PS3's $399 Price 'Simply Too Steep,' says Analyst, What do you think?

anasri1987
post Oct 8 2008, 02:27 PM

Well, there are better things to spend on like paying your mortgages for a roof over your head than for a console. The real world is really different to just games.

However, there are news on the road that due to the credit crunch, people may actually spend more on games as they are a cheaper alternatives to going to clubs and drinking. Nevertheless, we will have to see if the situation improves.

Bluray? Not yet. Even Sony admits that it is still a long way to go even though they have won the format wars. Now there is a new battle with downloadable HD content. Hard drives are cheaper than the disc though.
acougan
post Oct 8 2008, 02:34 PM

590 posts

yes, during recession times, ppl do sometimes go for entertainment products to "leave the real world behind"

its just that Wii function best with normal old TV, the other 2 products function best with HDTV and online connection.

so the middle-class feeling the slowdown with likely get a Wii or just stick with PS2 slim or DVD player.
snipersnake
post Oct 8 2008, 03:12 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

if cant afford, try fishing. once you get a fish, try selling it. gather money, then buy ps3. viola!
gundamalpha
post Oct 8 2008, 03:16 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Oct 8 2008, 02:18 PM)
Can you read mind?
Joking only mah biggrin.gif Although I am a L9 Newtype though, better evasion and accuracy, plus longer range attacks (poison playing Robot Wars Z)

Serious note, we won't know the real answer until someone can come up with a price elasticity data for consoles on current market conditions.

This post has been edited by gundamalpha: Oct 8 2008, 03:20 PM
TSlightning69
post Oct 8 2008, 03:39 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Oct 8 2008, 03:16 PM)
Joking only mah  biggrin.gif Although I am a L9 Newtype though, better evasion and accuracy, plus longer range attacks (poison playing Robot Wars Z)

Serious note, we won't know the real answer until someone can come up with a price elasticity data for consoles on current market conditions.
So i see you have taken a few economics classes...not bad.
gundamalpha
post Oct 8 2008, 03:49 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Economics was my major back then biggrin.gif
technophile
post Oct 8 2008, 04:10 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

personally. i never trust all these analyst's point of views. they dunno nothing when it comes to gaming world.

i remember when PS1 was about to launch, these so called "experts" are saying how sony doesn't have what it takes to take on traditional game industry players like Sega and Nintendo.

and when PS2 was about to launch, they are mooting about how packing in a built in DVD player function will grab consumer's attention.

dun get me started about what they say about PS3, Xbox, 360 and even Wii!

all those article space should be dedicated to helping out the community IMHO instead of wasting it just like that by them.
Gahleon
post Oct 8 2008, 04:28 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Oct 8 2008, 03:16 PM)
Joking only mah  biggrin.gif Although I am a L9 Newtype though, better evasion and accuracy, plus longer range attacks (poison playing Robot Wars Z)

Good for you,My SRW Z still haven't arrive from playasia...
Shipped since Sep 25.
gundamalpha
post Oct 8 2008, 04:32 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(Gahleon @ Oct 8 2008, 04:28 PM)
Good for you,My SRW Z still haven't arrive from playasia...
Shipped since Sep 25.
I used Fedex, cannot tahan so long for Robot Wars cool2.gif
esca_flo
post Oct 8 2008, 06:15 PM

just learned how to do custom title today.....
770 posts

tak pe aku kaya , 399 usd too steep ? kalau tk mampu jgn main game. senang cerita.
gundamalpha
post Oct 8 2008, 06:20 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(esca_flo @ Oct 8 2008, 06:15 PM)
tak pe aku kaya , 399 usd too steep ?  kalau tk mampu jgn main game. senang cerita.
Like I said before, it's not about affordability
Zeliard
post Oct 9 2008, 01:47 PM

286 posts

Ms has got tons and tons of $$ to spend, and they can afford not to earn from hardware sales. They have spent billions on RROD, especially on the extension of the 3-year warranty. They spend millions to pursue exclusives, and god knows how many millions to pay Sony for SE's breech of exclusivity. Heck, they even pay Rockstar 50m just for DLC.
For each Xboxes sold, MS lost $126.

Fact of life, not to flame any fanboys.

And they say money isn't everything.......
komputer
post Oct 9 2008, 02:59 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(anasri1987 @ Oct 8 2008, 02:27 PM)
However, there are news on the road that due to the credit crunch, people may actually spend more on games as they are a cheaper alternatives to going to clubs and drinking. Nevertheless, we will have to see if the situation improves.
How true. I stopped clubbing and used that on games instead. However I tried doing both this month (hence broke)

gundamalpha
post Oct 9 2008, 03:24 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Oct 9 2008, 01:47 PM)
Ms has got tons and tons of $$ to spend, and they can afford not to earn from hardware sales. They have spent billions on RROD, especially on the extension of the 3-year warranty. They spend millions to pursue exclusives, and god knows how many millions to pay Sony for SE's breech of exclusivity. Heck, they even pay Rockstar 50m just for DLC.
For each Xboxes sold, MS lost $126.

Fact of life, not to flame any fanboys.

And they say money isn't everything.......
I can't see the point of your argument here.. It has nothing to do with PS3's price perceived as being too steep.
Zeliard
post Oct 9 2008, 03:40 PM

286 posts

And why is that so? The simple reason why 360 is cheaper than PS3 is because they are selling way below production cost. Sony could not keep up with MS' frequent price cut.

http://www.joystiq.com/2005/12/28/xbox-360...ts-715-to-make/

http://www.videogaming247.com/2008/08/22/r...-cut-this-year/
Kyoyagami
post Oct 9 2008, 03:55 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

When its mentioned steep, you wanna have the feeling to tell you

"hey, this console looks nice. Great games, not bad graphics yadda yadda".

Such an impression is brought up by the price. The steepness doesn't make it feel so.

In another way also, if Sony does their research right, they know the world wants a mega price drop that rocks their socks off. Because its a Sony.
Dinghydoggy
post Oct 9 2008, 04:12 PM

83 posts

I think it's crap. In the end, the peripherals and games cost so much more than the console.

It's not the price. It never really was. It was the selection of games. But with a stronger library for the PS3, things are looking up.

M$ knew that games are the one that sell the console, not the console's price or gimmicks or whatever. That's why they throw money at developers to secure titles for their platform, hence the staggering amount of Sony exclusives going multiplatform (meaning X360/PS3 - let's face it, Wii is going off into a totally different direction). I mean, four syllables: FFXIII.
Zeliard
post Oct 9 2008, 04:24 PM

286 posts

Yes, I couldn't have put it better myself. ^^
gundamalpha
post Oct 9 2008, 04:56 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

The last time I checked, MS are selling their consoles close to break even after taking in the replacement into consideration. And all those money paid for developers? There's no evidence suggesting this except in GTA4's case, the rest are just rumors.

And the whole point of the thread isn't XBox 360 vs PS3 to begin with, it's the perception of the $399 price tag as being steep. And majorities of those perceiving this way aren't you and me, or many other gamers who have bought one, they are the parents and non high tech gadget savvy gamers.
Kyoyagami
post Oct 9 2008, 04:58 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Cudn't agree with gundamalpha more.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0192sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:13 PM