Stock market V16, Greed when people fear!

mtsen
post Oct 28 2008, 08:58 PM

1,473 posts

I sense a technical rebound coming today ( mid week ) and aiming on IOICorp, Tenaga, MAA ( earn 5% in 1-2 days).... anyone think I should not ?
mtsen
post Oct 28 2008, 11:11 PM

1,473 posts

sounds like nowadays good for intra day trade in USA ?

Added on October 28, 2008, 11:12 pm
QUOTE(dreams_achiever @ Oct 28 2008, 11:10 PM)
I expect DJ will close in green in expectation of higher rate cut.
And will have temporary rebound before collapsing to touch its support level at 7.8K.  cool2.gif
i heard the cut is ZERO now isn't it ? point of no return .... cann't wait to see what's next ...

This post has been edited by mtsen: Oct 28 2008, 11:12 PM
mtsen
post Oct 29 2008, 08:06 AM

1,473 posts

alamak ... that means i am late liao ...
mtsen
post Oct 30 2008, 12:16 AM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 29 2008, 09:39 PM)
Like that, one's portfolio will be full of loser counter, while those make gain one already sold off much earlier.
Good strategy?  blink.gif

No offence, just see the illogical part of selling when gain little while lose time, hold the stock. Can't mix with short term and long term. If one is aiming for short term or as a punter, you sell disregard of gain or loss, as once hit your limitation or target, you sell as it is meant for short term in the first place, turning a short term speculation counter into long term holding when making wrong decision is one of the worst strategy which is common mistake made by retailers.
No offence to anyone.  smile.gif
cheroy, this is the part we deviate from 'fundamental investment' and going for 'fun' and 'excitement'. Afterall, earning 2% in intraday trade is equivalent to 700% annual return. its almost like gambling in genting.

the only thing I need to do is to make sure I win at least 6 trades out of 10 then usually i still can break even at 15% compound return in long term.

however, the time I lost 9 trades out of 10, is the one I will need to take 2-3 years to recover from that lost.

so I only leave 5% of my portfolio for this kind of 'fun' smile.gif

Added on October 30, 2008, 12:19 am
QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Oct 30 2008, 12:11 AM)
When oil prices + lower interest rates scenario arises, it is time for the next bull run. Right now the market is heading towards a painful recession for a few quarters but the combined effects will stage the greatest bull run ever along with HYPER inflation.

And yes, DOW will trade sideways for few months after a bear market rally, and within a year or so, we might see a slow climb upwards.
My favorite sectors right now are commodity, energy, and retailers.

Added on October 30, 2008, 12:15 amI have a hunch that the Japanese government will reduce its IR to 0 due to the current rapid yen appreciation.
so fast can have bull meh ? I thought will continue to stay low for at least one more month ?

This post has been edited by mtsen: Oct 30 2008, 12:19 AM
mtsen
post Oct 30 2008, 12:34 AM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Oct 30 2008, 12:31 AM)
Congestion trading after a bear market rally. The dow will trade sideways before the bull market. The bear market will last 12 months minimum.
so what to do within these 12 months ? forex ? commodity ?
mtsen
post Oct 30 2008, 10:49 AM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(Lng @ Oct 30 2008, 10:45 AM)
wah, IOI so green ah. CPO price go up a lot meh or just another bear trap?
i think today is sell ioi day lor ... technical rebound almost finish lor ...

sorry sorry, above was refer to those who buy on tuesday ... in long run now ioi is still at very attractive buying price geh smile.gif

This post has been edited by mtsen: Oct 30 2008, 10:50 AM
mtsen
post Oct 30 2008, 11:18 AM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Oct 30 2008, 11:16 AM)
Hello guys,

You can meet me and a lovely OSK FBR @ OSK HQ at the time listed below
Date: November 8th 2008
Time: 12 pm - 2 pm

I will be talking about strategies on FX, Futures and US stocks. And Miss Joanne will answer questions on account openings and margins @ OSK.

got free chicken also kah ? smile.gif

Added on October 30, 2008, 11:19 am
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Oct 30 2008, 11:11 AM)
Yes, i use to say that. No one is perfect mah.

You said not to buy IOI, but I also bought 10 lots ( a lot greedy ), high risk is involved.

Overall, you are still my SIFU, THAT IS A FACT.
when did u buy ?

This post has been edited by mtsen: Oct 30 2008, 11:19 AM
mtsen
post Oct 31 2008, 09:26 AM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Oct 31 2008, 08:22 AM)
Go IOI go ...

Amaran : Buy at your own risk ! Shall not be blamed for any possible loss.

Nikkei down 3%.
u still have meh ? I would have sold all yesterday ...
mtsen
post Oct 31 2008, 09:46 AM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Oct 31 2008, 09:31 AM)
1000 shares are not a big risk to hold. Afterall, buy back at higher price  needs to pay for more comm.

The bear temp is having a short holiday.
oh yes yes, sorry ... at this time of year all I can think off is speculation only ... omg ...
mtsen
post Oct 31 2008, 10:57 AM

1,473 posts

Adam, KLSE 800s is the lowest it can get meh ? I would have thought can "easily" drop lower in months to come ?
mtsen
post Oct 31 2008, 12:34 PM

1,473 posts

hee hee, cherroy no eye see and no comment liao ? kee kee kee ....
mtsen
post Oct 31 2008, 10:25 PM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 31 2008, 02:32 PM)
If I tell you should, then if the price gone up afterwards, then will you shoot me?  biggrin.gif

Take it this way, if one person tells you should sell now at 4.50, then indeed it goes down to 4.20 afterwards, then you will thank him/her for the advice. But if at 4.20 then afterwards, it goes up RM5.00, then you might shoot him because telling you to sell.  biggrin.gif

No offence. That's why we don't recommend people buy and sell. As there is no definite answer for this kind of question. It can be right on certain day, it can be wrong on certain day with the same advice as above example.
i agree with the principal except the last part, I keep telling ppl this and that, as long as i got to shoot ppl more than 6 times and only get shot 4 times then i survive one time more than I die ... hee hee hee ...

but yes, kind of unfair that those messages misled a lot of ppl geh ... but this is the stock thread mah, full of speculation, one must learn what to believe and what not lor ...

Added on October 31, 2008, 10:27 pm
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Oct 31 2008, 04:59 PM)
Cash is king for the time being.

The wave is strong, better do not swim .
build a BIGGER boat lah ...

This post has been edited by mtsen: Oct 31 2008, 10:27 PM
mtsen
post Nov 1 2008, 12:59 PM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 1 2008, 10:45 AM)
Wall Street like McCain more than Obama because,

if not mistaken.

Obama proposed raising capital gain tax from 15% to 20%
McCain proposed lowering capital gain tax from 15% to 10%

It will have significant on Wall Street and traders in Wall Street.

While Obama proposed raise tax on various aspect especially for upper incomer and rich, to tackle high deficit.
While McCain proposed lower tax across to spur spending, just like what Bush is doing now.
but I think in long term obama's policy will stabilize ( or normalize ) USA economy and bring almost-direct finance benefit to this part of the region - Asia.

the last time this happened in England, the outflow goes to USA ... so this time, the rich from USA should come to Asia gua ...

I am betting big on Obama so that USA can never recover and we Asia get the benefits hee hee hee ... its about time ... I say.

Added on November 1, 2008, 1:02 pm
QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Nov 1 2008, 12:55 PM)
If you guys want to lose some money, now is the time to trade. In 10 minute, DJIA can go up from +220 to +30 and then back up to +140.

Remember, these volatility periods are for PRO traders only with sophiscated computerized trading programs. Do not attempt to beat them using buy/sell orders only.
aren't we think we are all PRO when we trade ... kee kee kee, let's go for some coffee or beer lah ... its weekend ....

This post has been edited by mtsen: Nov 1 2008, 01:02 PM
mtsen
post Nov 1 2008, 04:59 PM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(dreams_achiever @ Nov 1 2008, 04:53 PM)
True. Next week will be another volatile market.
Payroll and consumer credit data will be out.
AIG, AMBAC, Fannie(these companies been categorized as biggest failure from subprime issue) results will be out.
So guys beware dun fall into bear trap. Sell on every rally strength biggrin.gif

Btw, there is one question that i have:
Since subprime issue causing credit crunch / liquidity -> is there any possible of consumer credit debt / boom will cause another round of crisis?
Or bottom is already here? Time to buy?
for accumulation, start buying, keep buying but not stop buying yet biggrin.gif
mtsen
post Nov 3 2008, 09:44 AM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(rayloo @ Nov 3 2008, 09:17 AM)
Want to ask your opinion, do you think the little bull is temporary ? I am considering whether should take this chance to offload my Resorts and buy it at lower price later.

I think no strong fundamental to support the bull, just some little good news...
if holding for long term, can start buying now and no need to 'cut loss'.

if want to speculate, I would have sold last friday, this week aiming for us election after spill effect, also speculating a tiny hike in mid-end week.
mtsen
post Nov 3 2008, 09:57 AM

1,473 posts

many times ppl ask me to buy maybulk but it never falls under my radar as my impression is it doesn't have fundamentals ... anyone can share some why we 'must buy' this for 'long term' ?
mtsen
post Nov 3 2008, 09:34 PM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Nov 3 2008, 01:10 PM)
WARNING:

Cut all short FKLI positions, all currencies / usd short positions.

Mother of all bear rallies approaching.

Reason being Obama will win, and there will not be any more recount mess 4 years ago. The uncertainty factor has diminished over the week.

BUY COMMODITES STOCK, LONG CARRY TRADES

u think Obama win will crash USA Market ?
mtsen
post Nov 3 2008, 09:37 PM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Nov 3 2008, 08:16 PM)
Read below:

http://www.cnbc.com/id/15840232?video=916033446&play=1

Obama vs McCain: Who's Better for the Markets?

Obama is the better able to bring about the changes that the financial markets need, says Eugene Ludwig, CEO of Promontory Financial. But Ron Ianieri, chief markets strategist at the Options University disagrees. They make their case to CNBC's Martin Soong.
Obama put in long term fixes and benefit mores - the poors
Cain continue existing system - the rich gets richer.

its a vote of fate for the rich or the poor smile.gif

the world trend seems to moving toward the poor - which I think is a transform of communism - like UK now.

0.0485sec    1.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:20 AM