Checking iPhone Refurbished or New, To check whether iPhone received is new

TSchrisl_57
post Oct 13 2008, 01:06 PM, updated 18y ago

I have seen many iPhone being sold on lyn & there are many questions on whether you are getting new iPhone or refurbished iPhone or what is the age of the phone. This will help determine the date of manufacture of iPhone too.

The information is as follows:-

Okay everyone, after shopping around for an iPhone, I have noticed something over and over again. Many people sell their iPhones claiming it to be "NEW" are actually refurbished iPhones. Here are the things to look out for if the item is refurbished:

Honest sellers will say if the phone was refurbished because refurbished iPhones come with a box that's completely white. On the white box, it will say "Apple Certified". Chances are if the seller doesn't have a box for the iPhone, there is a strong chance that they purchased the phone as a refurbished unit from Apple's online store or from AT&T's online store.

Most importantly, ASK FOR THE SERIAL NUMBER before buying the iPhone!

Well why would it matter? First off, for MOST of Apple's products, especially the iPhone, the serial number will start with a 5K. If the serial number starts with that for an iPhone, then it's guaranteed to be refurbished.

New iPhones have either a 7k or 8k. The 4th digit of the serial number means the week of the year it was manufactured. So for an example, if it's 8k801xxxxx then it means the phone was produced it was manufactured the first week of 2008. 7k745 would mean that the iPhone was manufactured on the 45th week of 2007.

Also just so everyone knows, Apple will not honor the warranty if you have an "unlocked" phone. It's very hard to obtain support for the phone if you can't provide the receipt. It is possible, but difficult because "unlocking" is breaking Apple's TOS.

When an iPhone has been unlocked, the total usage time for the phone has also been cleared out. So the true way to determine how old the phone is, is to ask for the serial number. If the seller isn't willing to give out the full serial number, it's fine. As long as it includes the first 5 digits!
I purchase a iPhone 2G 16GB on Oct 2 with the first 5 characters as follows - 88818 which meant that the phone is non-refurbished and manufactured on week of May 01 2008. The phone is about 5 months old!

rx330
post Oct 13 2008, 01:10 PM

11,811 posts

can get 3G refurbished unit meh?
TSchrisl_57
post Oct 13 2008, 01:12 PM

QUOTE(rx330 @ Oct 13 2008, 01:10 PM)
can  get 3G refurbished unit meh?
Some bought this from US and sell them as new. iPhone returned to Apple are sold as refurbished. In Malaysia we get iPhone from many countries.

rx330
post Oct 13 2008, 01:15 PM

11,811 posts

ohhh, so apple itself sell it refurbished?
why is it return? but how do apple sell it refurbished? with a new AT&T contract?
TSchrisl_57
post Oct 13 2008, 02:45 PM

QUOTE(rx330 @ Oct 13 2008, 01:15 PM)
ohhh, so apple itself sell it refurbished?
why is it return? but how do apple sell it refurbished? with a new AT&T contract?
Normally they sell it in Apple's own Store where they will mark this as refurbished. There are some in US getting 'new' phone that is actually refurbished. In US you can return the phone within 14 days or 30 days if you do not like it & get a refund. The one I bought in KL is not refurbished but it is 2 months older than stated by seller. There could be many who just buy the phone, use for a few days or weeks and decided to return the phone. Apple will clean it, test it & package this under refurbished products. There are many companies doing that in US and you can buy these products at very big discount - Apple included.
g3n0c1d3
post Oct 13 2008, 02:52 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

in this case.... ive asked lots of iphone sellers...(in klang valley) and to my suprise, they didnt even know where the iphone come from....
mostly they unlock it using turbosim and such... and the price... owww my God.... u can buy another iphne with tht kind of money

and wht make me laugh a lot is.... some of the seller said n i quote... "its from US and its unlock by apple" how could tht be possible...?? maybe they know apple is from US and try to fool us by saying that....

and dont know which country u get ur iphones frm? geesh.... u only sell n dont know the product....??? as i was saying... do careful when buying things from this hanphone sellers....

but i dont think sellers frm lowyat.net got any problems with tht rite?

well... just to say be careful when buying frm someone u dont know...
rx330
post Oct 13 2008, 02:53 PM

11,811 posts

u bought an US set?
g3n0c1d3
post Oct 13 2008, 02:55 PM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Oct 13 2008, 02:53 PM)
u bought an US set?
who? me? no.... i do some survey in klang valley area.... most of them dont know where the phone come frm... thts whts worries me alot....

hmm.gif
rx330
post Oct 13 2008, 03:01 PM

11,811 posts

opps, tat Q is for chris
g3n0c1d3
post Oct 13 2008, 03:15 PM

6,497 posts

notted!

bjkhan
post Oct 13 2008, 09:31 PM

178 posts

most sellers don't even know what they selling, if you ask them can transfer file using bluetooth, they answer can...i wonder

the most common one, "from US can official unlock......"
butthead012
post Oct 13 2008, 11:00 PM

1,040 posts

I dunno about 2g but iphone 3g is ok... unlocked sets are covered as far as i know...
g3n0c1d3
post Oct 14 2008, 12:01 AM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(bjkhan @ Oct 13 2008, 09:31 PM)
most sellers don't even know what they selling, if you ask them can transfer file using bluetooth, they answer can...i wonder

the most common one, "from US can official unlock......"
yup.... n ive seen a jailbroken iphone 2g sells for 2k++, n its still in its old firmware.... aiyesh.... gimme a break la...
doh.gif

0.0142sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:20 AM