Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V4, Armored reptiles please enter here :p

Omegaminx
post Oct 23 2008, 05:30 AM

181 posts

Hi there guys,

For ST, difficult to get the humidity down to 40-50% even with Repti Glo Neodymium 50W basking light. The exoterra hygrometer is only reading 60% at best but the ST seems to be enjoying the heat smile.gif
75W feels too hot as I have another tight beam at 75W....so not using that for now. What are you guys mainly using? These buggers do get some natural sunlight 3-4 times a week for 1-2hours each time.

Cheers wink.gif
Omegaminx
post Oct 28 2008, 09:21 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Oct 28 2008, 10:37 AM)
midvalley still have some pardalis, rm888.
Yup, MV still have leopards at RM888 per pop..I think 4 left if my memory didnt fail.

Ironic why ST can't be traded with so many successful captive breeders in Msia, but the leopards can be openly sold.

CITES concept is just plain silly to me.

Anyway, the leopards there is kept together with a bearded dragon (same housing) using rabbit pellets as substrate...not our usual stuff

reccomended here...I happen to read a tortoise book in MV MPH that rabbit pellets are quite good as bedding as the torts enjoy digging a bit..

Wonder if Fat^Cat's "Cat Litter Recycled Paper" is still available at its usual place? Plan to get some..now using big wood chips...no smell though but

obviously not as soft and fluffy as recycled paper and I don't pile wood chips 10cm high wink.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

Cheers
Omegaminx
post Oct 28 2008, 11:28 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Oct 28 2008, 09:35 PM)
Leopards can be legally / openly sold due to them being imported legally thru CITES (Which I agree is just plain silly )
Be those Leopard CB or WC as long as the exporting countries can get a annual quota for them , the leopard can be traded !!!

On the other hand , WC Indian Star cant be imported legally due to India not allowing it !!

As for CB Star bred locally that cant be openly sold due to the breeding stock not having CITES import paper thus cant be legalised to breed CITES animals !!  What a joke rite !!!

Thats why my fren went back into his closet to continue his illegal tortoise breeding activity !!
rclxms.gif Exactly...can't help but agree, but in a way, it does make the IST a more exotic pet with the ban on as much I dislike the way things are.

BTW, does radiata carapace pyramid once they get bigger? Yes, I read many articles online that radiatas don't pyramid naturally but has anyone despite good diet and UVB/D3 still get pyramiding?

Thanks..
Omegaminx
post Oct 30 2008, 06:45 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Oct 30 2008, 10:22 AM)
MV sell leopard for RM 888?? RIPOFF!!!
ikano selling RM600 nia
Brother, ikano leopard gone liao, only left cherry red foot and another sulcata variant only hmm.gif
Omegaminx
post Nov 1 2008, 11:30 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Nov 1 2008, 05:07 PM)
behold... my latest import from Yogyakarta.

Flowerback Wood Turtle - Leucocephalon bullshitoi

managed to smuggle it on flight, no problem whatsoever  cool2.gif
rclxms.gif I heard this species will pyramid in 1 year's time wink.gif

But luckily it doesn't need to eat or pass motion in its lifetime, very cost effective pet
icon_idea.gif

Omegaminx
post Nov 1 2008, 11:53 PM

181 posts

Just wanted to share some pics of my friend's STs with LYN friends with similar interest in these little buggers tongue.gif

Planned to share earlier but was bz with work and stuff...

Pics taken off hp only...so pls don't mind the low res quality k...

This post has been edited by Omegaminx: Nov 2 2008, 12:19 AM
Omegaminx
post Nov 2 2008, 02:20 AM

181 posts

Thx beardiekid wink.gif

Anyone has got any idea regarding where to get Baytril (enrofloxacin) nasal drops or injectables? And any vet who knows how to inject Baytril(im route) into tort's forearms?

Picked out something interest from chelonia.net
"A tip for vets from Chris Tabaka DVM: Do you use gentamicin Sulfate/betamethasone ophthalmic drops much there for tortoise URT disease? I've been using them two to three times daily in the eyes and also nostrils of a couple of recent cases in combination with the classic baytril 10 mg/kg every other day for two weeks with 100% success in a couple of chronic cases here. I think it is primarily the betamethasone that is decreasing the inflammation in the airways and thus eliminating the classic wheezing but the antibiotic duo seems to be knocking out the responsible bugs at the same time. Nothing like transforming "wheezy" the drippy eyed tortoise into a healthy, bright eyed tortoise."

What do the veterans here use for RNS..apart from sun-basking and Vitamin A.

Cheers!

This post has been edited by Omegaminx: Nov 2 2008, 08:35 AM
Omegaminx
post Nov 6 2008, 07:11 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Nov 6 2008, 05:53 PM)
Just an update

They plan to rebury the eggs and try to hatch them ( Fingers very crossed ) !!

Even mention in one of the local Chinese newspaper about  how some of the officer ( Perikanan ) have kept some eggs in their store and after a few days turtles hatch out ( some miracale ) !!!

LOL What are they thinking !! A remark from my friend !!!
Samperth, u from Sabah mah, just go and dot-com dot-my with them, maybe u can get some eh? smile.gif

BTW, what torts are they? Didnt really mention whether they were ST, leopards etc...

Cheers! smile.gif
Omegaminx
post Nov 13 2008, 09:08 AM

181 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Nov 12 2008, 08:47 PM)
indian star i suppose? they're naturally not one of those 'active' tortoises, so don't expect them to run around too much. as long as they are mobile during certain parts of their photoperiod is ok.

they certainly don't enjoy basking for too long either (a few minutes only then head straight into hiding. and don't force them into basking for too long, you might not like the consequences).

try feeding them every other day as opposed to every day, that should help increase their appetite.
What happens when u overdid the basking/sunbathing for them like say 1 hour under the sun with water? I know consequences is not good, but if possible, kindly expand on that a bit?
Will they die of heatstroke?
Or become sick thereafter?
Become hyperactive for few minutes out of the sun then sleep whole day or become very lethargic?

Thanks!
icon_rolleyes.gif
Omegaminx
post Nov 15 2008, 09:41 AM

181 posts

Anyone here use Mazuri tortoise diet? thanks wink.gif
Omegaminx
post Nov 18 2008, 08:46 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(kenn91 @ Nov 16 2008, 01:36 PM)
My star tortoise has been starting to make a click sound after i fed it with some pellets. Is it a respiratory infection or??
Hey Kenn91, hows ur STs doing? Still clicking?

Is it some pellet crumbs stuck in the URT? NO bubbly nose rite, if yes taht could be RNS or URI....

Sorry cant be of mcuh help as not much info supplied wink.gif

Hope it recovers with time...

Cheers nod.gif
Omegaminx
post Nov 23 2008, 12:04 AM

181 posts

QUOTE(leejinwee28 @ Nov 22 2008, 10:53 PM)
Baytril nasal drops can be prepared manually, i have a whole bottle here....the concentration is 0.2%

baytril dose is 5-10mg/kg...use a lower dose for younger animals...

baytril injectables are better to be injected at the hindlimb and not the forelimb...

preferable because it's easier and safer....

must dilute before injecting because baytril is alkaline and is painful when injected intramuscularly...

i don recommend giving baytril to young animals as it will severely impair the growth of the animal later...

Added on November 22, 2008, 11:10 pmhi everybody

1st time in here and glad to meet all the pros here...

can i have some advice on star tortoise breeding from all of u here?

your help and advice is much appreciated...

Thx for your input jinwee28, I find that concocting Baytril nasal drops from tablet form is still not as neat as getting a commercial preparation
premixed solution. The Baytril tab I bought was 50mg per tab....the dosage recommended is only 5-10mg/kg...and the ST is only 105g.
That makes it 1.05mg ~1mg requirement every other day=give Day1, skip Day 2, give Day3 again etc...
Just say u dilute 1 tab of 50mg Baytril into 10ml of saline or water...u would need ~0.2ml for its daily requirement and this is not the actual nasal drop requirement but just the enteral or perenteral dosage. I find that the gentamicin-betamethasone combo is more easily administered...just
make sure to give them 1-2 times per day and not 3 times a day as gentamicin =aminoglycoside group, has risk of inducing renal failure due to its nephrotoxicity (in humans with impaired renal function too).

My fren's ST RNS has resolved after adding some regular sunbathing, infrared heat lamp (use 75W and below as it gets VERY hot), now it's back
with the gang, actively eating...and no more disturbing bubbly nose. Baytril was given initially for a few days but aborted as it has notorious side effects and wasnt easy to give, not to mention the fact that u could overdose if given more than u should...imagine giving 0.2 mls to the ST, how sure are u adequate amounts are received...

Anyway...nip the prob early with sunlight, heat lamp, antibiotics would be the way to go

Cheers
Omegaminx
post Dec 14 2008, 04:04 AM

181 posts

Sulcatas are originally African based, so something semi-arid or dry would be best...try using big woodchips or recycled paper pellets..

Avoid alfalfa or woodbark....

Sulcata will grow to large proportions if u intend to keep them for many many years...otherwise they are pretty cute fellas...

Just my 2 sen wink.gif

Cheers
Omegaminx
post Dec 31 2008, 01:18 AM

181 posts

Apparently my friend has consulted our wildlife (PERHILITAN) on keeping of Star Tortoise and other CITES appendix I and II torts and was told that no licence is needed to keep or rear them unless trading/selling in big numbers or involved in import and exportation of these buggers wink.gif

So to date, people can't come into your house and confiscate the torts as PERHILITAN claims no need to apply for licence. When asked where is the source, just say CB or given by a friend. That is the standing rule at the moment. Just be a bit more careful if planning to sell and buy new ones...

Before this, we were always told that if authorities find out you have some ST or the like, they might barge in and confiscate them...well not the case in real life but nevertheless, keeping a low profile is always the way to go.

And please beware of tortoise farms from Cameroon. They are 90% fraud/scams and offer you torts at ridiculously cheap price. When a deal seems too good to be true, then it probably is wink.gif
Cheers!!
Omegaminx
post Jan 1 2009, 07:19 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Dec 31 2008, 08:25 AM)
please state the name, contact no and designation of the perhilitan officer who told your friend that no license is needed for individual owners to keep CITES I and II animals

and you better retract your statement before those who knew better give you a big gangbang.

p/s: have you ever gone fishing?
Well, I am just stating what was told by the Officer to my friend at Wildlife, his name is Ahmad.

It's very simple, just use your cousin's house phone and make a call to Wildlife and ask around, if you are asked to

apply for licence, then pls state the name and designation of the officer who told you.

All the news articles about IST being confiscated at airports and the like are due to unlicenced importation and smuggling.

CITES Appendix I licence can be issued if you look at CITES website. Annex I doesnt mean impossible to issue.

Anyway, no need to retract statement, if you want the truth, just ask wildlife...pls update yourself and enlighten us ya.

Dont live in the past...Happy New year!
Omegaminx
post Jan 2 2009, 12:46 AM

181 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Jan 1 2009, 11:22 PM)
1st: you didn't even get firsthand information. your statement is based solely on loose oral sources.

2nd: you're either royalty, high-ranking politician or plainly uninformed, because not even zoos can get cites 1 license that easily.

3rd: you are not even aware of past year's turmoil. haha. good luck living in the new year.

4th: i'd rather pose as Noorul Rafiq Khan, Peter Parker or even Kayden Kross when talking to prospective offenders, because not even a 5th grader would believe in a beard-spinner who simply calls himself Ali, Abu or any 2-syllable name beginning with Alpha.

from those points, i could only conclude that you certainly know nuts about wildlife, cites, license application, etc; so once again, please retract your statement. we don't one anyone to get into trouble for believing in false information.

p/s: i certainly won't go fishing with you, that's for sure.
I think u shld just call wildlife malaysia and ask (but do it discreetly by using an outside number..duh!), dont waste time by posting stuff that incite a lot of controversy. Unless u claim to be involved in some bigtime smuggling of wildlife and got caught before, thus your unreasonable doubt or maybe u have tried applying for a permit and was trapped ad hoc, then perhaps u can share your exp with us. Was there any newspaper clipping about wildlife barging into a residential home and seizing a few endangered TTT? All the headlines were usually for hundreds of smuggled stuff (IST) that have no proper licence or permit, mostly at checkpoints ie airports etc. There's no provision under the 1972 Wildlife Protection Act regarding keeping them so far(but I believe they might be changing this rule soon or may have already?) but mainly on trading activities involving import/exportation across borders.

We are simply hoping to have more info, that's why it's a forum for discussion. Posts made here is open for discussion and not the law or fact.
I am not royalty and not a high ranking politician but I serve quite high in a company related to the ministry..I know where to ask around. When I say a friend, i hope u r not so naive to think just that. Anyway, it's open for discussion...no point speculating so much, anyone from the forum can simply call up and ask, and post back who the guy was over the phone and what his designation was & conclusion from wildlife. For those like you who are on alarm bells, just ignore it as u shouldnt be troubled if u knew so much. BTW, i did mention that you should be discreet and low profile despite not needing a permit just to keep, not like you shld go and shout around to inform everyone that u have this and that in your care.

However, pls be aware that selling or trading activities are strictly against the law without relevant permit though. Just browse and update wherever relevant:
***this link has been omitted for security reasons, kindly google search it if interested in wildlife website*** icon_rolleyes.gif

There's one table on Fi licence where you can see the charges for poaching activities allowed and licence needed. There's one part that states any activity involving a protected species requires a licence. So out of sheer curiosity, my source contacted them to clarify twice..they did ask where did u get the TTT, say CB or given by friend and unsure where he/she got it from, reply was no need apply for licence if just keeping unless u are trading or importing..then need CITES permit, shortly they hung up..maybe as you figured, a few pieces they arent interested. Anyway, if u happen to be well informed, kindly shed some light on this and update us IF u can wink.gif I am always looking for exp sharing but keep it friendly and not argumentative wink.gif I like the way how Valjean and Samperth phrase things, you should learn from them.

This post has been edited by Omegaminx: Jan 2 2009, 03:28 PM
Omegaminx
post Jan 2 2009, 03:14 AM

181 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Jan 2 2009, 02:01 AM)
well, you should learn that when somebody new has the balls to make a big statement like this
like it was the fact, in a public forum, he/she should expect argumentative discussion. you're the one that posted stuff that incite controversy, plus you refused to retract them when i told you so (edit function easy to use, eh?).

plus, it is f*cking rude for you to ask me to update myself and not live in the past when it is evident that you're the one giving false advice while being unaware of stuff that happened in the real world. need i say more?

the info your friend got?. people had already given you hints on this matter, but you don't seem to understand.

p/s: you just gave me the address of perhilitan. that's quite a joke considering...
U remind me of someone who cant have his/her opinion doubted from your comments above. If comments are not accurate, you can courteously correct them and give your opinion like uzairi or valjean. No need to recourse to foul language and brute force. It gives ppl an idea that you have a very big ego and can't stand to be corrected or even accept the fact that everyone is entitled to his/her own opinion. You may be quite helpful sometimes in your post about TTT but pls show some manners and courtesy in your post even if you disagree. It's just about sharing. Kindly see how ppl with some integrity and manners reply..eg samperth, uzairi and valjean. . . these will be ppl whose opinion i accept and respect, not someone who curse and mock others albeit sarcastically. We are in this for the same interest on TTT, otherwise you think I would bother to reply or even post anything. From your reply and mannerism, I can gauge your level of maturity and humility..although I had much higher expectations of you from your earlier posts and I really hope you would maintain your earlier standards.

BTW, the address of PERHILITAN is all over the google search..I have read most of the available news clipping that happened in the past and even some overseas ones. It's new year, and to just leave things as it is, I wish u and family a happy and peaceful new year. There is no need for any hostility or insult but thx again for your comments above. Just hope that readers take things with an open mind here. I rest my case. Take care guys.

Added on January 2, 2009, 3:25 am
QUOTE(uzairi @ Jan 2 2009, 02:21 AM)
Omega, about the license thingy there is no way u can get away even if the said specimen was given by a fren or "cb" because the thumb rule is that any cites related animal, especially cites 1 are no where to be accepted as "ok". For the officers to say its ok, i think its just another bait to capture those animal keeper and confiscate their animal.

I think you need to read more on V2 and V3 to get the rough idea on what's happening now, so that you would understand why people here reacted that way. I know you want to share with us on the info given to you but we were stating the real world situation and explaining things to you from our experiences.
Thanks uzairi, point taken. Happy New Year to u and fam ya! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Omegaminx: Jan 2 2009, 03:25 AM
Omegaminx
post Jan 2 2009, 09:55 AM

181 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Jan 2 2009, 07:48 AM)
funny guy... before i leave, let's just say that it's a joke to tell musa hassan's escort the address to bukit aman...  because maybe, he could see that address every morning he walks into office  wink.gif

oh no, i'm being sarcastic again, can't help myself. but every tom, d*** and harry knows (well, maybe not all) that beneath my every word, there's an obvious, useful message underneath. brute force? haha..

samperth's partner (emystiong) and even our spiritual leader (haha) scales had disagreements with me in the past while uzairi, rafiqos, mamba and lessilly still make gangbangs on me. we had all produced our fair share of sarcasms to one another. it is quite fun to thrash them to pulps, but i do get along well with them all since they could provide reasonable and valid discussion points.

naa.. matters closed. happy new year to you too.

p/s: my ego's so big, it took 5 playmates to shrink it (they like brute force)
icon_rolleyes.gif LoL wink.gif
Omegaminx
post Feb 16 2009, 12:44 AM

181 posts

QUOTE(kenn91 @ Feb 11 2009, 08:34 PM)
Erh.. My star kena RNS. I dono why also. Got UV light, Basking light and i bask it under the sun often. Feeding Choy Sum everyday and sprinkle some vitamins for it. What have i done wrong leh??
I didn't provide the star's a hidebox. Could this be the reason for RNS?
And a friend recommended me putting a drop of Baytril into it's nose. Is it okay if i do so? Would it harm my star?
The VICTIM
[attachmentid=800369]
Setup
[attachmentid=800365]
[attachmentid=800375]
Maybe try sun bath 20-30min few days, if still persist, on the heat lamp at night for few hours...maybe contemplate using an infrared bulb.

Medical treatment: Enrofloxacin(Baytril) drops via nostril or add to water for drinking (they usually avoid food stained with it. Can also add few drops of gentamicin + dexamethasone combo aka Garasone(as a nasal drop) in addition to Baytril. But dont overdo it...Rmbr to isolate the dude for now, maybe about 1-2 weeks wink.gif

However, RNS may recur if humidity or environment is unfavourable.

For hatchling ping pong sized ST, please don't overdry them...they might come from arid grassland, but they still need some moisture especially at night, otherwise they can get 'Hatchling Failure syndrome'

Hope ur ST recover in due time..can take up to 2 weeks wink.gif

Cheers!

This post has been edited by Omegaminx: Feb 16 2009, 10:07 PM
Omegaminx
post Feb 23 2009, 11:13 PM

181 posts

Hi yellow ST are quite nice..can go up to RM600 for 1..saw some pics online..but value is in the eyes of the beholder...

any1 has any nice hi yellow star(thick yellow markings all over instead of the regular thin/semi lines)...some are almost close to cream and off-white colour if you have seen enough....

Cheers guys...pics on request (my friend's) wink.gif

0.0523sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:12 AM