TSelfreakz
post May 1 2009, 01:02 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(Ikruga @ May 1 2009, 12:47 PM)
ah really? cant plant here?

i thot i saw someone planted and blogged about it, in Msia.....

unfortunately i cant find the blog anymore, hence i search here.....

ayways thanks for replying
I'm pretty sure you can grow catnip in Malaysia. Wikipedia mention, the plant itself originally found in Asia and other countries.

It is a Lamiaceae Plant Family. Got many different type, one of them is Nepeta (which is Catnip). You can found Misai Kucing (scientific name Orthosiphon stamineus, also one of the Catnip/Nepeta Family) in Malaysia. I bought mine at sg buluh, you know sg buluh got so many people selling flowers next to the highway.

Other than that, you can also use Akar Kucing Galak. Cats love that too..

References:
Nepeta/Catnip = http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nepeta
Misai Kucing = http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orthosiphon_stamineus
Misai Kucing = http://www.misaikucing.com/
Misai Kucing = http://ms.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pokok_Misai_Kucing
Akar Kucing Galak = http://www.mykucing.com/food-diet-nutritio...r-kucing-galak/

TSelfreakz
post May 1 2009, 01:13 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(long7444 @ May 1 2009, 12:57 PM)
Zulkis,

That's a bit technical..Anyway thanx. I didn't adopt the cat. My female cat Molly (i consider her hair to be in between medium to along hair type) just gave birth to 3 kittens.
All 3 different color (tortoise,orange and grey), just want to know if we can tell just by looking at the kitten at this age whether it is going to be a long type hair kind of cat or not. This is her second litter. The first litter of kitten was stolen and i was so damn pissed off about that. Anyway i know one of the BF of Molly is a DLH that has been hanging around my house ever since Molly became "matang".

Can one cat be impregnated by 3 different cat at the same time?

sweat.gif
The time intervals between matings may be as short as 5 minutes or as long as half an hour. A female may allow up to 30 matings, and studies have shown that if only one single mating is allowed only 50 percent of the queens will get pregnant. Queens are not too particular. They will allow mating will various males and this can result in a variety of different fathers for the same litter. Each kitten has only one father and kittens within the same litter may all have different fathers.

Very from the big cat (LION), 1 male control over few female lion. no other male cat can have sex with his females. else Lion fight will occur. So in 1 colony, example: 1 Male Lion and 5 Female Lions. all 5 females will mate with only 1 male lion. Not like cats, they change partners.

So back to your question, the possibility equal to YES.

p/s Gosh! I hate Keberangkalian/Possibility math subject back in school LOL

This post has been edited by elfreakz: May 1 2009, 01:14 PM
TSelfreakz
post May 1 2009, 01:20 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(Dr Jan Itor @ May 1 2009, 01:12 PM)
Got a slight problem with my cat. Before that, some basic info on it:

I got it in the year 1996 from the market. Saw it thin and starving and so me and my bro took pity on it and brought it home. Ever since then it has been with us for 12 long years ( hopefully for more years to come)

The problem with it is that its really a "scared of everything" cat. It jumps at the slightest noises ( sneezing, moving a table or chair, cars zooming by the house suddenly for example) and its also very afraid of strangers that it runs at the first sight of them.

It also refuses to let any member of the family to carry it or pet it with hands ( the exception being me). It only lets other family members manja it with their legs and not the hands. Is there anything that I could do? Its been with us for 12 years now, nobody abuses it, and its treated with love and care. and yet its still scared all the time.
That is normal. Nothing you can do much with that attitude. A friend of mine has a cat that is much more weird and sad than yours.

Cat has different attitude. When i was young, i always thought that animal has the same attitude. But i was wrong. They are just like human.

All this attitude and behavior is related to their genetics. If the cat is from good genetic, they will produce good kittens. Else, the other way around.

And my friend told me, he said it is true. His weird cat (who doesnt like to be touch by anybody include owner, and will run away) come from bad genetic. Not from the cat mother and father, but the cat mother's sister (aunty). so it is inherited from the cat aunty.

In pedigree cattery, once a breeder found bad behavior genetic, they will immediately stop breeding the cat, and put it on neuter mode. because they do not want to produce pedigree cat with bad behavior.

Your cat is normal, nothing wrong with him. Even a few of my own cats don't really fancy small children, because all this while, they grew up looking at my face, no children in the house. they will hide, if my niece and nephew are around. but some of them are OK with people.
TSelfreakz
post May 4 2009, 10:53 AM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(zopu @ May 3 2009, 04:32 PM)
hi elf, yesterday bring my cat to vet. I ask the vet what the exact skin problem with my cat? The vet can't tell. He used the blue laser light check, said not a ring worm or fungal. They even dono what is that.  rclxub.gif
So they just gave a cream, and ask me apply twice in daily. And ask me back another two weeks time.
OMG...
i wonder where is your location anyway?

weird vet, cannot tell what is the problem. you try the cream... if it is not working then you can go to other vet. sorry that you sound like pay so much money for different vet, and your cat is not cure yet. let me know your location, maybe people here can recommend you their vet. if you are in Cheras KL, go to Segar Vet. That's my cat's vet. and segar vet show me how to check ringworm under the blue laser light, show me how mites look like under microscope.

is your cat getting worst or better?
TSelfreakz
post May 4 2009, 10:54 AM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(mensa0106 @ May 3 2009, 09:16 PM)
halo brader..i think u should try malaseb on ur cat..same thing happened to my kiki last time..
i took my kiki to c vet n d vet only said it is fungal n gave me liquid mdicine 4 my kiki...after a week, i still cant c any improvement on my kiki's fur..
after i met with cutiepie69+elf+... in dis forum,they recomended me malaseb@others medicated shampoo..
after applied malaseb on my kiki for a week, i can c there is an improvement on my kiki's fur..
kiki's fur start to regenerate.maybe the worm@whatever viruses gone already..n im very happy to c it..hehehe..

i think u should try it..

thanks again to cutiepie69+elf+other members...

Added on May 3, 2009, 9:24 pmuser posted image
kiki n didi went to c vet...
hehehe.. icon_rolleyes.gif
keep bath your kittenwith that shampoo atleast 2 times a week. should recover soon.. so proud of Miri smile.gif... me from piasau eheheh.
TSelfreakz
post May 4 2009, 08:54 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(Polaris @ May 4 2009, 07:53 PM)
My cat's tummy became somewhat bloated the past week, so I bought him to the vet.

He said it's not constipation, seems like there's water retention..

Then he gave some 'ant-diarrhea' liquid, for 3 days.

I'm not sure why this med is given, can anyone here tell me more?
Because one of the symptoms of diarrhea is Increased thirst due to fluid loss. So the stomach become bloated with water due to your get get thirsty all the time.

Another dangerous sickness that cat can get with bloated stomach as sign is FIP (Feline Infectious Peritonitis).

Further info about FIP go to = http://www.sniksnak.com/cathealth/fip.html

TSelfreakz
post May 5 2009, 12:04 AM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(pumpkinn @ May 4 2009, 10:15 PM)
Hi El,
[attachmentid=943940]
OMG! that white pussycat is adorable! gosh, white and clean... sure beautiful.

yea, some cat is born to have small body structure and slim. just like me LOL tongue.gif

one of my cat also like that, fat bro and fat sister, but she's the one born slim. after spayed, she gain weight - not overweight, but just nice. still have the solid body, with healthy stomach look smile.gif

overall, with that improvement, you did a good job! thumbup.gif that show you are a good owner icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by elfreakz: May 5 2009, 12:05 AM
TSelfreakz
post May 9 2009, 01:40 AM

3,905 posts

if normal shampoo sure can... but if it is medicated shampoo you need to read the instruction. normally cat + dog share the same shampoo requirement.

my DLH cat conditioner bottle has dog images.. but the instruction at the back saying for cats too.
TSelfreakz
post May 10 2009, 01:01 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(~bsj~ @ May 10 2009, 12:05 PM)
u know la..aiyoo..still ask..the part which they use to make babies la..muaahahahahaha  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
is thr anything i need to take care of before i bring my cat to the vet for the operation?i mean..like..do i need to stop feeding him the night before the operation?or knock him into unconscious so when he wakes up everything is done? thumbup.gif
hahaha..just kidding..im not that cruel!!
pls advice..thanks alot..

[attachmentid=955098] <--- My 老猫公 dudu laugh.gif
BabyPets at Equine Park Sri Kembangan charge RM80 for male, RM135 for female. if you are nearer to Setapak then go there cheaper.

All you need is to make your cat fasting atleast 10-12 hours before surgery. so no food.

male is kinda easy to take care, because the operation is external (remove the 2 balls)...

female involve internal, so you need extra care.

good luck thumbup.gif
TSelfreakz
post May 10 2009, 01:09 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(dennishanafi @ May 10 2009, 04:24 AM)
How to groom a cat myself?
1. Cut the nails... just cut the sharp part... do not cut everything. (read here - http://www.thecatzine.com/2008/06/trimming-your-cats-claws/)

2. Clean the ears... (read here - http://www.thecatzine.com/2008/07/cleaning-cats-ears/)

3. Comb or brush your cat furs before bath... this will remove dead fur first.

4. Now go to the bath room, if your cat has no experience with water, don't bath immediately. this is to avoid stress.. wet your hand, and rub it on the cat's body slow. now increase amount of water, and wet the whole body except the head.

5. shampoo the whole body, except head.

6. get a wet towel, and rub it on your cat face slowly. make sure no water go into the ears.

7. lastly rinse your cat.

8. now dry your cat, with towel then hair dryer. if you have problem handling it, put your cat in small cage, and turn ON the hair dryer. so he cannot run away.

Done smile.gif

things you need, cat's nail cutter, ear mites solution, comb, towel, shampoo.

You can get ear mites solution from, comb, nail cutter and shampoo from the petshop or vet.

Further reading = http://www.thecatzine.com/2009/02/tips-for-bathing-your-cat/

This post has been edited by elfreakz: May 10 2009, 01:10 PM
TSelfreakz
post May 10 2009, 01:12 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(~bsj~ @ May 10 2009, 01:07 PM)
ok..thanks for the information..poor my dudu...
and by the way..how long will it take for recovery?will he feel very painful after the surgery?
male recover faster, they can immediately move, and rarely problem occur. you don't even see any changes after the operation. until you see the private part,there's no balls LOL tongue.gif

female recover basically 3-4 days. Make sure not moving to much at this time. They should be OK after 4th day, and fur start to grow back. different from male, vet will shave the female stomach for surgery.

So male easier.

This post has been edited by elfreakz: May 10 2009, 01:13 PM
TSelfreakz
post May 11 2009, 12:07 AM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(nash9701 @ May 10 2009, 08:40 PM)
Elf..i want to ask something..is it possible that a grey color cat mates with white color, then born 2 white kittens and another two is orange like...i just confused with the orange color...because as far i'm concern, the female just mate with my white male only...i don't have any cat with orange color...and the cat are indoor cat....
(^_____^)
yeap possible. orange color may come from the kitten grand parents. it's genetic. Grey basically come from Black color.

So check back the parents history, see if the father or mother has any siblings or generation with Orange/red color.

first generation = one of the cat has red color

second generation (which is your cat now) = none of them is red color

third generation (the kitten) = one if them is red color, 50% possibility get it from the 1st generation which is their grand father/mother. if there is no red color, 25% getting it from the moyang moyang.

when you say orange like, is it "look alike"? it can be tortie or maybe creamy.

anyway, color genetic and behavior genetic is a hard topic.. even the scientist can't really get a 100% clear answer. possibility is always there.
TSelfreakz
post May 11 2009, 12:11 AM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(doden @ May 10 2009, 07:32 PM)
saya nak tanya sesuatu pasal kucing saya nie kan, nak kata dia pernah buat sex dengan mana-mana kucing jantan rasanya tak pernah nampak pulak...dia duduk dalam sangkar jer..tapi saya melihat sesuatu perubahan pada perutnya, nampak macam puting susu dia semakin besar dari hari ke hari, nampak macam dah ada susu, kemudian nampak dia pun macam dah tak selesa duduk dalam sangkar kecil tu, perut dia asyik bergerak2 jer...lidah dia pula asyik keluar dan dia pun mengeluarkan bunyi...

apa benda yang dia sedang alami yer?adakah dia mempunyai susu dan perut yang semakin membesar tu adalah petanda biasa bagi mana-mana kucing betina nak capai usia di peringkat remaja dia.Atau dia sudah ada baby dalam perut dia..Tetapi kalau perut dia sudah ada baby dia masih kecil agak mustahil kalau dia sudah uat dengan mana-mana kucing jantan dulu..

pelik lah...
kucing betina boleh mula mengandung seawal 4/6 bulan. Umur bawah 1 tahun memang bahaya untuk betina mengandung. sebab terlalu muda.

Puting bengkak dan membesar adalah tanda mengandung.

Lidah terjelir, buat bunyi = tanda masa beranak nak dekat. bunyi tu datang bila dia nak cari tempat sesuai untuk beranak.

Pelik kalau tak ada jantan boleh mengandung. berapa lama dah bela kucing ni? dalam baru sebulan... entah2 before kamu dapat kucing ni, dia memang dah pregnant 1 bulan. sebab kucing mengandung 2 bulan.
TSelfreakz
post May 13 2009, 09:35 AM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(long7444 @ May 13 2009, 04:35 AM)
Question,

When can your start bathing your kitten? My cat gave birth to 3 kittens on 17 April last month. Some people said you need to introduce kittens to water quite early so that they wouldn't be afraid of it but i need to know from what age.

icon_question.gif
First of all, you need to know the fact that cat do not need bath. because they are very hygiene by licking and cleaning their body everyday in life. that licking process is bathing for them.

But as a home pet, in some situation we need to bath them. Like, bathing with medicated shampoo when found parasites on them. And also bathing home pet is like extra care for us so they smell good.

Kitten should not be bath if there is mother nearby. mother will automatically clean her kittens from time too time. Only bath if it is very dirty, like playing with the poop and pee (kitten love playing this stuff lol).

you can start bathing them at the age 1 month above if you really need too, but make sure the body temperature is not sick. also, not too long in the bath room, and make sure the water is warm. right after you bath them, dry them faster like splash.

If you are concern about your small kitten cannot handle cold, just wipe them with wet warm towel will do.

if there's no need to bath, kitten can start learn about bath at 2 months and above. this is suitable age of introducing water to them. 1 month is too small (only do it when it is needed), at this age they normally will learn to walk properly, eat, drink, poo and pee.

Good luck icon_rolleyes.gif

TSelfreakz
post May 18 2009, 11:55 AM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(figure8 @ May 18 2009, 11:41 AM)
can somebody help me....where can i find blackwood for cat? i live in serdang, n mostly petshop at my area dont have this brand sad.gif....
try call this blackwood distributor. i think u can get good price if u buy the big pack like 10kg, 20kg etc.

Bernard Lee (Marketing manager) - 0122919313

Simon Yuen (regional manager) - 0176779528

--

Lot 17-14, Jalan Satu,
Bersatu Industrial park, cheras jaya,
balakong, 43200 Cheras.

03 9074 0255
TSelfreakz
post May 18 2009, 11:47 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(stratocaster @ May 18 2009, 09:31 PM)
how about science plan and IAMS? coz i plan to change to those brands...
i tried both. now on science plan.

science plan, iams, blackwood are all in the same group. all of this brand is premium food, and still using grains part of their ingredient.

owner may complaint saying this food that food drop the cat fur, this food that food is good, etc...

need to remember, not only food intake give you this changes, i mean, don't 100% blame on the food brand....

you still need to consider your cat health..

- parasite such as fleas, tick, lice, ringworm will drop the fur
- temperature - too hot will break down the fur
- stress and hormone changes (neuter require to stop this)
- unhappy cat
- health - visit vet for check up vaccine, deworm, skin condition check up, food allergy check up

so check all this.. happy and healthy cat eating anything also cantik...
TSelfreakz
post May 20 2009, 10:10 AM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(stratocaster @ May 19 2009, 03:12 PM)
thanks for the info, elfreakz!! what kind of food u using?

got any contact to buy 15-20kg of sp or iams? i checked in the commercial petstore all only 10kg!!
yea since march, its kinda hard to get 15kg of SP... but before that very easy to get...

maybe you can check out = http://www.petscorner.com.my/

Pets Corner Sdn Bhd
Wisma Medivet,
No. 8, Jln Tun Razak,
50400 Kuala Lumpur,
Malaysia
Phone: 603-40432420 & 40435113
TSelfreakz
post May 20 2009, 10:21 AM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(ubikeledek @ May 20 2009, 10:01 AM)
Hey people. I have some doubt about whiskers here.

Yesterday I brought my kitten to visit my friends, just bringing him jalan-jalan. I did realize his whisker was somewhat varies from short and long, but when my friends sees them, they said it looked like it was being cut off (the short ones) coz they didn't have the sharp end. I thought those whiskers are growing that's why it looked like that, but my friends said growing whiskers should have a sharp end.

Obviously I didn't cut them, why should I, those whisker are very important. The thing is, how can it looked like it was being cut off whilst nobody's doing? My friends said maybe my housemates did it, but I don't one to blame anybody just yet, coz they seemed to love the kitten. I hope!  sweat.gif

Anyways, long story short, this morning when I woke up, I saw my hamster's cage had some opening. I mean u know right those hamster's house had some hole so that it could be connected to some tunnels outside? That thing was opened this morning!

Since yesterday, after what my friends told me, I suspected it was my hamster who might have cause the whisker shorten. I'm sure my kitten would always looked around the hamster's cage and small opening and his whisker might have gotten in, and then the angry hamster might have bitten them. Is this story possible? Any other cause that can make those whiskers like that?
And to my surprise, I saw my kitten's food inside my hamster's cage as well! Huhu. Now I think I can't let them be friends. Poor kitten.
yes whiskers should have sharp end.. in malay - hujung sepatut nya semakin halus seperti rambut sebelum di potong.

u need to know some whiskers will drop too. just like hair and fur... like our hair, it may not be drop from the root but it break in the middle. so you may see whiskers pull of by itself from the root, or break into part (which is what you see now).

i'm not sure how hamster behave towards cat. aren;t your hamster should freak out till death to see big lion outside the catch?
if i'm not mistaken, you should worry about your cat, but start thinking about your hamster. i'm pretty sure they are in stress mode right now to see that cat.

go to hamster thread in lowyat.net and see how do hamster in stress mode.

and i'm not sure how your kitten food end up in the catch LOL... who has hands? maybe the hamster curi curi keluar and take the kitten food eheheheh... like squirrel curi nuts tongue.gif
TSelfreakz
post May 20 2009, 11:12 AM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(ubikeledek @ May 20 2009, 10:41 AM)
Huhu, yea I was surprised too coz the hamster was all safe lepak-lepak inside the house. He really does know how to go back to his home!
But anyways I know my kitten was scared of the hamster too coz everytime I took the hamster out and placed him inside the hamster ball for them to play, my kitten would kinda freaked out. He's always like tried to attack (macam mengacah-acah) and then he backed off and ran away, and will repeat it all over again.

Hee. I was worried that the kitten got bitten by the hamster though. Coz once I got bitten and was bleeding like hell! Now I think my kitten is stressed  too for I dont know what reason. I've posted a few pictures in my previous post. At first I thought it break in the middle as well, but when my friends told me it looked like kena potong, I was worried already. But it was quite a lot u know that's what worries me.

I know how the food ended up there, hamster has big pouch so he stuffed all the kittens food and bring back home. I was so surprised coz it was a lot and it wasn't that near!! Hurmm.. bet he must have smelled the food loooong time ago, and finally had a chance to taste them!

Going to hamster thread now! happy.gif
Owh ya, by the way, my kitten now is a small eater, right after I introduced the wet food to him (not giving him everyday though!). He only eats little kibbles at night and there are leftover that's why the hamster managed to steal them!
wow u mean your hamster stay without catch? like they are roaming in the house? interesting cos i never see friends doing this before, all of the hamster i saw is in this big cage like tunnels.

yea that's the bad side of feeding wet food together with dry food. they will always reject dry food and keep requesting for wet food ehehe.. because its yummy.

anyway u don;t have to worry too much about the whiskers, it will grow back soon.
TSelfreakz
post May 20 2009, 06:07 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ May 20 2009, 04:33 PM)
Hi, is it Ok for kitten aged around 4 to 5 months to eat vegetables such as Midin, KangKong, cangkuk manis ...etc ... Bcos my friend's kittens like to eat (the leave part) those vege n they eat a lot n will fight over it. Is there any health concern or it's sign of something not right ?

The kittens currently on Acana dry food (free feeding with more than enough daily amount) n canned food once or twice a week. Thanks !
i'm not sure what they call that vege in english.. but you can check this website for dangerous plants in cats = http://www.cfa.org/articles/plants.html

that's include Onion, aloe vera....

u need to check on midin aswell... cos it is a rare vege...

how come the vege u mention are all almost the same type ehehe.. what i know midin,kangkung,cangkuk manis are kinda cold type of vege.. like the old people always say, if they eat this vege, they will end up have pain around legs and bones since it is cold.

they don;t really eat the vege.. they are more towards playing with it. you know cat's eat everything include plastic bag LOL.

40 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0559sec    1.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:33 AM