QUOTE(Noblez @ Oct 31 2008, 12:34 AM)
Ok, I'm a very newbie at laptops and stuff (Actually, I wanted to buy my first laptop this Dec during the PC Fair but I keep hearing that PC Fair quality is not good and stuff like that?) ... But ok... Sager NP8660, consider that it has no warranty and from what I checked, it starts at $1682 and after upgrading to your specs... (well... mine includes the Vista Premium, tho I want to 32-bit), it went up to $2299 without discount, can we compare it to the dv5 from HP?
Coz was planning to buy that dv5 (can you guys recommend a model, so far I only have here is dv5-1039TX ~RM5999 tho US has the dv5t or sumthin).
Well, actually, mine is not for overclocking(I dun even know what that REALLY means) and hardcore games like Crysis, but I do play the occasional C&C RTS (tho, now, I'm just interested in Red Alert 3 and I like to set graphics to medium at least) but its just for casual gaming- stress relief. Is it worth it, coz it'll b a first laptop and the dv5 sound good enuf already plus it has some warranty that my folks will b better off knowing (the whole safe than sorry) Coz its really my first time for a laptop and its not really purposefully FOR gaming, just casual... More for portability and surfing net and reliablility. I have a desktop for that (Gaming concentrate, tho not really like you guys)...
What is your (all) opinions?
Thx in advance, and if I made an off-topic reply, pls do tell me, coz I'm not really that well versed with forums and stuff (only recently been active)...
PS. if you dun mind, is PC Fair a good place to buy laptops/computers? And will they introduce new things to us? Jus thought I'd take a shot and ask...
im not sure about HP, but in my experience, dont buy Dell from PCfair coz they are not directly from dell. They are a retailer. Whats the diff for direct dell vs retailer is that Dell have this 14days unsatisfactory full refund policy but retailer dont have such thg. so if u are not happy within 14days, u cant return back if u buy from the retailer, but u can return back to dell and either get ur money back from dell or credit transfer to other model u choose from dell.Coz was planning to buy that dv5 (can you guys recommend a model, so far I only have here is dv5-1039TX ~RM5999 tho US has the dv5t or sumthin).
Well, actually, mine is not for overclocking(I dun even know what that REALLY means) and hardcore games like Crysis, but I do play the occasional C&C RTS (tho, now, I'm just interested in Red Alert 3 and I like to set graphics to medium at least) but its just for casual gaming- stress relief. Is it worth it, coz it'll b a first laptop and the dv5 sound good enuf already plus it has some warranty that my folks will b better off knowing (the whole safe than sorry) Coz its really my first time for a laptop and its not really purposefully FOR gaming, just casual... More for portability and surfing net and reliablility. I have a desktop for that (Gaming concentrate, tho not really like you guys)...
What is your (all) opinions?
Thx in advance, and if I made an off-topic reply, pls do tell me, coz I'm not really that well versed with forums and stuff (only recently been active)...
PS. if you dun mind, is PC Fair a good place to buy laptops/computers? And will they introduce new things to us? Jus thought I'd take a shot and ask...
for hp laptop, they are quite expensive IMO compared to other brand such as Dell, toshiba and etc in term of same spec. I compare my XPS with my fren HP (i dont what model is that). She bought it 5.2k only with 2ghz CPU + 14.1" LCD + 2gb ram + 8400gs only while mine is 4.6k for 2.4ghz + 4gb ram + 15.4" LCD + 8600M GT DDR3. But the HP finishing quality is pretty good compared to my dell.
If u go for highly portability, i suggest u to get 14.1" if u dont mind its being smaller. IMO 15.4" is also kinda big to bring out to those places such as starbucks, coffee bean and more... not bcoz of the weight but its bcoz of the size... 14.1" will be better in portability while 15.4" is okay too if u want the bigger screen.. its up to ur own preferences also in the end.
At rm6k u can get this TS sager for rm6.1k if u don't mind some of the weaknesses such as branding and physical outlook... and its a super gaming laptop FYI.... even better than those 7.7k Dell XPS M1730 gaming laptop... but the warranty is the let down on this sager since it is not in malaysia. u are spending abit too much for a non-gaming/minimum system. If u only want it for portability + office work then 3k should be good enuf... and u can keep that 3k for another future purchase....
This post has been edited by vincentlaw: Oct 31 2008, 04:54 AM
Oct 31 2008, 04:45 AM

0.0225sec