Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V4, Armored reptiles please enter here :p

SAMPERTH
post Apr 3 2009, 10:41 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(-storm- @ Apr 3 2009, 11:30 PM)
The front page got info on treating infection with dettol one...
QUOTE(TTT Quick Guide 07 - Carapace problems counter measure:
)
This is what you can do if there's fungus infection on the carapace and if there's some rotting going on on the carapace.

Firstly u need to dry dock them for at least half the day. Then u can use Dettol/Iodine (Bethadine) to clean the infected area. Let the Dettol/Iodine(Bethadine) dry and then put some diluted Hydrogen Peroxide inside a basin and put the turtle inside it for 30 minutes. Then take it out and rinse it with a clean water. Continue to drydock the turtle for 1/2 day. Continue doing this everyday fot the week and see how it goes. The infected place should heal slowly depending on the severeness of the problem. Sea Cucumber Oil (Minyak Gamat) can also be used at the infected place. Let them dry and continue dry docking them. Don't put them inside the water back since the oil would mixed with the water and can endanger the turtles itself.
Just on the infected area ie carapace no harm done rite ?? Just like in human if on wound why not ??
If ingested both us human and chelonia can come to harm !!
leejinwee28
post Apr 6 2009, 03:31 PM

the peroxide is quite painful when applied especially when there's a open wound fistulating into the shell..
wound cleaning for the 1st time is ok to use peroxide

instead, u can clean it with hibiscrub and soaking it with it for 30 minutes everyday....do it twice or 3 times daily and drydock the turtle...

only put it into water during feeding... then remove after that...

if u're not putting into water then don have to worry about infection unless the wound has been terribly contaminated earlier...

This post has been edited by leejinwee28: Apr 7 2009, 05:35 PM
izcuje
post Apr 8 2009, 06:58 PM

133 posts

Hi TTT experts..

I need some advice. Recently I found out that one of my relatives has not been treating their two Red Eared Sliders very well. The living conditions are appalling and they don't really care about them anymore to provide. It's really sad. They have limited space to swim and hardly any basking space at all.

Had I the expertise or even the space to take care of these darlings I would, unfortunately it is not an option. The owners don't care for them and said I can take the two creatures off their hands if I think they're doing such a bad job. Right now the only thing I can think of is either giving them up for adoption or letting them go. One of my friends suggested letting them go at one of the tasik around here, but I'm not sure if that is a good idea since they have been bred in captivity, would they even be able to fend for themselves? (again, before I get flamed, i admit I know nothing at all about TTTs)

What can I do ? I really appreciate any advice.
slackerz
post Apr 8 2009, 08:06 PM

107 posts

im not expert here,but plz dont release them into tasik nearby..i would like to emphasize here those RES are not our native species and it might give some bad effect to our ecosystem.ok,let say it doesnt give any bad effect,but it still become a problem to RES to live there because we dunno about the food available to them..and many issue were raised about releasing them to our ecosystem which can be a reason for u not to release them into our tasik.put them into an adoption thread.im sure many pet lover wan it..u r doing good deeds for saving them.. icon_rolleyes.gif
izcuje
post Apr 8 2009, 08:09 PM

133 posts

Thanks, I didn't think it right to release them there either. I just want to make sure that they get the care they deserve. I'll put them up on the adoption thread, hopefully some kind TTT lover will be wiling to give them a good home.
slackerz
post Apr 9 2009, 12:21 AM

107 posts

good to hear that.. rclxms.gif

Added on April 10, 2009, 9:45 amguys,izcuje has something for u.check it out.. icon_rolleyes.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/443156/+460

This post has been edited by slackerz: Apr 10 2009, 09:45 AM
klaze
post Apr 11 2009, 10:54 PM

410 posts

anybody own alligator snapper here ? share your experience XD
-storm-
post Apr 13 2009, 12:12 AM

Hmmm........
2,105 posts

Guys my res has an ear abscess how to treat it myself? Or is it really need to see a vet? How much would that cause? I have googled around and most of the sites are from the states all their answers are to see a vet which is not really helpful. I would prefer to treat it myself since seeing a vet cost a bomb consultation fee cost 35 per visit for my dog i dono bout turtles
kaseinogen
post Apr 13 2009, 03:13 AM

15 posts

hi all...just posting my new TTT..all i buy from ikano pet safari..the newest one is western painted turtles..emm just wanna ask one question..is it normal for alligator snaping turtle to fast for about 1 week?bcause my ally did not eat about 1 week alredi...i have tried to give hive variety type of food,but still didnot want to eat...huhuhuhu icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
JonYeap
post Apr 13 2009, 03:30 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

wats the tortoise in the 2nd pic?
TSuzairi
post Apr 13 2009, 03:46 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Razorback Musk Turtle (Sternotherus Carinatus) smile.gif
SAMPERTH
post Apr 13 2009, 05:43 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(kaseinogen @ Apr 13 2009, 04:13 AM)
hi all...just posting my new TTT..all i buy from ikano pet safari..the newest one is western painted turtles..emm just wanna ask one question..is it normal for alligator snaping turtle to fast for about 1 week?bcause my ally did not eat about 1 week alredi...i have tried to give hive variety type of food,but still didnot want to eat...huhuhuhu icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Ally dont fast when smaller !! Only sick , gravid F or cold weather Ally fast for a week or more !! Yours is still a baby less than 3 inch shell length ?? It look so thin (First 2 pic same animal right ??)

How you keep it ?? - Temp ? water condition ....

But at that size v v hard to cure if sick especially if it is not eating !! BTW what have you offered as food ??- suitable size guppy is best !!

Added on April 13, 2009, 5:50 am
QUOTE(-storm- @ Apr 13 2009, 01:12 AM)
Guys my res has an ear abscess how to treat it myself? Or is it really need to see a vet? How much would that cause? I have googled around and most of the sites are from the states all their answers are to see a vet which is not really helpful. I would prefer to treat it myself since seeing a vet cost a bomb consultation fee cost 35 per visit for my dog i dono bout turtles
Not hard , just treat it as a large pimple !! But make a cut first before squeeze !!! ( sterile penknife , hand ...... a must )

One of the simpliest operation you can do on your pet turtle !!!

Cure or seen too many of this being done on RES !!!! (We call this RES with MP3 ) LOL

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Apr 13 2009, 05:50 AM
slackerz
post Apr 13 2009, 10:13 AM

107 posts

bro,new collection ah?can i pay a visit to ur place after exam?before im going back to my hometown..hope ur ally will be fine.. blush.gif
hong123
post Apr 13 2009, 10:45 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Apr 13 2009, 05:43 AM)
Ally dont fast when smaller !! Only sick , gravid F or cold weather Ally fast for a week or more !! Yours is still a baby less than 3 inch shell length ?? It look so thin (First 2 pic same animal right ??)

How you keep it ?? - Temp ? water condition .... 

But at that size v v hard to cure if sick especially if it is not eating !! BTW what have you offered as food ??- suitable size guppy is best !!
From the pics, I think the baby ally snapper is around 2 inches long. Are you feeding it with small feeder fish? How about water level? Be careful when handling it as the shell of baby ally snapper is really soft.
-storm-
post Apr 13 2009, 02:14 PM

Hmmm........
2,105 posts

Ah i think i dont need to do operation for my res already, at 1st the abscess is very big so i decided to run my turtle on some antibiotics 1st it's been two days soaking my turtle in the solution and the swelling actually came down now, its almost not visible. So my advise before operation is try medication 1st if it does not work only operate . Cheers smile.gif
kaseinogen
post Apr 13 2009, 03:02 PM

15 posts

hmm thanx all for ur help smile.gif notworthy.gif ...emm i feed it with small size guppy.the water level is recovering the shell..it is only 2.5inch...i think my prob is the water temp...i dont have alat temperature,so i think i will increase the temp of the water using normal light...is it ok?

slackerz..u are welcome to come to my room..hehehe..

This post has been edited by kaseinogen: Apr 13 2009, 03:12 PM
slackerz
post Apr 13 2009, 07:04 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(kaseinogen @ Apr 13 2009, 03:02 PM)
hmm thanx all for ur help smile.gif  notworthy.gif ...emm i feed it with small size guppy.the water level is recovering the shell..it is only 2.5inch...i think my prob is the water temp...i dont have alat temperature,so i think i will increase the temp of the water using normal light...is it ok?

slackerz..u are welcome to come to my room..hehehe..
he3,after final..thanks.. rclxms.gif
Gbariele
post Apr 15 2009, 02:34 PM

I jz Bought An Aligator snapping turtle...
i need an expert to teach me handle my AST.. rolleyes.gif
Anyone help~~im a super noob about this subject but i am a big lover 4 turtle... icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
opss and how to setup a aquarium 2feet long for two 3 inch ally..
coz im planning to take one more ally 4 the 1st one friends..
anyway does we brush the turtle shell sometimes?coz this was full with alga... rclxub.gif blink.gif
TSuzairi
post Apr 15 2009, 06:23 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Rule of thumb

Please do not handle your AST and show it to your friends, they might think its harmless but they can do some serious injury if mishandled.

Do not brush your turtle's carapace since its full of nerves and it would hurt them. Just get a nice decent water water filtering setup and you're good to go.
Gbariele
post Apr 15 2009, 06:49 PM

Thanks Uzairi..
but i was planing to buy another AST and put it in the aquarium tank..
coz my AST now look lonely..eat sleep eat sleep.. no friends..poor little fellow..
what would happen if i put another AST in the tank?
do they boxing each other inside?
i was worry... blink.gif

anyway i really dunno much bout this type of turtle..
i a newbie i am learning..
show me the kung fu,sifu.. notworthy.gif flex.gif

btw what filter can put in such a low water level??
can show me some kind of filter that i can use 4 my 2 feet tank please uzairi..
im counting on u.. icon_rolleyes.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Gbariele: Apr 15 2009, 06:54 PM

124 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:23 AM