Runnerz... #2

bubb13s
post May 18 2009, 11:19 AM

339 posts

hi guys,

i recently got addicted to running. i'm considering to replace my existing nike shox running shoes.
i've been looking at new balance shoes recently but i'm not sure what type is good.
i saw some light weight NB shoes (they are really really light). I'm tempted to get them.

what are your comments on light weight shoes as compared to the non light weight ones?

bubb13s
post May 18 2009, 11:53 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(metalfreak @ May 18 2009, 11:28 AM)
I guess the non light weight ones are those that will have more cushioning materials. These would help with the shock/impact on the road.

I guess those will be good for you as you just started running alot.
Light ones, probably for those fast runners who prefers lighter shoe biggrin.gif Doesn't weigh down their feet. but of course, not as much shock absorbers stuff.
QUOTE(ccube @ May 18 2009, 11:30 AM)
If u are new to running, dont ever go for light weight shoes that had very little support and cushioning.  Go for something more cushioning and give you good support.  A lot of runners are illiterate and thot that when a light running shoe is a good running shoe.  Totally wrong.  In fact it may give you more harm and creating injury as you run.  Let me knowif you are interested to look at Saucony as I am selling the brand in MY.
QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ May 18 2009, 11:38 AM)

Hi there newbie  icon_rolleyes.gif

The reason the shoes are lightweight shoes is because there is significantly less cushioning in these shoes
Lightweight shoes are more often then nt, nt recomended for everyday training..
Lightweight shoes are used only for say, speed workouts? once a week fartlek or tempo training?
Some oso use it for race days only..

If you are talking abt shoes for everyday training like mebbe alternating between 5km, 8km, 10km during weekdays and the occasional 20km LSD.. do look into getting a proper pair of trainers as you'll learn to appreciate the provided cushioning..

There are I am sure a million brands as you know to look at as well as types..
But the most important to look at would be does it suit your foot type?

**Aiks, thought me post before metalfreak and ccube, sorry for the repeated info then
thanks guys for the comment. alright then...i'll go for the non light weight ones then.
yeah...i need the watever support i can get for my feet as i seem to have an arch problem.
planning to run on ground and also at the gym as well. so i'll go check out the shoes later.

thanks for all the feedback. very much appreciated.
bubb13s
post May 18 2009, 12:04 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ May 18 2009, 11:58 AM)

Do you know your foot type; under pronator? over pronator?
Hv you done the wet feet test?

Meebe you should do the wet feet test first, show us then our resident shoe man can share his recomendation with you..
have not done the wet feet test. guess i'll the test and post it here

thanks guys~!
bubb13s
post May 21 2009, 05:42 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ May 21 2009, 12:43 PM)
I'm running with the Pacesetters on Saturday. w00t cant wait biggrin.gif
i tot wanna go wan...but me no member...need to be member before can join?
bubb13s
post May 21 2009, 06:13 PM

339 posts

no limit to how many ppl can go with u?
bubb13s
post May 22 2009, 09:23 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ May 21 2009, 06:47 PM)
bubb13s,
I dont think so. But everybody hv to pay entry fee - RM5 per head smile.gif
u running the 10k? tempted to go and try out the 5k.
i'll let u know soon if i'm joining u.
bubb13s
post May 26 2009, 12:01 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(metalfreak @ May 23 2009, 05:19 PM)
hhhm..I asked the new balance shop fellas about the pain of my fore feet...seems like its not because of the arch...may be shoe problem aih =(.

Plan to hit the gym on tomorrow till Tuesday. then run on Weds...
Anyway.....GU gel..1 for RM8 mahal~
hey metalfreak...
i wanna ask u ar...which NB shop did u go to ar? the person u consulted was a shoe specialist or sumthing?
cos i would like to scout around for a new pair of running shoes and i'm considering NB.
i need some proper advice on suitable shoes for my feet.
bubb13s
post May 26 2009, 12:43 PM

339 posts

i suspect that i have under pronated feet. i'm yet to do the wet foot test.
but i read online, it says that the wet foot test is not very accurate as it does determine the way we walk etc.
since there are soooo many shoe models and brands out there....and i'm unsure of which one is suitable.
knowing that those sport shops out there, mostly have just crappy sales people that knows nothing abt shoes and feet type (i'll be trying almost every pair on their shelves)

ccube - wat models available for women? i might consider them too...

tengster- probably one weekend i'll try to drop by bb plaza and see. thanks~!

bubb13s
post May 26 2009, 02:18 PM

339 posts

metalfreak - i went to the N Concept in IOI mall. Those fellas there has got no freaking idea on suitable types of shoe. And the sales person kept on bringing me the wrong size.... shakehead.gif i also heard that 1utama NB ppl will look at your feet first then advising the suitable shoe.

tengster - my existing shoe is wearing out at the outer side of the shoe. thus this makes me an underpronator. at certain angles of my foot, i get jabbing pain at the arch area. needing a good pair of shoes is VERY important.

ccube - thanks for the shoe models. i'll google it. thanks~!
bubb13s
post May 27 2009, 02:33 PM

339 posts

guys...
here's my wet foot test.

consults needed. smile.gif

This post has been edited by bubb13s: May 27 2009, 02:38 PM
bubb13s
post May 27 2009, 02:39 PM

339 posts

hahaha
drapes in a running thread???? soooooooo off man~!
(i made em myself anyway blush.gif )

akibat din see the pic folder properly

shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by bubb13s: May 27 2009, 02:40 PM
bubb13s
post May 28 2009, 10:16 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(kaiying @ May 27 2009, 09:19 PM)
sry.. i know nothing bout wet foot.. but i do have wet palms n cold feet.. dunno y..

anyways, anyone running ipoh international run this year? or siemens?
wet feet is a test to determine your foot type.

if u've got wet palms a cold feet...most likely triggered when u are excited/anxious. but not all ppl have this prob.
it is also a possible hereditary issue.
bubb13s
post May 29 2009, 02:42 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ May 29 2009, 01:40 PM)
left foot is OK, right foot seems to have a higher arch.  Neutral shoe will be fine, but ensure that the shoe have good arch support especially for your right foot. moderate stability may help too.
QUOTE(tengster @ May 29 2009, 01:59 PM)
ccube - do you think H10 is good for bubb13? What is your definition of neutral?
its very strange...the pain on the arch is on the left foot...
i'm still shoe hunting...
shoes fit my right easily as compared to the left one. foot angle maybe?

bubb13s
post May 29 2009, 03:20 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ May 29 2009, 02:50 PM)

Good luck with shoe hunting thumbup.gif it'll take a bit of time and sometimes you may feel you need two diff shoes on each leg tongue.gif

hahaha....yah...sometimes i feel like i need 2 diff shoes...but wont that be sooooo weird????????
i wonder if anybody does that..... sweat.gif
bubb13s
post May 29 2009, 03:44 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ May 29 2009, 03:26 PM)
eh bubb13s, if so complicated.. go get a mi-adidas from pavilion lah wink.gif

http://www.kennysia.com/archives/2008/08/miadidas.php
OMG....soooo cool....i'm soooo freaking broke....urgh~!
i would love to have a custom made shoe...that would solve all of my probs...... drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
bubb13s
post Jun 1 2009, 10:02 AM

339 posts

i just bought my new pair of running shoes yesterday...proud owner of a wave precision 9. thumbup.gif
i had problem deciding which pair should i buy....cos the wave rider 12 is perfect for the left...and the wave precision 9 was perfect for the right..........
so i decided based on which one was more gentle on the wallet.....i ended up with the wave precision 9. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

gonna test run my shoes today....wooohoooooo
eventhough my legs are still painful....urgh
bubb13s
post Jun 1 2009, 01:19 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(wyyew @ Jun 1 2009, 11:47 AM)
hi, the shape and men health run can get form from where ??? I m interested .thank you.
u can get it from here http://www.shape.com.my/
there will be a pic on the run...just click it..u will be able to download the form.
u can register online as well.
bubb13s
post Jun 1 2009, 02:25 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 1 2009, 01:55 PM)
bubb13s,
did you get 30% discount? brows.gif
the shoe was already on 30% discount.
damn worth it man~!
cant wait to test run them.

This post has been edited by bubb13s: Jun 1 2009, 02:25 PM
bubb13s
post Jun 2 2009, 09:39 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 1 2009, 09:41 PM)
Putrajaya @ night is actually a very pleasant biggrin.gif
syd g,
u going for the shape run?
bubb13s
post Jun 2 2009, 11:53 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 2 2009, 11:17 AM)
yes. mcdonalds run and siemens run also.

you need help to register? smile.gif
its ok...i can register myself for the shape run...
still thinking which run to take...11.5 or the 5km fun run....

0.0285sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:55 AM