New Tweak For Almost All WM Devices, simple yet powerful little tweak !

TSold newspaper
post Oct 14 2008, 04:49 PM, updated 17y ago

if it ain't broke, don't fix it !
1,245 posts

GOOD NEWS FOR ALL WINDOWS MOBILE USER ! brows.gif

Brief intro :
Most of you guys heard of NetCF 1.0 / 2.0 / 3.5 right?. For those who are not sure here is the brief about it;

Most of the cooked rom is cooked in with this netCF3.5 so you guys must be asking.....so what are the benefit of NetCF 3.5? Read here;

For your info, most of WM's stock rom is using netCF2.0 ! sweat.gif That's why those who are using cooked rom noticed the overall speed and performance gained over the stock rom. By just installing netCF 3.5 over stock rom WILL NOT gain any benefit out of it because this will not override the default netCF2.0 in the system. It's just merely reside in the system and let you install netCF3.5 written application to be install in your device e.g Auto Configurations Tools 3.2 etc etc .......

You need to 'instruct/tell' your system to use this netCF3.5 to really unleash it power! That's what this tweak is all about.

All you need is only 'this' little tool to the job and of course the netCF3.5 file, that's it ! Both are made in cab file for easy installation. Just copy both file to your device and install from your device. No hard reset / soft reset required !! and good news is this will not do any harm to your system rclxm9.gif

YOU WILL ENJOY 'CLOSE' TO THE SPEED AND PERFORMANCE OF COOKED ROM WITHOUT NEED TO FLASH ONE! brows.gif

Here's the file you need;

Here's some screenshot;

Compatible Devices:
Basically all Windows Mobile devices. This has been tested on WM6/WM6.1. VGA/QVGA compatible!

Credits goes to Microsoft NetCF Team, LYN, Google, fellows Touch Pro's owner and bro Baronic whom tested this earlier. I'm just a compiler for this little tweak icon_rolleyes.gif

Donations
Please donate your feedback in this forum by using the following format;

Device : [ HTC Touch Pro ]
ROM : [ 1.90.707.4 WWE / Stock ROM / WM6.1 ]
Your Feedback :

Pls remember to share your feedback, doesn't matter whether it's good or bad. This will be helpful to this community.Thank you and enjoy! icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by old newspaper: Oct 15 2008, 08:07 AM
TSold newspaper
post Oct 14 2008, 04:50 PM

1,245 posts

reserved
TSold newspaper
post Oct 15 2008, 08:19 AM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(ashburn98 @ Oct 14 2008, 10:35 PM)
If bro Baronic gives the thumbs up, my TNTY2 can certainly use the extra speed.

Just copy both file to your device and install from your device. No hard reset / soft reset required !! and good news is this will not do any harm to your system.

That's all I need to do? What is the chances of a total nub messing it up? tongue.gif
yes , that's all you need to do and it won't mess up your system too!

QUOTE(ahnien @ Oct 14 2008, 10:50 PM)
b4 installation, how to check the current installed .NetCF version.
cant seems to find any signs or info in all the corners...

or mayb it isnt installed. hehe tongue.gif
using cooked wm6.1

from wher i dled my rom, it said NET Compact Framework 3.5.7283.0
is pre-installed. is tat it?

so now i jus follow ur steps n walalalala  icon_idea.gif
this tool is also meant for you to check what version of NetCF installed in your system too...

QUOTE(RoMa_84 @ Oct 15 2008, 02:10 AM)
This seems like a wonderful thing. Read the first thread twice and still don't get what the heck it means. Bet i can't tell the difference even after doing it as well.

Anyway, just to make things clear - I can just directly install it even though i never flashed my ROM before? And how can i undo it?
i'd try my best to explain it in a very simple layman term d sweat.gif if you are using stock rom, you will definitely notice the difference! [in terms of system responsiveness ] give a try and it WILL NOT mess up your system...and you can simply uninstall it from the system easily if you don't like it. anyway, i don't see any reason to uninstall this little wonderful tool icon_rolleyes.gif
TSold newspaper
post Oct 15 2008, 09:50 PM

1,245 posts

to answer all your queries, here's the q&a dialog from Microsoft;

Q: Which versions of the device OS are supported by NETCF 3.5?
A: Windows Mobile 2003 For Pocket PC (both first and second editions), Windows Mobile 5.0 (all flavors), Windows Mobile 6 (all flavors), Windows CE 4.2 (AKA Windows CE .Net), Windows CE 5.0, Windows Embedded CE 6. Windows CE is a customizable OS and must include NETCF V 3.5 dependencies in order to run NETCF V 3.5. Contact your device OEM to find out if particular OS has them.

Q: What is the size of NETCF V 3.5 on device? Can I install NETCF V 3.5 on to storage card to save space?

A: NETCF V3.5 needs about 6.5 MB of storage space (depends on the device). NETCF V3.5 can be installed on to the storage card. About 1.2 MB (depends on device) is required on the main storage for that configuration, rest would be located on the storage card.

Q: I have other versions of NETCF installed (or in ROM). Do I have to remove them in order to install NETCF V3.5?
A: There’s no need to uninstall previous versions as NETCF V3.5 is side by side with older version. However one might choose to uninstall previous versions in order to save storage space on devices. Note you cannot uninstall NETCF version which is located in ROM nor would it save any storage space (because ROM versions are located in ROM and not in the storage).

Q: After NETCF V3.5 is installed, will older application automatically use it?
A: No. Applications would use version of the NETCF they are initially compiled for if this version is available for maximum compatibility. If older version is not available on particular device then application will be promoted to NETCF V 3.5. It is also possible to configure particular application (or all applications) to use NETCF V3.5 automatically.

Most of Touch Pro user reported [include myself] that after using this tool, it help faster load of certain program such as words, excel, snappier start menu and so on.

Note : this tools has been downloaded over 50+ times d [ as of time of writing ] and yet only few give their feedback sweat.gif

this tweak isn't new, it's just that i realize nobody notice this. i'm just take my initiative to share this goodies with you guys as a contribution to LYN Pda forum.... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by old newspaper: Oct 15 2008, 10:04 PM
TSold newspaper
post Oct 17 2008, 07:58 AM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(bioweapon83 @ Oct 16 2008, 08:27 AM)
Apps like contacts, calendar, word, ppt, excel, opera loads faster compare pre installation.
QUOTE(marauderz @ Oct 16 2008, 11:27 PM)
I'm not seeing any real improvements overall, afaik I'm not using any .net cf programs.
thanks for your feedback guys! rclxms.gif mind to share what device and rom you guys using as references here? thanks icon_rolleyes.gif
TSold newspaper
post Oct 18 2008, 11:39 PM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(badaksab @ Oct 18 2008, 07:45 PM)
Installed and tested for a day... Tf3D scrolling have improved. However the lag post wake up is still there but not so noticeable... yet to try with gaming or apps...
thanks for your feedback! pls do update us on your gaming and application experience too ya icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(Shin1022 @ Oct 18 2008, 09:02 PM)
thanks a lot!!!

Added on October 18, 2008, 9:03 pmgood stuff!!!!
glad that it work for you ! rclxms.gif do you mind to share your device type and rom that you're using? thanks ya... icon_rolleyes.gif
TSold newspaper
post Oct 20 2008, 08:26 AM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(dgtel2 @ Oct 19 2008, 12:11 AM)
Device : Samsung i780
.Net ROM : 2.0.7045.0
PDA ROM : HH1

After adopting the .Net ROM 3.5.7283, noticed the followings:
1) fring start-up +50% faster
2) contacts +25% faster
3) Opera Mobile 9.5 Build 2392 start-up +25% faster
4) Garmin Mobile XT 5.00.20w start-up +25% faster

Noticed also AppToDate is installed which linked to donald.modaco.com to download apptodate.cab file. What gives?
thanks for your feedback thumbup.gif

QUOTE(mych @ Oct 19 2008, 03:35 AM)
Wonder why Microsoft does not announce this upgrade for WM device officially
yes, Microsoft does announce this officially....it's called 'powertoy'. this application is among one of the application included....it's just nobody care what Microsoft do.....all pda user tend to refer 99% of their issue/discussion in XDA-Developer but not the OS creator itself [Microsoft] hmm.gif

QUOTE(ahnien @ Oct 19 2008, 09:54 AM)
most wm6.1 does comes in embeded with the latest net cf version, if im not wrong...
but we dont have the tool that TS provide to utilize it.....
only cooked rom is cooked with the latest NetCF3.5 in the rom not the stock rom [ even Touch Pro's default is the old NetCF2.0 ] sweat.gif
TSold newspaper
post Oct 21 2008, 08:55 AM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(Dyna-Storm @ Oct 20 2008, 10:17 AM)
Yo can anyone please upload the files somewhere else like on megaupload etc?

I'm having problems with rapidshare, says I'm downloading a file when I didn't

Thanks in advance biggrin.gif
Megaupload link;

NetCF3.5 cab - http://www.megaupload.com/?d=XZ7ZRX5M

NetCF Config Tool - http://www.megaupload.com/?d=GS5OZ2F4

icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(ahnien @ Oct 20 2008, 02:02 PM)
"powertoy"... LOL-ed biggrin.gif
dun play play oh....it's really 'Power' toys ! lol
TSold newspaper
post Oct 22 2008, 08:17 AM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(Pip_X @ Oct 21 2008, 03:28 PM)
I've tried on my phone.
Before this, averagely I need to soft reset once per day.
After this "tweak" I now need to soft reset thrice per day average.
Yay!.
bro, do you mind share what device and rom you're using? could you tell us why you need to soft reset so many times? this is the first time someone reported such issue after using this tweak......anyway thanks for your feedback.

as up to date, here's the statistic of the file has been downloaded;

only few share their feedback..... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by old newspaper: Oct 22 2008, 08:45 AM
TSold newspaper
post Oct 23 2008, 06:18 PM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(Pip_X @ Oct 23 2008, 10:20 AM)
I'm using Sammy i780, currently on official GH1 ROM. Soft reset because i have few application on todayscreen that run off from the storage card (SPB Insight and SPB diary with 900++ SMS and counting, is the main cuprit!)
Well, it's ok. I finally have the excuse/reason to make time to hard reset/reflash the phone to a modded ROM again.
ic, i thought the main culprit is this tweak...... sweat.gif

thanks you guys for your feedback ! rclxms.gif

TSold newspaper
post Oct 23 2008, 10:41 PM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(ahnien @ Oct 23 2008, 09:44 PM)
diao.... my atom life... now installed with wm6.1 + touchflo 2d ssooo soo soo smooth... smile.gif thumbup.gif

thx for the tweak smile.gif

i really wonder... wat will happen to the smmoooooothnessss.... if i flash back to wm6.1 lite(no fancy stuffs)
yeah baby... you'r so smoooothhh  tongue.gif
i'm enjoying the smooothness baby
diao....what is that?

anyway, thanks for your feedback and glad it did work out for you.....enjoy your smoothiesss icon_rolleyes.gif
TSold newspaper
post Oct 24 2008, 10:25 AM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(Orycets @ Oct 24 2008, 10:01 AM)
Thanks for the people who create this stuff (Tweak) it works.. my HTC pro now work smoothly. I never soft reset again. i don,t run too many application at once, so it rarely hang.
credits to no other than Microsoft NetCF Team......welcome and join us in HTC Touch Pro LYN's Official Thread....more discussion on fine tuning your TP icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(callmepaper @ Oct 24 2008, 10:04 AM)
i will agree with marauderz (hey, r u from MIND? you know serena yeoh?).
newer .NET F/CF version will improve in certain ways and usually major improvement on performance and security issues than prior version. ONLY apps running off CF can see the different, and you will hardly be able to notice the different without using benchmarking tools. some commented opera runs faster which i doubt opera was written in .net.
yes, that's the purpose of this tool, to further improve NetCF written application.

here's the chart to explain it...

QUOTE(Baronic @ Oct 24 2008, 10:10 AM)
sorry but i just had to say this. lol at callmepaper  and old newspaper usernames
both have some sort of chemistry with paper....lol
TSold newspaper
post Dec 26 2008, 03:12 PM

1,245 posts

thank you guys for your feedback rclxms.gif

@sur3wyn - as far as i know, the netCF 3.5 is the latest one available......where's the source of the new netCF? mind to share.....so i can package it in a cab file for you guys for easy installation.. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSold newspaper
post Dec 29 2008, 02:07 PM

1,245 posts

This application MUST be installed in the internal memory to fully utilize the usability..... icon_rolleyes.gif
TSold newspaper
post Dec 31 2008, 08:30 AM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Dec 30 2008, 03:13 PM)
the .NET is 6MB in total

my internal memory left 2MB only... haha im on a dated dopod model leh smile.gif

i was also asking what applications will benefit from this, or generally the whole windows ?
Net CF3.5 cab file size which i provided should be around 2.6mb

Net CF3.5 Config Tool cab file size which i provided should be around 31.2kb

NetCf based application should be benefits out of this and in some cases, the overall system responsiveness especially with stock rom user

QUOTE(phylem_hao @ Dec 30 2008, 10:53 PM)
I think it depends on which version of WM and ROM in use, no solid evidence to proof what applications benefit, it might be a split second faster and human eye cannot detect the difference. And that's why also, TS is gathering users' testimonials. But since you don't have the space to install it, better to use it as it is and when got chance, upgrade to another device then do modding.
true.....with stock rom you'll see improvement, with cooked rom it's only marginal as NetCF3.5 most probably already cooked in the rom......

but for the serious performance upgrade, pagepool tweak is the one that give the real deal....

thanks you guys for your feedback / comments !
rclxms.gif
TSold newspaper
post Jan 15 2009, 09:57 AM

1,245 posts

just to add another tips for those using this utility;

remember to reapply [ not reinstall ] the netCF3.5 frequently by simply choose the netCf3.5 from the drop down menu and click apply.

this will help to maintain the performance / speed of your device constantly ! brows.gif
TSold newspaper
post Jan 23 2009, 10:24 AM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(RoMa_84 @ Jan 22 2009, 11:33 AM)
Frequently? As in the net thingy usually returns to the old one?

Another thing is, i'm using the latest diamond rom. How to know if it's still running on netCF2.0 or already changed?
probably just reapply once a week or at least once a month....this is what i always do and it did maintain my device performance consistently, no the netCF will not return to the old one....

just install this utility and you'll be able to see what version of netCF is running in the system....

icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0841sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:31 AM