Chery MPV Community - CMC Version 1, To Gather All Chery MPV Owners

zaizu
post Oct 31 2008, 09:34 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(surehit @ Oct 31 2008, 01:19 AM)
Yo Dude, post all you like but have some respect please... Why respect? This thread is started by Chery lovers and hence it's meant for Chery owners and those interested in it.  icon_idea.gif

To come here and criticise and calling it inferior without facts is not beneficial nor respectful, and hardly qualify as interest. It's like someone saying you have a "slutty" wife/gf without even knowing her When asked to stop, that person said, I will continue because it's my interest to talk about how "slutty" your wife/gf is...  doh.gif
(no offense intended, but if you feel offended, then I guess u probably understood how we the Chery owners or lovers felt by your statements and presence here). Hope you see the huge difference between flaming and sharing...

Now emotions aside, why Chery Eastar? Coming from a person who have seen/compared and test drove Avanza, Grand Livina, Rush, Citra and Rondo (all below RM90k MPV). Innova is out because it's above RM100k, guzzle petrol like mad (have friends who own it) and looks like a van.

I was skeptical of China cars too before I went to see the Chery. But what I saw (and tested) blown me away.
See my review here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/803752/+20
and

My comparison:

CHERY EASTAR  rclxms.gif
Engine: Mitsubishi 2.4L SOHC 16V
Max Power: 95kw@5500rpm
Max Torque: 198Nm@3000rpm (the best compare to others!!)  thumbup.gif
Min Turning Radius: 6m

TOYOTA AVANZA
Engine: Toyota 1.5 DOHC 16V
Max Power: 80kw@6000rpm
Max Torque: 141Nm@4400rpm
Min Turning Radius: 4.7m

TOYOTA RUSH
Engine: Toyota 1.5 DOHC 16V
Max Power: 80kw@6000rpm
Max Torque: 141Nm@4400rpm
Min Turning Radius: 5.2m

NISSAN GRAND LIVINA
Engine: Nissan 1.8L DOHC 16V
Max Power: 93kw@5200rpm
Max Torque: 174Nm@4800rpm
Min Turning Radius: 5.2m
For what I'm paying, I'm getting:  thumbup.gif

1. Nice elegant look, esp the beautiful LED rear lights.
2. Good features you can only find in higher price MPV: Dual Airbags, ABS, EBD, Steptronic (auto & manual transmission), Mitsubishi 2.4L engine, 16" alloy wheel, CD + MP3 player with USB, Dual Tone Horn.
3. Good petrol consumption from the feedbacks here, RM100 for 450km.
4. Sleeker than Avanza/Innova/Serena but roomier than Avanza/Grand Livina/Rush/Citra/Rondo. Sits 7 people comfortably.
5. Auto thermostatic adjust air-con with blowers on last 2 rows.
6. 3 years warranty and 1 year free service. Use Mitsubishi spare parts.
7. NCAP Safety Rating of 4.

RM80k only now, mana boleh dapat from other brands?

My main criteria is a powerful MPV for my big family yet roomy and affordable. So far only Chery Eastar matched these criterias.  rclxms.gif
If you bother to do some research, you should see all the answers above to your questions.
yeap

i just got my black Chery yesterday and everyone i met is interested in having a look and asking so many questions

one of the main points is the 2.4 engine - they just cannot believe the prcing at RM 80,000 - so cheap !

after all we Malaysians have also been conned on engine capacity - the more higher the more you pay in terms of price as well as government duties and taxes

after all for most people it never matters whether it is SOHC or DOHC or VVTI or all this gobbledy gook

what they want is a car that can fit 7 people and yet look small and stylish like the Wish - hah banrd name conciousness

me thinks - usually one third of the car price goes to the manufacturer and one third to the importer and distributor for advertising and promotion and their fat profits and finally one third to government as duties and taxes

so why buy a car only on the brand name only - but see the specifications first

i myself are selling the Honda CRV to get Chery

zaizu
post Nov 1 2008, 10:38 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Nov 1 2008, 03:35 AM)
oh yeah? i thought people are avoiding from having high capacity engine? i bet the fc will suffer compare to other alternatives nod.gif
sleek or not i dont know but we dont judge power purely from torque, horsepower is equally important.. isn't it abit too low for a 2.4L engine?
hence back to my initial question, is the 4G64 2.4L a fail engine?
sit 7 people without loss of power, u must be joking doh.gif
or u mean the power is still adequate to move the car?
neither way, it makes u look silli-er tongue.gif
oh ya, u forgot something.. must remember to "renovate ur internal with sport cushion" lol laugh.gif
hi imperialrealcs - pls do not comment so much about something you never tried to test drive !

i am in Genting now and the climb was quite okay

the climb up Genting was comparable to my Honda CRV 2.0

my Chery has only only done about 200 km - so i do not want push the still new new Chery

as a Chery owner - the point is you get 2.4 Mitsubishi engine 7 seater sleek looking MPV at RM 80,000

when Proton MPV comes out - everyone will complaint and talk about all the shortcomings about Proton quality and engine specs and so on and on and on
- the owners themselves usually do not complaint - they solve problems

- it is always the onlookers who may never-never buy Cheri MPV or the Proton MPV - who complaint and complaint and complaint

lets face it - everything in life has its positive and negative side - some people marry beautiful people and yet mess around with other women

lets look at the positive side - even a Lambo or a Ferrari cannot fit in 7 persons comfortably - and the prices are astronomical

so it is the price point - what else can you get at RM 80,000 :clap
zaizu
post Nov 1 2008, 11:59 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Nov 1 2008, 11:40 AM)
hey, in fact, i do agree to ur point as i drove proton as well smile.gif
anyway, i dont anti-china car smile.gif
its the reply makes me to do so like "renovation with bla bla cushion" and "changing to 4G63T engine" lol
dear imperialrealcs

okay - lets call a truce - you win we lose

- well everyone wins - especially the Chery owners

let's not argue - in future

i myself read the Singapore review - before purchasing - http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/review.php?AID=11

Chery photos - http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_...p?CarCode=10442

everyone - okay let's get on with improvising the Chery

i had so many friends who were astounded by the engine specifications and the large interior and especially the price

in fact there was a Toyota Wish owner - even he was impressed the Chery interior and the looks for the price of RM 80,000
zaizu
post Nov 3 2008, 12:09 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(surehit @ Nov 2 2008, 01:01 PM)
Zaizu got win in Genting or not?  brows.gif  I oso love Genting very much, but now cannot masuk casino coz have to jaga my daughter and accompany her to play theme park (got annual pass).  tongue.gif

Welcome to the club WPF8899.  rclxms.gif  Do you know my sister car also 8899? How much you paid for it? Please leave your contact with Enigma4646. Looks like a grand touring is gonna happen soon.  rclxm9.gif

Enigma, I'll call you once I got my MPV. BTW, do you know where's the best place in KL/PJ to change the floor mat? Wanna change it to match my leather seats, carbon grey.
tak masuk casino - the casino will always win

jaga anak kat theme park - like you

already come down this afternoon

zaizu
post Nov 6 2008, 03:59 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ Nov 6 2008, 12:43 AM)
i do not understand why someone would want to buy this chery, even the kia rondo/naza citra II rondo is a better choice at that price. i still believe the koreans make better car than the chinese. its not even crash-test proof
why don't you understand - why why why !

are you a Rondo purchaser ? - if so i pls be happy and enjoy your Korean car

BUT i can bet the Toyota Wish and the Honda Stream owners are laughing at the Korean car purchasers
as they would say the Japanese brand is the better one as compared to the Korean ones

it never ends - all this brand talk

BUT i have already bought my black Chery since more than 1 week - no regrets at all

no cars are crash proof - i am sure you know about Ayrton Senna of Formula 1 races - Ayrton Senna

CHEERS

zaizu
post Nov 6 2008, 12:19 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(zurggie @ Nov 6 2008, 12:14 PM)
thanks.. where u get the list thou?
the dealers list is available on the Chery Alado website

Chery Alado - dealer list
zaizu
post Nov 7 2008, 12:38 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ Nov 7 2008, 12:00 AM)
i quote from paultan.org

According to Naza Kia, the new Rondo is built on the D-segment new Kia Optima platform and also shares the Optima’s sweet new GEMA-based 2.0 liter DOHC CVVT engine producing 145 horsepower and 189Nm of torque, mated to a 4-speed automatic transmission with sequential manual shifting. The GEMA engine is a joint project between DaimlerChrysler, Hyundai and Mitsubishi. The 4B11 in the Mitsubishi Lancer is also based on the GEMA family.

http://paultan.org/archives/2008/09/15/naz...ed-in-malaysia/

which ncap are u referring to? all ncaps are different, the ancap and euro ncap are totally different things, different test basis.

if u base on horsepower basis, no doubt the low tech 4g64 has better torque, but by how much, a negligible, close to 9nm of torque. your fuel consumption would be higher since its not a fuel efficient engine. 2.4 vs 2.0 is not a fair fight. if u want to compare proper engines, think of the toyota estima 2.4 or toyota alphard 2.4.

i have nothing against china made cars, but their tech is still much away from any major manufacturers. the kia is using a mitsubishi based engine which has more parts and tuning parts, which can easily swallow the 4g64 underdeveloped engine.

kia rondo has 4 star ancap test (http://www.mynrma.com.au/cps/rde/xchg/mynrma/hs.xsl/ancap_kia_rondo_lhd_08.htm)

sohc vehicles lack top speed, mind you, i owned a 1.8 litre sohc mitsubishi lancer . good pickup, but lack the top speed!

wait till the proton mpv comes out, i bet most owners of the chery mpv would be in tears.
you maybe right or you maybe DEAD WRONG

as a user i am happy with my Chery

zaizu
post Nov 7 2008, 12:50 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ Nov 7 2008, 12:36 AM)
look i do not want to find trouble here. im just merely comparing and stating facts, so feel free to correct me if u think i am wrong. i just think that the chery was a bad idea to begin with, think of the chery A160 sedan. its hardly making much sales and impact
i am feeling free to correct you as i think you are wrong - very wrong

as a user for 1 week with more 400 km including Genting trip - i am happy

i used to drive Honda CRV - it was a good car for certain reasons

BUT now i have a bigger family and i am not interested in top speed driving and also fed up of paying summons

so i myself have test driven Rondo and have checked out the Livina and Rush and the Innova

so far me and my children are happy with our Chery - whatever you say
zaizu
post Nov 7 2008, 01:23 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ Nov 7 2008, 12:50 AM)
ive seen hafei lobo breakdown in my hometown, brand new car cant start after 2 months of owning, poor fella has to stand by the roadside hoping for rescue, haha, too bad its a guy, so no point helping, lol.

Added on November 7, 2008, 12:54 am

oh yeah, whatever u say too, like i said, i dont care, just read above, will you. i am still single and even if i started my own family, you would most likely not see me in an MPV, period. enough with people polluting the world with low tech engine and overpopulating the world, increasing the CO2 content in the atmosphere. although you may think it is non related, but as a socially responsible driver, think what u are doing the environment
well it is up to you

it is like Symbian and Windows smartphones, like the Cola wars - there is never a best product for everyone - cars especially

when anyone buys a car - they would have done some research and test drives and once they have bought it

- they would be happy usually - whatever you say and whatever you comment would not change their minds
BUT if they themselves have a bad experience then they would learn from it

after all you will not be sitting in a Chery - so it should not matter to you

if you recall - in those days the Japanese car had the same comments thrown and yet today people are willing to pay extra for japanese brands

talking about polluting - terrible - so many smokers in the world
- BUT do they ever think about stopping smoking and saving the world - no they don't and they will never stop smoking until .......

so lets be happy with whatever cars we have and be grateful for it and hope for even a better future for all of us

thousand apologies to everyone here in Lowyat

Please
lets just talk about Chery here - it is the Chery MPV community forum thread and not hafei lobo thread

peace peace peace

zaizu
post Nov 9 2008, 12:29 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(AiRBooM @ Nov 8 2008, 09:26 PM)
no.. different engine... Grandis using 2.4 Litre 16-valve SOHC (4G69) , which is more powerful engine.
yes you are right - Chery is half the price

BUT look at the Mitsubishi Grandis price at RM 162,000 as compared to Chery at RM 80,000

http://www.mitsubishi-motors.com.my/showro...-peninsular.php
zaizu
post Nov 10 2008, 11:59 AM

156 posts

"Today I 'carbon fibre' my Enigma nose..........and all the chrome parts ......will snatch a photo later........"

photo pls

price and where did you do the make up for Chery

zaizu
post Nov 14 2008, 04:28 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Nov 14 2008, 01:27 AM)
so .. this car reliable ? handling nice o not ?
the Chery is like driving a car = MPV

smooth driving - like cruising on highways and roads - BUT not rough and tough driving like SUV which are good for dirt roads

so far already 730 km and no problem
zaizu
post Nov 21 2008, 12:17 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(Enigma4646 @ Nov 20 2008, 07:56 PM)
where is everybody ?????
hi everyone
i just sent my Chery for 1,000km service - no charges at all

totally free up to 20,000 km

so far i have done 1,500km and no found major issues with the Chery

my family really enjoys the Chery as compared to the Honda CRV - mainly due to the space and comfort and the quiet engine
last week we went to Kluang and we are going to Grik this Saturday

actually i feel the Chery is almost the same as the premium MPV except for the brand name which is not widely known

BUT cheaper by more than half

actually there are some info on Chery cars at Paul Tan website - Chery info

i heard they are going to increase the Chery price by about RM 4,000 soon inclusive of roof rail

This post has been edited by zaizu: Nov 21 2008, 12:19 AM
zaizu
post Nov 29 2008, 11:30 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(dynasan @ Nov 29 2008, 09:13 AM)
yalar....where is everyone-ar?
surehit, your car fixed?
hi everyone

so busy everyday
went for staff wedding at Lenggong, Perak and then went for jalan jalan to Lumut last week - 620 km
tomorrow going to Ipoh

but i myself so far have no problems with my Chery

i think of changing the headlight to 110 w - but no time

must try the Nitrogen gas - address of Chian Soon Tayar Pro ? - sold anywhere else ?

zaizu
post Dec 2 2008, 10:51 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(Enigma4646 @ Dec 2 2008, 10:11 AM)
Morning ....Chosan.....every Eastarian ..... I notice lots of profeesional in profession bought this MPV ....doctors...lawyers.....accountants.... good la ....coz intellectual people choose this vehicle.....and Chery people MUIST improve their PR / Quality Service etc to sustain this strong support from their customer....loyalty is very important ......

So back to my question ...When is our 1st TT ???? perhaps a group of 5 first ....then we will organize a bigger gathering .......

PROPOSED :

This Saturday Night

good idea - where? what time ?

i suggest kedai mamak bistro type

i suggest between 5-7 pm or about 9 pm onwards
zaizu
post Dec 2 2008, 12:17 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(Enigma4646 @ Dec 2 2008, 11:17 AM)
sure kena kutuk ka???? he hee......

Added on December 2, 2008, 11:19 am

you ask Zaizu....he and family already conquered GENTING HIGHLAND
this kutuk kutuk never ends

you can always find fault with any car - really every car got some shortcoming or room for improvement

every car has always some defects or unexpected problems

just like hotel rooms - even in the most expensive hotel rooms there are so many rules and regulations that you must follow - otherwise you have to fines or penalties

for example the Taj Hotel in Mumbai was a 5 star establishment and was very very tragically unlucky to be chosen as a target for terrorists who may not have chosen a 1 star or budget hotel as their target

so in everything in life there is a balance beyween the price you pay and the quality you get

also we as consumers should not be so brand conscious and we should pay for the product itself rather than for the advertising and brand image expenditure

luxury products could cost only about 60% of the sale price and then you have to pay another 10% to the manufacturer profit and another 10% to the retailer (sales outlet ) and finally the remaining 20% to the government duties and taxes.

do not forget the more expensive the car the more government duties and tax you have to pay and the more expensive the car the more you have to pay in terms of finance charges to the banks for the hire purchase

zaizu
post Dec 2 2008, 12:47 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Dec 2 2008, 12:29 PM)
They did not kutuk about the car.
when i do google translate

http://translate.google.com/translate?sour...mp%3d1226421410

i cannot understand
what are they saying - could you explain further ?

i hope they are praising the car ! rclxm9.gif

anyway whatever they are saying does not matter
as i am already driving the Chery for more than one month and am happy with the car
zaizu
post Dec 4 2008, 01:12 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(Enigma4646 @ Dec 3 2008, 04:34 PM)
Sure can ......everything start with a 'dream' ......or fantasy ....Putrajaya still...not decide ...waiting confirmation from members....

welcomeeee

Added on December 3, 2008, 4:35 pm
Welcome and congrats on your choice...... icon_rolleyes.gif
any news on Putrajaya meet ?
zaizu
post Dec 5 2008, 11:47 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(fredorica @ Dec 5 2008, 11:18 AM)
Hi guys,Just got the eastar sales report

September  60Units
October    93 Units
November  160 Units

hehe,Seems over 3oo users out of there
quite good for a car with very little advertising

i suggest our Mr President to prepare and list out all the Lowyat members with Chery info
zaizu
post Dec 6 2008, 01:22 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(Enigma4646 @ Dec 5 2008, 10:56 PM)
FIRST GATHERING ( UNOFFICIAL ) TOMORROW AT PUTRAJAYA - GATHER AT THE PUTRAJAYA MOSQUE AT 9PM ONWARDS ....THEN GO TEH TARIK .....
pls reach me at 019 214 2131 or 012 265 4646 .....Please...We Must Unite .....
what if it is raining ?
okay i will try my best to be there

Chery black colour - registration number CAR 999
Rustum - 016-286 0000 or 019-384 0000

0.0426sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:51 PM