Guitars Few questions about strat..., appriciate all the help
TSyOuNg$tEr
Oct 19 2008, 07:01 PM, updated 18y ago
Just wondering... 1.Does an old Squier strat produces a better tone than a new one? old as in made in year 199x and new as in 200x.. 2.Does the scratches on the body..fer example the guitar has dropped before and the scratches affect the sound quality? 3.How much will it cost to replace a neck for a strat?i wanna know the the price ranging from the cheapest to the expensive one... are they specific brands to choose frm?(the neck) eg, squier produce their own replacement neck and fender produce their own.. how about other manufacturers? 4.Agak agak if i do a complete overhaul for a strat..which includes changing the neck, bridge and pickups...and also the price to repaint the strat...how much will it cost? It's a squier not a fender... thanks fer ya replies
Everdying
Oct 19 2008, 07:32 PM
Two is One and One is None.
if from the 90s, it will either be a MIK or MIC squier. both are pure crap.
dont be misled into thinking all MIK are good, same goes for MIJ stuff. there are so many MIJ from the 70s and 80s that are also pure crap.
scratches of cos not, thats pretty obvious.
neck? rm300 from mighty mite.
complete overhaul is a complete waste of time. better you save up more get a MIM fender.
Carbon
Oct 19 2008, 07:39 PM

What he said ^.
With the money you might spend overhauling the Squier, I think it's a far better option for you to save up and get a better guitar itself.
nimrod2
Oct 19 2008, 08:18 PM
good strats are quite pricey. so unless u've found the tone that u know for sure that u like, then maybe u should hold on abit. my fren bought a replica model of an old strat. comes with all the scratches and marks too  lolz he bought it for about 3k aussie. the original one that his replica was supposed to imitate costs about 25k usd
Bassix
Oct 20 2008, 07:04 PM
what for buy replica models. Get a brand new one tie it to the back of your car for a week. Bingo...vintage model
nimrod2
Oct 20 2008, 07:36 PM
haha expensive wei. dont tell me u buy 20k then tie to your car. i rather frame it up n put it on the wall
Pix
Oct 20 2008, 08:44 PM
Tube Glower Phreak
if you change the body, the neck, the pickup, the cables, the bridge and the pegheads, then I'm sure any MIK Squier would play perfectly fine.
Seriously.
dwaynetan
Oct 25 2008, 03:02 AM
But u change all the parts lets say
all in RM
neck-300 pickups Custom shop fender rm500/300+used set bridge rm 300/150+ used electronics such as pots rm35 each x 3
total ammount = 800+ atleast. worth it meh to spend on a squier ? plus guitar itself around 400.
round up to rm1200+ for a squier ? ....i say go mexican man ! spend a little more get a mexican and change it to USA pickups there u go a strat that can last for half a lifetime.