MAXIS BILL [ Carefull Guys ... ]

TStayhaithian
post Oct 16 2008, 03:58 PM, updated 18y ago

460 posts

Was signed up with family plan lately , guess what happen in the 2nd month billing ... it just shoot me up with RM 200 ++ i was getting shock and inquire maxis center . After all they've told me that WiFi through maxis 3g postpaid ( family plan ) even though connected . Maxis will still charge for the usage . I was huh >?*&^%$ vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif zzzz previously with prepaid it didnt even cost a cents and now .... weird .
Thinking to cancel the postpaid maxis plan and go for other network .
rx330
post Oct 16 2008, 04:00 PM

11,811 posts

wahahah, somebody did state tis as well, but we couldnt quite believe it... how could wifi charge under data package?
but once the iphone tak dapat signal it will auto switch to 3G one rite?
kennyshan
post Oct 16 2008, 04:01 PM

love.is.gone
1,473 posts

u mean ur iphone connected to 3g service while u surfing using the phone?
MoNnY
post Oct 16 2008, 04:01 PM

Ooooo... Now I know how to change this
4,423 posts

bossprefs. disable 3g
Settings > Fetch New Data > OFF
kennyshan
post Oct 16 2008, 04:02 PM

love.is.gone
1,473 posts

what is ur gprs usage? got raise up while u surfing?
i always take note about the usage.. worry i will be charged..
rx330
post Oct 16 2008, 04:03 PM

11,811 posts

iphone 3G.... but disable 3G
MoNnY

4,423 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Oct 16 2008, 04:00 PM)
wahahah, somebody did state tis as well, but we couldnt quite believe it... how could wifi charge under data package?
but once the iphone tak dapat signal it will auto switch to 3G one rite?
correct. once wifi signal weak or access point doesn't respond, it may still show connected to wifi but the iphone will switch it go 3g network
learn from this lesson. it has nothing to do with maxis but your own phone settings
install bossprefs. disable anything you don't need and only enable when u need it. ie, 3g, data roaming, edge, push data

TStayhaithian

460 posts

as usual i was connected to a router or free wireless somewhere else before start surfing ... am sure it wasnt straight toward to 3G
MoNnY
post Oct 16 2008, 04:05 PM

4,423 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Oct 16 2008, 04:03 PM)
enable only when need to use lo.
thats what i'm doing now. alot of people kena di
time and time again we all ask u guys to install bossprefs and disable it to avoid this ma.
my maxis postpaid bill no issues..

Added on October 16, 2008, 4:06 pm
QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Oct 16 2008, 04:03 PM)
as usual i was connected to a router or free wireless somewhere else before start surfing ... am sure it wasnt straight toward to 3G
you'll never know. and in your case, it has.
so, take it as a lesson. disable. you don't even have to install bossprefs. just go Settings > Network and turn off Data roaming.

This post has been edited by MoNnY: Oct 16 2008, 04:06 PM
kennyshan
post Oct 16 2008, 04:08 PM

love.is.gone
1,473 posts

You wouldn't be notify if the signal is low and the phone auto connected to 3g service.. the only thing to do is have to notice the icon at the top always while surfing.. btw.. bospref can disable the 3g to prevent extra charges when using wifi
TStayhaithian
post Oct 16 2008, 04:14 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(MoNnY @ Oct 16 2008, 04:05 PM)
so, take it as a lesson. disable. you don't even have to install bossprefs. just go Settings > Network and turn off Data roaming.
its off whenever started the use of 3G iPhone .
unfortunately , 3G service is on but remember the signal of 3G wasn't available around my living place even my school .

This post has been edited by tayhaithian: Oct 16 2008, 04:16 PM
rx330
post Oct 16 2008, 04:24 PM

11,811 posts

gprs and edge also need to pay one ler
g3n0c1d3
post Oct 16 2008, 04:25 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

thts y my prepaid always dried up....!! huhuhuhu.... i got tht one 2.... when im into the wifi mode and then suddenly... it turns into 3g icon and cept2 check my balance... guess what...?? 3 second of 3g data almost cost me rm8....!
even thou u teraccidently go to 3g data... ure done for....
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

wht if u try this.... when u surf wifi... just switch it to airplane mode then surf using wifi.... if u hv bosspref then just disable the 3g data n edge data.

i knw its alot of work.. but its better doing tht or kena bayar kaw2 bro.....

bkn maxis pospaid got this one plan for 3g user of unlimited access for 99/month? subcribe tht lagi jimat bro!

hmm.gif
bergeryap87
post Oct 16 2008, 04:32 PM

145 posts

im using htc oso. the default setting oso same thing, once cannot connect to wireless then it will auto activate gprs. sumore this is my first month with maxis... damn scary... later my bill shoot up oso RM200, i surely can go toilet lao sai adi.

no wonder maxis make so much money...

sigh
baretta
post Oct 16 2008, 04:44 PM

1,853 posts

aktifkan poket anda
nikeshock
post Oct 16 2008, 04:48 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Oct 16 2008, 04:03 PM)
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
babysmile
post Oct 16 2008, 04:51 PM

DiY da BesT
554 posts

Just be careful...

see the icon properly.. the wifi signal and the 3G or E symbol ...

I just use 1st gen iphone.. so just "tangkap" wifi only and close all phone connections ... so my bills will so high up!!
lotiman2003

1,367 posts

Thank you for sharing the info. I never knew got such thing.
gengstapo

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(baretta @ Oct 16 2008, 04:44 PM)
aktifkan poket anda
kewL slogan rclxms.gif
hehee 3g..

btw, maybe u can remove manually the 3g setting & redo when u wanna use 3g services tongue.gif
butthead012
post Oct 16 2008, 04:53 PM

1,040 posts

If this is true then my next bill will be XXXX up... lol~

when i use wifi there is no 3G icon just the wifi icon only... I disable the 3G while using wifi... but after i close the wifi connection then a "E" icon will appear what is that E for? can any of u guys help?

This post has been edited by butthead012: Oct 16 2008, 04:56 PM
markchan
post Oct 16 2008, 04:56 PM

Enthusiast!!!!!
2,382 posts

From: Malacca(KgLapan), Selangor(SungaiLong), KL(PuduRaya)

E - Edge

butthead012
post Oct 16 2008, 04:59 PM

1,040 posts

QUOTE(markchan @ Oct 16 2008, 04:56 PM)
E - Edge
sorry noob here, Edge will charge by Maxis as well? anyway to disable it?
saf
post Oct 16 2008, 05:04 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Oct 16 2008, 03:58 PM)
Was signed up with family plan lately , guess what happen in the 2nd month billing ... it just shoot me up with RM 200 ++ i was getting shock and inquire maxis center . After all they've told me that WiFi through maxis 3g postpaid ( family plan ) even though connected . Maxis will still charge for the usage . I was huh >?*&^%$  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif    zzzz  previously with prepaid it didnt even cost a cents and now .... weird .
Thinking to cancel the postpaid maxis plan and go for other network .
same thing happen to me..when i was using preapid wifi no charges suddenly used postpaid they charged me RM 300++.
babysmile
post Oct 16 2008, 05:07 PM

DiY da BesT
554 posts

QUOTE(butthead012 @ Oct 16 2008, 04:59 PM)
sorry noob here, Edge will charge by Maxis as well? anyway to disable it?
yo butthead,

The E represent there is Edge connection around.. So not to worry.. the phone still not saying they are using Edge connection.

If u use Bosspref then u can stop the Edge Service, yet the E still there . wink.gif
CooLeRthings
post Oct 16 2008, 05:25 PM

-=kidult=-
2,012 posts

that is the reason i subscribe unlimited data right b4 get iphone 3g
hassle free
as i know i gonna play with the phone a lot since is just new for me
till i get bored with the 3g thing
i just need to downgrade or terminate the service tongue.gif
g3n0c1d3
post Oct 16 2008, 05:29 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

QUOTE(CooLeRthings @ Oct 16 2008, 05:25 PM)
that is the reason i subscribe unlimited data right b4 get iphone 3g
hassle free
as i know i gonna play with the phone a lot since is just new for me
till i get bored with the 3g thing
i just need to downgrade or terminate the service tongue.gif
one great move... only pay 99/month than pay 200++ for nuthing....!!! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
alexio82
post Oct 16 2008, 05:46 PM

105 posts

same thing happended to me exactly, was charge RM30 on the 1st day i got my iphone 3G..i didt suspect anything n kept 'using' wifi happily ...

Then came the 6th day...maxis send a msg telling me that i've almost reach my limit of RM300. I was stunned & confused!! Damm vmad.gif

This thread came too late cry.gif
setoyo
post Oct 16 2008, 06:51 PM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

Just subscribe unlimited data + talk plan lor...

or use celcom powertools product.. (this is not for advertising just to inform)
google it..u know the charge but must have company first.. hehe...

Good luck..
Fighteden
post Oct 16 2008, 08:22 PM

Stark Industries
977 posts

ROTFL .. i guess TS learn his lesson (using bosspref) thru the hard way ..
TStayhaithian
post Oct 16 2008, 09:33 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(Fighteden @ Oct 16 2008, 08:22 PM)
huh ? been using it earlier just dont wanna shut off the 3G services .
lcwei85
post Oct 16 2008, 09:43 PM

118 posts

I face the same problem ,too.I decide to terminate the line after using it for 8 years .Many thing that other operator offer for free but Maxis need to charge this and that.
nokia2003
post Oct 16 2008, 09:59 PM

5,786 posts

i don't mean to add the suffering to you guys.

but just consider JB and install bosspref. when i was using it, 1 cents pun tak charge under internet usage.

i need bosspref because i like reading e-mails when i'm less occupied (and opening the mail app auto-connects to the network server by befault). e-mails are downloaded into my iphone via wifi when i'm getting ready for uni et cetera before leaving the house.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Oct 16 2008, 10:00 PM
feizaiII
post Oct 16 2008, 10:01 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

Change plan? MNP is there.. hehe

Same thing to me last month, but it cost me RM30 only.

Yes, under data charges.

This happen after i restore to fw2.1, and i forget install bosspref for few days, so Appstore, email keep update using operator.. hehe..
Fighteden
post Oct 16 2008, 10:26 PM

Stark Industries
977 posts

Digi .. always the smarter choice
TStayhaithian
post Oct 16 2008, 10:44 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(feizaiII @ Oct 16 2008, 10:01 PM)
Change plan? MNP is there.. hehe

Same thing to me last month, but it cost me RM30 only.

Yes, under data charges.

This happen after i restore to fw2.1, and i forget install bosspref for few days, so Appstore, email keep update using operator.. hehe..
MNP ?
setoyo
post Oct 16 2008, 11:03 PM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

Mobile Number Portability (MNP)

Added on October 16, 2008, 11:07 pmFrom my reading...
u can use ur number and can use any telco..
For example Ur number 019...
u wanna switch to Digi..
Just register at Digi with ur 019 number..

which allows mobile phone users to switch operators without the need to change their existing numbers

So ur friend will never lost contact with u..

but..but..
MNP had been on a limited live trial in the Klang Valley from Aug 29 (for prepaid users) and from Sept 15 (for postpaid users).

Resource: www.theedgedaily.com
Peace..

This post has been edited by setoyo: Oct 16 2008, 11:13 PM
butthead012
post Oct 16 2008, 11:24 PM

1,040 posts

so for example if i online using wifi do i still get charge if i off 3G and the E sign will off when i use wifi???

if confirm will charge i will stop using already, else i'm gonna change plan la... LOL~
LaskarCinta
post Oct 16 2008, 11:42 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(setoyo @ Oct 16 2008, 11:03 PM)
but..but..
MNP had been on a limited live trial in the Klang Valley from Aug 29 (for prepaid users) and from Sept 15 (for postpaid users).

Resource: www.theedgedaily.com
Peace..
nope u can do it NOW.

http://digi.com.my/switch/

u can switch either at Digi outlet or online.

Added on October 16, 2008, 11:43 pmhaha...digi even got new cartoon tv ad on the MNP thingy.
u can switch your prepaid too!
http://digi.com.my/switch/how.html

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Oct 16 2008, 11:45 PM
Superman7
post Oct 17 2008, 10:36 AM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(nikeshock @ Oct 16 2008, 04:48 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
no software to JB the i3G to disable it from auto switching to 3G when WiFi is out of range?

This post has been edited by Superman7: Oct 17 2008, 10:36 AM
setoyo
post Oct 17 2008, 11:01 AM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

QUOTE(MoNnY @ Oct 16 2008, 04:05 PM)
enable only when need to use lo.
thats what i'm doing now. alot of people kena di
time and time again we all ask u guys to install bossprefs and disable it to avoid this ma.
my maxis postpaid bill no issues..

Added on October 16, 2008, 4:06 pm

you'll never know. and in your case, it has.
QUOTE(babysmile @ Oct 16 2008, 05:07 PM)
yo butthead,

The E represent there is Edge connection around.. So not to worry.. the phone still not saying they are using Edge connection.

If u use Bosspref then u can stop the Edge Service, yet the E still there .  wink.gif
QUOTE(Fighteden @ Oct 16 2008, 08:22 PM)
QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Oct 16 2008, 09:59 PM)
i don't mean to add the suffering to you guys.
but just consider JB and install bosspref. when i was using it, 1 cents pun tak charge under internet usage.
i need bosspref because i like reading e-mails when i'm less occupied (and opening the mail app auto-connects to the network server by befault). e-mails are downloaded into my iphone via wifi when i'm getting ready for uni et cetera before leaving the house.
QUOTE(Superman7 @ Oct 17 2008, 10:36 AM)
no software to JB the i3G to disable it from auto switching to 3G when WiFi is out of range?
Read through the thread and u will find it.... Bosspref

How to get it?
Get it from Cydia

How to get Cydia?
Jailbreak ur iphone

Correct me if im wrong..
Peace
rx330
post Oct 17 2008, 01:05 PM

11,811 posts

digi got 3G?
anubis47
post Oct 19 2008, 10:05 PM

137 posts

TS,
if u don plan to jb ur phone, mayb u can go this way, it works for me. ( same exp as u las time, rm100+ for edge connection out of no reason) vmad.gif vmad.gif

Under Setting-> General-> Network ->Cellular Data Network
type DISABLE or anything under ur APN, USERNAME n PASSWORD. It will show error if ur phone "accidently" connect to edge or gprs. U can erase of the word if u wan to use the service.
Cheers biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by anubis47: Oct 19 2008, 10:07 PM
sHin0bi
post Oct 21 2008, 03:56 PM

360 posts

HAHAHA GO GO MNP!!!
SUSKyLe91
post Oct 23 2008, 08:34 PM

311 posts

my dad had similar problem, he thought he using maxis unlimited, but he havent register, i mean, they havent approved it, but he actually called to ask them to apply the package,
monthy bill came up to 1.5k!
then my dad called and argued, explain stuffs,
they wrote off the bill. smile.gif
syncronyzer
post Oct 23 2008, 09:48 PM

713 posts

QUOTE(anubis47 @ Oct 19 2008, 10:05 PM)
TS,
if u don plan to jb ur phone, mayb u can go this way, it works for me. ( same exp as u las time, rm100+ for edge connection out of no reason) vmad.gif  vmad.gif

Under Setting-> General-> Network ->Cellular Data Network
type DISABLE or anything under ur APN, USERNAME n PASSWORD. It will show error if ur phone "accidently" connect to edge or gprs. U can erase of the word if u wan to use the service.
Cheers biggrin.gif
this works very well surprisingly! Thanks! icon_rolleyes.gif

Else I will be telling my friends "Eh..don't press that..3G expensive... that also cannot!" hahahahha

SUSEVIC
post Oct 26 2008, 03:12 AM

Ouchh, my phone bill cost me RM5++ last two month!
malan
post Oct 28 2008, 02:20 AM

48 posts

I also facing this problem ...suddenly my bill shoot up to RM400....my normal bill is only RM80 as per my normal usage....now my line automatically barred ......it happen because i download software using wifi but the edge meter still run at the same time....
tauevo
post Dec 18 2008, 09:59 PM

230 posts

Hi, i would like to know more bout this. I use wifi to surf net with my iphone all the time. Everytime i done i will check the usage and see whether the cellular network data increased or not. Does it reliable?
Esqandare
post Dec 18 2008, 11:58 PM

140 posts

really need to be carefull..or ur will receive 'pedih bil'.. cry.gif ...anyway thanx info all...next time i will more carefull..
tauevo
post Dec 19 2008, 08:03 AM

230 posts

ic.. so now i need to check on my bill everyday by calling 123. listen to the robot lady on my bill statement. lol
LaskarCinta
post Dec 19 2008, 10:48 AM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(tauevo @ Dec 19 2008, 08:03 AM)
ic.. so now i need to check on my bill everyday by calling 123. listen to the robot lady on my bill statement. lol
mmm...as far as i know, the 'robot lady' only updates billing on 7pm daily. so there's no way to check exact usage on data each time u use other than data counter on the phone itself.

dunno if only now it can be checked immediately on 123. already ported my maxis number to digi. got blood sucked for very long time already.
CooLeRthings
post Dec 19 2008, 11:45 AM

-=kidult=-
2,012 posts

unlimited data plan rox~
hassle free
montly fees RM 98 + RM 50 call plan + tax around RM 5
end up RM 153 every month, which i think still ok ~
still thinking should i downgrade to RM 68 data plan o not
the stupid 3G service not too fast in KL also =..=
any way, Celcom really expand their 3G coverage, like seriously!
my hometown ulu place have 3G setup recently
then tat time i went to pulau pangkor, i can pick up some 3G in certain area!!!
iphone maps save me for the direction from KL to Lumut
lucky got unlimited data plan so i can turn on the maps n put the direction biggrin.gif
frequency
post Dec 19 2008, 12:09 PM

我要挑战十个!
2,567 posts

Yeah.
I have use bosspref

turn off 3G turn off Edge but the E icon is still there...

I now even put the invalid username for data network... for safety purpose.
TripleH
post Dec 19 2008, 12:32 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(frequency @ Dec 19 2008, 12:09 PM)
Yeah.
I have use bosspref

turn off 3G turn off Edge but the E icon is still there...

I now even put the invalid username for data network... for safety purpose.
the E icon will always be there unless u call up your telco to disable it. Then it will hilang from you phone.

Using bossprefs or sbsettings will disable the edge connection. You can check if your edge connection is off by launching safari browser ah. If see error connection msg, then is off lor.
TeK_KeN
post Dec 19 2008, 12:38 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

QUOTE(tauevo @ Dec 18 2008, 09:59 PM)
Hi, i would like to know more bout this. I use wifi to surf net with my iphone all the time. Everytime i done i will check the usage and see whether the cellular network data increased or not. Does it reliable?
yay hail to reviver!
frequency
post Dec 19 2008, 01:23 PM

我要挑战十个!
2,567 posts

I am not that lucky also

Just received my bill
Maxis Mobile Internet / Maxis Mobile Internet
17/11/08-16/12/08 GPRS/EDGE/3G 5,978KB 50.29

@.@ duno whoever pinjam my phone play wif the 3G.(google map perhaps) with switch on the 3G back...

Maverick Wil
post Dec 19 2008, 02:18 PM

303 posts

I've suddenly got some PMs regarding this topic since this thread resurfaced again. hehe... so I'm here to remind you again to read through the MiPUG and the other pinned threads throughly when you can especially if you're new to the iPhone.

Solution for Data Charges problem has already been detailed quite clearly in MiPUG ( http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281 ) Section B, #1.

Thanks guys.
jaybee
post Dec 19 2008, 03:22 PM

77 posts

setting > general > Usage ?>> Sent and receive

if those hit 1mb = RM10 and if those hit 10mb = RM100 that if u r not on the unlimited data.

so be smart..only surf and check mail with free wifi.

i learnt it the hardway. scored RM500 in my phone bill but gome RM150 reduction on wutever family plan ....so it's only RM350... dunno wut's family plan or wutever. dun care. just pay less then im ok.
Baronic
post Dec 19 2008, 04:54 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(Maverick Wil @ Dec 19 2008, 02:18 PM)
I've suddenly got some PMs regarding this topic since this thread resurfaced again. hehe... so I'm here to remind you again to read through the MiPUG and the other pinned threads throughly when you can especially if you're new to the iPhone.

Solution for Data Charges problem has already been detailed quite clearly in MiPUG ( http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281 ) Section B, #1.

Thanks guys.
closed

0.0276sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:56 PM