28 posts

Hie Guys,

My torts.

hong123
post Mar 20 2009, 10:09 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(Omegaminx @ Mar 20 2009, 12:15 AM)
Quite nice star, well balanced pyramiding..lines a bit thin though...are all yor stars pyramided?

Don't feed them too much long beans or high protein diet if you want some to have smooth curvy carapace.

Also, rmbr they need a hideout with some moisture too...keep posting your other pics bro

Cheers  thumbup.gif
Hie Guys,

Ooh.. My torts in near 5 inches in SCL. I never feed them long beans, but when beginning, used to feed them a lot of Exo Terra pellets. I think this maybe the cause for the minor pyramiding. Now I'm only feed them green mustard, unless when I want to feed them calcium supplement, I will feed them on top of wet pellets.

My snapper is around 3.5 inches though. Quite heavy eater. Once snap on a large feeder fish, its claws can easily torn the fish into halves. Was thinking to sell the ally snapper though. It's too fierce for me to handle..haha.
hong123
post Apr 13 2009, 10:45 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Apr 13 2009, 05:43 AM)
Ally dont fast when smaller !! Only sick , gravid F or cold weather Ally fast for a week or more !! Yours is still a baby less than 3 inch shell length ?? It look so thin (First 2 pic same animal right ??)

How you keep it ?? - Temp ? water condition .... 

But at that size v v hard to cure if sick especially if it is not eating !! BTW what have you offered as food ??- suitable size guppy is best !!
From the pics, I think the baby ally snapper is around 2 inches long. Are you feeding it with small feeder fish? How about water level? Be careful when handling it as the shell of baby ally snapper is really soft.
hong123
post Sep 3 2009, 12:15 PM

28 posts

Wow!!!! Nice Emys... beautiful eyes too!

Here is few pics of my Stars!!!

user posted image user posted image

hong123
post Oct 29 2009, 04:32 PM

28 posts

Hie all sifus,

My female star tortoise has a big problem. It's very inactive lately and its front limbs seems weak. Her poo and pee is OK. No runny nose. Eating well on orchard grass, cucumber and calcium powder. Under basking light. Has been keeping her around 3-4 years together with a male star tort with same size.

She is 4-5 inches SCL and weight more than 500g. Any idea what causes her to be inactive? Egg bound?
hong123
post Nov 3 2009, 10:46 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(billyer @ Nov 2 2009, 10:28 PM)
Friend,
i starve my sulcata for 1 day and feed it with timothy hay only, but it still do not eat.
wonder why...scratching head...
any better suggestion?
Hie billyer,

All my torts are feeding on Timothy Hays before I opt for Orchard Grass (the stem is softer). I'll cut the hays into small pieces, then pour water on them so the hays are wet. For the first try, you should mix in something that they like to eat into the hays, eg. green mustard(sawi), tortoise pellets, mushroom, fruits or calcium powder.

Hope this helps.
hong123
post Nov 3 2009, 11:34 AM

28 posts

Wow.. budblely... nice ASTs
What are you feeding them? Feeder fish? Pellets?
Any water filter inside it? The water will easily gets oily and dirty if you are feeding them feeder fish.
hong123
post Nov 3 2009, 11:53 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(billyer @ Nov 3 2009, 11:38 AM)
I think i should take more photo of my sulcata and post it here to share with yours.
Billyer, do post the photos. I would like to get a pair of sulcata too, but not anytime soon, since now I've star, cherry and impressa. Taking photos for sulcata from time to time is helpful if u wanna track their growth rate. I read that sulcata grows very fast.

0.0397sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:22 PM