Best Way To Improve Guitar Playing, How? Suggestion and Opinion needed =)

TSmushimushi88
post Oct 17 2008, 04:43 PM, updated 18y ago

293 posts

like the topic said,

i would like to know how to improve guitar playing, yeah exercise would do good but what kind of exercise? how long should the routine be?

shares your opinion it here and if u could, maybe u can shares your own way on improving with guitar =)

thumbup.gif

like me, im using a rubber band and wrap it around my finger while playing, yeah it do increase my finger strength tremendously in short time but i rather find it were quite painful and not tat comfortable to play at the start. doh.gif

yeah.. my finger condition were not tat good, just started playing guitar and hee.. what to do shakehead.gif

shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by mushimushi88: Oct 17 2008, 05:21 PM
TSmushimushi88
post Oct 17 2008, 05:20 PM

293 posts

it did block the blood flow.. sometimes i play until my finger goes numb! shocking.gif

but my friend suggest this method and presumably he say it works. so i try it since i got nuthing to lose ohmy.gif
the result were slowly shown but its PAINFUL and hard! try it =)

any other suggestion that we beginners can try? thanks for the wiki kinetix =)

This post has been edited by mushimushi88: Oct 17 2008, 05:22 PM
TSmushimushi88
post Oct 17 2008, 06:35 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(batuapi @ Oct 17 2008, 06:07 PM)
Rubber band? Your friend is an idiot.
Go invest in a gripmaster (red) if you wanna increase finger strength.

What you need is finger independence as well.

And that means, practicing scales that combine various fingering..
finger 1 3,
finger 2, 4,

Etc...
those major /minor scales and blues and minor pentatonic scales.
And of course, your best friend, the metronome.

http://www.pinkandaint.com/weirdmet.shtml
Rubber band.... if you choke your finger tip.... later you develop gangrene/blood poisoning and lose your fingers baru you tahu.
wuahh.. notworthy.gif thank you sir, gonna stop doink it from now on =)

scales.. oh yea! i use metronome while doink finger exercise =) keeping with the tempo rolleyes.gif xD

QUOTE(nimrod2 @ Oct 17 2008, 06:24 PM)
haha yeah true oso. if u know what u're doing its fine. each person has their own technique.

just make sure u know how to see your fingers. later have to cut it off. once u feel numbness, its already a sign that there's not enough oxygen flowing to the tissue n muscles.
huuu.. my precious FINGERS! gonna slap my fren abit after thiss doh.gif

TSmushimushi88
post Oct 17 2008, 06:38 PM

293 posts

4 fingers to be exact, stored my rubber bands away atm =)
TSmushimushi88
post Oct 17 2008, 09:25 PM

293 posts

theory? mind to show some? like.. notes?

xD
TSmushimushi88
post Oct 17 2008, 10:17 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(eq8all @ Oct 17 2008, 09:29 PM)
And then when you get that frequently reported "practice-block", try playing with or in front of other people. Second opinions and critiques does help.
practice-block? i try search meaning behind it.. making guitar as a part of own self?

QUOTE(nkphnx @ Oct 17 2008, 09:56 PM)
Do not just practise scales and learn theories... Make it a habit to always do improvisation exercises with a chord progression or a backing track. This expands your knowledge on melody and helps develope your own set of sounds...

You need to get to a stage where someone plays a chord progression, any progression and you can improv over it with melodies and phrasings that at least have some musicality in it... and only by then, you will actually start progressing as a musician..
wow.. deep meaning.. improvise!!
TSmushimushi88
post Nov 2 2008, 11:03 PM

293 posts

legato..? i gotta check this! oooiii Sir Gapnap! no video~! xD
TSmushimushi88
post Nov 4 2008, 12:23 AM

293 posts

haha keep myself occupied at least 1 hour a day with my beloved guitar =)
TSmushimushi88
post Nov 11 2008, 11:14 PM

293 posts

great! hang the guitar low, it do help me access the fret easily than higher position

but a bit tiresome tho.. my arms aches >__<
TSmushimushi88
post Nov 13 2008, 02:26 AM

293 posts

alternate picking? u mean? xD
TSmushimushi88
post Nov 13 2008, 02:20 PM

293 posts

huhu.. me.. just training my muscle memory to a certain basic chord.. straining my fingers like crazy! >__<

0.0177sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 02:32 AM