Need Help: Connecting Ps3 with Maxis Unlimited 3G

TSwizard83
post Oct 10 2008, 09:53 AM, updated 18y ago

133 posts

Hi guys...

I am using maxis 3G unlimited to online, and i do not have a router... My PC has an additional network card and i am using VISTA.. I would like to ask how do i need to configure my settings so that i can play online with my PS3.. I am too broke for a USB modem router...

Thanks in advance
unrealweapon
post Oct 10 2008, 09:56 AM

it's painful.
865 posts

QUOTE(wizard83 @ Oct 10 2008, 09:53 AM)
Hi guys...

I am using maxis 3G unlimited to online, and i do not have a router... My PC has an additional network card and i am using VISTA.. I would like to ask how do i need to configure my settings so that i can play online with my PS3.. I am too broke for a USB modem router...
Thanks in advance
how do u use maxis 3g on ur pc? USB 3g modem or ?
TSwizard83
post Oct 10 2008, 09:59 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(unrealweapon @ Oct 10 2008, 09:56 AM)
how do u use maxis 3g  on ur pc? USB 3g modem  or ?
Using my trusty Motorola Razr2 V9....
unrealweapon
post Oct 10 2008, 10:00 AM

it's painful.
865 posts

QUOTE(wizard83 @ Oct 10 2008, 09:59 AM)
Using my trusty Motorola Razr2 V9....
connected via a special cable to ur pc ?
or wifi ?
TSwizard83
post Oct 10 2008, 10:01 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(unrealweapon @ Oct 10 2008, 10:00 AM)
connected via a special cable to ur pc ?
or wifi ?
Special Cable smile.gif
unrealweapon
post Oct 10 2008, 10:09 AM

it's painful.
865 posts

QUOTE(wizard83 @ Oct 10 2008, 10:01 AM)
Special Cable smile.gif
my suggest is u get a usb wifi dongle... i got it for RM55.

refer to the thing here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...dpost&p=9779824

it's a Nintendo forum but i tried b4 on PS3 and it works.. u can even use it to make ur laptop/pc as a media server (tversity) with this tiny dongle which looks like a flash drive

[i dunno how to do this][theoretically]
or set a cross cable from ur pc to ps3, share the internet connection.using bridge connection btw the 3g and lan connection..

This post has been edited by unrealweapon: Oct 10 2008, 10:11 AM
TSwizard83
post Oct 10 2008, 10:22 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(unrealweapon @ Oct 10 2008, 10:09 AM)
my suggest is u get a usb wifi dongle... i got it for RM55.

refer to the thing here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...dpost&p=9779824

it's a Nintendo forum but i tried b4 on PS3 and it works.. u can even use it to make ur laptop/pc as a media server (tversity) with this tiny dongle which looks like a flash drive
[i dunno how to do this][theoretically]
or set a cross cable from ur pc to ps3, share the internet connection.using  bridge connection btw the 3g and lan connection..
I think you got me wrong... I don't have problems connecting to the Internet using the special cable to my Phone Modem.....
I am asking how do i actually set up the connection between my internet connection and Lan connection. As from what i checked there are several ports that need to be forwarded ?
unrealweapon
post Oct 10 2008, 10:26 AM

it's painful.
865 posts

QUOTE(wizard83 @ Oct 10 2008, 10:22 AM)
I think you got me wrong... I don't have problems connecting to the Internet using the special cable to my Phone Modem.....
I am asking how do i actually set up the connection between my internet connection and Lan connection. As from what i checked there are several ports that need to be forwarded ?
i know u dun have connection problem...

i was thinking u are gonna direct connect ur phone-> ps3 but i dun think that's possible

so my idea was to use PC as an internet gateway to ur PS3 by wifi(dongle) or cross cable to ur PS3 and bridge internet(3g) with the lan connection..

TSwizard83
post Oct 10 2008, 10:28 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(unrealweapon @ Oct 10 2008, 10:26 AM)
i know u dun have connection problem...

i was thinking u are gonna direct connect ur phone-> ps3 but i dun think that's possible

so my idea was to use PC as an internet gateway to ur PS3 by wifi(dongle) or cross cable to ur PS3 and bridge internet(3g) with the lan connection..
Planning for cross cable.. but i need to know how to set the port forwarding and stuff since i do not owned a router

unrealweapon
post Oct 10 2008, 10:36 AM

it's painful.
865 posts

QUOTE(wizard83 @ Oct 10 2008, 10:28 AM)
Planning for cross cable.. but i need to know how to set the port forwarding and stuff since i do not owned a router
err... try ur phone manual ?

usually port forwardings are done on the router modem..
TSwizard83
post Oct 10 2008, 10:46 AM

133 posts

Nope nothing there.
colt_508
post Oct 10 2008, 12:54 PM

Baru masuk darjah satu (^_^)Y
8,194 posts

i think broadband 3G useless wif PS3....
if yes, i would brought 3G long time ago..

try asking playstation 3 thread for new owner....
either broadband 3G compatible wif PS3...

Borneo928
post Oct 10 2008, 02:17 PM

417 posts

edit : wooops! wrong post sorry tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Borneo928: Oct 10 2008, 02:18 PM
TSwizard83
post Oct 10 2008, 02:19 PM

133 posts

hmm wat happen to ur reply ... i was looking at it... and its okay....... why remove it sad.gif

This post has been edited by wizard83: Oct 10 2008, 02:20 PM
CoLiNJvC
post Oct 10 2008, 02:34 PM

158 posts

hey...

I've tried be4 using the cross cable and i manage to get the connection.

1st, go to "Network Connections"
2nd, right click "HUAWEI3G.Maxis3G" and click "Properties"
3rd, go to "Advanced" and tick "Allow other network users..." box under the "Internet Connection Sharing" secton and choose "Local Area Connection" for "Home Networking Connection"
4th, the 2 other boxes below no need tick and press OK
5th, connect your pc online with USB modem first.
6th, connect your ps3 and your pc with a cross lan cable
7th, in your ps3, go to "Network Settings" and establish the wired connection settings.
8th, restart your ps3 and you're able to see you have sign in to PSN

Added on October 10, 2008, 2:38 pmI didnt use any portforwards. Just normal connection sharing setting only.

Added on October 10, 2008, 2:41 pmaikss.. just realize you not using 3G Broadband... lol. Well.. i done my connection using 3G Broadband... so... GOOD LUCK!! smile.gif

This post has been edited by CoLiNJvC: Oct 10 2008, 02:41 PM
TSwizard83
post Oct 10 2008, 02:50 PM

133 posts

Yea sad.gif Hmm wonder whats the different between Maxis Broadband and Maxis 3G =.=
CoLiNJvC
post Oct 10 2008, 02:57 PM

158 posts

but it does work with the cross cable... just i donno how to connect your 3g phone to the pc 1st... and allow your pc online using the 3g phone.
TSwizard83
post Oct 10 2008, 03:05 PM

133 posts

Lol i can allow my PC to connect using my Phone....

I am asking more to how do i pratically share my connection for the ps3 to use... Any settings i need to set for the ps3 ... I saw something regarding NAT2 and NAT3 ...
Borneo928
post Oct 10 2008, 04:27 PM

417 posts

sorry dude took it off earlier just now, didnt realize that u were using phone, this instruction is for usb modem but i hope it works on yours, give it a shot. and again credits to wan_d7

oh..i've just read it. haha. ok bro here is how i do it. 1st thing first i use vista. and right now i'm away from my PC so thing is based on what i remember.
1. you need a cross cable to connect between ps3 and pc.connect your USB as usual to your PC.

2. Go to manage network connection. right click ur 3g network(the huawei thing) and check on the properties. go to sharing tab and check those check box. i think the just 1st check box is needed,but i do check them both. this to make sure ur pc allow ICS(internet connection sharing).

3.then right down there's a thing in underline say bout ICS right?just click it and choose what service you want to share with your ps3, ie http,https bla bla.

4. now,right click on the Local area connection,check on properties.

5.look for the TCP/IP ver4,and click properties.

6. set up the ip as 192.168.0.2 and the default gateaway is.....i don't remember. but it should be ok if 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.0.2.

7.now,you switch on ur ps3. go to network setting. listen,i usually choose easy mode since my USB modem will always give a dynamic IP everytime it's restarted. so i guess i should do the same to my ps3

8.you can also choose custom. i choose custom but still i choose everything on auto. and the DCHP is not set.

9.i set the MTU 1364, as i heard that it does better.

10. after that,don't test the connection. you see the top menu in the network setting(i forgot the name ), and wait until all the IP pop up and watch for the NAT type. if it's failed,u gotta figured it out again. if it's ok,try login. if it's error,if it's DNS error,reconfigure ur setting again. if the error is "problem occur. you're sign out from PSn bala bla" that's Sony problem. you just keep on trying. or try browsing. that's it.

i hope it work i may tell u if i missed anything.k.
tell me ur prob i can slightly help.

This post has been edited by Borneo928: Oct 10 2008, 04:31 PM
trexdotcom
post Oct 10 2008, 04:56 PM

28 posts

i think u can buy a zte modem and put the sim card into the modem.
but need to pay lah.

or try to search the free wifi from neighbor. kekeke

0.0171sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:40 AM