126 Pages « < 67 68 69 70 71 > » Bottom

^_^ Cat Lovers Version 4 ^_^, meow meow

mojava
post Feb 4 2009, 12:52 AM

48 posts

Nash,

I'm in Ipoh myself...which vet u take her to (Clinic Name)?

I know there are 2 good vet in ipoh & the one I take my
cats to he has more stuff than most to run tests others
cannot.

Also if needed I am willing to help in any way I can as
I have learned alot & still learning things that happen here
that didn't/rare to happen in usa.

Hope ur kitten is better.
TSelfreakz
post Feb 4 2009, 01:36 AM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(shoduken @ Feb 3 2009, 11:36 PM)
zzz

i told myself not to raise the 5 kitten but my mom today is taking care of them and even send 1 of them to vet because it is very weak in term of walking and his face is very pale..

what should i do? every time I near them I feel very itchy =S is it the flea has jump on my skin.. should I bath them with flea shampoo? any tips? =|

but they very cute zzz.. but my heart dont want to raise them... but very cute.. LOL baby cat =.=
fleas will jump if they don't like their place, and crawl if they love the place. which means, they will jump anywhere in your house and even on you. if you really want to see them, put your kitten on a A4 white paper.. then comb your kitten. u will see something jumping on the paper tongue.gif

how to remove/kill the fleas?
how old is the kitten? if 8 weeks old or 2 months you can use FRONTLINE spay. spray it on your kitten, be careful not the eyes. frontline is good to kill the fleas instantly.

how to prevent fleas?
for now, make sure the location for your kitten with fleas is far away from your house stuff, such as sofa, CARPET, etc... fleas can live in carpet. so u dont want them to make your house as they breeding place. remove all towels anywhere near or in the box your kitten sleep. just use NEWSPAPER.

give 4-7 days after you spray the frontline and remove towels and carpet. now check back the kitten, look through the whole body if there are fleas.

what to do if my kitten is not even 2 months old?
If the kittens are with their mom, spray only the mom. fleas normally love mother body than kitten. since its big and warm. kill the colony on mother. when you ready to spray the mom, remove the kitten first. remove them about 2 hours from their mother. so which mean, mother will be quarantine with frontline spray on body for 2 hours. after that you can put her with her babies.

if no mother, only the kitten, but they are too small for frontline, apply the above method. the one remove all towels and put them away from carpets or your bed or your sofa. just put them in box with newspaper. you cannot put fleas poison on the kitten body at this small age. do it manually eheheh find one by one like what monkey do biggrin.gif

good luck!
stratocaster
post Feb 4 2009, 01:51 AM

364 posts

hi all, if anyone hv any stray kittens up for adoption please pm me!! thank u!
im looking for another kitten to accompany my other female kitten that i found!! =D

This post has been edited by stratocaster: Feb 4 2009, 01:51 AM
aida^146
post Feb 4 2009, 12:06 PM

208 posts

A fren of mine had some problems with her new adopted kittens... 2 of them at 2months of age... at first, they both have no problems pooping in the sand litter, but yesterday, after my fren got home from work, she discovered that those kittens had poop outside the sand litter... how can we teach those kittens to poop again in the sand litter?

and is it normal for them to poop so often? On the 1st day itself, they have been pooping a lot... My fren is giving the kittens a mixture of rice and soft kitten food... and they dont like to drink up the milk that my fren had mix for them... please advice... thanx smile.gif
TSelfreakz
post Feb 4 2009, 01:26 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(aida^146 @ Feb 4 2009, 12:06 PM)
A fren of mine had some problems with her new adopted kittens... 2 of them at 2months of age... at first, they both have no problems pooping in the sand litter, but yesterday, after my fren got home from work, she discovered that those kittens had poop outside the sand litter... how can we teach those kittens to poop again in the sand litter?

and is it normal for them to poop so often? On the 1st day itself, they have been pooping a lot... My fren is giving the kittens a mixture of rice and soft kitten food... and they dont like to drink up the milk that my fren had mix for them... please advice... thanx smile.gif
first of all, bring to the vet for Deworming.

Second, channge what you feed. No rice please. soft kitten food? eerrkk you mean wet food such as whiskas? if yes, skip this, and go for dry kitten food.

third, pooping... see the poop is it hard or soft? of soft/watery you need immediate vet and change the food.

fourth, pooping outside litter box... with all the above point, im sure your kitten is sick.... sick kitten/cat usually do mess in the house to show that they are sick. since they cannot talk, so they create problem.

fifth, milk is good, but if they can eat already, skip the milk and give dry kitten food only. dry kitten food contain enough nutrition for the kitten to fully grow. can buy this at the pet shop such as Iams Kitten, Science Plan Kitten, Royal Canin Kitten, etc. milk can cause diarrhea and stomach pain.

the best thing to do is deworm at the vet, and change the food and diet. proper diet please.

This post has been edited by elfreakz: Feb 4 2009, 01:29 PM
mojava
post Feb 4 2009, 01:39 PM

48 posts

Milk is not good if it's cow's milk as cats and dogs are lactose intolerant....meaning that the lactose from the cow milk will harm them.

If you're going to be giving them milk of any sort goat's milk is the safest.

Deficating outside the litterbox is/can be normal if it's on occasion but not all day everyday.
If the stool is NORMAL then you just scoop it up & place it in the litterbox, the kitten will realise it's theirs & poo in the litter box.

1) Any cat/kitten 2months > should be dewormed.

2) Never feed your animal human food!!! Also I know your friends/family or elders may
do this but NEVER EVER FEED your cats any type of BONES especially chicken or
similar animal as the bones can sliver when they chew & your pet can/will CHOKE
on the bones & DIE!!!

3) Google is your friend & there are alot of informative sites on
cat/kitten care/behaviors etc. (usually the .gov .edu or .orgs) are
your safest bet to research from.

This post has been edited by mojava: Feb 4 2009, 01:42 PM
aida^146
post Feb 4 2009, 05:26 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(elfreakz @ Feb 4 2009, 01:26 PM)
first of all, bring to the vet for Deworming.

Second, channge what you feed. No rice please. soft kitten food? eerrkk you mean wet food such as whiskas? if yes, skip this, and go for dry kitten food.

third, pooping... see the poop is it hard or soft? of soft/watery you need immediate vet and change the food.

fourth, pooping outside litter box... with all the above point, im sure your kitten is sick.... sick kitten/cat usually do mess in the house to show that they are sick. since they cannot talk, so they create problem.

fifth, milk is good, but if they can eat already, skip the milk and give dry kitten food only. dry kitten food contain enough nutrition for the kitten to fully grow. can buy this at the pet shop such as Iams Kitten, Science Plan Kitten, Royal Canin Kitten, etc. milk can cause diarrhea and stomach pain.

the best thing to do is deworm at the vet, and change the food and diet. proper diet please.
okies then... i'll bring them to the vet for deworming.... didnt know that rice + wet food is BAD for them... i'll buy them a proper dry kitten food... but wat if they dont want to eat this? my fren did bought some cat biscuits for them but they did not want to eat that much... i wonder y?

the milk that was given to them was bought specifically from a pet shop... She did not give them any cow's milk..

QUOTE(mojava @ Feb 4 2009, 01:39 PM)
Milk is not good if it's cow's milk as cats and dogs are lactose intolerant....meaning that the lactose from the cow milk will harm them.

If you're going to be giving them milk of any sort goat's milk is the safest.

Deficating outside the litterbox is/can be normal if it's on occasion but not all day everyday.
If the stool is NORMAL then you just scoop it up & place it in the litterbox, the kitten will realise it's theirs & poo in the litter box.

1) Any cat/kitten 2months > should be dewormed.

2) Never feed your animal human food!!! Also I know your friends/family or elders may
    do this but NEVER EVER FEED your cats any type of BONES especially chicken or
    similar animal as the bones can sliver when they chew & your pet can/will CHOKE
    on the bones & DIE!!!

3) Google is your friend & there are alot of informative sites on
    cat/kitten care/behaviors etc. (usually the .gov .edu or .orgs) are
    your safest bet to research from.
the milk is not cow's milk, thank god... and i'll bring them for deworming soon.... maybe i could try 1st by changing their diet... maybe that is wat caused them to react as they did.... thanx for ur help... will update more on their progress if necessary...
mojava
post Feb 4 2009, 05:47 PM

48 posts

Wet catfood is ok for the kitten but what I think he's referring to is
put them on a steady diet of dry food not a mix of wet/rice.

Milk/milk powder for animals is also ok.
aida^146
post Feb 4 2009, 06:00 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(mojava @ Feb 4 2009, 05:47 PM)
Wet catfood is ok for the kitten but what I think he's referring to is
put them on a steady diet of dry food not a mix of wet/rice.

Milk/milk powder for animals is also ok.
owh... blush.gif in dat case, i'll ask my fren to give them wet food first w/out the mix of rice... but will it be ok if she mix them together with dry food instead? since the kittens didnt know how to eat the dry food...

thanx for the advice.... blush.gif
TSelfreakz
post Feb 4 2009, 06:26 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(aida^146 @ Feb 4 2009, 06:00 PM)
owh...  blush.gif in dat case, i'll ask my fren to give them wet food first w/out the mix of rice... but will it be ok if she mix them together with dry food instead? since the kittens didnt know how to eat the dry food...

thanx for the advice....  blush.gif
first you need to understand the contain of nutrition in a food and also what a kitten need to grow well.

rice is carbohydrates ... cats do not need this. yes they can eat such things, but they do not need it. if you feeding 100% carbo, you cat end up fat and not healthy. they need alot of protein and fat source of food.

wet food... its delicious. also contain some nutrition but not most of it. you can feed this wet food, but always teach your cat to eat dry food aswell. wet food as a treat is fine.

dry food.. dry food is design since 50 years + ago. it's convenient to feed dry food.

fresh food such as chicken meat and cow meat is good too.. google it if you want to make your own fresh recipes for your cats.

nash9701
post Feb 4 2009, 08:27 PM

looking for a bright future...
1,357 posts

Jean Veterinary, just near to TESCO....i know there are others vet in Ipoh like JR, but i just know this vet for this moment, and as it is emergency, i bring her there, don't have time to look for other vet..but from what i see, this clinic have equipment to conduct test, the vet oso conduct a blood test to check my cat white blood cell, only for further test, she have to send the blood sample to other lab to check the condition of internal organ...can u give me the name of 2 vets u mentioned?hmm....my kitten condition not so good, i feel like want to cry when i come to see her after working, still weak, only her temperature fall down a little, 39.6 from 40.1, don't eat, just depend on the water drip, the vet add vitamin inside water drip as she still don't want to eat.....i just pray to Allah she'll be fine.......huhuhu
spidergirl
post Feb 5 2009, 09:53 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(stratocaster @ Feb 4 2009, 02:51 AM)
hi all, if anyone hv any stray kittens up for adoption please pm me!! thank u!
im looking for another kitten to accompany my other female kitten that i found!! =D
Aiseh, why so many ppl looking forward to adopt kitten instead of cat? I have a cat for adoption though. She's been around my apartment for quite awhile. A very well mannered, cutest cat I've ever seen (apart from my two cats at home, lol!). There's another thing though, I just found out that she's pregnant. smile.gif
adioz88
post Feb 5 2009, 10:23 AM

791 posts

lama tak masuk sini
tumpang tanya
kucing oren saya sekarang ganas benar
dah tak macam kucing
macam harimau
kemarin dua orang dia ngap
mula2 my father kena benam taring di tangan sampai bleeding teruk
kena p klinik dapatkan rawatan sebab darah tak henti mengalir keluar
bukan takat gigit, dia cakar kat lengan tu melampau2...
pendek kata macam harimau junior..
saya pun kena
kat pergelangan tangan, betul2 di nadi dan jari....tapi darah henti sebab saya cepat2 tahan dengan ais..but my father, sampai sendi ibu jari mislocated...

kucing tu sekarang open untuk pembela yang boleh bela dia dengan baik
saiznya besar, can berotot..
sapa nak, saya kasik free aja..

spidergirl
post Feb 5 2009, 01:12 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(adioz88 @ Feb 5 2009, 11:23 AM)
lama tak masuk sini
tumpang tanya
kucing oren saya sekarang ganas benar
dah tak macam kucing
macam harimau
kemarin dua orang dia ngap
mula2 my father kena benam taring di tangan sampai bleeding teruk
kena p klinik dapatkan rawatan sebab darah tak henti mengalir keluar
bukan takat gigit, dia cakar kat lengan tu melampau2...
pendek kata macam harimau junior..
saya pun kena
kat pergelangan tangan, betul2 di nadi dan jari....tapi darah henti sebab saya cepat2 tahan dengan ais..but my father, sampai sendi ibu jari mislocated...

kucing tu sekarang open untuk pembela yang boleh bela dia dengan baik
saiznya besar, can berotot..
sapa nak, saya kasik free aja..
shocking.gif [WTA: What to Adopt]: Harimau.

I heard a story on this before, about my friend's cat wanting to bite my friend's hand when it saw the veins on the hand...hmm, not sure whether its true. Read this http://board.pets-buynow.com/Cats/Beware_Y...ous_provocation
bosan
post Feb 5 2009, 01:40 PM

anyone knows where to get a british short hair silver tabby local breed without cert ?

and how much the price roughly ?

This post has been edited by bosan: Feb 5 2009, 01:41 PM
TSelfreakz
post Feb 5 2009, 02:09 PM

3,905 posts

Yea i heard about this before. and long long time ago, my own sister bitten by a feral cat who hate human so much.

a dog can do the same thing to. a dog can change into a wolf. a cat can change into a tiger. after all that is their relatives.

i do hope that cat is neuter/spay before he/she started to breed a cat monster. you don't want it to bite a baby thought. hopefully you can atleast kembiri that cat before release it to the outdoor area.

since it is not suitable for being a home pets. im sure you dont even want the new owner to suffer from bites and blood.
nash9701
post Feb 5 2009, 09:24 PM

looking for a bright future...
1,357 posts

i want to ask something, is it true if cat mate to each other from its own kind (siblings = inbreed) the kitten born is have high possibility can't live for a long period and have many problems? because actually my previous two kitten, their parent are siblings...after 3 times giving a birth, none survive, even survive only for couple of month, the one left with me, still struggle...really weak, vet can't do anything....

This post has been edited by nash9701: Feb 5 2009, 09:52 PM
abang brother
post Feb 5 2009, 10:53 PM

4,967 posts

If you're in Kuching i don't mind adopting since my hands is full of cakar.

Kinda like it lol.
TSelfreakz
post Feb 6 2009, 01:47 AM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(nash9701 @ Feb 5 2009, 09:24 PM)
i want to ask something, is it true if cat mate to each other from its own kind (siblings = inbreed) the kitten born is have high possibility can't live for a long period and have many problems? because actually my previous two kitten, their parent are siblings...after 3 times giving a birth, none survive, even survive only for couple of month, the one left with me, still struggle...really weak, vet can't do anything....
yes true inbreeding between father/daughter, mother/son, or siblings/siblings will appears as problem.

why are you breeding your cat until up to 3 times fails anyway?

i bet in malay community, most of us will feel disgusting with inbreed right.
mojava
post Feb 6 2009, 05:25 AM

48 posts

INBREEDING
(Mating of closely related individuals)

Produces uniform or predictable offspring.
Hidden (recessive) genes show up and can be eliminated.
Individuals will "breed true" and are "pure."
Doubles up good genes.
Eliminates unwanted traits.

Doubles up on faults and weaknesses.
Progressive loss of vigor and immune response.
Increased reproductive failures, fewer offspring.
Emphasis on appearance means accidental loss of "good" genes for other attributes.
Genetically impoverished individuals.

From http://www.messybeast.com/inbreed.htm

126 Pages « < 67 68 69 70 71 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:16 PM