Tudor,Tag Heuer,Longines,Oris,Rado

luxury meh? biggrin.gif
ar188
post Oct 29 2008, 05:46 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(GSPierre @ Oct 29 2008, 01:54 PM)
i like bell and ross smile.gif
yes quite nice for the price. (not too expensive) just got one earlier this year, Vintage 123 with black face + black leather

something like this..

ar188
post Oct 30 2008, 01:05 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(p_los7 @ Oct 30 2008, 07:14 AM)
Nice, seems to me that Bell & Ross only makes watches with black dials and black straps or beige dials and beige straps. I like the fact that their watches are simple in design with highly readable large dials and numerals, like some of the Sinn's models.
sinn also not bad I like the Frankfurt chrono

fortis also not bad..

I guess these are value for money watches looks good without paying over 10k.. and come with huge discounts.. biggrin.gif

ar188
post Nov 7 2008, 12:04 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee @ Nov 3 2008, 06:29 AM)
how much is considered expensive ? Bell and Ross is expensive to me.  sweat.gif

budget way of owning 'luxury watches' is to go for vintage. might even get lucky and score some new old stock gems. thumbup.gif
I guess over 10k kua considered expensive watch.. (dun say those 2-3k watch also wanna consider as "expensive or luxury" watch?) biggrin.gif

as for vintage watches.. somehow I don't consider them as luxury... those 4-5k old rolexes are not in the same league of the 20-30k new Rolex..

so between owning 3-4 of those cheapo rolexes, I think I'll just stick to my 2006 two-tone Yatchmaster. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Nov 7 2008, 12:08 PM
ar188
post Nov 12 2008, 01:28 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 12 2008, 11:25 AM)
Taikor, so you are here  tongue.gif 

Any new watches lately? I have got the complete price list of Rollie from my Spore cousin. Looks like Spore is cheaper than here  doh.gif 

Eh, Fatty got a Yatchmaster as his wedding gift from his bro. Lucky fella
haha! you found the watch thread.. yeah, the last time you saw my two-tone submariner when I collected the panny projector, I have added a YM to the collection.. haha!

SG cheaper ar? did you have their 2008 price list? can you check how much is the Milgauss 41mm over there in SG?
ar188
post Nov 13 2008, 07:11 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(blasto @ Nov 13 2008, 01:33 AM)
114270 - PS. Can you spot the difference ?
without enlarging the photo already can see the left side link is too loose senget one side.. biggrin.gif I think the newer 6digit rolex links have solid centre links (not sure, I don;t have this model but it shouldn't be that loose if I recall correctly)

This post has been edited by ar188: Nov 13 2008, 07:14 PM
ar188
post Nov 14 2008, 11:12 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(blasto @ Nov 13 2008, 11:02 PM)
Yeah you the pro.
PS production nowdays are thrilling.
how about this ?  sweat.gif

hard to see from this angle and some of the photo is off focus ..but need to see the bracelet links and clasp in person.. especially the clasp area.. (fakes pay very little attention in this area) cos it's expensive to finish it properly..

also for date models, date digits printed letters and lens magnification - another weak spot for fakes

I think for casual viewers, quite hard to spot people wearing "good/high quality" fakes from over 1meter distance away.. need to hold in in hand and see nicely on the finishing, engraving, crown screw , raised Rolex marking on the face etc.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Nov 14 2008, 11:13 AM
ar188
post Dec 18 2008, 01:49 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Dec 16 2008, 12:20 PM)
wow..can share my watches then
wah iman, Hidef fan and also watch fan? rclxms.gif same here..

Added on December 18, 2008, 1:55 am
QUOTE(silverwave @ Dec 17 2008, 06:17 PM)
haha, mine is 2 days old only but i'm sure the shop can get it off.

Tell me what u guys think about the watch.

ck77, show me the ball watch. It glows very brightly right?
nice watch. got one similar dark face but older, tiger woods edition limited with golf ball dimples effect + engraved signature at the back cover.. but very "charn" already..
but now only start wearing my Aquaracer Chrono...must "charn" or "weather" it soon.. hate that pristine watch effect..feels like kampung kia never wear their watch effect... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Dec 18 2008, 01:55 AM
ar188
post Dec 18 2008, 09:27 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Dec 18 2008, 03:07 AM)
Show us the picture. Which tiger woods model is it? You have the picture?
currently have the aquaracer chrono and cartier santos 100 with me, the others already in "storage". when I rotate next round, will take some photos.

the aquaracer is like this one,.

ar188
post Dec 18 2008, 08:38 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Dec 18 2008, 10:34 AM)
Yea, i saw one in Sunway Pyramid. The glow was awesome. How much did u get it for? The minimum for Ball is around Rm5k now.

Added on December 18, 2008, 10:36 am

This model is a bit old. Tiger Woods is using link model now. Looks quite similar without the big numbers on the sides and the chain is a bit different.
Err. aquaracer is newer than link series. There is no tiger woods aquaracer. I was saying my tiger one is link (not wit me now) now i am wearing aqua chrono like the photo posted.
ar188
post Dec 23 2008, 01:33 AM

9,206 posts

one of my older watches Cartier Roadster, bought 2 extra leather straps (brown and another spare black), can be converted to metal bracelet or leather strap instantly.. clip on..
taken circa 3-4years back.....

This post has been edited by ar188: Dec 23 2008, 01:42 AM
ar188
post Dec 23 2008, 12:42 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Dec 23 2008, 09:58 AM)

ar188, nice Cartier you got there. The shape of the case remind me of Frank Muller  biggrin.gif
hehe! the santos 100 would be unmistakable as 100% cartier shape..

anyway here;s the tag taken last nite 1.25am.. tongue.gif

ar188
post Dec 23 2008, 07:09 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Dec 23 2008, 01:54 PM)
Show the Santos, one of my dream watches   biggrin.gif

The Tag is definately fake! The bezel is terbalik! Haha, just kidding bro  tongue.gif

Is it HP Compaq Presario laptop? Mine has the same Altec Lansing speaker  blush.gif
haha! tongue.gif if the tag badge terbalik then 100% fake..

yes it's a HP compaq..

Added on December 23, 2008, 7:12 pm
QUOTE(ck77 @ Dec 23 2008, 01:54 PM)
Show the Santos, one of my dream watches  biggrin.gif
ok, when I take a shot will PM to you...

This post has been edited by ar188: Dec 23 2008, 07:12 PM
ar188
post Dec 26 2008, 06:24 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Dec 26 2008, 05:56 PM)
Eh .... I never saw an AP chrono look like this ....  hmm.gif
it's not a chrono...

if buy APs, should go for Offshore.. got large watch effect..
ar188
post Dec 26 2008, 10:17 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(mirage-rs @ Dec 26 2008, 06:38 PM)
it's day/date with moonphase royal oak.... biggrin.gif whole thing is stainless steel... quite ok la the watch... better than the other AP royal oak but rose gold n reptile skin strap...
wah u got rose gold with reptile skin summore ar? kheng!
ar188
post Dec 29 2008, 10:13 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(LittleCow @ Dec 29 2008, 04:04 PM)
I prefer to buy value for money watches...eg Ball, Fortis.... etc
yeah but no resale value when sell.. smile.gif

Added on December 29, 2008, 10:17 pm
QUOTE(Crusader @ Dec 26 2008, 10:31 PM)
Hmmm... am I the only Breitling fan here?
I kinda like the Breitling for bentley series..

This post has been edited by ar188: Dec 29 2008, 10:17 PM
ar188
post Dec 31 2008, 09:20 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Dec 30 2008, 11:43 PM)
oh not all swiss mechanical got appreciate thru time? tongue.gif
*noob*
NO.
ar188
post Jan 10 2009, 06:04 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(nye79 @ Jan 10 2009, 08:57 AM)
Can i get a new high-end car with that? notworthy.gif
no you can't. German car still more expensive.. like RM250k..

rolex rm20k, B&R rm 20k PP 5980, around USd40k.. give or take.. rclxms.gif but still nice collection...

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 10 2009, 06:09 PM
ar188
post Jan 11 2009, 02:46 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Jan 10 2009, 10:23 PM)
hahah...there is NO WAY the 5980 is sold at its retail (USD40k) in Asia..it's so in demand that the price of that watch is more than double its retail...hehe...

If you buy it in Switzerland, you can.  But there is a looooooooong waiting list for it.  So the only way to get one is to pay a premium, which is like what I said, more than double the retail price...
The PP alone is about the cost of a brand new 3 series... whistling.gif..so yeah, you can buy a German car...hehe...
40k USd that's the street price.
with that kind of price range even have to fly to europe to get it shouldn;'t be a problem. why pay more when it's cheaper to fly to get it..

if you think this watch is worth double at USD80k you must be dreaming...

nah several for sale..
http://www.watches24seven.com/gallery2/mai...g2_itemId=10903
http://www.philippeswatches.com/listing_de...asp?itemID=3286
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=213236
http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/Patek-Philippe-5980...7QQcmdZViewItem

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 11 2009, 02:54 PM
ar188
post Jan 11 2009, 06:08 PM

9,206 posts

ok cheers. Yes. No point arguing. Its a fine watch. Thanks for sharing.

0.0406sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:41 PM