Hi-Fi CD Transport DIY, the Shigaclone story

TSccschua
post Oct 19 2008, 05:23 PM, updated 17y ago

1,630 posts

For those who want to save for a better transport, a clone of the Shigaraki transport, look no further. The claim transport using JVC boom box and some mod has results better than the Mark Levinson and the renowned CEC TL0.

Here is the component list

http://tim.cheapo.cc/images/CD%20player%20mods.pdf

This is the famous transport

http://www.sakurasystems.com/products/shigacd.html

Here is the documents to start the mod

JVC RC-EZ31 Manual - dismantling and schematic

Available model for mod

1. RC-EZ 31
2. RC-EZ 32
3. RC-EZ 51

If u check the price, u will find it $$$

but using a cheap JVC boombox, it can be converted

Now here is the picture of the RAW transport torn apart from the JVC Boombox. Pls compare it with the Shigaraki transport.

and here is the results. Time taken for the mod is about 5 hours for beginners. [not the bottom one of course]

here is the story

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread....0229&highlight=

This post has been edited by ccschua: Nov 15 2008, 08:23 AM
empire23
post Oct 19 2008, 06:21 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

CDs are so 90s man tongue.gif

Best results = EAC Rip CD to Computer, output via USB to DAC.

- Little or No jitter
- Fully Buffered
- CRC Error Corrected
- Noise resistant digital feed
- No skipping
- No error from CD damage

I have doubts regarding CD trasport due to physical constraints rather than digital ones.
xtremedummy
post Oct 19 2008, 07:26 PM

152 posts

interesting ! any bulk order ? haha
TSccschua
post Oct 19 2008, 07:31 PM

1,630 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Oct 19 2008, 06:21 PM)

- Little or No jitter
- Fully Buffered
- CRC Error Corrected
- No skipping

I have doubts regarding CD trasport due to physical constraints rather than digital ones.
I have no doubt the digital world has produced bit perfect technology. However, I would love to see one that implement that technology, with common availability and low costs. I could actually use computer or streaming wirelessly to USB port, output USB direct to DAC which support 20ps jitter. At this moment, to support USB with 1 ppm jitter is still not commercialy friendly.

However, to cut that computer chain, I have some time till that technology is common and user-friendly. else I would still stick to the transport.

I manage to hunt around and found quite a few sets of JVC RC-EZ31a lying around. Looks like time to learn some DIY electronics. I need to do this :
1. power supply board.
2. 75 ohm output, spdif/BNC out.
3. Low jitter clock
4. cap mod. Black Gate N, Rubycon.

Components purchased
1. 10 uF x 1
2. 33 uF x 1
3. 4.7 uF x 2
4. 47 uF x 1
5. 10 uF x 1
6. Resistor to be confirmed.
7. Crystal - get PEter help.

This post has been edited by ccschua: Oct 27 2008, 09:57 PM
gabanyayaya
post Oct 19 2008, 09:16 PM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Oct 19 2008, 07:21 PM)

- Little or No jitter
- Fully Buffered
- CRC Error Corrected
- No skipping

Running COMPUTER with HiFi is like drinking a juice from an artificial flavor.....soulless and tasteless

Running HiFi with vintage gears is just like drinking a juice fresh from the farms.... smile.gif

DIYJewelryClub
post Oct 19 2008, 09:41 PM

13 posts

I just tried all sorts of sampling using my foobar2k.

overall I dont like the 192khz or the 96khz. it sounds exactly like what u say. If I use the original 44.1khz, also I dont findit any differene with my cheapo dvd player.

However the signal from the transport does have a differece. that's why still I dont see many high tech gadget at the moment.

This shigaclone can beats the CEC TL0 which costs easily RM 5k, not to mention the Mark Levinson 37. > 10k
jazzy939
post Oct 19 2008, 10:39 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I followed the diyaudio thread for quite sometime. Interesting! thumbup.gif
However, can we get that JVC player here in Malaysia? A friend told me it's about RM180, but I could not recollect if it's available locally or thru 'evilbay' or similar channels.. tongue.gif

gabanyayaya
post Oct 19 2008, 10:56 PM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Oct 19 2008, 11:39 PM)
I followed the diyaudio thread for quite sometime. Interesting! thumbup.gif
However, can we get that JVC player here in Malaysia? A friend told me it's about RM180, but I could not recollect if it's available locally or thru 'evilbay' or similar channels.. tongue.gif
I just found it again at Jaya Jusco Wangsa Maju yesterday selling at similar price....wasn't hard to find specially for 3rd word country like Malaysia who still in admiring 90's digital fame.... smile.gif

Spend around 100 for other components now you got ur self a hi end transport with a JVC brand...
jazzy939
post Oct 19 2008, 11:07 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Very tempting.... drool.gif
gabanyayaya
post Oct 19 2008, 11:15 PM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Oct 20 2008, 12:07 AM)
Very tempting....  drool.gif
A tempting is always driven by meaning.....behind a meaning lies a desire to commit thus you ARE willing to...make your self a Shigaclone transport....hehehe biggrin.gif
jazzy939
post Oct 19 2008, 11:17 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

If I am heading towards that Jusco by next week, then you know lah.. laugh.gif
gabanyayaya
post Oct 19 2008, 11:22 PM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Oct 20 2008, 12:17 AM)
If I am heading towards that Jusco by next week, then you know lah.. laugh.gif
Alternatively go seek this boombox at Mydin Pudu Raya.......near at JP too....hehehe like I said I'm full with 'resource' tongue.gif
jazzy939
post Oct 19 2008, 11:52 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

It's good to know! wink.gif
Y.C.
post Oct 20 2008, 12:07 AM

Casual listener
906 posts

As an alternative to this transport, the Sony Play Station One (PS1) is reputed to be an extraordinary CD player, its sound same with CD players costing up to USD6,000.

I first read about Sony PS1 in Stereophile, a review by Art Duddley and now here: PS1 as CD Player.

TSccschua
post Oct 20 2008, 12:47 AM

1,630 posts

Oh yeah. I check the EZ31a at jusco too, and found too many of them. to have the remote at this price is great.

but I hope someone can have a creative solution as to the casing. I roughly have the components fixed up.

Added on October 20, 2008, 12:51 am
QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Oct 19 2008, 09:16 PM)
Running COMPUTER with HiFi is like drinking a juice from an artificial flavor.....soulless and tasteless

Running HiFi with vintage gears is just like drinking a juice fresh from the farms.... smile.gif
there are two approaches to HIFI.

the scientific and technology way.

the next way is philosophical.

This post has been edited by ccschua: Oct 20 2008, 12:51 AM
bsl555
post Oct 20 2008, 01:52 AM

8,046 posts

This is my take. The quality of the transport mechanism alone does NOT guarantee it'll outperform higher end CDP's.
The crux of this DIY CDP is the very solid chassis and a custom fabricated clamp for top loading the disc. A solid chassis can be custom fabricated to be most stable and with least resonance than any common cd player chassis which most are anything from tin can to 16G steel chassis framework. Vibration, unstability, chassis resonance can affect the performance greatly and your tweaking of the electronics will be limited. The worse the quality of the chassis, sound quality will be just as bad. As for the cd clamp, most cdp loader clamps are mere moulded metal plastic combination or just light plastic. I'm confident if a budget to mid end CDP is converted from its flimsy plastic front loader to manual top loading. Together with an appropriate weighted clamp, the SQ and imaging can improve by some percentage without anything done elsewhere. This is one of the primary qualities of a high performance CDP.
One fine example is SONY ES series top loading CDP which supply an appropriate metal cd clamp piece as standard. I know someone who gets different clamps made to order and have spent quite a lot of time with different materials, size and own tweaks that affect the SQ to various degrees.
Back to the optical mechanism, me thinks that JVC optic mechanism is no better than the common SONY KSS-213CCM found in many CDP's such as budget to mid priced Marantz, NAD, Cambridge Audio, Rotel, etc.
Some years ago, there was the Philips CDM Pro kit that can also be used to DIY your own CD transport, but the setback was that it was quite and expensive kit, not to mention optional controller and all. I have to admire the chassis example in the picture as a very solid candidate for great performance. I feel it shouldn't be anything lesser if anyone insists on this DIY project.

Anyway, I'll look here once a while to see if anyone can make good here. Good luck guys!.

This post has been edited by bsl555: Oct 20 2008, 02:08 AM
TSccschua
post Oct 20 2008, 02:24 AM

1,630 posts

guys, here is the starting point.

Look at the items required for a basic mod.

Added on October 20, 2008, 2:25 am
QUOTE(Y.C. @ Oct 20 2008, 12:07 AM)
As an alternative to this transport, the Sony Play Station One (PS1) is reputed to be an extraordinary CD player, its sound same with CD players costing up to USD6,000.

I first read about Sony PS1 in Stereophile, a review by Art Duddley and now here: PS1 as CD Player.
some of guys just switch from PS1 to Shigaclone for the fun of DIY, and it is not complicated.

This post has been edited by ccschua: Oct 20 2008, 02:27 AM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  CD_20player_20mods.pdf ( 535.29k ) Number of downloads: 624
empire23
post Oct 20 2008, 07:36 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Oct 19 2008, 07:31 PM)
I have no doubt the digital world has produced bit perfect technology. However, I would love to see one that implement that technology, with common availability and low costs. I could actually use computer or streaming wirelessly to USB port, output USB direct to DAC which support 20ps jitter. At this moment, to support USB with 1 ppm jitter is still not commercialy friendly.

However, to cut that computer chain, I have some time till that technology is common and user-friendly. else I would still stick to the transport.
I manage to hunt around and found quite a few sets of JVC RC-EZ31a lying around. Looks like time to learn some DIY electronics. I need to do this :
1. power supply board.
2. 75 ohm output, spdif/BNC out.
3. Low jitter clock
4. cap mod. Black Gate N, Rubycon.
It's already implemented, TI, LT and AD have released very good USB to I2S/SPDIF chips recently, the DAC1 USB is a good example of an extremely jitter immune system with the benefits of USB's corrected transmission.

What would you trust to make sure your music gets from point to point without issues, a CD player with a 1mb cache, or a PC such as mine with 8 gigabytes of memory, not inclusive of HDD Buffers and Soundcard ones?

And as a note, i don't recommend using black gates IF they don't fit into the pad. Many dolts use wires for their legs or keep the leads too long, which infact makes the signal path worse than with the old cheapo capacitor. Stretching it a bit is fine, but any longer than half a centimeter is an antenna tongue.gif

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Oct 19 2008, 09:16 PM)

You're already taking the sound from a digital source, you're making sure with modern systems that it's getting from point A to point B without any damage of that digital data, data or timing wise. Computers do it so much better if you ask me.

Distortion is never a desired characteristic of digital systems. I'm assuming that you aren't using vinyl laugh.gif
jazzy939
post Oct 20 2008, 09:44 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Y.C.,
I have a PS1 at home. even without modding, the audio is darn good! tongue.gif
I have read extensively the thread at diyaudio. Nothing but praised although there are some that does not agree.
There has been a marked increase in value on ebay after the PS1 is known be a good CDP.. tongue.gif
I used to see a few being advertised in lelong but no more..

Anyone has done a full blown mods to the PS1?

A survey:

IF I can get someone locally to manufacturer a similar metal chassis like you see above, how many of you would be interested? How much are you willing to pay for such a chassis?
Why am I asking? I have a friend who have a machine shop..

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Oct 20 2008, 12:07 AM)

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Oct 20 2008, 09:51 AM
Y.C.
post Oct 20 2008, 04:08 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

Jazzy,
There is a shop within the complex opposite Nixie in JP selling a brand new PS1 for RM290 together with the games. If it is anything less than RM100 then it might worth the effort to buy it just to play play with mods. Since you already have a PS1, you did not mod your unit? As for me, I would not try to mod either the PS1 or JVC compo into CDP and transport proper; too much hassle for me. I thought PS2 looks much better especially the limited edition silver coloured ones, wonder if its CD playback capability is any good.

Sorry folks, I have gone off topic but don't mean to hijack the thread.

TSccschua
post Oct 20 2008, 06:36 PM

1,630 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Oct 20 2008, 07:36 AM)
It's already implemented, TI, LT and AD have released very good USB to I2S/SPDIF chips recently, the DAC1 USB is a good example of an extremely jitter immune system with the benefits of USB's corrected transmission.

What would you trust to make sure your music gets from point to point without issues, a CD player with a 1mb cache, or a PC such as mine with 8 gigabytes of memory, not inclusive of HDD Buffers and Soundcard ones?

And as a note, i don't recommend using black gates IF they don't fit into the pad. Many dolts use wires for their legs or keep the leads too long, which infact makes the signal path worse than with the old cheapo capacitor. Stretching it a bit is fine, but any longer than half a centimeter is an antenna tongue.gif
You're already taking the sound from a digital source, you're making sure with modern systems that it's getting from point A to point B without any damage of that digital data, data or timing wise. Computers do it so much better if you ask me.

Distortion is never a desired characteristic of digital systems.  I'm assuming that you aren't using vinyl laugh.gif
Well DAC 1 will cost USD 1000 for the proper implementation. If one use the USB to SPDIF converter, then the clock has to be properly done up, independent suspension, power supply. I just discovered my PCM 2902 usb to spdif converter (using computer power supply thru USB) has 500 ps jitter, as compared to 20 ps reference.

I am almost tempted to get that JVC on the upcoming members day at jusco.

This post has been edited by ccschua: Oct 20 2008, 06:41 PM
jazzy939
post Oct 20 2008, 06:52 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Y.C.,
I was not aware that the PS1 is still on sale there! laugh.gif Hopefully it's not a 'look alike' SONI or SUNNY Playstation no? tongue.gif
The best price I saw in lelong was like RM160..negotiable.
Nope, did not mod mine. Too much hassle lah! Even the JVC mods also, I am agreeing with you. Might as well buy that Sansui CDP! laugh.gif
I have not come across anything similar with PS2 though...

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Oct 20 2008, 04:08 PM)
Jazzy,
There is a shop within the complex opposite Nixie in JP selling a brand new PS1 for RM290 together with the games. If it is anything less than RM100 then it might worth the effort to buy it just to play play with mods. Since you already have a PS1, you did not mod your unit? As for me, I would not try to mod either the PS1 or JVC compo into CDP and transport proper; too much hassle for me. I thought PS2 looks much better especially the limited edition silver coloured ones, wonder if its CD playback capability is any good.

flyboi
post Oct 22 2008, 08:52 AM

in seclusion!
840 posts

I've been reading the diyaudio thread about this project as well. First, have to get the boombox. Can't find one in jusco mid valley. Will try wangsa maju this weekend.

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Oct 20 2008, 09:44 AM)
A survey:

IF I can get someone locally to manufacturer a similar metal chassis like you see above, how many of you would be interested? How much are you willing to pay for such a chassis?
Why am I asking? I have a friend who have a machine shop..
My friend and ! will be interested. Just let us know the budget. Cheers!

This post has been edited by flyboi: Oct 22 2008, 09:03 AM
jazzy939
post Oct 22 2008, 08:57 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Great! That's two, three to include me wink.gif
xtremedummy
post Oct 22 2008, 10:23 AM

152 posts

i am too.hehe
jazzy939
post Oct 23 2008, 12:47 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

ok. thats four! wink.gif will revert next week. will meet the guy this weekend to get initial quotation.
TSccschua
post Oct 23 2008, 06:49 AM

1,630 posts

hope the price is not high, otherwise I would just consider a wooden board.
jazzy939
post Oct 23 2008, 09:05 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

ccschua,
a wooden board would be a good alternate choice. wink.gif
wui223
post Oct 26 2008, 07:51 AM

941 posts

So, anyone get the boombox by now?
Any update on the chasis? jazzy?
jazzy939
post Oct 26 2008, 12:33 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Nothing on the chassis yet.. weekend schedules fully occupied tongue.gif
bsl555
post Oct 26 2008, 12:39 PM

8,046 posts

What about the disc clamp?.. will that be separate from chassis quote?
jazzy939
post Oct 26 2008, 12:58 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I will try to include the disc clamp in the package too..
TSccschua
post Oct 26 2008, 01:13 PM

1,630 posts

That's called a puck. there is magnetic and non magnetic type.

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Oct 26 2008, 12:58 PM)
I will try to include the disc clamp in the package too..

This post has been edited by ccschua: Oct 26 2008, 01:14 PM
jazzy939
post Oct 26 2008, 01:39 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I am aware of the 'puck' ccschua wink.gif
TSccschua
post Oct 26 2008, 05:56 PM

1,630 posts

Updated the pdf at page 1 on the components required.

I am placing order for the

1. capacitors and resistors. No black gates, only panasonic. resistor is Vishay Dale.
2. Voltage regulator. AC in 25V and DC out 8V

Who knows the source for Hammond Transformer 2x25V

I am using it for transport.

This post has been edited by ccschua: Oct 26 2008, 06:05 PM
flyboi
post Oct 27 2008, 01:47 AM

in seclusion!
840 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Oct 26 2008, 01:13 PM)
That's called a puck. there is magnetic and non magnetic type.
Is that urs in the picture?
TSccschua
post Oct 27 2008, 07:14 AM

1,630 posts

Not really. but it would serve the job, I am thinking of putting the servo on a wooden board, then have it tied to the marble. The servo needs about 15kg of mass to stabilize !!

Something about the PUCK.
------

http://www.audiostereo.pl/zalaczniki/1067737_1.jpg

CD tracks are 1.6 micron apart, that's 625 tracks in each mm, CD transports use a lens with focussing comparable to a good microscope, both the focussing and tracking need to be extremely accurate (1 micron / 0.16 micron or better, a hair is about 100 micron, you'll get the point...)

If guess it's difficult for a magnetic puck not influence the tiny coils controlling the lens. (And even if the magnetic field was perfectly symmetric: the lens is constantly moving in that field because of servo corrections, CD eccentricity, I think that could still influence the coils.)

I almost don't dare to say this here: even a static field of a non-magnetic puck has an influence. If we demagnetize (remove static fields) screw-on type pucks, we can hear an improvement (can be heard easily in a very good system). Of course you won't hear a difference if your CD or other parts are static/magnetic too.
Observed differences are similar (higher resolution, more variety in timbres, more micro and macro dynamics, more quiet, silent background). It's time for some serious jitter measurements...

Btw. we distribute the Shigaraki transport in two versions with magnetic and screw type puck, screw type is always preferred in A/B comparisons. However some find the difference small and choose for the convenience of the magnetic puck (and lower price).

But there are more reasons why the non-magnetic puck sounds different. For our research (we're trying to make the best possible CD player smile.gif we've created and tested a large range of pucks and spindles (all screw-on type), and everything in the design seems to matter, not only weight, weight distribution and pressure, but also the contact points/surfaces with the CD, materials, etc. It all influences the vibrations (and so the jitter pattern and the sound).

On the other hand, I don't want to exaggerate the problem of a magnetic puck, there are good transports with magnetic pucks. Usually there are bigger problems in CD-transports (also the expensive ones). The puck is not the weakest link.

And all of this wouldn't be a problem if we could get rid of the jitter at the DAC, but I haven't heard that in practice yet. It would be very cool if we don't need ridiculously expensive transports anymore to get the best from CD.

source

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread....ht=#post1330555

Added on October 27, 2008, 7:39 amhere is what it says about CDPRO
--
Here are my experiences with the CD PRO (with a few other persons we evaluated different mechanisms for developing a transport):

The mechanism of de CD PRO is very good, altough not as perfect as the VRDS NEO, but you can't buy these for a sensible price (and the electronics of the VRDS probably limits it's capabilities).

The laser is ok, but unfortunately not balanced, which means that focus- and tracking corrections influence each other more than neccesary. The corrections introduce jitter that can't be removed. A cheap Sanyo laser does this better.

The weakest link is the circuit board, and I guess it's almost impossible to modify properly. The clock can be improved but there are far worse problems on this board: the 4-layer layout and it's components.

Btw: I notice many people focus on the clock, but usually there's more to gain elsewhere (solving hf problems, power supply, layout etc.). Besides that: most clocks we've evaluated introduced new hf-problems, new jitter in other parts of the spectrum. I think "Plug-and-play" clocks are a gamble, proper implementation is critical.

source

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread....832#post1173832

This post has been edited by ccschua: Oct 27 2008, 07:41 AM
flyboi
post Oct 27 2008, 08:34 AM

in seclusion!
840 posts

Hi guys!

Manage to get 1 EZ31 at Mydin Pudu and that is the last stock. Jusco in wangsa maju also has no stock. Still looking for another one for friend. An ideas which shop has it?

Added on October 27, 2008, 8:38 am
QUOTE(ccschua @ Oct 27 2008, 07:14 AM)
Not really. but it would serve the job, I am thinking of putting the servo on a wooden board, then have it tied to the marble. The servo needs about 15kg of mass to stabilize !!
So, how is the sound so far? What dac do u use with this transport?

This post has been edited by flyboi: Oct 27 2008, 08:38 AM
jazzy939
post Oct 27 2008, 09:18 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

This is news! The EZ31 no stock! Must be bought by forumers that stumbled by this thread.. tongue.gif
gabanyayaya
post Oct 27 2008, 09:44 AM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Oct 27 2008, 08:14 AM)

Something about the PUCK.
------

http://www.audiostereo.pl/zalaczniki/1067737_1.jpg

CD tracks are 1.6 micron apart, that's 625 tracks in each mm, CD transports use a lens with focussing comparable to a good microscope, both the focussing and tracking need to be extremely accurate (1 micron / 0.16 micron or better, a hair is about 100 micron, you'll get the point...)

If guess it's difficult for a magnetic puck not influence the tiny coils controlling the lens. (And even if the magnetic field was perfectly symmetric: the lens is constantly moving in that field because of servo corrections, CD eccentricity, I think that could still influence the coils.)

I almost don't dare to say this here: even a static field of a non-magnetic puck has an influence. If we demagnetize (remove static fields) screw-on type pucks, we can hear an improvement (can be heard easily in a very good system). Of course you won't hear a difference if your CD or other parts are static/magnetic too.
Observed differences are similar (higher resolution, more variety in timbres, more micro and macro dynamics, more quiet, silent background). It's time for some serious jitter measurements...

Btw. we distribute the Shigaraki transport in two versions with magnetic and screw type puck, screw type is always preferred in A/B comparisons. However some find the difference small and choose for the convenience of the magnetic puck (and lower price).

But there are more reasons why the non-magnetic puck sounds different. For our research (we're trying to make the best possible CD player smile.gif we've created and tested a large range of pucks and spindles (all screw-on type), and everything in the design seems to matter, not only weight, weight distribution and pressure, but also the contact points/surfaces with the CD, materials, etc. It all influences the vibrations (and so the jitter pattern and the sound).

On the other hand, I don't want to exaggerate the problem of a magnetic puck, there are good transports with magnetic pucks. Usually there are bigger problems in CD-transports (also the expensive ones). The puck is not the weakest link.

And all of this wouldn't be a problem if we could get rid of the jitter at the DAC, but I haven't heard that in practice yet. It would be very cool if we don't need ridiculously expensive transports anymore to get the best from CD.

source

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread....ht=#post1330555

Added on October 27, 2008, 7:39 amhere is what it says about CDPRO
--
Here are my experiences with the CD PRO (with a few other persons we evaluated different mechanisms for developing a transport):

The mechanism of de CD PRO is very good, altough not as perfect as the VRDS NEO, but you can't buy these for a sensible price (and the electronics of the VRDS probably limits it's capabilities).

The laser is ok, but unfortunately not balanced, which means that focus- and tracking corrections influence each other more than neccesary. The corrections introduce jitter that can't be removed. A cheap Sanyo laser does this better.

The weakest link is the circuit board, and I guess it's almost impossible to modify properly. The clock can be improved but there are far worse problems on this board: the 4-layer layout and it's components.

Btw: I notice many people focus on the clock, but usually there's more to gain elsewhere (solving hf problems, power supply, layout etc.). Besides that: most clocks we've evaluated introduced new hf-problems, new jitter in other parts of the spectrum. I think "Plug-and-play" clocks are a gamble, proper implementation is critical.

source

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread....832#post1173832
did you got the hammond tranny or something equivalent....???
jazzy939
post Oct 27 2008, 10:01 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

gabanyayaya,
thats a lot of quoting.. maybe if you just edit a little bit.. tongue.gif it will be easy on the eyes.. thanx.
gabanyayaya
post Oct 27 2008, 10:50 AM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Oct 27 2008, 11:01 AM)
gabanyayaya,
thats a lot of quoting.. maybe if you just edit a little bit.. tongue.gif it will be easy on the eyes.. thanx.

too lazy smile.gif

TSccschua
post Oct 27 2008, 09:47 PM

1,630 posts

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Oct 27 2008, 10:50 AM)
too lazy  smile.gif
DIY job is for Enthusiasts.

I have placed an order for the cap. it is all Panasonic for audio. no FM/FC series for small cap. also I hope to get the crystal 16.9 MHz. if not, i go for full audio clock.

I am quite happy with the cdplayer. it is quite responsive.

Just in case not to miss the boat, I have got the boombox and I am buying the components soon.

This post has been edited by ccschua: Oct 27 2008, 09:55 PM
yennshin
post Oct 27 2008, 11:22 PM

112 posts

man, where do you guys find this boombox...
i've been searching high and low for it, there're all left with display units only...
jazzy939
post Oct 27 2008, 11:35 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

From what was being said; Jusco and Mydin!

QUOTE(yennshin @ Oct 27 2008, 11:22 PM)
i've been searching high and low for it, there're all left with display units only...
yennshin
post Oct 27 2008, 11:45 PM

112 posts

damn... i tried some jusco, tesco, carrefour, HSL, seng heng with no results...
swt... must be kena sapu by the rest of the crazy LYN forumer LOL
jazzy939
post Oct 27 2008, 11:49 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

That is what I thought!
There was some being sold, then after Jusco and Mydin was being mentioned, they're all gone! shakehead.gif

QUOTE(yennshin @ Oct 27 2008, 11:45 PM)
damn... i tried some jusco, tesco, carrefour, HSL, seng heng with no results...
swt... must be kena sapu by the rest of the crazy LYN forumer LOL
TSccschua
post Oct 28 2008, 12:02 AM

1,630 posts

so here come the victime no 1. waiting for operation room.

I hope my unit dont end up ICU. Still gathering the component. I am split between ELNA and Panasonic ECA. Looks like Blackgate is out of reach for me.

Added on October 29, 2008, 7:24 amany takers. I found these items.

2 x MSR860
0300-8441 oscillator
LM7808
Dale 100R
Dale 300R
ERO 10n
PS PCB

This post has been edited by ccschua: Oct 29 2008, 07:24 AM
abel
post Oct 29 2008, 05:04 PM

571 posts

just get panasonic FC .... is more than enuf after sucess than only upgrade better caps

Added on October 29, 2008, 5:04 pmwho sucess the mod pls share here

This post has been edited by abel: Oct 29 2008, 05:04 PM
TSccschua
post Oct 29 2008, 07:49 PM

1,630 posts

I think this mod the most important thing is power supply. So I am taking time to get the correct item.

Phase 1 : power supply, citizen clock

Phase 2 : Audio-gd clock, separate power supply for clock.
abel
post Oct 30 2008, 12:57 AM

571 posts

i saw EZ-53 at Jusco Maluri i dunno using same transport or not

This post has been edited by abel: Oct 30 2008, 01:21 AM
jazzy939
post Oct 30 2008, 04:03 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

How much for this model?
Can't saw if EZ-53 is 'higher' range than EZ-31.
diyaudio thread did not mentioned about this model..

QUOTE(abel @ Oct 30 2008, 12:57 AM)
i saw EZ-53 at Jusco Maluri i dunno using same transport or not
yennshin
post Oct 30 2008, 07:29 PM

112 posts

on the box of EZ-53 says "MP3 playback" IIRC,
i believe that it's assume that if MP3 playback is supported, a different transport is used
jazzy939
post Oct 30 2008, 07:46 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

It looks quite similar to EZ-31, except it's black.. price wise?
TSccschua
post Oct 30 2008, 09:21 PM

1,630 posts

if support MP3, that means this model use diff controller, so it can not be used.

Jazzy, any news on the metal block ?
jazzy939
post Oct 30 2008, 10:31 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

So, it must be EZ-31A huh.. tongue.gif

Was not able to get him last week. Hopefully this weekend ler.. unsure.gif Sorry for the delay...

QUOTE(ccschua @ Oct 30 2008, 09:21 PM)
if support MP3, that means this model use diff controller, so it can not be used.

Jazzy, any news on the metal block ?
Vincent Pang
post Oct 31 2008, 04:39 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Oct 20 2008, 07:36 AM)

Distortion is never a desired characteristic of digital systems.  I'm assuming that you aren't using vinyl laugh.gif
i don't think you pay much attention to your power supply that the computer power supply is one of the worst as it inject noise to the mobo and soundcard.

i used to get click sounds when i move my mouse, so funny yeh. Fixed that by changing to another power supply, the new one gave me another problem, noise when the CD ROM is spinning, hahahaha
TSccschua
post Oct 31 2008, 08:01 PM

1,630 posts

user posted imageHi Vincent,

U need to go deeper into what Empy has to say. I totally dont deny the fact digital is the future, just that how cloce is that corner.

Somehow more parts arrive.

This post has been edited by ccschua: Oct 31 2008, 08:01 PM
Vincent Pang
post Oct 31 2008, 11:20 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Oct 31 2008, 08:01 PM)
Hi Vincent,

U need to go deeper into what Empy has to say. I totally dont deny the fact digital is the future, just that how cloce is that corner.

Somehow more parts arrive.
pls enlighten me, is CD not digital ? Why say the future is digital when we are using digital now?

does your speaker run on digital if you say digital is the future?

i'm questioning the use of a PC as the source than a dedicated CD Player.

i'm NOT questioning CD vs rip/loseless here.

This post has been edited by Vincent Pang: Nov 1 2008, 12:05 AM
TSccschua
post Nov 3 2008, 09:27 PM

1,630 posts

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Oct 20 2008, 04:08 PM)
Jazzy,

Quote "
Just got my RCEZ31. My first impressions:
RCEZ32 (the one kevink talks about) has a better DSP chip (and one much closer to original Shig) than the RCEZ31 (which benefits/suffers from Sanyo's integration program which is meant to reduce chip count for low-end designers).
The fact that LC78601RE has to devote significant die space to an integrated u-controller w/ display block, lcd driver, and control processing means corners were cut in other areas and RFI interference between the blocks will be more common. I would rather see the influence of the display and control processing in the signal-processing block minimized by separate physical location, supplies, and decoupling of two separate packages. U-controllers are some of the nastiest sources of noise in a digital system...
On the other hand, what is nice about the RCEZ31 (and which improves on Shig even) is the connection between laser pickup and ASP is made as short as possible, with the ASP located directly under the laser sled. Note however that reducing the distance here increases the influence of spurious radiation and cares should be taken to shield the two blocks with shield lines or anti-EFM material (in early Flatfish it was a ground shield around the eight-lead harness carrying the pickup photodiode and track error signals). Note also that the direct connection between main pcb and laser sled mechanism means that there will be mechanical disturbances created by the servo motors on a pcb stuffed with microphonic ceramic chip caps and digital ICs. I would strongly advice detaching the pcb from the laser sled assembly, and making the connection to the motors via short wires, rather than letting the motors have their ways with that pcb. I would also recommend removing that plastic housing guard over the laser pickup--less is better here--and (unlike 47 Lab Shig) mounting adjustable spikes for the CD player directly on the four stand-offs that support the laser assembly unit, with some added mass, rather than spiking a traditional chassis at some point located a distance from the stand-offs or placing the whole thing on some wood/metal/ceramic plinth. The resonances from the CD mechanism need to leave it as directly as possible, and there is no more direct route than the stand-offs. Also, the manufacture of a precise delrin platter/clamp which fits tightly to the motor shaft without need of any bonding substance is also very desireable.
One thing: do not waste your time. The ASP and DSP will present a bottleneck in terms of spec and number, but have little to do with sound quality: I spent hours playing with different RF amp configs, and putting high-quality passive components into the PLL clock generation circuit (two years of tinkering with Caddocks and BGs on an old Flatfish, where the board was through-hole and parts were easy to swap) to no avail. Besides mechanical construction (which is very important), the biggest bottleneck for a system like this will be the supply regulation, grounding and decoupling. Indeed, some regulators are better tha others, and the 5V regulator sitting inside the MM1469 has at best 75dB rejection at 1kHz during steady state operation (they do anything to optimize their specs); during heavy servo operation, it is far worse, and there is quite alot of noise of all frequencies modulated into the 5V reg block, esp. during TOC and track skip operations. Being a linear reg means that it cannot filter out HF and RF noise, but passes it through: result is a white, bodyless presentation, without fundamental tones (my main criticism of 47 Lab digital players). I won't criticize JVC: budget is budget. It cost me Eu39! Their player is fast, and rhythmic. But the PSRR at 10MHz or at 100MHz is next to nil. The noise will get into your chips, get stored in parasitic capacitances, released a little later, generate offsets, modulate or be modulated by your RF digital signals, generating all kinds of intermod products, noise modulations, etc. etc. My advice: Do not use MM1469 as your final reg. Using the LM7808 as a pre-reg for the MM reg is only half a solution. Using a low-noise, low-output-impedance 5V reg with good dynamic performance (like the ALWSR super-reg or other) for your ASP/DSP combo (and another separate one for the internal 1-bit DAC if you are using the analogue out option) while adding some series resistance before good local decoupling will suprise you even further how good this chip combination can sound.

" unquote

This post has been edited by ccschua: Nov 3 2008, 09:28 PM
ijan
post Nov 4 2008, 10:50 AM

The one with a boring life...
3,448 posts

aint superior cd transport serves to supply superior data steam, 101% accurate?

If that is the case, then there is no denying,cd transport STREAM data with little correction from the onboard controller. A computer source (and future source that doesnt require a computer, i know they exists, but im unaware of them) is 102% accurate reading to that nano compared to micron of cd track since the data from the cd is read thru various ECC CRC etc..and to the matter of RF interference in cd transport, why is it a main concern when the data readout is digital? Microphonics from ceramic caps, what ppl shud be worried are the true EMI from the cd motor.

Or maybe i misunderstood, but from the DIY thingie on this thread, it seems like the transport serves data to external USB?

So what is a cd transport then?
TSccschua
post Nov 4 2008, 07:36 PM

1,630 posts

Not really the USB, but the thingie serves digital data with accuracy to the DAC via coaxial/BNC.

Several people reported coaxial better than BNC and vice versa. it is sometimes confusing. I will just stick with BNC with the RG59. I think RG 6 is overkill ?

To connect USB to DAC it will need a converter. Common in the market is PCM 2702 + Xitel + a host of others. These solution dont offer good jitters.

Another way, the I2S, is a promissing tech but most dac dont have this.

not too long from now, there will be solution in this. and it is not costly. For the meantime, I just want to get this simple transport to run, to see if it is a real killer of CEC / ML or just another hype.

So, my clock, pcb supply board and caps are in.

I am ready to rock and roll this week.

This post has been edited by ccschua: Nov 4 2008, 07:37 PM
ckeng2002
post Nov 6 2008, 05:06 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Oct 28 2008, 12:02 AM)
so here come the victime no 1. waiting for operation room.

I hope my unit dont end up ICU. Still gathering the component. I am split between ELNA and Panasonic ECA. Looks like Blackgate is out of reach for me.

Added on October 29, 2008, 7:24 amany takers. I found these items.

2 x MSR860
0300-8441 oscillator
LM7808
Dale 100R
Dale 300R
ERO 10n
PS PCB
Hows ur project?? Started?

besides, where did u find these items?? jalan Pasar??
TSccschua
post Nov 6 2008, 07:04 PM

1,630 posts

Please email Peter Deniel directly. He would be able to reply directly.

As for the rest, u need transformer, with 30VA 12-0-12. U can get the transformer at Jalan Pasar.

For RCA/BNC connection, I chose BNC because I think that is the lowest jitter.

With the above components, and mounting all those items on wooden board, it is ready to rock and roll.
flyboi
post Nov 6 2008, 11:26 PM

in seclusion!
840 posts

So, how is it? Can rock n roll or not?
TSccschua
post Nov 6 2008, 11:59 PM

1,630 posts

Well looks like the parts from peter will take some time to arrive. plus I will be attending to phase 2 of ZERO DAC mod. I hope to receive the parts by next week, if not, I will still tear apart the EZ31.
flyboi
post Nov 7 2008, 12:14 AM

in seclusion!
840 posts

Ic. Thought that u oredi had the parts. I'm also gathering the parts now. Just waiting for the chassis quotation from jazzy939. Hope that it is affordable. Otherwise it will be a naked transport.
ckeng2002
post Nov 7 2008, 09:53 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Nov 6 2008, 07:04 PM)

Please email Peter Deniel directly. He would be able to reply directly.

As for the rest, u need transformer, with 30VA 12-0-12. U can get the transformer at Jalan Pasar.

For RCA/BNC connection, I chose BNC because I think that is the lowest jitter.

With the above components, and mounting all those items on wooden board, it is ready to rock and roll.
Hi

Thank you for the reply.

can I have the email of Peter Deniel, btw, which part u obtain from him??

For the rest, i can go down Jalan Pasar, its a bout 10 mins drive for me only. Or i may take monorail down to tiem square and walk across. heheheh

May I suggest u use some heavy ply wood from hardware house? or glue few pieces of mdf board together to create a very heavy base? or buy a good chop board from isetan supermarket, should be heavy n good enough, hehehe
TSccschua
post Nov 7 2008, 11:23 PM

1,630 posts

QUOTE(ckeng2002 @ Nov 7 2008, 09:53 AM)
Hi

Thank you for the reply.

can I have the email of Peter Deniel, btw, which part u obtain from him??

For the rest, i can go down Jalan Pasar, its a bout 10 mins drive for me only. Or i may take monorail down to tiem square and walk across. heheheh

May I suggest u use some heavy ply wood from hardware house? or glue few pieces of mdf board together to create a very heavy base? or buy a good chop board from isetan supermarket, should be heavy n good enough, hehehe
just send him a PM. check the diyaudio thread.

also the items are better off purchased at the Pasar road.
wui223
post Nov 7 2008, 11:31 PM

941 posts

ccschua: how much would the mod cost in total roughly? the output of the transport is Toslink or SPDIF? thanks
jazzy939
post Nov 7 2008, 11:33 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Guys, a question.
ringgit to ringgit if we were to compare this shigaclone and a CDROM transport kit, which would be 'best value for money'?
thanks in advance!
TSccschua
post Nov 7 2008, 11:37 PM

1,630 posts

QUOTE(wui223 @ Nov 7 2008, 11:31 PM)
ccschua: how much would the mod cost in total roughly? the output of the transport is Toslink or SPDIF? thanks
EZ 31 about RM 200.

mod items : RM 80

Transformer : RM 30

others....

I use BNC.

want to know more BNC, try google BNC, SPDIF and TOSLINK, in the acsending order of Jitters.
wui223
post Nov 7 2008, 11:47 PM

941 posts

I think the cost would be less than 500 bucks for a complete working transport. Quite a worth of money as i read positive reviews from diyAudio.

ccschua: any chance that we could audition it when it's done?
cubicle
post Nov 11 2008, 11:59 AM

146 posts

very interesting project. make my hand itchy already.. smile.gif

any one still manage to get the ez-31? will go grab it this weekend..
jazzy939
post Nov 12 2008, 12:51 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

chassis update.
materials choices would be either copper(from the pix) which can be expensive or aluminium, which is about 6-8 times cheaper.
Can't exactly get an exact quote as I do not have the proper dimensions but based on best estimates(based on the pix) it's around RM200, more or less.
I am also making an acrylic chassis for my own use but not for EZ31 transport, an alternative transport which I am currently experimenting. I'd say acrylic would be best 'value for money' in this application.

End of update wink.gif
flyboi
post Nov 13 2008, 10:44 PM

in seclusion!
840 posts

Does the rm200 comes wih copper or aluminium?
jazzy939
post Nov 13 2008, 10:49 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

aluminium. copper is way too expensive... tongue.gif
maxtek
post Nov 13 2008, 10:54 PM

TH3 P3RF3C7!0N!5T
876 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Nov 13 2008, 10:49 PM)
aluminium. copper is way too expensive... tongue.gif
But in terms of the quality you'd get using copper, it's worth the price right???
jazzy939
post Nov 13 2008, 11:17 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

The copper might give a 'better' finish.. and looks expensive, right?
Aluminium is cheaper and easier to work with (softer). Once we have an aluminium prototype, then easier to work with other metals.
Right now without drawings and the EZ31 transport mechanism I can't even start. Anybody can give detailed pictures/drawing/dimensions tongue.gif
TSccschua
post Nov 13 2008, 11:38 PM

1,630 posts

I just received the power board and the crystal. I am ready to mod this weekend. I will buy the wooden board at jusco , cost RM 6.50. and the power supply at pasar road, cost rm 30.

jazzy939
post Nov 14 2008, 01:14 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

ccschua,
thanx for the update. keep us posted! thumbup.gif
metalmania
post Nov 14 2008, 07:27 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(yennshin @ Oct 27 2008, 11:22 PM)
If u live near wangsa maju there is one there same color as chua's and a slightly higher model EZ33, the EZ31 is about RM180+, just helping out
jazzy939
post Nov 14 2008, 09:11 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Mention it here, the unit will be gone! tongue.gif laugh.gif
metalmania
post Nov 14 2008, 09:20 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

one more thing, dont know id this model can be use or not, but there is a ez33 at norman harvey the curve..and ez33 at wangsa maju is rm208 if i remember correctly
jazzy939
post Nov 14 2008, 10:05 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

thanx for the info mm.. weekend 'project' wink.gif
metalmania
post Nov 14 2008, 11:02 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

i can ask if they still have stock at jusco is any one is interested...but only one color available... "Smurf Edition"... hahaaa
jazzy939
post Nov 14 2008, 11:06 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

It doesn't matter what colour right? It's the innards that we're after! tongue.gif
metalmania
post Nov 14 2008, 11:11 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

oit dont play play jazzy...u may end up with innards that work like cartoon..hahaaa
jazzy939
post Nov 14 2008, 11:19 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

you may have a point... hmm.gif
TSccschua
post Nov 15 2008, 08:09 AM

1,630 posts

I have finally got it opened. apparently the components used inside the player is quite good. smells new.

Added schematic and service manual of JVC in open post #1.

This post has been edited by ccschua: Nov 15 2008, 08:24 AM
jazzy939
post Nov 15 2008, 09:14 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

ccschua,
looks like you're gonna be busy eh? biggrin.gif
Would appreciate if you could document the steps that you took during the modifications, pictures(lots of it) would be of great help especially for those who would be tempted to take the 'path'.. wink.gif I am sure you already planned this, right? Thanks! biggrin.gif
gabanyayaya
post Nov 15 2008, 04:28 PM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

errr....the shingaclone is not ready yet.....?????
jazzy939
post Nov 15 2008, 06:29 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

gabanyayaya,
It's in progress.. we should hear something from ccschua soon. wink.gif
TSccschua
post Nov 15 2008, 11:37 PM

1,630 posts

Went down to pasar road this morning. Bought a 75VA 12-0-12 tranny and some accessories.

** Remember to bypass the power supply and ground to the analog section **

I have hooked up the Peter Daniel 8V DC regulated PS. Next on the list, modding the cap and remove parts on the CD mechanism. More photo to come.

Added on November 16, 2008, 11:50 pmI am surprise at how good the Transport sounds, after I have the mechanism fix to the board and the huge 75VA tranny. What I found is better details especially the instruments. On certain tracks (Vivaldi 4 seasons) I can hear the background violin. Better transparency and coherency. I used mostly Sanyo Oscon, next upgrade is the audio-gd external clock.

This post has been edited by ccschua: Nov 16 2008, 11:50 PM
abel
post Nov 17 2008, 04:23 PM

571 posts

ccshua nice man .....
eddylws
post Nov 17 2008, 04:56 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Nov 15 2008, 11:37 PM)
Went down to pasar road this morning. Bought a 75VA 12-0-12 tranny and some accessories.

** Remember to bypass the power supply and ground to the analog section **

I have hooked up the Peter Daniel 8V DC regulated PS. Next on the list, modding the cap and remove parts on the CD mechanism. More photo to come.

Added on November 16, 2008, 11:50 pmI am surprise at how good the Transport sounds, after I have the mechanism fix to the board and the huge 75VA tranny. What I found is better details especially the instruments. On certain tracks (Vivaldi 4 seasons) I can hear the background violin. Better transparency and coherency. I used mostly Sanyo Oscon, next upgrade is the audio-gd external clock.

Woh... Your are my god..
great job man....

This post has been edited by eddylws: Nov 17 2008, 04:57 PM
ijan
post Nov 17 2008, 06:28 PM

3,448 posts

beats me why you would want to use a 24V tranny at phreaking 75VA for the whole thing..its just big..big..big..big..heavy n expensive.

Not to mention it would make ur regulator perform worse since more drop-off voltage need to be shed by the regulator=more heat=more noise=less regulation..and not to mention the itsy-bitsy heatsink mount?

Whats the peter daniel regulated PS? macam interesting biggrin.gif
yennshin
post Nov 17 2008, 07:25 PM

112 posts

From the pictures it seems the tranny has the center tap connected, and has only 2 diodes on the ps board.
The tranny is only outputing 12V in this setup, no?
TSccschua
post Nov 17 2008, 08:25 PM

1,630 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Nov 17 2008, 06:28 PM)
beats me why you would want to use a 24V tranny at phreaking 75VA for the whole thing..its just big..big..big..big..heavy n expensive.

Not to mention it would make ur regulator perform worse since more drop-off voltage need to be shed by the regulator=more heat=more noise=less regulation..and not to mention the itsy-bitsy heatsink mount?

Whats the peter daniel regulated PS? macam interesting biggrin.gif
Refer page 1 for the pdf document. The components recommended are actually all Blackgate Std, but I manage Oscon cause it is available here.

The heatsink is on the way from Farnell, costs me RM 16 (and it is huge). The regulator runs hot actually.

Many trial has been made about the power supply, the best is still blackgate with the MSR 860 and 7808.

Now the shigaclone is rock solid, help by the weight of the tranny. tongue.gif

Can u see how simple it is to be done. Took me some time tough, cause i am noob here.

This post has been edited by ccschua: Nov 17 2008, 08:26 PM
ijan
post Nov 17 2008, 08:26 PM

3,448 posts

24V centre-tap, two diode meaning full-wave rectification with no bridge since centre-tapped. Output unreg unload is around 34V, drop out to 8 (26V drop off by reg) and small filter values, shuld haf bad ripple and extremely hot thermal situation.
TSccschua
post Nov 17 2008, 09:32 PM

1,630 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Nov 17 2008, 08:26 PM)
24V centre-tap, two diode meaning full-wave rectification with no bridge since centre-tapped. Output unreg unload is around 34V, drop out to 8 (26V drop off by reg) and small filter values, shuld haf bad ripple and extremely hot thermal situation.
If I measure DC I get 18V, If I measure AC I get 32V at the input to the unregulated channel.
metalmania
post Nov 17 2008, 09:34 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

very nice chua..getting there huh... smile.gif
TSccschua
post Nov 17 2008, 09:40 PM

1,630 posts

QUOTE(metalmania @ Nov 17 2008, 09:34 PM)
very nice chua..getting there huh... smile.gif
suggest u get a boombox also. the stock is running out liao.

I am enjoying every second of the sound. hope to get blackgate.
metalmania
post Nov 17 2008, 10:26 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

huuu...racun lah.. smile.gif
yennshin
post Nov 17 2008, 11:26 PM

112 posts

The boombox can still be found around?
jazzy939
post Nov 17 2008, 11:42 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

There's 'some' left if you look hard enough... wink.gif

QUOTE(yennshin @ Nov 17 2008, 11:26 PM)
The boombox can still be found around?
yennshin
post Nov 17 2008, 11:48 PM

112 posts

gahh.... i can't believe i'm not looking hard enuff biggrin.gif
metalmania
post Nov 18 2008, 12:02 AM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(yennshin @ Nov 17 2008, 11:48 PM)
gahh.... i can't believe i'm not looking hard enuff biggrin.gif
jusco wangsa maju...go there:)
yennshin
post Nov 18 2008, 12:52 AM

112 posts

Went there last week and it looks like there's only the display unit left...
Didn't really ask the sales person though.
flyboi
post Nov 18 2008, 01:32 AM

in seclusion!
840 posts

They don't sell the display unit and there is no stock left.
TSccschua
post Nov 18 2008, 11:44 PM

1,630 posts

Here come the shigaraki diy with my zero mod..

Notice I have switched to 75 ohm BNC only. Also time to bypass the cap with green sausage. [check at the zero dac there]

This post has been edited by ccschua: Nov 18 2008, 11:46 PM
flyboi
post Nov 19 2008, 12:30 AM

in seclusion!
840 posts

So, how is it so far bro? Does it sound promising?

TSccschua
post Nov 20 2008, 08:02 PM

1,630 posts

Pls check my earlier post. I have mentioned the sound is very promising given the stability the unit offers.
jazzy939
post Dec 9 2008, 05:13 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Eh.. no updates? hmm.gif

Anyone looking for the JVC EZ31? Sighted a few around town this morning but at a higher price of RM199.

PM me for location.
jazzy939
post Jan 15 2009, 08:43 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

bringing up an 'old' thread. tongue.gif

No updates guys?
ccschua, completed yours? hmm.gif
TSccschua
post Jan 15 2009, 09:13 PM

1,630 posts

completed acutally. but the bad news I burnt it accidentally. Now tough time to find IC replacement. if not, it is a good pair for my 16bit tda1541a
jazzy939
post Jan 15 2009, 10:04 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Auuwww too bad. Any luck of getting the IC? Substitute?
royboismx
post Feb 25 2014, 12:45 AM

hey there bro smile.gif
i'm looking for a CD titled : Eminem & Royce da 5'9 - Bad Meets Evil
maybe you could help me look around.
hope you dont mind helping me out... smile.gif

0.0648sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:12 PM