Sager : Mobile Gaming @ Its Best

Enigmare
post Jan 7 2009, 11:54 AM

Microsoft SideWinder™ Maverick
550 posts

QUOTE(jacksonyong @ Jan 7 2009, 11:25 AM)
Hey guys, I'm interested in the NP8660.

But I'm confused, does xoticpc ship internationally ?

If it does, how are the payment methods ?

How long does it take from the day u place your order and the product comes to your doorstep ?
He did state in his first post that it took 3 business days to ship right? Lawl.. Anyway, 6.1k for this is great value for money! The design doesn't suit my tastes though... How's the build quality of this thing? It seems metallic on the outside, but what matters is the feel of the keys...
Enigmare
post Jan 7 2009, 04:09 PM

550 posts

Student prices for a Sager? You've got to be kidding? Does it apply for high school students only or what? And when's the period for that?
Enigmare
post Jan 7 2009, 05:59 PM

550 posts

The keys here aren't really a plus point... Was expecting a little more upmarket feel on the keys since Sager is a custom and upmarket brand...
Enigmare
post Jan 7 2009, 08:19 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(N1-C @ Jan 7 2009, 06:25 PM)
Clevo made the barebone not Sager, they only put in the components.

You can see a official review here @ NotebookReview's forum.
You mean the main chassis?
Enigmare
post Jan 7 2009, 08:45 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Jan 7 2009, 08:34 PM)
clevo is an OEM manufacture. they ship barebone laptops (chasis/screen/graphic card) to vendors such as Sager, Falcon Northwest, Rock , Kolbalt Komputers etc to be sold off to consumers with addition components (RAM, HDD, Optical driver etc)

i like this quote from notebookreview.com  rclxms.gif
added to 1st post  tongue.gif
Lawl... Nice quote...
Enigmare
post Jan 7 2009, 09:11 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(N1-C @ Jan 7 2009, 09:05 PM)
That's pretty subjective and I'll stay away from it lol (Flame Wars FTW!).
Hey, just asking, how much difference is there between your 9800M GTS and a 9800M GTX?
Enigmare
post Jan 7 2009, 09:47 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(N1-C @ Jan 7 2009, 09:43 PM)
Check out the chart @ page 11.

An estimated value will be 20% slower than 9800M GTX.
So it's 9800M GTX>9800M GT>9800M GTS in descending order huh? Why the chart's soaring, until the point where Crysis suddenly comes in, the bars go short? Really funny.... Lawl...

Enigmare
post Jan 7 2009, 11:16 PM

550 posts

It's alright, was just wondering that's all... But if you add SLI at the back, it's a whole different story... Lawl...
Enigmare
post Jan 8 2009, 09:09 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(Ashikune @ Jan 8 2009, 12:42 AM)
What N1-C says is true, the Asus G50VT is an extremely good choice for those concerned about budget (about RM600 lower than the RM6800 Sager NP8660 configuration jackson mentioned, inclusive of shipping) and warranty (Xotic PC offers 2 years ASUS global warranty when purchasing the Asus G50VT from them). The graphics card (nVidia GeForce 9800M GS 512MB GDDR3) is more than sufficient for tearing through the latest games. Compared to the Asus G50V (no T) available in Malaysian markets that sports the GeForce 9700M GT and sells for over RM6500, this laptop slaps it soundly on both ass cheeks and roundhouse kicks it to Timbuktu, to put it one way.

On another note, for those that are still drooling over the NP8660, it seems to me that on the Xotic PC website they have removed the $400 off advertisement, but have integrated the discount/reduction in hardware price into the base cost. Essentially, this means that the prices they previously quoted as 'discounted' have now become base prices. In a nutshell - NP8660 is still a hell of a good buy lol.

On an even more pleasing note, Xotic PC acknowledged my wire transfer a few days ago and have begun the building/testing/burn-in/final QA phase of my NP8660. Fingers crossed, they might even ship it today or tomorrow! Another proud Sager owner coming right up!  biggrin.gif
Wow, congratz dude, how much did it cost you then? Is your config similar to N1-C's?
Enigmare
post Jan 8 2009, 11:44 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(Ashikune @ Jan 8 2009, 11:03 AM)
Yup, my specs are very similar to N1-C's.  smile.gif
Similar specs, but your price? N1-C claimed he got some student discount or sumthing... How much is yours???
Enigmare
post Jan 8 2009, 05:07 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(Ashikune @ Jan 8 2009, 11:48 AM)
If you look a few posts up, you'll see I made a post detailing my specs, price and shipping option. N1-C paid USD$1,980.74 - the extra amount he paid was for Windows Vista, which I do not require. For more information on N1-Cs machine, click here.
Lawl... Sorry, silly me. I missed that post... Why leave Vista out? It'll only add USD$50 only what...
Enigmare
post Jan 8 2009, 08:31 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(Ashikune @ Jan 8 2009, 06:09 PM)
As I have not personally received my notebook, I am not able to answer your question. From what corad and specifically, N1-C (who is also in Malaysia) have mentioned, there is no applicable customs tax. N1-C did mention however, that his dad might have had to pay EMS delivery charges.

I quote:
Actually, including Windows Vista Home Premium in the configuration would have set me back USD$97. That's close to RM350 for an OS that is questionable, at best. I have my own unused copy of Windows XP Professional here that I plan to install. Also, with the impending release of Windows 7 sometime this year, I thought to myself why not just hold out for that?
Well now, what if there's a promo price for those existing Vista users??? laugh.gif
Enigmare
post Jan 9 2009, 10:15 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(jacksonyong @ Jan 9 2009, 02:17 AM)
Yeahh I'm leaving around mid-Feb. Maybe I'll purchase it around end Jan ? Hmmmm or you guys think I should purchase it in Australia ? But then can a student survive only using the comp labs in the campus without his laptop in his own house ( to do uni work ) ?
Wahhh pls don't tempt me already, can you imagine I wait and wait and wait then suddenly a new model is released. Sager X666. All specs maxed out in a 13" screen with weight of 2kg. Can play all games in the next 10 years.
Think of how long you're gonna be in Aussie first. If it's long enough to take advantage of the services and warranty claims there, then wait until you're there then only buy one. It may be way cheaper there too... laugh.gif
Enigmare
post Jan 9 2009, 08:23 PM

550 posts

Hmm, with their service and warranty provided, it gives EVEN MORE reason to buy one... laugh.gif I'm tempted...
Enigmare
post Jan 10 2009, 11:04 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Jan 10 2009, 07:10 AM)
the force is strong with this one  whistling.gif  brows.gif
laugh.gif Nicely put... But before I can make any moves, I'll havta stick with what I have for awhile first... tongue.gif
Enigmare
post Jan 11 2009, 12:11 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Jan 10 2009, 11:42 PM)
yea.. its for all sagers  smile.gif

tell me which one you'll want to buy and i'll give you the link. note that the 10% is not instant. i'll return the amount to you after purchase is made.
How did you get the 10% off in the first place?? Is it like Dell's coupons??
Enigmare
post Jan 11 2009, 10:23 AM

550 posts

laugh.gif corad is such a kind person.. Well, he's working towards bringing more Sagers to Malaysian enthusiasts, good work dude!
Enigmare
post Jan 11 2009, 05:37 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(kirakun @ Jan 11 2009, 12:08 PM)
Thanks again for the sumed up detail guys. It is really a good deal although the exchange rate can really be the pain in the @ss atm. Wish i plan it earlier when the ringgit was much stronger a month or 2 ago. Hopefully i can lay the purchase soon as i'll be leaving m'sia end of january 09. Will keep u guys updated once i lay down my purchase.

Oh ya just to made it clear, i'm a going to use this laptop as my gaming laptop.

Common sense(at least mine) dictate as a hardcore gamer performance and reliability is my main concern and priority. Bling bling features are no where near my priority list. flex.gif  thumbup.gif

After thorough consideration, i still prefer this lappie as i can get almost double the performance after customize and still not reaching 14k compared to alienware m15x. 

To those bling bling or alienware fans, stay out of this thread and brag elsewhere.

Atm i'm using using sony ar59gu as my moderate gaming lappie and entertainment purposes and a hp compaq(company lappie) for office works.

P.S: I was a neutral between alienware and sager before but after reading through from page 1, i felt it is necessary to voice out what i had in mind flex.gif .
What's considered bling bling??? brows.gif
Enigmare
post Jan 12 2009, 11:59 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(kirakun @ Jan 12 2009, 11:12 AM)
Hey corad since you are senior affliate of xoptic, can i buy through u? And of course for all your trouble i'm willing to pay your commision as well. I believe the price will still be a lot less and a win win scenario for both of us lol. That is if u are ok with it.

Edit: Btw i'm from sarawak too, kuching to be precise rclxms.gif .
I'm sure he's more than happy to do so... But I wonder how did he come around to be an affiliate like, for so long... tongue.gif
Enigmare
post Jan 13 2009, 07:17 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(subrok007 @ Jan 13 2009, 12:17 PM)
ok got it..then after the parcel arrive at LCCT, shall i pay any extra amount to collect the parcel if i direct go to LCCT take.
thanks alot bro for helping me....btw wat bout TT? is it just fill in the form? n bring to counter?
Hey dude, you bought yours yet??? wink.gif

0.0391sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:17 PM