Collectibles Luxury Watches, Rolex,Tudor,Tag Heuer,Longines,Oris,Rado

jamesw
post May 18 2010, 01:41 PM

Greeting to all sifu notworthy.gif .

I m a newbie in acquiring Swiss watches, NOT a serious watch collector..........hopefully, won't upset anyone biggrin.gif !

In my possession, inc Patek Philippe 5056P, 5059YG, 5130R & 4958YG (wife); Rolex Oyster Peptual Datejust YG/SS male & female pair & Daytona SS. Daily beater uses CardioSport Heart Rate Monitor, Alain Delon DateQuartz, Citizen Quartz or Petaling Street's cheapies. Future target: PP 5711/1A, 5980/1A, 5970P ..............................or 5951P .......................... drool.gif If I can be so lucky. I was offered the 5167/1A, but, will give it a miss, 'cos not appetising enough shakehead.gif ! Again, I m only acquiring its for interest, NOT a keen collector like William Massenna et al.

Wrist shot of the PP5130R

Qn: Anyone know whether there are any outlet selling legitimate, pre-owned Swiss watches, which come with original certificate in KL? NOT those "hot", stolen stuff in the "gold"/pawn shop!

BTW, never come across Patek Philippe Aquanaut presented as 5076. Need some educating from some highly respected sifu notworthy.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif . Moreover, IMHO, both JLC & A Lange are great watches in their own league, & beyond a shadow of doubt, can compete head on with the BIG 4 Swiss watches thumbup.gif .

Regards.

This post has been edited by jamesw: Yesterday, 05:47 PM
jamesw
post May 18 2010, 02:12 PM

QUOTE(ck77 @ Feb 10 2010, 12:42 PM)
My bad, is is not my intention for sarcasm, sorry if you interpret it wrongly  sweat.gif
We just here to share comment and give advise. Peace  notworthy.gif
I m confused rclxub.gif . Anyone think ck77 post has any sarcasm in it. IMHO, he was just being factual in his statement based on quoted evident! biggrin.gif
jamesw
post May 21 2010, 11:09 AM

QUOTE(blasto @ May 20 2010, 10:58 PM)
Here's my Nautica N-MX62 rclxms.gif
Wow, quite a unique timepiece u hav there. Beautiful, outstanding & a "wristful" rclxms.gif

Btw, r u a pilot by profession, or involved in the aeronautical trade?

Pls post more of ur collection, tq. thumbup.gif
jamesw
post May 25 2010, 04:33 PM

QUOTE(ck77 @ May 24 2010, 12:57 PM)
They are few pre-owned shops around KL/PJ area, i.e. Ampang Point, Timesquare, Sg Wang, Central Market, Summit USJ,, Bangsar Village.
Price would be low if you want to sell to them.
Alternatively, you can opt for consignment basis. Stated the price you desired, put the watch there, when is sold, collect the money from them.
3rd time trying to post today, unsuccess 'cos of the poor streamyx earlier! cry.gif

These outlets' timepieces mostly without cert; those allegedly with cert was of "archive extract" .................... unable to confirm the legitamacy of the piece. Moreover, they can't quarantee the completeness & originality of the movement within shocking.gif !

Is there any forum like Timezone or PuristSPro, which cater for WTS subforum locally? This can provide an avenue for "not serious watch collector" like me to share info, admire diff made of timepieces & to trade or exchange legitimately. icon_question.gif
jamesw
post May 27 2010, 02:08 PM

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ May 27 2010, 01:09 AM)
Is your 5130 in yellow gold? It sure looks like yellow gold. Do you know that the ref. 5130 was never released in yellow gold? smile.gif Mind showing us the caseback please. Would love to see the cal. 240. smile.gif Btw, welcome to the forums! We are all NOT serious watch collectors here (non-WIS). We trade in lowly brands like Ball, Rollies and Omegas. For PP's you have better luck in the timezone forums.
TQ 4 ur concern, this is not a replica, registered it as soon as i acquired fr the AD in KLCC few years ago.

Is 5130R, rose gold. I much prefer the white gold or platinum model, less conspicuous, which can wear daily without attracting uninvited attention. However, both appeared few months later, my luck sad.gif!. At that time, grabbed whatever was avail, as 5130 has limited circa in SEA, as compared to other PP. Well, i m contended smile.gif .

Only 5131Y come in yellow gold, and, "by invitation only" by the Stern's family. Heard only one piece was allocated to HK, none in Malaysia or S'pore, unless thru' the gray market. notworthy.gif

Here is the blurr shot fr hp showing the Calibre 240 HU mini rotor:

jamesw
post Jun 11 2010, 12:04 PM

QUOTE(deja-vu @ Jun 11 2010, 04:20 AM)
Source: the same previous article
I guess you are right! better get those limited edition ones. nod.gif
There is no such thing as LE PP; only Limited Production PP, likewise apply to VC. Be great if "LE" PP can be obtain so easily like AP ROO, can be multi-millionaire without sweating it out liao, LOL rclxms.gif

Usually, one need to own a string of different lines of PP, regd 'em with PP Geneva, scrutinized by P Stern, b4 u receive an invitation letter to buy the Limited Production model. Very few peoples have the honour to receive such letter! cry.gif
jamesw
post Sep 28 2010, 03:38 PM

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Sep 28 2010, 09:40 AM)
huh? Mont Blanc expensive crap? have U heard of Minerva? or Minerva Villeret?
Tudor Valuable? despite being Rolex's sister company they uses unmod ETA movement. maybe top gradeFYI mido also uses Top grade ETA movement.
even IWC not that valuable esp those entry level.
a 1990 rolex datejust is ~0.3 of today's datejust MSRP. U can argue U bought it for less and made money, hey due to inflation even if U sold it, U can never afford a 2010 model without paying more.

Added on September 28, 2010, 10:17 am

most moonphase watches has a 59 teeth wheel.
the expensive ones uses a 135 teeth wheel.
Well put, bro rclxms.gif

I was a pure Chinaman over 10 years ago, work like a donkey, hardly any sparetime to read non-professional megazines, & think very highly of "Lolex" then. Then, life became a bit more relax, have more time into hobbies & collectables, only then i realised i was a naive prick! blush.gif

Perhaps, the following link is more practical, in Chinaman term:

http://essential-watches.com/Patek-Philippe

Enjoy browsing thr' the Swiss's BIG4: PP, VC, AP & Breguet ............ But others are also commendable. smile.gif
jamesw
post Oct 2 2010, 12:33 PM

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Oct 2 2010, 12:04 PM)
considering LUC series are in house movements, and every time U bring in it they do upgrade it if the movement requires changing.
Look at it, its a work of art. It is not that steep.
Steep is when they mod standard ETA. Breitling are all base off ETA. a 7750 cost ~US$350, those 2892 cost ~US$200.

vs 7750
http://blog.breitlingsource.com/2007/09/15...-7750-movement/

Great pics, ........... it's using micro rotor too. What camera & lens spec did u use? rclxms.gif
jamesw
post Mar 5 2011, 04:10 PM

QUOTE(tomlaw @ Feb 17 2011, 04:39 PM)
You won't be able to find this kind of grand complication watch here, unless you approach watch shop like Sincere, Cortina or Hour Glass and request they do a direct order from Switzerland for you.
Yes, you can, & don't need to place an order from Switzerland.
I was being offered one 5970YG 2 years ago, but, declined it, coz' good time to invest in the share market then.

Now, it's discont'd; but, still can get it from reputable grey dealer in the UK or USA. Just a matter of a flight, and perhaps, 2 days off work.
jamesw
post Mar 7 2011, 02:22 PM

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Mar 6 2011, 05:37 AM)
rich man! use still going at USD$141,620 U sure invested alot of money in the stock market!
http://forums.watchnet.com/index.php?t=tre...to=339787&rid=0

2yrs back still selling for ~USD$92455 or HKD$720K! per own dealer still letting those go for HKD$1.2M or close to USD$150K
http://www.discuss.com.hk/viewthread.php?a...ble&tid=8612716
Surprised to hear that, ................. & having spoken to frens in HK, will take that with a pinch of salt!

Retailed at AD at that time was abt MYR400K+; good time was abt 500K, needing advance booking with at least 10% deposit on 1st come 1st serve basis, & waiting time 1-2years!

Now, not so keen on that pep chrono, can always play around with fren's. Now, more interested at the classic 5070. biggrin.gif
jamesw
post Mar 10 2011, 04:16 PM

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Mar 10 2011, 11:17 AM)
I am not getting it price stated real of full of s*** I don't care.
good luck hunting!
Bravo! rclxms.gif

Hunting & waiting game is not my cup of tea anymore.

The AD Principal or his assistant usually handle personal delivery of all the Pateks that I'd ordered. I find it difficult to allocate time to window shop at their outlet. Sometimes, me & my wife may window shop at Old Bond Street or Beverly Hill during our holiday. Otherwise, just send my PA to collect it from the grey dealer.

Likewise, it's been a yawning time that I've last set my feet to the bank! biggrin.gif

0.0228sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:53 PM