Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V4, Armored reptiles please enter here :p
BenSow
Sep 17 2009, 09:12 PM
Hello guys,
does the TTT Quick Guide 04 - Teaching them to eat (Pellets -> Vege) method work? I tried it with my Red Eared slider.. I feed it small pieces of carrots but still it doesn't eat them. Now it is 1.5" SCL. I use a different method too... I dip the carrot into frozen brine shrimp and feed it... He doesn't notice until now. How he make sure? It doesn't bite it out of water. If its in the water it will eat the brine shrimp and leave the carrot... Cleaver turtle.
And hey guys why I so hard to rear turtle ah? I have 2 turtles the first one kena lunf infection then tak makan then mati in one month.... Now my second turtle kena bulging eyes(curing) AND lung infection but it still eating... My water is clean... My other friends can keep them in a smaller container(extreme small) and never change the water and keep them away from disease, why? My friend has four and lives in small tanks without basking but can stay alive and growing fast. My one grow extreme slow...Why?
This post has been edited by BenSow: Sep 17 2009, 09:15 PM
BenSow
Dec 27 2009, 03:59 PM
Hey guys anyone succesfully breed RES turtle before? My friend is giving me 2 RES and I already have 1 just thinking that maybe there is a pair within those 3. I read that have to hibernate them, so how to hibernate them in tropical country?
BenSow
Dec 27 2009, 09:47 PM
So how big do they nid to be in order to breed(RES)?
BenSow
Dec 28 2009, 03:24 PM
Okay... I just recieved the turtles. The smaller 3.5in one has longer claws than the 4inch one. So does that mean the 3incher is male and the other is female?
Added on December 28, 2009, 4:21 pmGuys you noe the smallest acrylic tanks sold at LFS? The one with plastic tops that are blue or red? Those are about 15cm in length and my fren managed to keep his 2 turtles in one of those containers for almost 1 year now. Now one(3.5") lives in the small tank and the 4incher lives in a paint bucket lol.... They are able to grow so well... They are quite pale compared to other sliders. I will post pics and can anyone diagnose why?
This post has been edited by BenSow: Dec 28 2009, 04:21 PM
BenSow
Dec 28 2009, 10:16 PM
Oh dear... Fish oso need? I have silver arowana... That one not endangered though... I have 3 RES must register? And I also have 5 African Giant Land Snails...
BenSow
Dec 28 2009, 10:26 PM
What if they come and check?
BenSow
Dec 28 2009, 10:37 PM
Ya lo... first on the list of kura-kura RED EARED SLIDER
BenSow
Dec 28 2009, 10:49 PM
My RES picturesJust arrived this afternoon around 3pm. The one that is on top is male. The female swims alot more. Thanks
BenSow
Dec 29 2009, 09:27 AM
www.wildlife.gov.my go to the right column.
Guys is it ok if this is my RES scedule? Night time in the small tank they came with - sleeping. Day Time - Sunny - Let them bask under sun - Cloudy - Move them to my big tank for swimming Night time - back to small tank -Feeding
will it be too stressful?
This post has been edited by BenSow: Dec 29 2009, 09:27 AM
BenSow
Dec 29 2009, 10:24 AM
which tank? My fren gave me those 2 kept in small tank one... The 3.5inch male lived in a plastic tank(the smallest on the market) for his whole life. The 4inch female too but now they put her into an empty dog food container. I let them swim in my 3 ft aro tank. The fish and turtles are going well.
BenSow
Dec 29 2009, 11:43 AM
Thanks for the info. Ok, at night the 4" female is in this container:  3.5" Male in this container:  Normally they will be in my 3 feet tank during the day.
BenSow
Dec 29 2009, 09:52 PM
lol I just wen to Tesco to buy turtle tank  RM20 45liters. Tank dimension is 39cm x 56cm x 32cm.
BenSow
Dec 30 2009, 08:41 AM
@ yeezai- both of the turtles grew up in that kind of small tank... Last night I got them this:   Im going away for 3days so I won't be decorating it soon... Added on December 30, 2009, 8:42 amAnd guys my LFS sell PURE AQUARIUM SAND which is very white. The turtles can dirty the water within hours without filtration. Will stopping filtration make the sand look more unwhite? more natural... This post has been edited by BenSow: Dec 30 2009, 08:42 AM
BenSow
Dec 30 2009, 05:20 PM
lol i didnt put them in new tank... too risky since im going away..cancelled to two days service is bad...
Added on December 30, 2009, 5:23 pmand guys where can i get corkbark in cheras? and what else i can use to make land for turtles? t h a n k s
This post has been edited by BenSow: Dec 30 2009, 05:23 PM
BenSow
Dec 31 2009, 07:33 PM
Hey guys, I don't have a basking lamp for my turtle so I'll be using sunlight... How should I setup the container that i will use to put the turtles during sunny day? How much water should I put or no water at all etc... And if my turtles are not going to bask in their main tank, should i have a platform for them? Lastly can 1.5in turtle house with 3.5in male and 4in female? The female bites though... HARD
Added on December 31, 2009, 7:34 pmJust browsing cork bark on eBay and found its not cheap(duh!) but I can't DIY(no tools to chop bark lol...) about rm17 for 4.5in one including delivery to msia...
Added on December 31, 2009, 9:50 pmWhoa! just now feeding time my male scratched my female's face several times!!! But the female ignore lol...
This post has been edited by BenSow: Dec 31 2009, 09:50 PM
BenSow
Dec 31 2009, 09:58 PM
lol searched on eBay.. Cork bark products: http://shop.ebay.com.my/i.html?LH_AvailTo=...id=p3286.c0.m14 Added on December 31, 2009, 10:03 pmIf any of you guys wanna buy then buy together can combine shipping. This post has been edited by BenSow: Dec 31 2009, 10:03 PM
BenSow
Jan 1 2010, 11:31 AM
QUOTE Hey guys, I don't have a basking lamp for my turtle so I'll be using sunlight... How should I setup the container that i will use to put the turtles during sunny day? How much water should I put or no water at all etc... And if my turtles are not going to bask in their main tank, should i have a platform for them? Lastly can 1.5in turtle house with 3.5in male and 4in female? The female bites though... HARD if disturbed(normally out of water never she her bite in water before...) Anybody can help? Thanks and HAPPY NEW YEAR 2010!
BenSow
Jan 1 2010, 12:44 PM
Ok... so I will prepare a basking container.... Is it ok if put under the sun and 1/3 of container under direct sunlight and another 2/3 is in shadows with some water?
BenSow
Jan 2 2010, 12:16 PM
I wanna see too... See you guys' platform for turtle
BenSow
Jan 4 2010, 06:26 PM
Guys does internet have picture of pyramid shell of turtles? I search but only come out.... pyramid and turtles lol.... Wow budblely where you get Musk turtle? full aquatic turtle right? I never see before exotic turtle for sale...