Sager : Mobile Gaming @ Its Best

jacksonyong
post Jan 9 2009, 01:44 AM

108 posts

Icic... thanks for the information Ashikune NC1 and conrad
I will definitely get a Sager as my bday gift so I'll keep you guys posted k !

And btw this is gonna be my first ever laptop haha, so I'm gonna take care of it as if it's my child lolz !

p/s... Do you guys think I should wait a lil longer to purchase ? Maybe the price will drop eventually ?
Ashikune
post Jan 9 2009, 01:53 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(jacksonyong @ Jan 9 2009, 03:44 AM)

And btw this is gonna be my first ever laptop haha, so I'm gonna take care of it as if it's my child lolz !

p/s... Do you guys think I should wait a lil longer to purchase ? Maybe the price will drop eventually ?
Ooh congrats! Do post here when you get yours! rclxms.gif

With regards to price though, quite hard to say whether or not it'll drop before you leave Malaysia in February (iirc you did mention you were heading overseas, right?). As it is, they have already integrated their previously advertised discounts into the base price of the NP8660. Do keep in mind though that Xotic PC does ship internationally, meaning that regardless of where you are, you'll be able to get your laptop. Who knows, you might be able to grab a bargain a few months down the road. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Ashikune: Jan 9 2009, 01:54 AM
TScorad
post Jan 9 2009, 02:08 AM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,401 posts

QUOTE(jacksonyong @ Jan 9 2009, 01:44 AM)

no probs. glad to hear there's more joining us thumbup.gif

depends how long you're willing to wait. 6 more months and clevo would probably be out with another beast drool.gif
jacksonyong
post Jan 9 2009, 02:17 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(Ashikune @ Jan 9 2009, 01:53 AM)
Ooh congrats! Do post here when you get yours!  rclxms.gif

With regards to price though, quite hard to say whether or not it'll drop before you leave Malaysia in February (iirc you did mention you were heading overseas, right?). As it is, they have already integrated their previously advertised discounts into the base price of the NP8660. Do keep in mind though that Xotic PC does ship internationally, meaning that regardless of where you are, you'll be able to get your laptop. Who knows, you might be able to grab a bargain a few months down the road.  thumbup.gif
Yeahh I'm leaving around mid-Feb. Maybe I'll purchase it around end Jan ? Hmmmm or you guys think I should purchase it in Australia ? But then can a student survive only using the comp labs in the campus without his laptop in his own house ( to do uni work ) ?

QUOTE(corad @ Jan 9 2009, 02:08 AM)
no probs. glad to hear there's more joining us  thumbup.gif

depends how long you're willing to wait. 6 more months and clevo would probably be out with another beast  drool.gif
Wahhh pls don't tempt me already, can you imagine I wait and wait and wait then suddenly a new model is released. Sager X666. All specs maxed out in a 13" screen with weight of 2kg. Can play all games in the next 10 years.
TScorad
post Jan 9 2009, 07:12 AM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(jacksonyong @ Jan 9 2009, 02:17 AM)
Yeahh I'm leaving around mid-Feb. Maybe I'll purchase it around end Jan ? Hmmmm or you guys think I should purchase it in Australia ? But then can a student survive only using the comp labs in the campus without his laptop in his own house ( to do uni work ) ?
Wahhh pls don't tempt me already, can you imagine I wait and wait and wait then suddenly a new model is released. Sager X666. All specs maxed out in a 13" screen with weight of 2kg. Can play all games in the next 10 years.
shipping fees for xoticpc are the same anywhere outside the states so the only consideration would be import taxes. best to check if aust applies GST to laptops.

i survived a month using campus pc's while scouting for laptops to buy.

mmm .. 13" tongue.gif well, best to enjoy what we have now laugh.gif a 9800 still has a few years to go before losing its "performance" status laugh.gif
Enigmare
post Jan 9 2009, 10:15 AM

Microsoft SideWinder™ Maverick
550 posts

QUOTE(jacksonyong @ Jan 9 2009, 02:17 AM)
Think of how long you're gonna be in Aussie first. If it's long enough to take advantage of the services and warranty claims there, then wait until you're there then only buy one. It may be way cheaper there too... laugh.gif
Cheesenium
post Jan 9 2009, 10:27 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Jan 9 2009, 02:08 AM)
no probs. glad to hear there's more joining us  thumbup.gif

depends how long you're willing to wait. 6 more months and clevo would probably be out with another beast  drool.gif
Really? Another monster? drool.gif

Is there any warranty coverage in Aus?
Ashikune
post Jan 9 2009, 11:30 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(Enigmare @ Jan 9 2009, 12:15 PM)
Think of how long you're gonna be in Aussie first. If it's long enough to take advantage of the services and warranty claims there, then wait until you're there then only buy one. It may be way cheaper there too... laugh.gif
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jan 9 2009, 12:27 PM)

I doubt there will be any difference in warranty coverage should one be purchasing a Sager off Xotic PC. None of the available options for warranty state anything regarding global coverage.

PS: My laptop shipped today! smile.gif
jacksonyong
post Jan 9 2009, 11:45 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Jan 9 2009, 07:12 AM)
shipping fees for xoticpc are the same anywhere outside the states so the only consideration would be import taxes. best to check if aust applies GST to laptops.

i survived a month using campus pc's while scouting for laptops to buy.

mmm .. 13"  tongue.gif  well, best to enjoy what we have now  laugh.gif a 9800 still has a few years to go before losing its "performance" status  laugh.gif
Hmmm yeahh... And GST is about 10% too right ? Gosh !
Hahaha serious ? So what you normally do after uni hours then ? No comp no entertainment no internet.

With the specs like NP8600, I would say it can last us a good 3-4 years to catch up on new technology. After that period, it will still be a worthy buy I guess.

QUOTE(Enigmare @ Jan 9 2009, 10:15 AM)
Are you referring to the services and warranty claims of the LAPTOP ? Coz I think the warranty is almost useless. I messaged a staff from xoticpc and he told me that we need to handle to shipping fees to and back ourselves. And how much is shipping fees for one way ? If it's still the same which is around $223 ( equivalent to the shipping method when u first purchase your laptop ) I think it will cost you a total of RM1600+ to send and claim ur pc back for repair.

Tell me I'm right

QUOTE(Ashikune @ Jan 9 2009, 11:30 AM)
I doubt there will be any difference in warranty coverage should one be purchasing a Sager off Xotic PC. None of the available options for warranty state anything regarding global coverage.

PS: My laptop shipped today!  smile.gif
Good ! Remember to show us some pics ! And reviews too !

This post has been edited by jacksonyong: Jan 9 2009, 11:47 AM
Nasri8
post Jan 9 2009, 12:43 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(N1-C @ Dec 30 2008, 10:38 PM)
Don't worry I'm using the same shipping option as yours. After the machine arrived in Malaysia, USPS actually hand the goods to Pos Laju and they'll send it to you using EMS. My case though and no joking its really Express, pretty fast but I think my dad told me that he had to pay the EMS charges for me... Well... I'm still kind of over excited ATM so don't really remember lol, good luck!
bro, about the EMS charge, do we hv to pay when we receive the shipment (i mean pay to the delivery guy) or do we have to pay at the post office?
sorry noob question..haha
TScorad
post Jan 9 2009, 07:46 PM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(Enigmare @ Jan 9 2009, 10:15 AM)
xoticpc gives 3years labor and 1 year part warranty by default, which is even better than dell. i tried it once and requested for a bios update through email, got a response on the same day thumbup.gif beats searching for updated drivers myself.

if there's hardware problems you'll have to fork out the shipping charges for those of us outside the states sad.gif

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jan 9 2009, 10:27 AM)

you'll have to ship it back to xoticpc at your own expense. don't think it'll cost USD233 tho. probably around ~USD80.

QUOTE(Ashikune @ Jan 9 2009, 11:30 AM)

PS: My laptop shipped today!  smile.gif
yeap, what Ashikune said. and congrats ! any ETA ? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(jacksonyong @ Jan 9 2009, 11:45 AM)
Hmmm yeahh... And GST is about 10% too right ? Gosh !
Hahaha serious ? So what you normally do after uni hours then ? No comp no entertainment no internet.

With the specs like NP8600, I would say it can last us a good 3-4 years to catch up on new technology. After that period, it will still be a worthy buy I guess.
Are you referring to the services and warranty claims of the LAPTOP ? Coz I think the warranty is almost useless. I messaged a staff from xoticpc and he told me that we need to handle to shipping fees to and back ourselves. And how much is shipping fees for one way ? If it's still the same which is around $223 ( equivalent to the shipping method when u first purchase your laptop ) I think it will cost you a total of RM1600+ to send and claim ur pc back for repair.

Tell me I'm right
we bear the shipping charges sad.gif but you can still kacau them by email and ask for the newest drivers etc etc tongue.gif And your laptop will come with an updated driver disc. i don't think shipping charges will be as high as USD223 if you ship it back yourself.

what i do after uni hours ? study i guess ... haha , and make friends of course. 1st few weeks of uni should be spent socializing wub.gif
Enigmare
post Jan 9 2009, 08:23 PM

550 posts

Hmm, with their service and warranty provided, it gives EVEN MORE reason to buy one... laugh.gif I'm tempted...
TScorad
post Jan 10 2009, 07:10 AM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(Enigmare @ Jan 9 2009, 08:23 PM)
Hmm, with their service and warranty provided, it gives EVEN MORE reason to buy one... laugh.gif I'm tempted...
the force is strong with this one whistling.gif brows.gif
Enigmare
post Jan 10 2009, 11:04 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Jan 10 2009, 07:10 AM)
the force is strong with this one  whistling.gif  brows.gif
laugh.gif Nicely put... But before I can make any moves, I'll havta stick with what I have for awhile first... tongue.gif
kirakun
post Jan 10 2009, 07:45 PM

697 posts

Hey corad, if buy through your given link i can get additional 10% off right? Kinna tempted atm lol but planning to buy 17" sager instead. Is the 10% off still applicable if i buy other than 15" sager?
TScorad
post Jan 10 2009, 11:42 PM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(kirakun @ Jan 10 2009, 07:45 PM)
Hey corad, if buy through your given link i can get additional 10% off right? Kinna tempted atm lol but planning to buy 17" sager instead. Is the 10% off still applicable if i buy other than 15" sager?
yea.. its for all sagers smile.gif

tell me which one you'll want to buy and i'll give you the link. note that the 10% is not instant. i'll return the amount to you after purchase is made.
Enigmare
post Jan 11 2009, 12:11 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Jan 10 2009, 11:42 PM)
yea.. its for all sagers  smile.gif

tell me which one you'll want to buy and i'll give you the link. note that the 10% is not instant. i'll return the amount to you after purchase is made.
How did you get the 10% off in the first place?? Is it like Dell's coupons??
kirakun
post Jan 11 2009, 01:55 AM

697 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Jan 10 2009, 11:42 PM)
yea.. its for all sagers  smile.gif

I'm planning to buy Sager Np9262 but still holding it yet atm due to dollar against ringgit exchange damn high sweat.gif . But before laying down my purchase there are several items which i might need you guys help to clarify though blush.gif .

Like total estimate days from laying down the order till receive it.

For bank transfer/wire = i get another 7% discount?

For bank transfer/wire for shipping cost of us223 = i get another 3% discount from that amount?

Total discount i can get roughly?

Are we cool with discussing it here? If not do u have any personal msn where it's more convenient?

Thanks a lot for the feedback and reply notworthy.gif .

This post has been edited by kirakun: Jan 12 2009, 11:20 AM
Ashikune
post Jan 11 2009, 03:10 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(kirakun @ Jan 11 2009, 03:55 AM)
I'm planning to buy Sager Np5796 but still holding it yet atm due to dollar against ringgit exchange damn high sweat.gif . But before laying down my purchase there are several items which i might need you guys help to clarify though blush.gif .

For bank transfer/wire for shipping cost of us223 = i get another 3% discount from that amount?

Are we cool with discussing it here? If not do u have any personal msn where it's more convenient?

Time estimate:

If you pay through bank/wire transfer, Xotic PC will acknowledge receipt of payment quite promptly. For myself, it only took one day for my payment to be credited to their account. According to Xotic PC building, testing, burn-in and quality assurance takes around 3-7 business days (they took only 2 days for mine). Shipping to Malaysia via the USD$223 option takes (using N1-C's shipment as a reference) 4 business days. Therefore, a rough estimate of the time it takes for a laptop to be ordered, built, sent out and finally arrive at your doorstep is between one to two weeks.

Discount:

Paying through bank/wire transfer entitles you to 3% discount off the total price of the order. This includes shipping as well. For example, if your laptop was, say USD$1777, adding USD$223 to that would mean a pre-discount total of USD$2000. The 3% discount is then applied to this amount (remember to enter in the 'cashrebate' coupon code when prompted to get it!), making the post-discount amount USD$1940.

Nota bene - The 3% discount only applies to the shipping cost when you choose the USD$223 option! The United Parcel Service shipping option will not be subject to the same discount!

If you purchase your laptop using corad's referral link, corad is offering a 10% "discount" off the post-discount total. I say "discount" because he is actually offering to refund you the affiliate earnings he receives from the referral (So kind! notworthy.gif). Using the above amount (USD$1940) as an example, this would most probably mean that he will refund you a total of USD$194. I am however unsure of two things:

(a) Whether his referral earnings are calculated with shipping cost in mind, and

(b) whether I have applied the 10% discount properly. Here I make the assumption that he gets 10% of the post-discount amount as affiliate earnings. He will have to clarify this. tongue.gif

Do understand that this is not an instant discount - you will have to pay the USD$1940 first; corad will refund you later when Xotic PC pays him.

To summarise, the total discount that you will get is the initial 3% off the pre-discounted amount, plus 10% off the post-discounted amount (subject to clarification from corad). Hope this answers your questions. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Ashikune: Jan 11 2009, 03:15 AM
TScorad
post Jan 11 2009, 10:13 AM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(Enigmare @ Jan 11 2009, 12:11 AM)
How did you get the 10% off in the first place?? Is it like Dell's coupons??
I've been an affiliate with xoticpc longer than I've been with lowyat.

QUOTE(kirakun @ Jan 11 2009, 01:55 AM)
I'm planning to buy Sager Np5796 but still holding it yet atm due to dollar against ringgit exchange damn high sweat.gif . But before laying down my purchase there are several items which i might need you guys help to clarify though blush.gif .

Ashikune pretty much sumed everything up thumbup.gif
I'll just clarify abit more, Total discount you get is 13% including shipping fees. And it takes ~2weeks from the time payment is made till your laptop arrives. I don't mind chatting about it here smile.gif

QUOTE(Ashikune @ Jan 11 2009, 03:10 AM)
If you purchase your laptop using corad's referral link, corad is offering a 10% "discount" off the post-discount total. I say "discount" because he is actually offering to refund you the affiliate earnings he receives from the referral (So kind! notworthy.gif). Using the above amount (USD$1940) as an example, this would most probably mean that he will refund you a total of USD$194. I am however unsure of two things:

(a) Whether his referral earnings are calculated with shipping cost in mind, and

(b) whether I have applied the 10% discount properly. Here I make the assumption that he gets 10% of the post-discount amount as affiliate earnings. He will have to clarify this. tongue.gif

Do understand that this is not an instant discount - you will have to pay the USD$1940 first; corad will refund you later when Xotic PC pays him.

To summarise, the total discount that you will get is the initial 3% off the pre-discounted amount, plus 10% off the post-discounted amount (subject to clarification from corad). Hope this answers your questions. thumbup.gif
yeap, my referral earning is 10% of what you TT to xoticpc.

Thanks for the detailed explanation too icon_rolleyes.gif

EDIT: oh , and anyone can sign up to be an affliate with xoticpc and get the 10% back that way as well. just that xoticpc pays out via paypal and I've heard it can be tricky to redraw the fund locally. I'm still studying in the UK, so i'll be TT-ing the $$ back to the buyer. I do paypal as well if required. I wont be responsible for the bank charges tho tongue.gif it's about GBP 9 if i recall correctly.

This post has been edited by corad: Jan 11 2009, 10:17 AM

125 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:33 PM