Fring VOIP, Application

TShussain
post Oct 6 2008, 11:03 AM, updated 18y ago

2,012 posts

Just downloaded Fring for Iphone.What do you guys think of it? how to use it in Malaysia?
Is it any good.?
Your comments are welcome
sugen
post Oct 6 2008, 11:09 AM

1,358 posts

Ok, as i am currently using voip to call oversea...Will share here..
The cheapest rate + free 90 free call around the world upon each top up on www.voipcheap.com makes me loyal to them for few years..
U need to purchase credit of EUROS 10 & register an account.. Two ways to make a voip call

1. By downloading & install their softphone software & start making calls (landlines or hp worldwide)
2. SIP call- software such as Fring support SIP. Configure the SIP setting to point to www.voipcheap.com SIP server. Then, with WIFI turn on. U can use your iphone to make calls without a need of a PCs..

Hope this help

QUOTE(hussain @ Oct 6 2008, 11:03 AM)
Just downloaded Fring for Iphone.What do you guys think of it? how to use it in Malaysia?
Is it any good.?
Your comments are welcome
rx330
post Oct 6 2008, 12:03 PM

11,811 posts

the only disadvantage is the wifi thingy

sugen, the euros 10 pay once and free forever?
nokia2003
post Oct 6 2008, 12:30 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(sugen @ Oct 6 2008, 11:09 AM)
The cheapest rate + free 90 free call around the world upon each top up on www.voipcheap.com makes me loyal to them for few years..
U need to purchase credit of EUROS 10 & register an account.. Two ways to make a voip call

1. By downloading & install their softphone software & start making calls (landlines or hp worldwide)
2. SIP call- software such as Fring support SIP. Configure the SIP setting to point to www.voipcheap.com SIP server. Then, with WIFI turn on. U can use your iphone to make calls without a need of a PCs..

Hope this help
@ rx330

your answer lies in the underlined word.
Shock
post Oct 6 2008, 02:38 PM

518 posts

@nokia bro,

I see the website, if i register pay 10euro , and the destination is free call, means it not charge me any credits, am i correct?
nokia2003
post Oct 6 2008, 03:00 PM

5,786 posts

I didn't check the site unfortunately. I was jus interpreting from sugen's post
TShussain
post Oct 6 2008, 03:23 PM

2,012 posts

QUOTE(sugen @ Oct 6 2008, 11:09 AM)

Hope this help
ayo must pay meh? i thought free.So i guess its only free if you phone to another pc using skypela?is that correct?
sugen
post Oct 6 2008, 04:09 PM

1,358 posts

Yes,each time u top up 10euro u will get free call for 90 days.And one good thing is the credit will NEVER expire.Unlike skype,credit will expire n the charge is much more cheaper then skype.Visit www.voipcheap.com for more infor.

Great to c Fring is finally in app store.Had installed n enjoy using it.This ver had disable call via 3G/EDGE.Still I approciate the SIP call via WiFi
QUOTE(Shock @ Oct 6 2008, 02:38 PM)
@nokia bro,

I see the website, if i register pay 10euro , and the destination is free call, means it not charge me any credits, am i correct?

Added on October 6, 2008, 4:15 pmHmm..v are talking about PC to landline or hp call.Not PC to PC call,how much I-talk or others telekom charge u for calling to UK or USA or Singapore?voip only cause u cents per minutes
QUOTE(hussain @ Oct 6 2008, 03:23 PM)
ayo must pay meh? i thought free.So i guess its only free if you phone to another pc using skypela?is that correct?
This post has been edited by sugen: Oct 6 2008, 04:15 PM
rx330
post Oct 6 2008, 04:59 PM

11,811 posts

so if call to pc skype is basically free?
or antoher fring user, is free?
CooLeRthings
post Oct 6 2008, 05:14 PM

-=kidult=-
2,012 posts

eh how u DL it...
i've been try to DL from fring website... just seeing it coming soon only =..=
davidgary73
post Oct 6 2008, 05:17 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@CooLeRthings

http://phobos.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore...=290948830&mt=8
CooLeRthings
post Oct 6 2008, 05:24 PM

-=kidult=-
2,012 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Oct 6 2008, 05:17 PM)
THanks David!!!
y i never tot of search in itune store instead sweat.gif

then the fring website i saw is V2?
y is it stating coming soon...

*edit
geeez
i just checked...
it just release this few day... no wonder dry.gif
davidgary73
post Oct 6 2008, 05:34 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Oct 6 2008, 04:59 PM)
It's free for pc to pc skype call. I called my UK and Australia friends from my comp. As long you have the equipments (mics and headphones) with skype, you're set. Can cakap lama lama. Sometimes the connection abit kayu but ok.

@CooLeRthings

You're welcome mate.

Cheers
sugen
post Oct 6 2008, 05:34 PM

1,358 posts

Fring call to skype PC to PC of course is free leh...or another Fring user is also Free la.. something like u call using yahoo or msn PC to PC call...

QUOTE(rx330 @ Oct 6 2008, 04:59 PM)

Added on October 6, 2008, 5:36 pmU can download via Wifi/3G/EDGE on your iphone itself. Just launch your app store software in your iphone. Then search "Fring".. That is all...

QUOTE(CooLeRthings @ Oct 6 2008, 05:14 PM)
eh how u DL it...
i've been try to DL from fring website... just seeing it coming soon only =..=
This post has been edited by sugen: Oct 6 2008, 05:36 PM
rx330
post Oct 6 2008, 05:41 PM

11,811 posts

wat i mean was form the iphone
cos the last time i wann use IM skype, but need to pay wen i tried to call pc skype
TShussain
post Oct 6 2008, 06:06 PM

2,012 posts

QUOTE(sugen @ Oct 6 2008, 04:09 PM)
Yes,each time u top up 10euro u will get free call for 90 days.And one good thing is the credit will NEVER expire.Unlike skype,credit will expire n the charge is much more cheaper then skype.Visit www.voipcheap.com for more infor.

Great to c Fring is finally in app store.Had installed n enjoy using it.This ver had disable call via 3G/EDGE.Still I approciate the SIP call via WiFi

Added on October 6, 2008, 4:15 pmHmm..v are talking about PC to landline or hp call.Not PC to PC call,how much I-talk or others telekom charge u for calling to UK or USA or Singapore?voip only cause u cents per minutes
Ok Cool.What about codes when dialing?Do we just key in area codes or some other codes.?
If i wanna call an iphone using fring do i just type 019/012/016 or +019/+012/+016??? followed by the number?
chizzu
post Oct 6 2008, 06:14 PM

ブラック★ロックチューター BEAST
1,357 posts

iinm fring only can be used on wifi only?

i am using skype to make call from iPhone to PC and there is no problem with it.
psyeo
post Oct 6 2008, 06:24 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(chizzu @ Oct 6 2008, 11:14 PM)
iinm fring only can be used on wifi only?

i am using skype to make call from iPhone to PC and there is no problem with it.
yup, for the official appstore version, yes...

but if ur iphone is JBroken, there is a hack version of Fring that can be used on 3G
nokia2003
post Oct 6 2008, 06:34 PM

5,786 posts

psyeo

Any comments regarding the stability of the JB and app store ones?
Masamune
post Oct 6 2008, 10:26 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

@sugen

Got something to ask u..
So if i register an acc in voipcheap..i can make free calls to msia?
I'm in russia now..
And i see malaysia is listed as free..

0.0211sec    0.95    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:19 PM