But I will only able to submit my forecast results after 13th Nov. Hope there's still placements for me. =)
TSinvinciblebunny
post Nov 1 2009, 10:41 AM

597 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Apr 25 2010, 03:57 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 1 2009, 12:18 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(invinciblebunny @ Nov 1 2009, 10:41 AM)
Passing the college the other day. Seems like lots of construction going on. Hope with increased size, quality don't suffer especially the pastoral environment.
TSinvinciblebunny
post Nov 2 2009, 01:33 PM

597 posts

For the January 2010 intake, we are accepting A and A+ as equivalent to A1s when applying for the Merit Scholarship.

For details, visit http://methodistcollegekl.edu.my/index.php...s/scholarships/
ldsilva
post Nov 4 2009, 02:39 AM

26 posts

hey am planning on taking a-levels bio, maths and chem next year
any good lecturers to look out for? smile.gif
TSinvinciblebunny
post Nov 9 2009, 10:01 PM

597 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Apr 25 2010, 03:58 AM
ilovecookies92
post Nov 10 2009, 01:33 PM

SPM Candidate 2009ā„¢
765 posts

Is it ok if I apply all the scholarship and accomodation forms from 2009 because I obtained these forms when I visited the college during May.
TSinvinciblebunny
post Nov 10 2009, 06:58 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(ilovecookies92 @ Nov 10 2009, 01:33 PM)
Is it ok if I apply all the scholarship and accomodation forms from 2009 because I obtained these forms when I visited the college during May.
Please download the forms from MCKL website and sent it over to MCKL asap with all the relevant docs. Pls do it before Jan 2010.
ixchel
post Nov 10 2009, 09:00 PM

27 posts

Is religious studies available for next year's March intake?

TSinvinciblebunny
post Nov 11 2009, 05:32 PM

597 posts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_DS6Jqmi3uw

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Nov 13 2009, 10:10 PM
Stripeygiraffe
post Nov 12 2009, 09:51 PM

72 posts

Hey, I'm really hoping to be able to study here. It seems like a really great place =) especially the nice environment and the friendly staff.
the_gsanc
post Nov 13 2009, 04:09 PM

91 posts

How is the extra curricular activities at MCKL? Active?
TSinvinciblebunny
post Nov 14 2009, 01:49 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(the_gsanc @ Nov 13 2009, 04:09 PM)
How is the extra curricular activities at MCKL? Active?
http://methodistcollegekl.edu.my/index.php...ts/?layout=blog
purple lover
post Nov 19 2009, 06:44 PM

Is Edexcel A level accepted in Australia?
Stripeygiraffe
post Nov 19 2009, 06:48 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(purple lover @ Nov 19 2009, 06:44 PM)
Is Edexcel A level accepted in Australia?
I think people ask for A levels, not Cambridge or Edexcel. =) It really shouldn't matter - from one I've heard - and nobody would discriminate because otherwise one type would be overpopulated.
purple lover
post Nov 20 2009, 01:51 AM

Any special rules/ funny rules that must be followed? And are lecturers good in teaching? And who living in the accommodation provided by the college? How is it?
ilovecookies92
post Nov 25 2009, 09:44 PM

SPM Candidate 2009ā„¢
765 posts

@C-Note. Have you apply for any courses in MCKL? If yes have you receive the offer letter?
TSinvinciblebunny
post Dec 9 2009, 05:40 PM

597 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Apr 25 2010, 04:07 AM
ferdinand
post Dec 10 2009, 01:02 PM

Hello all, I'm very interested in MCKL.
However, I'm from outstation, I really can't afford the accommodation fees, my question is is there any alternative place to stay?
Have the A-level tuition fees covered all the examination fees?
Thanks for your reply. have a nice day?

This post has been edited by ferdinand: Dec 10 2009, 01:13 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Dec 10 2009, 01:24 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ferdinand @ Dec 10 2009, 01:02 PM)
Hello all, I'm very interested in MCKL.
However, I'm from outstation, I really can't afford the accommodation fees, my question is is there any alternative place to stay?
Have the A-level tuition fees covered all the examination fees?
Thanks for your reply. have a nice day?
If you have financial difficulties, then do STPM at home. Cost you practically nothing and you can use that to enter local government universities which you can't with A Level or AUSMAT. Furthermore, it is as widely recognized as A Level overseas and in country like Singapore, even more recognized than A Level.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Dec 10 2009, 01:26 PM
ferdinand
post Dec 10 2009, 05:48 PM

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 10 2009, 01:24 PM)
If you have financial difficulties, then do STPM at home. Cost you practically nothing and you can use that to enter local government universities which you can't with A Level or AUSMAT. Furthermore, it is as widely recognized as A Level overseas and in country like Singapore, even more recognized than A Level.
I don't really have financial difficulties, as my tuition fees are paid by my parents.

My family has a tradition, that parents will not pay for their children's personal expenses after Form 5, they will only pay for their tuition fees. weird right? but can't change...they won't pay us... yawn.gif

My siblings and I worked in my family's company during school holidays, and earned some money for our personal expenses at college/university. brows.gif
My sister and brother went to KL to take their Pre-u too few years ago, but their rental fees were sooooo much cheaper...like 200 something... drool.gif

I don't like the system of STPM... and it'll be better if I take up a-level/ausmat/sam/hsc as my parents will send me to Australia after my pre-u course, they own a house there, so accommodation is not an issue. smile.gif

500 [3 persons share a room] is too expensive for me, as I intend to spend about 600++ per month in KL, I can't spend much than that, because I've to save money. 100 is definitely not enough for food. Why there's no small single room for female students, it's much cheaper, only 300.

btw, I'll try to deal with my parents, as it's really hard to find a cheap room to rent....in the city... wink.gif
MCKL is a good college, the only bad thing is the accommodation is too expensive. (i think)

This post has been edited by ferdinand: Dec 10 2009, 05:53 PM
ilovecookies92
post Dec 10 2009, 07:43 PM

SPM Candidate 2009ā„¢
765 posts

QUOTE(ferdinand @ Dec 10 2009, 05:48 PM)
I don't really have financial difficulties, as my tuition fees are paid by my parents.

My family has a tradition, that parents will not pay for their children's personal expenses after Form 5, they will only pay for their tuition fees. weird right? but can't change...they won't pay us... yawn.gif

My siblings and I worked in my family's company during school holidays, and earned some money for our personal expenses at college/university.  brows.gif
My sister and brother went to KL to take their Pre-u too few years ago, but their rental fees were sooooo much cheaper...like 200 something... drool.gif

I don't like the system of STPM... and it'll be better if I take up a-level/ausmat/sam/hsc as my parents will send me to Australia after my pre-u course, they own a house there, so accommodation is not an issue. smile.gif

500 [3 persons share a room] is too expensive for me, as I intend to spend about 600++ per month in KL, I can't spend much than that, because I've to save money. 100 is definitely not enough for food. Why there's no small single room for female students, it's much cheaper, only 300.

btw, I'll try to deal with my parents, as it's really hard to find a cheap room to rent....in the city... wink.gif
MCKL is a good college, the only bad thing is the accommodation is too expensive. (i think)
AFAIK, the person from MCKL told me that the condominium itself is a middle-class condo, where u will have access to swimming pools and other stuff. But u shld have expect the living expenses in KL is not going to be cheap. Howevery, Sunway and Taylors would be slightly more expensive than MCKL hostel.
ferdinand
post Dec 10 2009, 09:40 PM

QUOTE(ilovecookies92 @ Dec 10 2009, 07:43 PM)
AFAIK, the person from MCKL told me that the condominium itself is a middle-class condo, where u will have access to swimming pools and other stuff. But u shld have expect the living expenses in KL is not going to be cheap. Howevery, Sunway and Taylors would be slightly more expensive than MCKL hostel.
Are you going to MCKL for your AUSMAT?
ilovecookies92
post Dec 11 2009, 12:16 AM

SPM Candidate 2009ā„¢
765 posts

QUOTE(ferdinand @ Dec 10 2009, 09:40 PM)
Are you going to MCKL for your AUSMAT?
=)

And btw, who's going for Jan intake? I'll be there. Anyways, I 4got whether the new block provide internet facilities as well.

This post has been edited by ilovecookies92: Dec 17 2009, 10:14 PM
TSinvinciblebunny
post Jan 15 2010, 09:14 AM

597 posts

Registration has started and you can register with your forecast but the scholarship would be dependent on the actual SPM results.

The Star Education Fair 2010 more successful than previous ones
Charmain
post Mar 14 2010, 09:50 PM

36 posts

Well, can I know what is the text book that Methodist College is using for A-levels (Art), I'm taking Economics, Mathematics, Accounting and Business Studies =D Thank you
yzarcemina
post Mar 14 2010, 10:06 PM

383 posts

hey..got 9A1s in spm last year... want to what are my chances of getting MCKL scholarship.. applied last week.

also are there any JPA or Bank Negara scholars in MCKL? just curious..

heike
post Mar 15 2010, 11:58 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(Charmain @ Mar 14 2010, 09:50 PM)
Well,  can I know what is the text book that Methodist College is using for A-levels (Art), I'm taking Economics, Mathematics, Accounting and Business Studies =D Thank you
I went to the office and saw many textbooks(Edexcel). You can buy from them. Edexcel just changed the syllabi and I think it's quite impossible to get secondhand textbooks.
yzarcemina
post Mar 17 2010, 01:53 AM

383 posts

hehe i got the scholarship!!! starting a level next week...voohoo..
Sop.qiqi
post Mar 19 2010, 05:47 PM

374 posts

Oh, cool! I'm from MCKL Jan batch, hope to see you soon
ye3
post Mar 25 2010, 01:47 PM

Anyone's taking Diploma in ECE at MCKL here?
Is MCKL a good choice for taking this course..?
Im interested in this course but im confused..
Compared with Kolej Dika and Sri college,is MCKL a better choice for studying Diploma in Early Childhood Education?
It seems like a good college to get in after i hv read those comments here..

This post has been edited by ye3: Mar 25 2010, 01:52 PM
TSinvinciblebunny
post Apr 16 2010, 01:01 AM

597 posts

MCKL's new block is being used already and the enrolment has grown to 620 this year.

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Apr 25 2010, 03:57 AM
cmteo
post Apr 18 2010, 03:58 PM

190 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by cmteo: Apr 25 2010, 04:35 AM
TSinvinciblebunny
post Apr 18 2010, 04:02 PM

597 posts

Early Childhood Education Orientation

Yesterday, on the 29th of March 2010, Methodist College welcomed the first batch of Early Childhood Education students.

monster_crunch
post Apr 21 2010, 01:23 AM

30 posts

Hello, I am selling off my A level books. I have a few original and photocopied text books, tutorials and notes. Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Maths, General Paper. Just let me know what subject and books you want and I will help to search for it. Just wanna clear everything off. Location at TARC, Setapak. PM me for details. Thank you.
DoUbLeDaZe
post May 7 2010, 09:25 AM

Just something to take note of, MCKL is offering A-Levels by Edexcel. Be aware of the books you buy. Make sure you buy books for Edexcel and not for Cambridge.
Charmain
post May 16 2010, 11:00 PM

36 posts

Any room mates in Methodist College?
wildcat90
post Jul 4 2010, 03:38 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(yzarcemina @ Mar 17 2010, 01:53 AM)
hehe i got the scholarship!!! starting a level next week...voohoo..
Welcome to 1 and a half years of stress and controversies

Regards

Ex - MCKL
Enrolled. Jan 2007
TSinvinciblebunny
post Sep 13 2010, 02:36 PM

597 posts

The 2011 Scholarship Form will be available soon. Do check back with them.

http://methodistcollegekl.edu.my/scholarships
baby fox
post Sep 20 2010, 01:56 AM

Hi~~ im interested in doing a level in MCKL, but still comparing among the colleges. Planning to do science in a level, can anyone here tell me about the science lecturers there? Are they good? For me the most important thing is the lecturer, so...... THX ALOT!!!
C-Note
post Sep 20 2010, 06:01 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

Physics lecturers are definitely crappy..but it's fine if you can cope with it. If not, just get a tutor and you're good to go smile.gif
baby fox
post Sep 20 2010, 04:41 PM

Ohhh, how about mathematics lecturer? I think it's alright if it science though.. cause you can probably study it on your own... Im not planning to take physics anyway.. so its ok gua...~~ >.<
immabee
post Sep 20 2010, 05:09 PM

260 posts

@C-Note Totally agree. But again which lecturer? xD
@baby fox. Maths wise, oh well.. it depends. But I think one of the lecturers is doing well. Unable to comment the rest. Some crappy.. some so-so. Some good. =)
jeff1090
post Oct 4 2010, 07:05 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(baby fox @ Sep 20 2010, 05:41 PM)
Ohhh, how about mathematics lecturer? I think it's alright if it science though.. cause you can probably study it on your own... Im not planning to take physics anyway.. so its ok gua...~~ >.<
Mathematic Lecturer's record is 90+% get A so far... =P~i think i gonna break their record soon~
TSinvinciblebunny
post Oct 13 2010, 10:06 PM

597 posts

2011 Merit & Special Scholarship Form (editable PDF)

Scholarship applications MUST be accompanied by a completed admission form and required documentation.
Panda12
post Oct 14 2010, 08:17 PM

1,107 posts

QUOTE(baby fox @ Sep 20 2010, 02:56 AM)
Hi~~ im interested in doing a level in MCKL, but still comparing among the colleges. Planning to do science in a level, can anyone here tell me about the science lecturers there? Are they good? For me the most important thing is the lecturer, so...... THX ALOT!!!
honestly speaking, i dont really think the study environment there is good. in bricksfield..
SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 14 2010, 09:38 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Panda12 @ Oct 14 2010, 08:17 PM)
honestly speaking, i dont really think the study environment there is good. in bricksfield..
I could say the same about Taylor. Too many distractions.

Desert_Praise
post Oct 30 2010, 12:41 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Sep 20 2010, 06:01 AM)
Physics lecturers are definitely crappy..but it's fine if you can cope with it. If not, just get a tutor and you're good to go smile.gif
but not all la..r u from that mckl oso? if yes, which cohort r u from? tongue.gif

Added on October 30, 2010, 12:43 am
QUOTE(immabee @ Sep 20 2010, 05:09 PM)
@C-Note Totally agree. But again which lecturer? xD
@baby fox. Maths wise, oh well.. it depends. But I think one of the lecturers is doing well. Unable to comment the rest. Some crappy.. some so-so. Some good. =)
hehe, which maths lecturer? interested to know.. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Desert_Praise: Oct 30 2010, 12:43 AM
TSinvinciblebunny
post Nov 2 2010, 04:45 PM

597 posts

http://malaysia-scholarship.net/sponsor-ty...olarships-2011/
Badawang
post Nov 4 2010, 06:48 AM

29 posts

My sis thought of taking up A Level at Methodist College KL next January intake. The subject she intent to take up is Physics, Chemistry, Maths and Further Mathematics.
Would like to know if this college is good in teaching these subjects. Additionally, whats is the total cost ( General fee, Tuition fee, Lab fee ) involve to complete this course ( 18 months ).

Latest review on this college very much appreciated.

C-Note
post Nov 4 2010, 11:44 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

Mathematics teachers are good. Not so much for Physics. Chemistry ones are good. But one of the chem teachers is a part-timer..she teaches full-time at Sunway college.

So yeah..if you got the money, study somewhr else. You get what u pay for
lazydancer
post Nov 4 2010, 01:45 PM

44 posts

It depends on which lecturer you get. Some are good and most are not really. Most of the lecturers here are only part timers. If you're lucky, you get the good ones. If you're not..

So yeah, agreeing with C-Note, if you can afford it, try somewhere else.
Window7
post Dec 11 2010, 02:33 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Nov 4 2010, 11:44 AM)
Mathematics teachers are good. Not so much for Physics. Chemistry ones are good. But one of the chem teachers is a part-timer..she teaches full-time at Sunway college.

So yeah..if you got the money, study somewhr else. You get what u pay for
I just graduated from Methodist College last month,
doing my Ausmat.

Well, like what C-Note says, you get what you pay for.
The facilities arent that sufficient compare to Sunway and Taylors,
but there are just enough except the WiFi system always down,
the rest are still acceptable.

Regarding the teacher there, you may notice that there is a great age-gap between the lecturers.
They own most 20s,40s and 50s lecturer, but very very few 30s lecturer.
Sop.qiqi
post Feb 11 2011, 08:59 PM

374 posts

Wth my friend got stopped from entering the college to see his friend because he is wearing shorts. It's college people, who the hell gets to say what you should wear =.=
teddy_tiffie
post Mar 20 2011, 03:05 PM

QUOTE(Sop.qiqi @ Feb 11 2011, 08:59 PM)
Wth my friend got stopped from entering the college to see his friend because he is wearing shorts. It's college people, who the hell gets to say what you should wear =.=
im currently studying there. it's the college rule. your friend's friend(the one studying in MCKL) should know no one can enter the college with shorts.
This is the college rule, everyone who step in the college must obey. smile.gif
Hikari0307
post Mar 20 2011, 03:38 PM

å¹³ęˆć®å…‰
4,541 posts

QUOTE(Sop.qiqi @ Feb 11 2011, 08:59 PM)
if it's your college, would you let somebody who doesn't follow your rules enter? In fact they have the right to stop anybody who's not a student to enter even without a valid reason =D and for students, usually there's a term in application forms etc that they sign that they will follow all college rules and regulations and they are responsible and viable if anybody who are their guests break any rules
TSinvinciblebunny
post May 17 2011, 07:35 PM

597 posts

MCKL is offering RM2000 tuition rebates to all incoming AUSMAT students who do not qualify for merit/special scholarships. Info at www.MethodistCollegeKL.edu.my
EducationABC
post May 20 2011, 09:34 PM

215 posts

I have 3 questions.

1) How many times can you retake the modules for the A levels there? Does the college limit the number of times retaking the module?

2) I am Form 4 now and I wish to study there in Jan 2013. I will finish the a levels in 2014 June. When usually does the results of the a levels arrive? How will retaking modules affect the time my results arrive?

3) Even with full merit scholarship, I noticed that you still have to pay the fees for the 1st semester. Does this means the scholarship only applies to the 2nd and 3rd semester only?

Thanks for clearing my doubt.
jeffreyCHONG94
post Nov 14 2012, 12:42 AM

17 posts

Whatever you do, do not enroll yourself in their ausmat july program. the first sem is a a waste of time, i didn't learn much throughout the 1st sem. although they proclaimed its to prepare us for the upcoming ausmat program, i dont see how it helps, at least not much. instead of enrolling in their july intake, either go look for other course or go for soul searching. biggrin.gif
immabee
post Nov 14 2012, 01:01 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(jeffreyCHONG94 @ Nov 14 2012, 12:42 AM)
Whatever you do, do not enroll yourself in their ausmat july program. the first sem is a a waste of time, i didn't learn much throughout the 1st sem. although they proclaimed its to prepare us for the upcoming ausmat program, i dont see how it helps, at least not much. instead of enrolling in their july intake, either go look for other course or go for soul searching. biggrin.gif
Same goes to Sunway's Ausmat July program (if applicable).

Anyway, prepare for the possible roller coaster ride next year (if you are still enrolled). biggrin.gif

kokcc
post Dec 15 2012, 02:18 PM

51 posts

anyone applying for A level's merit scholarship next year?
Heard that if u got 8As above,you will get full tuition scholarship. Is it true?
Is it for the first sem only or throughout the whole programme?
carmensakura07
post Dec 28 2012, 03:08 PM

79 posts

no offense but I don't think MCKL is a good place. I have friends studying there and they all don't seem too happy.

One friend even quit and then, ended up in my college.

I heard the lecturers don't really bother with you and the facilities are only ok-ok.

So yea.
OptimusMaximus
post Dec 28 2012, 03:18 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(carmensakura07 @ Dec 28 2012, 03:08 PM)
no offense but I don't think MCKL is a good place. I have friends studying there and they all don't seem too happy.

I heard the lecturers don't really bother with you and the facilities are only ok-ok.

So yea.
Really? This place is one of my considerations, but I do hear that this place isn't so good.But it's affordable, and they got nice activities for new intakes.. Which college are u from?
carmensakura07
post Dec 28 2012, 03:26 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(OptimusMaximus @ Dec 28 2012, 03:18 PM)
Really? This place is one of my considerations, but I do hear that this place isn't so good.But it's affordable, and they got nice activities for new intakes.. Which college are u from?
Affordable? How much is A-levels in MCKL? My friend has the STAR scholarship but she still has to fork out at least 10k. That's the cost of my A-levels in TARC.

In TARC, it's only 10k+ for Arts while it's 15k+ for Science.

And then, there is more facilities in TARC. So yea.
OptimusMaximus
post Dec 28 2012, 10:31 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(carmensakura07 @ Dec 28 2012, 03:26 PM)
Affordable? How much is A-levels in MCKL? My friend has the STAR scholarship but she still has to fork out at least 10k. That's the cost of my A-levels in TARC.

So u are from TARC? How is it like at there? MCKL is a bit more expensive than TARC, but they also offer tuition waivers for those who get 9-10A's in SPM,around 50-100%, like in TARC, except in MCKL, A- is not considered for the waivers. Ur friend got the STAR scholarship for A-Levels in MCKL? And she still has to pay that much? That I don't know why, but in ur case, if u paid RM10k for A-Levels in TARC, I assume u didn't apply for any waiver?
LH15
post Dec 28 2012, 11:40 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(carmensakura07 @ Dec 28 2012, 03:08 PM)

So yea.
Hi i just grad from this college few months ago. I personally think that overall the lecturers are good and helpful. Most of the bad one already kick out through sem based evaluation by student.
Most of my lec even give out extra classes.

Facilities wise, the 1st time i step in the college, i felt that it's small and dint expect much about it. but after awhile, i like the places to study and the library. I personally think i satisfy for the study facilities..but for entertainment, its not like Uni.

Added on December 28, 2012, 11:41 pm

i think part of it is exam fees? edexcel exam fees, per paper is around 200...so normally one time can reach 10+ paper. Dont think the scholarship will cover though.

This post has been edited by LH15: Dec 28 2012, 11:41 PM
carmensakura07
post Dec 30 2012, 05:11 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(LH15 @ Dec 28 2012, 11:40 PM)
Hi i just grad from this college few months ago. I personally think that overall the lecturers are good and helpful. Most of the bad one already kick out through sem based evaluation by student.
Most of my lec even give out extra classes.

Facilities wise, the 1st time i step in the college, i felt that it's small and dint expect much about it. but after awhile, i like the places to study and the library. I personally think i satisfy for the study facilities..but for entertainment, its not like Uni.

Added on December 28, 2012, 11:41 pm

i think part of it is exam fees? edexcel exam fees, per paper is around 200...so normally one time can reach 10+ paper. Dont think the scholarship will cover though.
TARC exam fees is only rm2k if you don't retake but if you retake it'll be rm3k.

So yea.

Hmm..I see bcuz what I know from MCKL are from friends who study there and I do not hear good things from them.

But yea, TARC facilities are better as TARC is huge and the library, it's a whole building with plenty of computers and discussion rooms.
nothandsome
post Dec 30 2012, 08:18 PM

117 posts

they offered me as physics lecturer to teach A-level but i say no...
the pay is...well... they pay badly...

so those lecturers that are still staying for their positions are really passionate in education... (imagine, they are getting horrible pay)

I know the head, miss moey, personally... I've talked to her and she was my high school principal .... she is very passionate in education.. same to all other management staff in MCKL...

Something I quite disagree with their direction of managing a college is...

To me in pre-U level, a lecturer's job is purely in ACADEMIC, not in EDUCATION

But to them, they emphasized on both academic and education.. which is quite tiring because i expects pre-U students are too mature for us to "shape" their behavior
OptimusMaximus
post Jan 1 2013, 06:30 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(carmensakura07 @ Dec 30 2012, 05:11 PM)
TARC exam fees is only rm2k if you don't retake but if you retake it'll be rm3k.

So yea.

Hmm..I see bcuz what I know from MCKL are from friends who study there and I do not hear good things from them.

But yea, TARC facilities are better as TARC is huge and the library, it's a whole building with plenty of computers and discussion rooms.
Most of your posts have been praising TARC tongue.gif As though you are promoting them/acting as their ambassador laugh.gif But that's good. You got the spirit biggrin.gif So how are the students at TARC? I'm looking at TARC as one of my options too, but I heard that there's a lot of people who are Chinese-speaking there, and I mainly speak English. So I'm kind of doubtful if the environment would suit me there.
cckkpr
post Jan 1 2013, 07:30 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(OptimusMaximus @ Jan 1 2013, 06:30 PM)
Most of your posts have been praising TARC  tongue.gif As though you are promoting them/acting as their ambassador  laugh.gif But that's good. You got the spirit  biggrin.gif So how are the students at TARC? I'm looking at TARC as one of my options too, but I heard that there's a lot of people who are Chinese-speaking there, and I mainly speak English. So I'm kind of doubtful if the environment would suit me there.
Tarc do screening of applicants and high performers are grouped together to strive for excellence. Typical Chinese school concept. But, if you are good, it's really worth it. Fees is not cheap as for every ringgit you pay, the gomen subsidize you for another ringgit.
kokcc
post Jan 1 2013, 07:31 PM

51 posts

hey guys. I had narrowed my option into either TARC or Methodist college and am going to take march intake smile.gif
But it all depends on my results. If i manage to score 8a+/A above,i'll be going Methodist college. If no,i'll be going TARC coz it's cheapest among all.
I really hope i can go Methodist college as i'm a chinese speaker.Going to a college like Methodist will force me to speak english more fluently smile.gif
OptimusMaximus
post Jan 1 2013, 11:00 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 1 2013, 07:30 PM)
Tarc do screening of applicants and high performers are grouped together to strive for excellence. Typical Chinese school concept. But, if you are good, it's really worth it. Fees is not cheap as for every ringgit you pay, the gomen subsidize you for another ringgit.
If high performers are grouped together,then that's great. There would the peer pressure to do well. But I'm also taking into consideration the environment of the college. Heard that almost 90% in TARC are chinese speakers. Wouldn't really like that,even though I can speak Chinese too. I prefer a more English speaking environment,since it's a college, not a Chinese-medium school I want to go to...

And I thought the fees are the cheapest in TARC? Around RM8k or maybe even less after waiver if I'm not mistaken. Yes is not cheap,as RM8000 is still a large amount, but it's much cheaper compared to Taylor's and Sunway.

QUOTE(kokcc @ Jan 1 2013, 07:31 PM)
hey guys. I had narrowed my option into either TARC or Methodist college and am going to take march intake smile.gif
But it all depends on my results. If i manage to score 8a+/A above,i'll be going Methodist college. If no,i'll be going TARC coz it's cheapest among all.
I really hope i can go Methodist college as i'm a chinese speaker.Going to a college like Methodist will force me to speak english more fluently smile.gif
Exactly. I would go for MCKL too if I were you. But u sure u would choose March intake?
carmensakura07
post Jan 3 2013, 09:33 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(OptimusMaximus @ Jan 1 2013, 06:30 PM)
Most of your posts have been praising TARC  tongue.gif As though you are promoting them/acting as their ambassador  laugh.gif But that's good. You got the spirit  biggrin.gif So how are the students at TARC? I'm looking at TARC as one of my options too, but I heard that there's a lot of people who are Chinese-speaking there, and I mainly speak English. So I'm kind of doubtful if the environment would suit me there.
haha. Well, the reason why I seem to be promoting them is because, surprisingly, they are a pretty damn good college.

I'm a banana. I don't even speak chinese. So, can you imagine my horror when my father first enrolled me into TARC.

At first, honestly, I hated it. I hated that I wasn't where I want to be. I hated that I'm surrounded by people who don't even speak the same language as me.

But thankfully, I went to counselling to adjust to college life.

There, the counsellor was very kind and helpful. She told me to give TARC a chance.

And so, I did.

Surprisingly, I met so many amazing people and had so much fun.

I guess, it depends on you.

You have to open your heart and see where that gets you.

But as for college, the facilities and lecturers there are also great. But sometimes, because there is so many students in TARC, it may get a little crowded.

So yea. As for me, I feel that A-level is the same everywhere. So, it's better to go to a affordable & good place.

A-level mostly depend on yourself. Your willingness to work hard. Because A-level is a tough course. But if you are determined and hardworking, you'll be fine~!

Added on January 3, 2013, 9:38 am
QUOTE(kokcc @ Jan 1 2013, 07:31 PM)
I will still recommend TARC despite the chinese speaking environment because I am a banana and yet, I love that place. So go figure.

Wherever you go, it all depends on yourself. In TARC, you can always choose to speak english to practice english or join societies in the TARC, to practice your english.

For me, I feel that A-levels is all the same. So, it's better to go to a more affordable place that is good and TARC happens to be that.

This post has been edited by carmensakura07: Jan 3 2013, 09:38 AM
OptimusMaximus
post Jan 3 2013, 12:23 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(carmensakura07 @ Jan 3 2013, 09:33 AM)
haha. Well, the reason why I seem to be promoting them is because, surprisingly, they are a pretty damn good college.

I'm a banana. I don't even speak chinese. So, can you imagine my horror when my father first enrolled me into TARC.

At first, honestly, I hated it. I hated that I wasn't where I want to be. I hated that I'm surrounded by people who don't even speak the same language as me.

But thankfully, I went to counselling to adjust to college life.

There, the counsellor was very kind and helpful. She told me to give TARC a chance.

And so, I did.

Surprisingly, I met so many amazing people and had so much fun.

I guess, it depends on you.

You have to open your heart and see where that gets you.

But as for college, the facilities and lecturers there are also great. But sometimes, because there is so many students in TARC, it may get a little crowded.

So yea. As for me, I feel that A-level is the same everywhere. So, it's better to go to a affordable & good place.

A-level mostly depend on yourself. Your willingness to work hard. Because A-level is a tough course. But if you are determined and hardworking, you'll be fine~!
Haha wow I didn't thought u were a banana. I thought u were Chinese-speaking too, that's why u enjoyed TARC so much laugh.gif I can certainly imagine how u felt when u found out u enrolled in TARC when that wasn't your choice. What was ur original choice? So u even had to resort to counseling?? That's tough..so you met a lot of friends there,surely. So did u all speak Chinese among each other or English? biggrin.gif True, I think it's better to save money for degree also

carmensakura07
post Jan 3 2013, 03:38 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(OptimusMaximus @ Jan 3 2013, 12:23 PM)
Haha wow I didn't thought u were a banana. I thought u were Chinese-speaking too, that's why u enjoyed TARC so much  laugh.gif I can certainly imagine how u felt when u found out u enrolled in TARC when that wasn't your choice. What was ur original choice? So u even had to resort to counseling?? That's tough..so you met a lot of friends there,surely. So did u all speak Chinese among each other or English?  biggrin.gif True, I think it's better to save money for degree also
Haha. Yea, I'm a banana. So, I really hated it when my father put me in TARC.

My first choice was methodist because all my friends were going there.

Yea, I went to counseling but that because I wanted to. I wanted to see if the counselors sucked like the one in my secondary school but I was wrong. They were good.

I speak English with my friends. (I'm a banana....LOL) But I did learn some chinese.

Yes, I think it's better to save money for your degree as for A-levels, they are the same everywhere.

A-levels is recognized and Cambridge A-levels in TARC is same as Cambridge A-levels in Taylor. There is no specialties. It's just A-levels.

So yea.

mysteriouslee
post Jan 7 2013, 12:25 AM

Looking for (Edexcel) (i) AS/A2 Physics Books
(ii) Further Maths Books

PM me. Thanks. smile.gif

This post has been edited by mysteriouslee: Jan 7 2013, 12:30 AM
yunna_95
post Mar 19 2013, 09:19 AM

55 posts

Hi all. Who can show me the example of Certified True Copy of Secondary / High School Testimonial? I want to take a look about that.

If I enroll in July intake (1st of July), when I can send my application form? How about the application fee? When I can receive the offer letter?
OptimusMaximus
post Apr 20 2013, 11:24 PM

615 posts

Anyone starting in July?
kokcc
post Apr 23 2013, 07:40 PM

51 posts

I'm going for July intake.
Gonna apply at this mid may if i didn't get matrik.
i'm taking math,f.math,econ and account/psycho

is it advisable to do psycho and econ? because i heard that these two subs are extremely hard to score!
Layla-95
post Apr 24 2013, 03:10 PM

23 posts

Hey I was just wondering does TARC college have a july intake ? blush.gif
OptimusMaximus
post Apr 24 2013, 04:00 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Layla-95 @ Apr 24 2013, 03:10 PM)
Hey I was just wondering does TARC college have a july intake ?  blush.gif
I don't think so, their classes start next Monday already I think. Check out their thread
wilson kok
post Jun 2 2013, 09:48 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(yunna_95 @ Mar 19 2013, 09:19 AM)
Hi all. Who can show me the example of Certified True Copy of Secondary / High School Testimonial? I want to take a look about that.

If I enroll in July intake (1st of July), when I can send my application form? How about the application fee? When I can receive the offer letter?
hi, so u going t mckl too? i m going to submit the application form next week. smile.gif
yunna_95
post Jun 3 2013, 01:35 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(wilson kok @ Jun 2 2013, 09:48 PM)
hi, so u going t mckl too? i m going to submit the application form next week.  smile.gif
probably smile.gif I already received the offer letter. But I'm still waiting the result of matriculation (rayuan).
wilson kok
post Jun 17 2013, 01:01 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(kokcc @ Apr 23 2013, 07:40 PM)
I'm going for July intake.
Gonna apply at this mid may if i didn't get matrik.
i'm taking math,f.math,econ and account/psycho

is it advisable to do psycho and econ? because i heard that these two subs are extremely hard to score!
wow..u r taking f.maths thumbup.gif can i know what course u wanna pursue for ur degree? acturial science?
conchpearls
post Oct 7 2013, 09:09 PM

56 posts

Hi there! I'm interested in going for MCKL's January 2014 Intake. I'm taking their Merit scholarship and I'm rather worried about the 10 hours of compulsory community service and 80% of attendance to Pre-U Society.

Does Pre-U Society refer to Clubs and Societies or to the official events that MCKL has throughout the year(e.g: orientation ball) or both? How do you register for community service? How do i find a group to go with me cry.gif I'm not too sure of how to do it alone. Is it better to work off all the hours early in the A-Levels before the going gets tough?

This post has been edited by conchpearls: Oct 7 2013, 09:10 PM
al427
post Oct 14 2013, 12:52 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(conchpearls @ Oct 7 2013, 09:09 PM)
Hi there! I'm interested in going for MCKL's January 2014 Intake. I'm taking their Merit scholarship and I'm rather worried about the 10 hours of compulsory community service and 80% of attendance to Pre-U Society.

Does Pre-U Society refer to Clubs and Societies or to the official events that MCKL has throughout the year(e.g: orientation ball) or both? How do you register for community service? How do i find a group to go with meĀ  cry.gif I'm not too sure of how to do it alone. Is it better to work off all the hours early in the A-Levels before the going gets tough?
For scholarship holder u need to achieve 80% of pre u society attendance( every Tuesday 3.30 until 4.30) while clubs and societies are optional..not sure about the orientation ball but from what I know there will be orientation camp for every new batch students. Intrigued, what makes u to choose mckl over other colleges?

This post has been edited by al427: Oct 14 2013, 12:55 PM
conchpearls
post Oct 23 2013, 04:09 PM

56 posts

Oh okay, well the clubs and societies part is settled, but I'm still worried for the community service part though. D: I've chosen MCKL because I've heard about its high rate of good alumni(one guy got into oxford and my friends who have gone there are high achievers together with their MCKL friends). Some of my friends are there and they said that the atmosphere is very conducive to studying due to not having many distractions and a more school-like environment. Their prices are reasonable too, and they aren't stingy with the scholarships either. Plus, most of the students there are also no-nonsense about their studies and I am too. The student community is also not crowded, hence its close-knit and friendly nature. It's also near the KL Sentral LRT, which I can take from Kelana Jaya since my house is nearby(I still have some reservations about walking through Brickfields though...wouldn't want anything happening to me, sigh). There are other colleges which offer A-Levels in my area too, but they don't have the subject choices I wanted and their subject combinations are fixed.

This post has been edited by conchpearls: Oct 23 2013, 04:10 PM
E-Tan
post Oct 21 2014, 02:11 AM

137 posts

General results of the Recent June 2013 exams! rclxms.gif

2 students with 5 A*s
11 students with 4A*s
12 students with 3A*s + 1A
47 students with at least 4As
31% of students with 3As to 5As
99-100% of students passed Mathematics, Further Maths, Biology, Physics and Chemistry
43% of students scored A or A* in Accounting
50% of students scored A or A* in Biology
38% of students scored A or A* in Chemistry
47% of students scored A or A* in Physics
44% of students scored A or A* in Mathematics
33% of students scored A or A* in Economics
39% of students scored A or A* in Business Studies
33% of students scored A or A* in English Literature

AstreaSnow
post Nov 5 2017, 07:25 PM

Anyone knows if forecast/trial results is used to apply for the Merit Scholarship and is offered the scholarship but then in actual SPM examination the results declined a little, say: The current requirement for 100% scholarship in MCKL is at least 9As with at least 7A+, and I qualified for that with my trials, but the actual SPM I only get 6A+ or 5A+,will the scholarship be revoked? Thanks in advance for answers

This post has been edited by AstreaSnow: Nov 21 2017, 05:17 PM
jasontantenghuat
post Dec 29 2017, 09:48 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(AstreaSnow @ Nov 5 2017, 07:25 PM)
Anyone knows if forecast/trial results is used to apply for the Merit Scholarship and is offered the scholarship but then in actual SPM examination the results declined a little, say: The current requirement for 100% scholarship in MCKL is at least 9As with at least 7A+, and I qualified for that with my trials, but the actual SPM I only get 6A+ or 5A+,will the scholarship be revoked? Thanks in advance for answers
If you join the January intake, you can use your forecast/trials to apply for scholarship.

If your actual results is poorer, you get to keep whatever scholarship was given with your forecast. Eg: you applied 100% with your forecast but actual is only 50%, you get to keep the 100%.

Only applicable for January intake. March and July intake is based on actual results.

(2018 intake only, 2019 might be different tnc)

0.1152sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:21 AM