7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

New Tweak For Almost All WM Devices, simple yet powerful little tweak !

TSold newspaper
post Oct 14 2008, 04:49 PM, updated 17y ago

if it ain't broke, don't fix it !
1,245 posts

GOOD NEWS FOR ALL WINDOWS MOBILE USER ! brows.gif

Brief intro :
Most of you guys heard of NetCF 1.0 / 2.0 / 3.5 right?. For those who are not sure here is the brief about it;

Most of the cooked rom is cooked in with this netCF3.5 so you guys must be asking.....so what are the benefit of NetCF 3.5? Read here;

For your info, most of WM's stock rom is using netCF2.0 ! sweat.gif That's why those who are using cooked rom noticed the overall speed and performance gained over the stock rom. By just installing netCF 3.5 over stock rom WILL NOT gain any benefit out of it because this will not override the default netCF2.0 in the system. It's just merely reside in the system and let you install netCF3.5 written application to be install in your device e.g Auto Configurations Tools 3.2 etc etc .......

You need to 'instruct/tell' your system to use this netCF3.5 to really unleash it power! That's what this tweak is all about.

All you need is only 'this' little tool to the job and of course the netCF3.5 file, that's it ! Both are made in cab file for easy installation. Just copy both file to your device and install from your device. No hard reset / soft reset required !! and good news is this will not do any harm to your system rclxm9.gif

YOU WILL ENJOY 'CLOSE' TO THE SPEED AND PERFORMANCE OF COOKED ROM WITHOUT NEED TO FLASH ONE! brows.gif

Here's the file you need;

Here's some screenshot;

Compatible Devices:
Basically all Windows Mobile devices. This has been tested on WM6/WM6.1. VGA/QVGA compatible!

Credits goes to Microsoft NetCF Team, LYN, Google, fellows Touch Pro's owner and bro Baronic whom tested this earlier. I'm just a compiler for this little tweak icon_rolleyes.gif

Donations
Please donate your feedback in this forum by using the following format;

Device : [ HTC Touch Pro ]
ROM : [ 1.90.707.4 WWE / Stock ROM / WM6.1 ]
Your Feedback :

Pls remember to share your feedback, doesn't matter whether it's good or bad. This will be helpful to this community.Thank you and enjoy! icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by old newspaper: Oct 15 2008, 08:07 AM
TSold newspaper
post Oct 14 2008, 04:50 PM

1,245 posts

reserved
Baronic
post Oct 14 2008, 08:21 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

Good stuff. i personally can attest to its usefulness.

This post has been edited by Baronic: Oct 14 2008, 08:27 PM
ashburn98
post Oct 14 2008, 10:35 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

If bro Baronic gives the thumbs up, my TNTY2 can certainly use the extra speed.

Just copy both file to your device and install from your device. No hard reset / soft reset required !! and good news is this will not do any harm to your system.

That's all I need to do? What is the chances of a total nub messing it up? tongue.gif
ahnien
post Oct 14 2008, 10:50 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

b4 installation, how to check the current installed .NetCF version.
cant seems to find any signs or info in all the corners...

or mayb it isnt installed. hehe tongue.gif
using cooked wm6.1

from wher i dled my rom, it said NET Compact Framework 3.5.7283.0
is pre-installed. is tat it?

so now i jus follow ur steps n walalalala icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by ahnien: Oct 14 2008, 10:50 PM
RoMa_84
post Oct 15 2008, 02:10 AM

192 posts

This seems like a wonderful thing. Read the first thread twice and still don't get what the heck it means. Bet i can't tell the difference even after doing it as well.

Anyway, just to make things clear - I can just directly install it even though i never flashed my ROM before? And how can i undo it?

TSold newspaper
post Oct 15 2008, 08:19 AM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(ashburn98 @ Oct 14 2008, 10:35 PM)
If bro Baronic gives the thumbs up, my TNTY2 can certainly use the extra speed.

Just copy both file to your device and install from your device. No hard reset / soft reset required !! and good news is this will not do any harm to your system.

That's all I need to do? What is the chances of a total nub messing it up? tongue.gif
yes , that's all you need to do and it won't mess up your system too!

QUOTE(ahnien @ Oct 14 2008, 10:50 PM)
b4 installation, how to check the current installed .NetCF version.
cant seems to find any signs or info in all the corners...

or mayb it isnt installed. hehe tongue.gif
using cooked wm6.1

from wher i dled my rom, it said NET Compact Framework 3.5.7283.0
is pre-installed. is tat it?

so now i jus follow ur steps n walalalala  icon_idea.gif
this tool is also meant for you to check what version of NetCF installed in your system too...

QUOTE(RoMa_84 @ Oct 15 2008, 02:10 AM)
This seems like a wonderful thing. Read the first thread twice and still don't get what the heck it means. Bet i can't tell the difference even after doing it as well.

Anyway, just to make things clear - I can just directly install it even though i never flashed my ROM before? And how can i undo it?
i'd try my best to explain it in a very simple layman term d sweat.gif if you are using stock rom, you will definitely notice the difference! [in terms of system responsiveness ] give a try and it WILL NOT mess up your system...and you can simply uninstall it from the system easily if you don't like it. anyway, i don't see any reason to uninstall this little wonderful tool icon_rolleyes.gif
marauderz
post Oct 15 2008, 09:33 AM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

It should only affect the performance of .Net CF programs, so if you use a lot of them you'll see a performance boost.
ashburn98
post Oct 15 2008, 09:44 AM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

I'm doing it right now and certainly looking forward to some performance gain. What kind of performance gain are we looking at?

QUOTE(marauderz @ Oct 15 2008, 09:33 AM)
It should only affect the performance of .Net CF programs, so if you use a lot of them you'll see a performance boost.
examples of .Net cf progs?

This post has been edited by ashburn98: Oct 15 2008, 09:45 AM
marauderz
post Oct 15 2008, 10:32 AM

3,390 posts

Errr... hard for me to say.. off my head I know of some RSS readers, twiter clients and games that run on .Net CF.

but basically the core apps are still mostly in Native code so this tweak doesn't help those from the way it's explained.

But... it shouldn't hurt if you applied it, although if you ran a .Net CF program and it complained about version problems (reqs 2.0 instead of 3.5) you'll have to reset it back to automatic.
sniper69
post Oct 15 2008, 12:40 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

Device : [ HTC TyTN II]
ROM : [ 3.29.707.0 WWE / Stock ROM / WM6.1 ]
Your Feedback : frankly speaking, i don't really know how to test doh.gif laugh.gif
TSold newspaper
post Oct 15 2008, 09:50 PM

1,245 posts

to answer all your queries, here's the q&a dialog from Microsoft;

Q: Which versions of the device OS are supported by NETCF 3.5?
A: Windows Mobile 2003 For Pocket PC (both first and second editions), Windows Mobile 5.0 (all flavors), Windows Mobile 6 (all flavors), Windows CE 4.2 (AKA Windows CE .Net), Windows CE 5.0, Windows Embedded CE 6. Windows CE is a customizable OS and must include NETCF V 3.5 dependencies in order to run NETCF V 3.5. Contact your device OEM to find out if particular OS has them.

Q: What is the size of NETCF V 3.5 on device? Can I install NETCF V 3.5 on to storage card to save space?

A: NETCF V3.5 needs about 6.5 MB of storage space (depends on the device). NETCF V3.5 can be installed on to the storage card. About 1.2 MB (depends on device) is required on the main storage for that configuration, rest would be located on the storage card.

Q: I have other versions of NETCF installed (or in ROM). Do I have to remove them in order to install NETCF V3.5?
A: There’s no need to uninstall previous versions as NETCF V3.5 is side by side with older version. However one might choose to uninstall previous versions in order to save storage space on devices. Note you cannot uninstall NETCF version which is located in ROM nor would it save any storage space (because ROM versions are located in ROM and not in the storage).

Q: After NETCF V3.5 is installed, will older application automatically use it?
A: No. Applications would use version of the NETCF they are initially compiled for if this version is available for maximum compatibility. If older version is not available on particular device then application will be promoted to NETCF V 3.5. It is also possible to configure particular application (or all applications) to use NETCF V3.5 automatically.

Most of Touch Pro user reported [include myself] that after using this tool, it help faster load of certain program such as words, excel, snappier start menu and so on.

Note : this tools has been downloaded over 50+ times d [ as of time of writing ] and yet only few give their feedback sweat.gif

this tweak isn't new, it's just that i realize nobody notice this. i'm just take my initiative to share this goodies with you guys as a contribution to LYN Pda forum.... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by old newspaper: Oct 15 2008, 10:04 PM
dadarouch
post Oct 15 2008, 10:38 PM

(´;ω;`)
2,920 posts

hail old newspaper. a new sifu in PDA-land

long live old newspaper! tongue.gif

Baronic dun angry. hahahaha~
bioweapon83
post Oct 15 2008, 11:45 PM

1,201 posts

Thanks bro. Definitely feel the difference.
ahnien
post Oct 16 2008, 12:38 AM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(bioweapon83 @ Oct 15 2008, 11:45 PM)
Thanks bro. Definitely feel the difference.
erm... can be more specific on the difference tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ahnien: Oct 16 2008, 12:39 AM
Baronic
post Oct 16 2008, 08:17 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(ahnien @ Oct 16 2008, 12:38 AM)
erm... can be more specific on the difference  tongue.gif
eg : soft reset, all my icons (and i have a lot of icons, games and apps) all load faster
bioweapon83
post Oct 16 2008, 08:27 AM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(ahnien @ Oct 16 2008, 12:38 AM)
erm... can be more specific on the difference  tongue.gif
QUOTE(Baronic @ Oct 16 2008, 08:17 AM)
eg : soft reset, all my icons (and i have a lot of icons, games and apps) all load faster
Apps like contacts, calendar, word, ppt, excel, opera loads faster compare pre installation.
marauderz
post Oct 16 2008, 11:27 PM

3,390 posts

I'm not seeing any real improvements overall, afaik I'm not using any .net cf programs.
TSold newspaper
post Oct 17 2008, 07:58 AM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(bioweapon83 @ Oct 16 2008, 08:27 AM)
Apps like contacts, calendar, word, ppt, excel, opera loads faster compare pre installation.
QUOTE(marauderz @ Oct 16 2008, 11:27 PM)
I'm not seeing any real improvements overall, afaik I'm not using any .net cf programs.
thanks for your feedback guys! rclxms.gif mind to share what device and rom you guys using as references here? thanks icon_rolleyes.gif
RoMa_84
post Oct 17 2008, 02:46 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Oct 17 2008, 02:58 AM)
thanks for your feedback guys!  rclxms.gif mind to share what device and rom you guys using as references here? thanks  icon_rolleyes.gif
Device: HTC Diamond
ROM : 1.93.7.707.1 WWE/Stock ROM/WM 6.1

I don't know what to test too. The significant changes are no lags at all since I installed it ( eg during browsing photos, running many applications at once and switching between applications ). Another thing is while running some of my games at 70% memory usage (whole day without soft reset), some games do lag but now the memory leak issue doesn't seem to affect the phone performance at all. I still soft reset once a day though.

Not sure whether this tweak has anything to do with it directly but thumbup.gif it works, i guess. Thanks.

This post has been edited by RoMa_84: Oct 17 2008, 02:48 PM

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:07 PM