Food Bak Kut Teh!, Any nice bak kut teh

stimix
post Jan 13 2009, 09:29 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Ohhhh shocking.gif ....I always suspect that too & yeap I feel Yap Beng dried BKT better too..Thanks for the clarification... thumbup.gif
QUOTE(vkeong @ Jan 12 2009, 10:48 PM)
yap beng is a branch of yap chuan. i prefer yap beng because their dry BKT is dryer, and not so crowded
luvjim
post Jan 13 2009, 10:02 AM

to the moon and back
1,036 posts

QUOTE(sharkteef @ Jan 12 2009, 05:46 PM)
Long time ago i went to this place, quite good, nais and very reasonable.
Then sekali when the %$#$%!#%$#^@%$ astro chinese fella who recommend food one, came here, the price skyrocket and more and more ppl start frequenting this place.
now the place is always jammed pack and have to wait damn long just to sit for a table. i saw some ppl fighting over the table of who came first and who stand here first blah blah blah.

fuah, makan also wan fight.
anyway just in case u all didnt know bout this place,
its bak kut teh by yap chuan. the 14/15 yr old champion boy who cooks and became a champion by god knows who and highly recommended by the chinese astro guy host which i dunno his name and i dun really care coz if i ever see him, i will slap him.

Location is here :

http://wikimapia.org/#lat=2.9945291&lon=10...=18&l=0&m=a&v=2

and the famous puchong yong tau foo which got hell lotta ppl waiting in que also is here:

http://wikimapia.org/#lat=2.995322&lon=101...=18&l=0&m=a&v=2
GPS co-ordinates via MFM :

N 02-59.674
E 101-37.269
i'm wondering other than the kepong and jinjang area, are there any nice dry bkt ? i've tried most of klang bkt and basically not suitable to my liking. the one at jinjang is superb but only opens at 2am onwards and have to sit bawah pokok whereby got a lotta leaves and etc etc droppings.

kasi rekomen. if not too expensive i will belanja even.
try both b4 thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
SUSsharkteef
post Jan 13 2009, 02:41 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

@stimix - sorry bro, dowan look for the best. each individual got different taste. some recommend me go to klang taman eng ann. i no fancy that also. parking super hard to find. but i am willing to try and try and try. and u dowanna go to seremban GG ka ? u wan me pick u up or not ?

@vkeong - i dowan go yap brothers. they can slowly cater to the astro subscribers.

stimix
post Jan 13 2009, 02:55 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Ok-..I suggest u to try the others in Puchong especially Kungfu BKT & Dragon View....ample parking there....& not so crowded...I feel Kungfu sometime better than Yap Chuan but dunno why less crowd...probably ppl can't accept the slightly more expensive pricing..Sumore both restaurants air-conned!! biggrin.gif Dragon View soup having thick herbal taste...not bad..& Kungfu BKT dried BKT I think better than Yap Chuan hmm.gif

vey99
post Jan 13 2009, 03:10 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

subang got any good one? i never been to puchong b4.
stimix
post Jan 13 2009, 03:52 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Subang Jaya famous one located at SS14..there are 3 there i.e Ah Ping, Chuan Chew & Yu Kee...The last I tried Chuan Chew so-so only

There is another "Klang Under-the bridge" -Seng Huat located at Taipan USJ opened by the sister/relative to the BKT inventor of Malaysia...but biz no good..not sure whether they are still there hmm.gif

Nearby at Sunway, there is another luxury setting BKT If I'm not mistaken Grandpa hmm.gif

QUOTE(vey99 @ Jan 13 2009, 03:10 PM)
luvjim
post Jan 13 2009, 03:55 PM

to the moon and back
1,036 posts

try Yu Kee nod.gif
vey99
post Jan 13 2009, 03:57 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

ah now i remember, chuan chew ss14 is the first BKT on that row, ok not bad that one. then after i eat i recall drive further up see 2 or 3 more BKT which even more crowded.

coming to think of it the chuan chew servit is pretty good.

i shall try yu kee then.
Motormouth
post Jan 15 2009, 08:54 AM

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 13 2009, 03:52 PM)
Subang Jaya famous one located at SS14..there are 3 there i.e Ah Ping, Chuan Chew & Yu Kee...The last I tried Chuan Chew so-so only

There is another "Klang Under-the bridge" -Seng Huat located at Taipan USJ opened by the sister/relative to the BKT inventor of Malaysia...but biz no good..not sure whether they are still there  hmm.gif

Nearby at Sunway, there is another luxury setting BKT If I'm not mistaken Grandpa  hmm.gif
Seng Huat's BKT not like the usual claypot ones. not really outstanding I'd say.

http://j2kfm.blogspot.com/2008/12/seng-hua...ang-one-of.html

but I like Teluk Pulai BKT, the rice and BKT combination, perfect!

http://j2kfm.blogspot.com/2008/08/klangs-f...ak-kut-teh.html

Yap Beng dry one VERY good. soup one .... so-so. but also crowded on weekends n public hols morning.

SUSvkeong
post Jan 15 2009, 10:46 AM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

mari puchong i bawak u pi makan
luvjim
post Jan 15 2009, 12:14 PM

to the moon and back
1,036 posts

QUOTE(vkeong @ Jan 15 2009, 10:46 AM)
mari puchong i bawak u pi makan
i dari puchong jugak, u bawak i pergi makan kah? blush.gif
clivengu
post Mar 4 2009, 05:10 PM

1,850 posts

I have been in KL/PJ for 6 years and i have nvr been to Klang to eat their famouse Ba ku teh b4.. My college KL friends all prefer to eat in mall like Kim Gary and MCD.. so we nvr hv chance to try smthing in the hawker stall but yet nice.

I thinking to go there by myself together with a few friends who nvr been there b4 (from Muar, johor, sarawak, etc etc) but we have no idea how to get there and.. when reach there which stall is the best and famous and must try? mind to share share some info? icon_idea.gif
lawsh
post Mar 4 2009, 05:12 PM

Cikurity
6,788 posts

dry or soup or both?
there are many places within klang that have good BKT
Putraskyline
post Mar 4 2009, 05:14 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

Use search function lor

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&hl=bah+kut+teh
sohailili
post Mar 4 2009, 05:30 PM

527 posts

yum yum

SUSSeLrAhC
post Mar 4 2009, 05:32 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

dry is not bakuteh already... dry is just siyau york
stimix
post Mar 4 2009, 05:53 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Tnx Putraskyline ..Whoaa u also interested in this-kah? brows.gif

Indirectly also bumping the old thread by way of merging. For Klang there are 3 types of BKT. i.e The plain original BKT that consist only the meat either wth bones or wth 3layer meat. The 2nd type is the claypot type introduced in Teluk Pulai, thus the name Teluk Pulai. & the 3rd dry type. I think also started in Klang.

The original plain BKT which started it all at the Klang under the bridge BKT or Seng Huat BKT is here:
http://wikimapia.org/#lat=3.0425973&lon=10...=16&l=0&m=m&v=2

The original Teluk Pulai BKT that start it all is here (Middle one ho, not the one as per Wikimapia box):
http://wikimapia.org/#lat=3.0401545&lon=10...=16&l=0&m=m&v=2

The dry type...dunno who start first but for sure the best dry BKT should be the same Yap Chuan (Bt 14 Puchong)/Yap Beng (Equine Park) & the branch located at Bdr Baru Klang here:
http://wikimapia.org/#lat=3.0635102&lon=10...=17&l=0&m=m&v=2

And those so-so but mistakenly thought are the original Klang BKT located at Jln Batai area of Klang (Those fella working in Shah Alam & Subang Jaya luv to come here during the Friday 2.5hr breaks:
http://wikimapia.org/#lat=3.0562679&lon=10...=16&l=0&m=m&v=2

SUSahjames
post Mar 5 2009, 10:14 AM

My Name James
1,337 posts

which one easier parking?
stimix
post Mar 6 2009, 09:29 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

The original under the bridge is easier to find parking so do the Teluk Pulai one. Those in the Bdr Baru & Opposite at Jln Batai area are commercial centre & as usual-lah lotsa double parking & etc...
beechwood55789
post Jul 4 2009, 04:08 PM

20 posts

Place: He Take Bak Kut Teh
http://www.wikimapia.org/#lat=2.9906131&lo...67&z=19&l=0&m=b

++ This place is nice and airy, sitting here to eat Bah Kut Teh is damn shiok!

++ I like the decor. Got classic pictar of advert.

Today lunch i was enjoice in a relax place, cooling.

The BKT i order is Klang Style. (Nui Kut + Pun Fei Sau, add Tau Pok)

There is also Dry style and Teochew style. Many add on are available too like mushrooms and golden needle etc.
Rice is either normal or Yam rice.

The place also serves dishes, "Mantis in Salad Sauce", "VInegar Porc Trotter" etc, I will cover in next makan during dinnertime.

Verdict: 7/10
Nice environment with decent BKT.
WIR = Yes

This post has been edited by beechwood55789: Jul 4 2009, 04:22 PM

24 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:55 PM