Collectibles Luxury Watches, Rolex,Tudor,Tag Heuer,Longines,Oris,Rado

friedricetheman
post Feb 8 2010, 09:43 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(zxeen @ Feb 7 2010, 06:22 PM)
hi, i'm new to the thread. i've got a 3 rado diastar and a omega constellation all inherited from my grandfather. should be circa 1970's model. i've got 2 questions to ask dear sifus:

1. the omega constellation backplate (i don't know what it's called- i'm referring the piece of metal at the back that you remove to get to the engine biggrin.gif) is fixed to the body with screws. the screws have now rotted and rusted inside. attempts to open damaged the screw heads even more. do you know of any master who have the tools to open it? the screws are rather delicate. one shop has proposed to hack open the backplate and seal back with silicone later. well NO WAY for me!

2. minor question: is there any risk of breaking anything by over-winding the crown?

i will upload pics when i have the chance.
Answers

1. I suggest you bring it to Swatch Group too. But be prepared to fork out big money. Last year, I sent my Vintage Seamaster Cal. 455 (Bumper movement) to them and they told me it has to be sent to Switzerland for procurement of parts and overhaul of the engine. The reason being is that the parts have to be handmade (as it is no longer in production) and the technicians here do not have the blueprint of the watch available on hand. The total bill came up to RM3,000. But it was worth it as it came back as good as new. smile.gif

2. If it is a handwound watch, yes, absolutely. Overwinding the crown causes the spring connected to the winding stem to give way. When this happens, the crown will become stiff (unable to handwind anymore). Rule of thumb, wind the watch with your middle finger and thumb, when you feel a slight pressure, stop winding. Automatic watchs, on the other hand, have a mechanism that stop the watch from overwinding on the rotor (but only on the rotor and not the winding stem).
friedricetheman
post Feb 9 2010, 05:23 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Feb 9 2010, 09:39 AM)
Nearest to you am afraid is Swatch Group Singapore. It is advisable to service a mechanical watch every 5 years even though no major problem, this is a preventive action to avoid a major breakdown it may occur.
But Swatch Group Singapore charges in Singapore Dollars. And the repairs are charged based on dollar to dollar. If the repair cost RM700 here, it will cost SDG700 there. Better if you make a trip to KL to do the repairs, and make another trip in 3 weeks time to collect it. Cheaper and more economical.
friedricetheman
post Feb 10 2010, 12:37 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Feb 9 2010, 05:40 PM)
Really? If that the case, then we should go for Swatch Group Thailand  rclxm9.gif
Yeah. Why not? I've never dealt with Swatch Group thailand (if there is one, that is) so I don't know what their pricing are like.

Btw, you don't have to be such a smart pants about it. I'm just relaying my experiences with Rolex Singapore so if you are not interested, just keep your post to yourself. You don't have to post a sarcastic remark like that to discredit me.
friedricetheman
post Feb 10 2010, 08:08 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Feb 10 2010, 12:42 PM)
My bad, is is not my intention for sarcasm, sorry if you interpret it wrongly  sweat.gif
We just here to share comment and give advise. Peace  notworthy.gif
Sorry man. I misconstruct your post. Peace. blush.gif
friedricetheman
post Feb 14 2010, 02:45 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(stargamer @ Feb 10 2010, 01:42 PM)
i own a rolex gmt master ii.
Nice one there. Pictures or it didn't happen. smile.gif

I have a Rolex Datejust. But am thinking of getting a GMT Master II with the new ceramic dial soon. smile.gif

And this is my wife's current favorite watch (changes with mood)

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Feb 14 2010, 02:52 AM
friedricetheman
post Feb 14 2010, 11:05 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(nomar @ Feb 14 2010, 09:42 PM)
No idea really, I was looking for a dress watch and contemplating between Trainmaster Power reserve or Pulsemeter COSC, read reviews,forum,pic.. etc and set on power reserve partly because on web picture the white enamel background looks stunning + shop doesn't hv stock pulsemeter.

But seeing it physically it looks like 'normal' white, mind you ít still looks good (and may still be my 2nd Ball  purchase ha! ha! ) Anyway very happy with the mad-cow. despite its apparent size not very heavy due to titanium casing. I handhold both Spacemaster and Mad cow and can feel weight different.
I have the Ball Trainmaster Pulsemeter and Engineer Master II Diver (with all black bezel). Both are equally good as dress watches. The Mad Cow is a bit chunky to hide under my cuffs. I traded away mine last year.

Ball Trainmaster Pulsemeter

Ball Engineer Master II Diver (all black internal bezel)

friedricetheman
post Feb 18 2010, 12:16 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Feb 17 2010, 01:10 PM)
OMG... experience with Rolex SG how to use that on Swatch Group... different entity may function differently too.
so with Rolex, I guess go Thailand is cheaper.  *** thinking out Loud ***

BTW: ck77 just stating the facts what... whats wrong with that? don't like ppl to discredit U?  ego too big? sweat.gif
It was cleared up eons ago. Go check previous posts before posting. Or maybe you have seen the previous posts and you still want to do a round of dissing. blink.gif

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Feb 18 2010, 12:24 AM
friedricetheman
post Feb 20 2010, 02:32 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Feb 19 2010, 07:15 PM)
hey everyone
I got a question here
I see watches saying a number of jewels
for example like mine says "CITIZEN 25 JEWELS"
what does those jewels mean?
does it mean it have 25 jewels inside?
does it mean it have 25 type of jewels?
does 25 mean is a type of jewel used?
In layman terms, jewels are synthetic rubies. Near worthless in money terms but in a watch, it helps to reduce friction between moving parts. "25 jewels" basically means that your watch has 25 synthetic rubies wedged inside the movement to prevent friction.

A 50 jewel movement isn't neccessary better than a 20 jewel movement. Sometimes, watch makers put in additional (unneccessary) jewels inside a watch to decorate it (make it look prettier). This is usually the case in skeleton and see through caseback watches.

A normal watch (eg. one that just tells the time) will run quite well on 17 jewels.
friedricetheman
post May 15 2010, 12:54 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

When it comes to Rollies, I suggest you don't go for the best deals. Usually the saying, "if it is too good to be true then it is too good to be true" holds well, especially for Rolexes.

Get a Rolex from one of the many ADs in town. You don't want to be saddled with a rolex that RSC deem 'unable to service' as it contains non-original parts. An unservicable rolex will only sell for around 40% of the 2nd hand market price.

RSC is quite strict with their Rollies. Once a Rolex is serviced by non-authorised service centers, they will not accept it. What I like about Rolex Service Center (RSC) is that they will not only buff out the scratches (making your watch look brand new) but will also fit it with new movements when it becomes available at no extra cost to the customer. My 10 year old Rolex was recently fitted with a new movement. Found that out when I check the date window, as the dates now look a bit more rounded (ala the new Milgauss and Submariner).
friedricetheman
post May 27 2010, 01:09 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

Is your 5130 in yellow gold? It sure looks like yellow gold. Do you know that the ref. 5130 was never released in yellow gold? smile.gif Mind showing us the caseback please. Would love to see the cal. 240. smile.gif Btw, welcome to the forums! We are all NOT serious watch collectors here (non-WIS). We trade in lowly brands like Ball, Rollies and Omegas. For PP's you have better luck in the timezone forums.

QUOTE(jamesw @ May 18 2010, 01:41 PM)
Greeting to all sifu notworthy.gif .

I m a newbie in acquiring Swiss watches, NOT a serious watch collector..........hopefully, won't upset anyone biggrin.gif !

In my possession, inc Patek Philippe 5056P, 5059YG, 5130R & 4958YG (wife); Rolex Oyster Peptual Datejust YG/SS male & female pair & Daytona SS. Daily beater uses CardioSport Heart Rate Monitor, Alain Delon DateQuartz, Citizen Quartz or Petaling Street's cheapies. Future target: PP 5711/1A, 5980/1A, 5970P ..............................or 5951P ..........................  drool.gif If I can be so lucky.  I was offered the 5167/1A, but, will give it a miss, 'cos not appetising enough shakehead.gif ! Again, I m only acquiring its for interest, NOT a keen collector like William Massenna et al.

Wrist shot of the PP5130R

Qn: Anyone know whether there are any outlet selling legitimate, pre-owned Swiss watches, which come with original certificate in KL? NOT those "hot", stolen stuff in the "gold"/pawn shop!

BTW, never come across Patek Philippe Aquanaut presented as 5076. Need some educating from some highly respected sifu notworthy.gif  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif . Moreover, IMHO, both JLC & A Lange are great watches in their own league, & beyond a shadow of doubt, can compete head on with the BIG 4 Swiss watches thumbup.gif .

Regards.

This post has been edited by jamesw: Yesterday, 05:47 PM
friedricetheman
post May 27 2010, 02:52 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

Where do you service your watch. I have to send it back to Sincere to service my dad's old ref. 5035 (pre-silicon mainspring version). Took them several months to hand it back to me. They told me they have to send it back to Singapore but the service center there found the winding rotor kaput so they have to send it to switzerland. Back there, they found that the watch has water logged inside it and the case has pits in it, so they have to change the whole damn movement inside. My dad took it swimming a few times without my knowledge. It was a retirement present to him from me 10 years ago. Now he just keeps the damn thing inside his safe after I told him the repair bill came up to RM10k. hehe. I finally got him a Seamaster GMT Co-Axial 300m so he can play golf and swim in it the whole day. Pictures will be up as soon as I get back home from the office.

QUOTE(jamesw @ May 27 2010, 02:08 PM)
TQ 4 ur concern, this is not a replica, registered it as soon as i acquired fr the AD in KLCC few years ago.

Is 5130R, rose gold. I much prefer the white gold or platinum model, less conspicuous, which can wear daily without attracting uninvited attention. However, both appeared few months later, my luck sad.gif!. At that time, grabbed whatever was avail, as 5130 has limited circa in SEA, as compared to other PP. Well, i m contended smile.gif .

Only 5131Y come in yellow gold, and, "by invitation only" by the Stern's family. Heard only one piece was allocated to HK, none in Malaysia or S'pore, unless thru' the gray market. notworthy.gif

Here is the blurr shot fr hp showing the Calibre 240 HU mini rotor:

friedricetheman
post Aug 20 2010, 04:55 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(btfan @ Jul 12 2010, 09:43 PM)
Noticed this problem with two tissot that I owned especially on the second needle. Poor workmanship for this "esteemed" brand.
No, actually, this is a common problem with Valjoux 7750 movement. When you reset it, the needle will sometimes deviate from the center. In order to correct this, you can start the chrono function again (press the top button), then stop it after 15 seconds (press the top button again), and then hold the reset button (press and hold the bottom button) while you shake your watch a bit to the right or left (depending on where the needle is stuck). ie. if the needle is stuck at 59 seconds, then tilt the watch to your right while holding the reset button and vice versa. The counter should now be at 12 o'clock again. Release the reset button once the counter is at the center.

If not, then maybe it's time for you to get your watch serviced. smile.gif
friedricetheman
post Oct 5 2016, 12:24 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

Looks like thread is a bit quiet at the moment. I'll do my part to wake it up a bit.

My latest acquisition.

Consolidation galore in 2016. Sold off and gave away a bunch of watches that I no longer love. And now I have a smaller, leaner collection that can fit into a 8 watch box.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0268sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:13 PM