About the NDSi games in future?, Region locked

RAMChYLD
post Oct 23 2008, 12:16 AM

1,715 posts

The Register already confirm that DSi is region-locked, but will run any NDSL games.

Considering that DS firmware can be reflashed without even modding the device, I predict DSi will probably be the same and shops that can "unlock" DSi with hacked firmware to remove region lock will become commonplace. Then it's the same arms race like Sony PSP vs modders. Either that or "reflash kits" to change firmware will become common (the current DS' firmware can be reflashed using a passme and by shorting a contact via a small hole near the battery. If Big N use same system for DSi, then it'll be a piece of cake to reflash).

Of course laa, if the hack comes true, use the hack wisely. Only run import games, dun do piracy biggrin.gif

For me, if I have to get a DSi, I'd not mod, but import from US using NCSX or some other online shop, since I mostly interested in US games.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Oct 23 2008, 12:20 AM
RAMChYLD
post Oct 24 2008, 12:01 AM

1,715 posts

no need import~lah... it'll be available in MY.

Yah, but which version, and is it modded? I dun want modded one, and I want NTSC/UC model. Can get?

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Oct 24 2008, 12:08 AM

0.0144sec    1.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:10 AM