Any1 tried CPU + fridge cooler?

TSchongkeong
post Oct 17 2008, 06:04 PM, updated 18y ago

30 posts

Hi all, im new here. Want to ask, if any1 tried Adding a compressor or some cooling stuff used in the Fridge into CPU? Then, maybe make a spare room if have in the CPU as a fridge where you can store some drinks. Please add some links if have smile.gif Wanna have a look. Thinking of doing something like that when i get back to malaysia.
karthyhu
post Oct 17 2008, 06:34 PM

1,165 posts

if i remember someone in LYN did it b4 but i cant seems to find that thread
karthyhu
post Oct 17 2008, 06:39 PM

1,165 posts

Hehe found it but not complete i think

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=483874&hl
TSchongkeong
post Oct 17 2008, 07:25 PM

30 posts

Well... I dont fully understand how that "compressor" thingi works and how he get rid of the "condensed" water. Adding huge poly pipes? I think thats a little "ugly". I'll try make something better next time.. I've nvr tried modding before. Newbie only.. I'm thinking of making a custom casing with wateva metal i can find... and adding small compressor of those mini "bar" fridge.. and hmm.... how to get rid of the condense water? any idea ??? later short circuit >.< No point sealing the whole casing, water vapour will still appear on the OUTER casing, just like.. when you take a COLD water out of the fridge... you'll see water droplets outside.... kena electricute nanti
karthyhu
post Oct 17 2008, 07:54 PM

1,165 posts

well thats up to u to think about i no nth about fridge = = maybe some other forummer might know how wait for their reply
OC4/3
post Oct 18 2008, 01:00 AM

4,746 posts

@TS,google on phase change cooler
chyu89
post Oct 18 2008, 08:53 AM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

Condensation is an issue.
Pon&Zi
post Oct 18 2008, 12:55 PM

92 posts

aiyo now u can buy 1 already

user posted imageuser posted image
OC4/3
post Oct 18 2008, 03:44 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(chyu89 @ Oct 18 2008, 08:53 AM)
Condensation is an issue.
Just insulate laugh.gif
For phase change,can look into little devil unit rclxms.gif
If i am not mistaken,lolhalol provide phase change building service wink.gif
SUSgigabyte_PHD
post Oct 22 2008, 03:27 PM

Working For QUIDS Industry
855 posts

damm expensive la , your powerbill go go urp ......urp.....urp!
Aura
post Oct 22 2008, 04:33 PM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(chongkeong @ Oct 17 2008, 07:25 PM)
Well... I dont fully understand how that "compressor" thingi works and how he get rid of the "condensed" water. Adding huge poly pipes? I think thats a little "ugly". I'll try make something better next time.. I've nvr tried modding before. Newbie only.. I'm thinking of making a custom casing with wateva metal i can find... and adding small compressor of those mini "bar" fridge.. and hmm.... how to get rid of the condense water? any idea ??? later short circuit >.< No point sealing the whole casing, water vapour will still appear on the OUTER casing, just like.. when you take a COLD water out of the fridge... you'll see water droplets outside.... kena electricute nanti
I think u hav to hav an outlet where the condensed water can flow out.... Fridge has a tray to keep the excess water.... I think if u dun fully understand how it works, it is better for u to purpose one instead of making one.... Anyway, if u can cool ur PC like a fridge, I suggest u go for this instead.... brows.gif
TSchongkeong
post Oct 23 2008, 08:05 PM

30 posts

Hmm... i believe i will understand more when i get back "home". Will ask for technician advice and "solutions" maybe, to solve the water problem. I'm thinking, if a fridge has a tray to keep the excess water, cant the computer have a tray as well? Just make a small plate to keep water smile.gif hehe. The only thing left in my thinking now is, what should i use for the casing? Those white foam??? Or just things like aluminium? I want it to look nice!! so, the white foam thing is really not in my consideration. But aluminium plating is a good Heat conductor, so .... the COOL air will become warm quite quickly.
azetect
post Oct 26 2008, 07:24 PM

112 posts

why not just buy a small size freezer that can fit in your cpu ? before you put in your cpu in frezzer make sure you cpu is anti rust.
PeowYong
post Oct 27 2008, 12:21 AM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

u know wut is a fridge for?
its to keep something cool to a certain temp...
not to cool down a heat emitting object..
u will spoil the fridge if u r to cool down a real hot rig..
night_wolf_in
post Oct 27 2008, 12:26 AM

512 posts

it wont work. if it would work. you would have seen it by now being used by the overclockers. so forget it.
ahmeduk88
post Oct 27 2008, 11:17 AM

162 posts

well, it can be used to cool down heat emitting objects. for example its already being used to cool down ATMs. they use aircon laa..

well, the law of thermodynamics says that heat move to places where there is less heat. with good planning, the fridge won't go rosak. if its already cool, it'll stay at that temperature.

i say, go and do it!!!

and if you're considering sumthing else, try sinking your pc oil. they can cool your pc really well. and it has been done. can remember where i found it, if i do i can provide the link.
TSchongkeong
post Oct 27 2008, 07:43 PM

30 posts

I think, i will try with fridge compressor first. Will try and see if its "cold" enough to cool down the CPU. Worse case, a freezer compressor @@ I can get those "parts" easily. Putting the CPU inside a fridge, yeah, thats what i planned in the first place, but then, change my thought to building a CPU with fridge function. Something like.. CPU stuff behind, then the front, maybe a small box to put my canned soft drinks >.< Umm... aluminium + Paint Spray = ?? will rust ar????

I'm not planning to try the OIL thingi.. Looks really "creepy", like..... putting a uncased CPU into the aquarium. >.<

In the mean time, can any1 recommend any motherboard & power supply that is small in size??? Cause i want to make the "thing" as small as possible. So that i have more space for FRIDGE @@. Is QUAD core expensive??? Or should i just go for DUO core.
Azuma-kun
post Oct 27 2008, 07:46 PM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,415 posts

If i'm not mistaken, last time got something like air-cond for pc.
I dunno what is the name.
ahmeduk88
post Oct 29 2008, 06:19 PM

162 posts

quad core is kinda expensive.. rm800 for the proc. if i'm not mistaken..
hazwan_aviator
post Dec 3 2008, 01:51 PM

418 posts

last time i used to saw this fridge like pc without a casing in a youtube but couldnt remember what was the title.... sweat.gif
they used the black bottle which u can find behind of any fridge, then there is a pipe running from the bottle to the proc shocking.gif ...kinda weird to see such an idea but its was cool drool.gif ...the whole mobo kinda icy condition with the "asap2" all over shocking.gif ...seem like its been sub-zero condition hmm.gif ...

post the pic here if u done the designing... icon_rolleyes.gif
good luck... thumbup.gif

0.0182sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:57 AM