TSelfreakz
post Feb 21 2009, 02:49 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(mizeily @ Feb 20 2009, 05:24 PM)
like dat ar... rclxms.gif

how bout some saying that even playing with the cats are dangerous as they also can transmit the virus to the mother?
Mizely,

You can refer to Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) info on Toxoplasmosis, it is in Bahasa Melayu version = http://www.medicine.ukm.my/wiki/index.php/Toxoplasmosis
TSelfreakz
post Feb 21 2009, 03:02 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(mojava @ Feb 21 2009, 09:26 AM)
Once you treat your cat with spot on/spray get a flea collar if you must it's much better than that CONE as it wards away fleas tongue.gif
The usage of that CONE around the neck is not to remove fleas. it is use to avoid cat licking, scratching and biting the skin until bleeding. Her problem now is, the cat keep on scratching, licking, biting the body till the wound start to bleed again. And of course you cannot spray open wound with frontline. do u know how hurt it is? its like putting salt on your wound.

flea collar is good too. but remember, most cat cannot stand using this thing. all my cats has allergy and problem with fleas collar. they don't like it, and it smell weird too. my cats start trying to remove it, and cause wound around the neck. then there is wound + there is a fleas control thinggy, the wound become bad.

keep the wound dry and avoid contact with outside thinggy and other cats.

This post has been edited by elfreakz: Feb 21 2009, 03:03 PM
TSelfreakz
post Feb 21 2009, 03:23 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(nash9701 @ Feb 20 2009, 11:28 PM)
ur cats is really beautiful la elfreakz...can u share here how u take care of ur cats in ur own way??how u treat them, when sick, what u do, senang cerita, everythingla....if u don't mind

(^___^)
First you need to have contact with your cats everyday. This contact include touching, playing, looking around cat body, etc. Then you can start basic grooming such as:

- check the ears, if u see dirt or wax - remove it using tissue. unless if it is like so dirty then you need to clean it up. if you do this everyday, your cat ears will be clean all the time. just take it as a requirement before playing and touching with your cats. so put this in your check list - "i must check the ears before i touch my cats."

- check the nose. you might not was a wet and watery nose. always make sure it is dry. if there is a black wax, remove it.

- check the eyes, remove the tahi mata ehehe. make sure your cat eyes is clear.

- check the mouth, this is the 2nd important point you need to know after ears. most people ignore this part. u need to check gums, teeth, and breath. make sure there is no bleeding sign on the gums, teeth are suppose to be white, not yellowish. if it is too yellow u need to do teeth scaling at the vet (its pricey segar vet charge me RM120 per cat). so make sure the teeth is clean to avoid infection. when you bath your cat, just just a small towel and rub alil bit the teeth. not too hard smile.gif

- check all the legs. paws and claws. clip if the claws is too long and sharp.

- check the private part. make sure no sign of blood. always keep the anal clean. and make sure the fur around that private thing look nice, no tangle or dirty.

- check the fur. most people ignore the fur below the cat body. this is the part that always got into tangle. so when u brush your cat fur, include the below part too. and also, always brush your cat fur, every for long hair cat.

--------------

Advance grooming is up to you. you can do it once a week, once in 2 weeks, or even once a month. I prefer to use natural made shampoo, such as the one from Oatmeal with coconut smell... i dont really like to use too much chemical product on my cat skin.

If the fur is too long, you need to trim it alil bit, especially the private part.

If you seldom brush your cat fur, you better trim the fur alil bit. because, the longer it gets the bad it become underneath the coat. you can use shedding blade comb or else, furminator is a good product too..

-------------

Make sure your cat is eating food and at the same time drinking lots of water.

Good food, good nutrition, clean water, enough exercise, enough attention and care = beautiful cat.

Litter box cleaning is important. Diseases can start from that box.

-------------

Keep your home environment clean if you want a beautiful cat. always vacuum and clean your floor from dust and shedding fur. I use serai wangi product (can be found at supermarket) to clean my floor, that product will remove ants, lizard, etc etc.

-------------

Lastly, visit the vet smile.gif make sure your cat has complete the yearly vaccine and deworming.

TSelfreakz
post Feb 21 2009, 03:30 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(annetize @ Feb 21 2009, 03:18 PM)
hmm.. itula, now the vet ask us to come to her clinic and offer to spray frontline on her everymonth, so that it is done properly. hehe hopefully after this boleh mengurangkan the fleas. amin!!

about ubat mengurangkan gatal the vet said, die bagi but it'll last till 2 weeks only, jadi hopefully within the two weeks the wound will dry up and we can cepat cepat do the flea treatment, the other cats haf no flea (visible to me la keke) but bcoz she is allergic so even a lil flea can make her crazy.

plus our house is near the woods. jadi its kinda hard to control fleas and all the small killing blood sucking murderers! ahhh geram! but hopefully, by monthly spraying and using spot on frontline it'll get better.

<-- baru kene marah by abgbro bcoz considering declawing haritu.. ahha didnt noe, but now i noe~ so no more!! (kene paksa by abgbro to tgk youtube video about declawing is not an option haritu ahahah and thanx el for the info!)
I understand your situation annetize... i hate fleas so much. and you know.. if i have 10 cats, once the fleas attack i have to spray frontline on 10 cats. i need to buy like 3 bottle of Frontline spray big size, end up paying RM72 x 3 bottles.

That is the reason why i don't really want to bring my cat outside. even to the vet, i will make sure my cat has no contact with the other animal patient. unless if he/she is admitted then when arriving home, i will separate them for at least 1 week.

fleas allergy is another nightmare. fleas allergy is like random allergy, anything biting the cat will get allergy. i know its a hard thing to solve. so kena sabar ye.

your other cat need frontline too. they can bring fleas without allergy.

same goes to ringworm, some cat with ringworm will not show any sign of infected by ringworm. until the ringworm fully attacking your cat then only you will see the winning of ringworm empire ehehe. but most cat will show the sign of it earlier which is good, so u can take action earlier too.

send my regards to budak yang bernama abang brother whistling.gif .
TSelfreakz
post Feb 21 2009, 04:53 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(zopu @ Feb 21 2009, 03:38 PM)
Hi elf,two weeks ago just send my male cat neuter. now he is fully recover.But after neuter, he pee a lot. He also become like to drink a lot of water. Last time (before neuter)he pee twice a day, and fully pee. Now he keep on pee a bit, then walk away, then he pee again, so the whole litter box become full and dirty.

Then suddenly during this two day he pee around my house. Do you know why? I need advise on what to do. His pee is yellowish green colour. He also got shit one time when he pee around the house.

I did change his cat biscuit from BlackWood to IAMS before neuter. I thought he is sick, but he is very active and playful (doesn't look sick). and also can eat.
Didi you change the place of litter box? and change the litter type?

If YES, put it back to original place before neuter.
If NO, you seriously need a vet visit. Urine problem at any location beside the litter box is a sign of problem. there is something bugging him.

Drinking alot of water can be a problem too. The most common one is KIDNEY problem, or failure of the kidney or kidney shutdown. Another problem is diabetics.

Some believe, during the neuter process... bacteria and disease get into the cats.

Some believe, that is normal after neuter process.. my male cats act that way too.. they drink drink and pee pee.. but they drink as usual. but they did not pee at all places... so your cat is 2 in 1, more pee and pee everywhere.

You need a vet, they can do check up on the blood to make sure if that problem occur.

Food change normally will show sign of soft/wet poo.

This post has been edited by elfreakz: Feb 21 2009, 04:55 PM
TSelfreakz
post Feb 21 2009, 10:06 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(zopu @ Feb 21 2009, 09:30 PM)
yes. I put him inside the cage quarantine for 12days after neuter. I put his litter box inside the cage as well. Two day ago i just release him and put back the litter box to original place(before neuter). But he act weird as i mention at last message.
From what u mention few possibility there, i guess either is litter box problem, else might be bacteria infection during neuter.
Let me observe him for another day again, if the problem still occur, then i think need to bring him to vet. Thanks for your advise elf...
You are welcome. Do trial and error. take note at any changes. clean the place that he urinate with things that can remove the smell completely. else he will keep pee at that place. i know its hard, i'm ok with poop but not pee.. urine smell is like "gosh!" eheheh.

good luck zopu, don't forget VETS :0
TSelfreakz
post Feb 22 2009, 04:05 AM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(AdrianaFaith @ Feb 22 2009, 03:05 AM)
Just started keeping cats for slightly over a year and already I'm in love with them. Thanks a lot for the informative thread. thumbup.gif I've a question, though I'm not sure if it's been asked before; I've read random pages only so far. Is it advisable to keep feeding my cats dry food or should I add in a lil' raw/cooked/organic food once in a while?
It is ok to feed them dry food as daily food.

Adding extra dish will be something like supper. you can feed extra dish maybe 2-3 times a week. not too frequent, because you might end up getting a fussy and choosy cats. since daily food is the dry food, its convenient to feed this type of food to your cat. you might not want to end up feeding that extra dish everyday right.

Extra dish we talking about here is the wet food that is sold in petshop for cats. Example such as whiskas, friskies, science plan wet food (cane food).

You can also make your own. Google and search for Cat food recipes / Home made cat food. Simple one is raw or half boil chicken or meat. don't add any flavor or oil. its not good for the cats. no human cook food for cats please. it is not good. no extra flavor, spices, onion, ginger, etc.

Lastly, cat treat. you can buy this at the petshop. my cats love the tuna flavor stick treat. others like catnip cookies, sushi salmon treat, etc. again, not too frequent, else they will want it everyday eheheh. too much treat is not good too.

--

Completing all of the above, will conclude the owner as busy person smile.gif oh well, we have to work everyday. feeding raw fresh food is good but busy person cannot prepare this all the time right. thats why dry food will help to save time smile.gif yes never skip the other extra dish and treat. you will have a happy cat/kitten if you feed extra dish and treats for different taste. it's boring to eat the same thing everyday.

good luck icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by elfreakz: Feb 22 2009, 04:10 AM
TSelfreakz
post Feb 22 2009, 02:55 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(ashbutt @ Feb 22 2009, 01:55 PM)
wei El, lawa tshirt...mana hg dapat/beli/curi/rompak/samun??? hmm.gif
is it one of ur latest creations??? sedekahkanlah info sket kat ner nak dapat tshirt tu tongue.gif
esh esh esh...Bunga nie!!! sebukjer nak declare tshirt tu dia punya..xmalu!!! whistling.gif
Loh.. ko tak baca blog aku ke? kan baju tu di purchase kat www.catster.com and san francisco.....
TSelfreakz
post Feb 22 2009, 05:28 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(pumpkinn @ Feb 22 2009, 04:51 PM)
El, i always wanted my cat to get fat. so i tried to feed her with 1 can of wet food every evening as dinner and free feeding her with dry food since a month ago. and i brought her to vet just now for vaccination, and guess wat....she gained 0.4kg!!!!  rclxm9.gif  but i know eating canned food will harm the teeth in long term, so im looking for toothbrush and toothpaste for her. any advice on toothpaste?
Good improvement. but not too fat ok. i prefer my cat to look masculine rather then too fat.

if u want a good one, feed super premium food smile.gif its 100% meat. such as orijen or innova evo. if im not mistaken 7kg = RM140+. it will build the body into nice looking cat, with nice fur... trust me, you won't regret smile.gif

toothbrush and toothpaste, must buy from vet or petshop only. brush will be the softest on, because kitten/cat gums is very sensitive. like human we have soft, medium and hard type right. toothpaste u need to get the one made for cats.. i saw that segar vets.

if your cat is still eating dry food, will still be ok. because dry food is also design to remove tar tar on the teeth, when the cat crunch it.

there is also treat for dental care. and also science plan has oral care type of food, u can buy small pack and feed your cat sometimes with it.
TSelfreakz
post Feb 22 2009, 08:43 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(ezaleina @ Feb 22 2009, 08:29 PM)
JUst want 2 share with Cat LOvers my cats latest pic..

Gemuk

Added on February 22, 2009, 8:32 pmGemuk
aksi bebas hehehe

ini ke yang you kembiri hari tu? cos i saw macam ada surgery je tu.

TSelfreakz
post Feb 22 2009, 08:46 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(merci @ Feb 22 2009, 08:42 PM)
elfreakz and other sifus, Hi,

I've a bit problem with my cat. Lately he's no appetite. He has lost weight a bit, no more fluffy like before, the fur color also has faded. He eat royal canin and eagle pack. I also give him boiled chicken and liver (sometimes). He loved it but lately he refuse to eat.
Yesterday, I bought him to the vet but no health problem. The vet gave 'liver ' pill for the appetite. So, please, any suggestion for my cat?
BTW, he's very active, like to play and 'wrestling' with his siblings.

what is your cat age anyway?

how many cats you have?

why you feeding 2 types (RC and EP) in the same time?

The liver pill, is it the white + orange small bottle? Liv.52?
TSelfreakz
post Feb 22 2009, 08:53 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(ezaleina @ Feb 22 2009, 08:52 PM)
erk bukan...jap i upload pic si kembang ..ni anak die...gemuk yg dulu kena diarrhea tu

Added on February 22, 2009, 8:53 pmni pic lepas kembiri...dulu lagi kurus
cantik pattern tu... seram aku tengok dia kat tingkap tu. adeh ohmy.gif
TSelfreakz
post Feb 22 2009, 08:58 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(nash9701 @ Feb 22 2009, 08:55 PM)
i just got another two DLH hair yesterday....1 is oledi 3 years i think and another one is just 6 months, both female...the 3 years i see she can manage herself into new environment, but the 6 months is like really shy and like to hide herself, now inside my house got 6 cats...i separate the 6 months from others...so i've to bring the food to her and put it at the place she like to....coz afraid she'll not eating due to her shy attitude...so how to deal with it?

(^____^)
yeap that is the way smile.gif takes time.. introduce slowly. some cat/kitten they cannot control pressure. thumbup.gif good luck smile.gif show come pics icon_rolleyes.gif
TSelfreakz
post Feb 22 2009, 09:09 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(ezaleina @ Feb 22 2009, 09:06 PM)
ni lak pic si hitam..but lum kembiri..kurus kan el..
he look fine from fun view. need to see upper and side view smile.gif
TSelfreakz
post Feb 22 2009, 11:03 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(ezaleina @ Feb 22 2009, 09:17 PM)
ni die...si hitam...
hitam is not kurus lah. he is in good shape... maintain that smile.gif
TSelfreakz
post Feb 22 2009, 11:08 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(pumpkinn @ Feb 22 2009, 09:16 PM)
thx for ur advice El. she is now 3kg, the ideal weight for DSH if not mistaken. saw a table about the ideal weight for different breed of cat at vet's place last month.

she is fed with RC fit 32 now. and i got a sample packet of innova evo from a pet shop last week. she didnt like it. i still have half packet left. ht price at that pet shop is RM70 for 3kg. not much difference with RC actually. so how to make her likes innova evo?
weight = body length.

check out Is My Cat Overweight?

--

my cats don't face innova evo that much, but they sure do love ORIJEN.

the price is not much different between innova evo, orijen, and RC.. but remember... Innova Evo and Orijen is super premium food. the contain is 100%, and 0% grains..

RC is the most expensive in premium food (others are SP, iams, eagle pack, etc)... premium food contain grains.. it is not 100% meat/chicken..

so if u have a few cats.. go for orijen/innova evo.. its good... because fully protein and fat. no carbo and unwanted grains.

TSelfreakz
post Feb 23 2009, 02:27 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(pumpkinn @ Feb 23 2009, 09:05 AM)
oh i see....but where can i buy Origen. i seldom see this brand. tats is why cant do the price research.  sad.gif
I bought my orijen at Pet Safari IKANO, and also Petsmore. Another shop infron Uptown Damansara, forgot the shop name.

It is better for you to call the shop before you go. Sometimes they don't have stock.

Recently i found Orijen at petsmore taman connaught cheras.
TSelfreakz
post Feb 23 2009, 02:39 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(merci @ Feb 23 2009, 10:11 AM)
elf,
--My cat is around 7-8 mths old. Not sure 'coz he came to my house 2 months ago. His face is still 'kitten-like' compared to the other male cat (age 9 mths -looks like 'org tua' already').

-- Have 6 cats total. 3 in a cage till evening. After 6.30pm then the 3 can get out. He and other 2 cats are free to roam in the house.

- At first, they're eating eagle pack. Then the SA recomends to eat RC to get nice fur and non smelly poops. Mix because EP still have a lot so mix it.

- the pill is green color.

This morning I gave him wet food (friekies) but doesn't want to eat. Yesterday, he eat some wet food (fussies cat). Today, put him inside the room with food. Want to see whether he eat or not. I'm so worried with my cat. Please help. Thanks
since you already visited, and the doc approved there is nothing to do with health problem, then there must be something bothering him.

I think i know that pill u talking about. looks like Liv.52 in orange white bottle. i bought mine at petshop. its good. and i use it for my cats who do not want to eat. it also promote growth if u have super skinny cat, and appetite stimulant.

in some cases, people feed Kitten food. im not sure if u buying kitten or adult food. anyway since u already feed your cat with that vitamin, then no need to bother buying different food smile.gif that pill work very good on my cats.

it takes time to cure. you need to make sure your cat DRINK WATER too. water is very important. make sure he/she drink and pee. else your cat will become dehydrated without water. dehydrated is dangerous.

if you still worry about the condition, try other vet (if you have money).
TSelfreakz
post Feb 23 2009, 02:42 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(mizeily @ Feb 23 2009, 12:09 PM)
how come ar RC adult is more expensive than RC kitten? for other brands, kitten formula is more expensive than the adults rite?

if like this sure have to change brand again.. rclxub.gif
aik.. since when? r u sure u checking the right Kilogram?

RC kitten should be more expensive than RC adult. unless the rc kitten is in smaller KG lah.

try check other petshop. maybe that shop mistakenly tag the price.
TSelfreakz
post Feb 23 2009, 03:21 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(mizeily @ Feb 23 2009, 03:01 PM)
taken from one of the forummer here..

Royal Canin Kitten 36
2kg - RM 54 (np: RM59.80)
4kg - RM 81 (np: RM89.70)
10kg - RM 176 (np: RM196.30)

Royal Canin Adult Fit 32
2kg - RM 50 (np: RM55.90)
4kg - RM 78 (np: RM87.10)
10kg - RM 216 (np: RM241.80)
lots of different wo...
U need to check RC Kitten 32..

because there are 2 types of RC kitten. 32 and 36.

If im not mistaken 32 is expensive than 36.

p/s im not a big fan of RC, so i don't really know the prices. too many types, hard to understand and remember the price eheheh.

40 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0558sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:05 PM