DVVT vs VVT-i vs VTEC vs i-DSI comparison
ZeroSP
Oct 13 2008, 09:17 PM

Mine L15A VTEC... Small V only.. By the way, Vios and City VTEC almost same fuel consumption.... roughly 400-420 km. And VIOS has DOHC, yet hp is lower than CITY SOHC, and lose when City can engage 7 speed manually. Try out Moon's EK9 or all sorta VTEC in Civic club.. All monsters lolz...
ZeroSP
Oct 13 2008, 09:55 PM

How much is a B16B now anyway?
ZeroSP
Oct 14 2008, 02:08 AM

Oh.. Seriously I don't quite know... But I understand mine is nothing but just a little thing. That's why I also eager to listen... Sorry if I offended you with my noob statement earlier... Paiseh...
This post has been edited by ZeroSP: Oct 14 2008, 02:09 AM
ZeroSP
Oct 14 2008, 03:11 AM

To Travies, about VTEC, I think I can, or most people will know it is the best N.A technology out there. Although some may argue Mivec but from much forum that I read, VTEC/i-VTEC>Mivec and all other N.A. Yes.. the 12V on normal cruise I know, 16V only utilized when 4k rpm above, usually achieved in S mode, or 7 speed tip-tronic manually. In the city guide, it somehow says 4k is the VTEC power zone, it does have a louder sound but still ok la... It's not like the real VTEC out there, it just goes faster. In my notice, 1st gear can get to 65km/h if rev up to 5800rpm, which is the max HP level of my city. It's better than Vios and those 1.6 proton. And I heard that most people out there says that the ordinary VTEC kick in feelings is better than the i-VTEC? Reference: http://asia.vtec.net/Reviews/VTECCityPrev/index.htmlThis shows some of my explanation, and much of yours correct points. This post has been edited by ZeroSP: Oct 14 2008, 03:36 AM
ZeroSP
Oct 14 2008, 09:48 AM

Of course I don't race Mivec, I know the L15A power level. I am not looking down on non-VTEC cars either, because my brother Satria GTI 4g93 mod-ed high cam also that powerful that took down Mivec before. And I am just telling according to most of the automobile forum, thier discussion will most likely conclude VTEC is the best N.A. No offense ya... I am not a vehicle engineer, I just read through and try to understand what I can.
About Sylphy, apparently the figure is slightly less than i-DSI, which claim to be around 430km for a tank, but with a 2.0 engine, some say its because thier really new technology, and also low HP as a 2.0 if you compare the 2.0 to Honda or Toyota 1.8 or even 1.5... But can tell you from the test drive I got before, the Nissan CVT is not really that smooth as City one.
This post has been edited by ZeroSP: Oct 14 2008, 09:55 AM
ZeroSP
Oct 14 2008, 10:29 AM

L15A still lose to D15B by the way, L15A 110PS D15B 130PS and B16B 175PS. Let's see what's in AVTEC in the coming 3 years.
Definitely... B16 is another story than L15... And Campro and CPS, even the Lotus Manager will tell it is 10 years back technology when my dad went for Lotus Exige S. And my brother knew the engineer of Campro and CPS, Campro is fixed cam profiling which the engineer said nothing much, while CPS it's like they modified it into 2 set of fixed valve timing to provide better low end torque, no lifting for CPS and Campro. And that engineer says, "CPS and Campro are old tech la, but still Ok if it is on Manual Transmission"
This post has been edited by ZeroSP: Oct 14 2008, 10:31 AM
ZeroSP
Oct 14 2008, 04:24 PM

If only I heard wrong from the engineer than I may be wrong... Lotus is an engineering company, they don't have their own engine but they have all the research and technology. Such as the Lotus Exige S, Elise... They are using Toyota 1.8 VVT-i engine for Elise, and for Exige S, they supercharge it. And the ultra light weight and super handling Lotus chassis. So that indeed Campro and CPS they say only Cam Profile Switching, no lifting. Believe it or not, Proton claims that Waja CPS 125PS, but yet on the road they still lose to 110PS L15A.
ZeroSP
Oct 14 2008, 04:56 PM

Can give the link to that dyno? Sphiroth driving CPS Waja?
ZeroSP
Oct 15 2008, 12:25 AM

Ok... Since I am making so much noob statement here... I just don't know how to explain then... Anyway, thanks sphiroth for the link. And to imperial, I have to respect whatever you say.. But what I test is just what I say bout the CPS vs L15, and City dun have that much transmission lost because don't have the torque converter... So forgive me everyone if you all cant take my noob statement.
This post has been edited by ZeroSP: Oct 15 2008, 12:28 AM
ZeroSP
Oct 15 2008, 12:48 AM

What's your 0-100 timing sphiroth? From the video, its like 10-11 secs...
ZeroSP
Oct 16 2008, 04:29 AM

CVT 7-speed... The CPS that I run is Waja... I used the manual mode anyway...