All About Harddisk Thread V2, Discussion for Good Harddisk

superb88
post Nov 2 2009, 07:19 PM

170 posts

hei, i'm planning to buy to upgrade my desktop capacity, i'm still pondering between Western digital caviar green 1.5TB vs Western digital caviar black 1TB, I seriously do have alot of stuffs to store which is y 1.5tb appeals me, but I'm actually using it for a primary desktop drive for my OS, plus i do light gaming AND alot of video encoding/editing/dvd burning... I was wondering whether the black or the green make alot of diff? I know black = performance, green = power saving BUT I'm still wondering for the stuffs i do, will it enhanced my performance if i go black? I'm currently using WD 500gb green, love the temp, performance seem OK...
superb88
post Nov 2 2009, 11:10 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(ham_revilo @ Nov 2 2009, 10:35 PM)
if i were you, i'll go for green. i have seen both performance and its quite simliar. not really much significant difference in real life application. WD green doesnt mean that it will run slower to decrease the temp but to run intelligently to use lower power, reduce noise and temp. iinm, its call intelli seek.

for black, to me, its really a good hard disk but the major drawback i find about it is the temp. the temperature is quite high compared to green. but if you dont mind the high temperature, then i think you should go for it as it provides 5 years warranty compared to green which is only 3 years.

yet, the decision is in your hands smile.gif
hmmm, regarding about the temp, my current WD green 500gb generally fix around 31C to 34C on 24/7 usage. if the black doesn't gets more than 40, i think it shld b fine for 24/7 usage i guess...But I've notice some benchmarks on things like using Max I/O output or wtv it isla, dunno those terms that it makes a diff in certain type of apps. So, is gaming and video encoding one of em? cuz if WD green doesn't make much diff, y ppl don't jz use em over black as the price alot cheaper. thx btw for yr feedbak, anybody else got opinion to add on this bout the green VS black thing (for the price vs performance vs temp/etc vs value aspect)?
superb88
post Nov 3 2009, 05:59 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(valent @ Nov 3 2009, 10:27 AM)
Just got Samsung F2 1.5TB few weeks ago
idle temps = 23'c

load = 27'c

this drive is like ice cool smile.gif

my other drives

WD 640AAKS = 35'c
WD 1TB Black = 37'c
WD 1TB EADS = 35'c
WD 1TB EACS = 35'c
looks like im gonna start samsung collection tongue.gif
wah bro...so much diff the temp? ALL the drives in the same casing is it? if it is so, its rly good but the drive is 5400rpm only rite? speed ok bo?, btw WD EADS is the newer 1 compare to EACS rite? both also green version? noob Q here... sweat.gif
superb88
post Nov 4 2009, 10:48 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(ham_revilo @ Nov 3 2009, 12:04 AM)
for value i dont think there is alot of difference too. the last time i check the price difference is around RM50 (depending on seller). and if you ask around for black user, their temp is ranging from 40 to 50c. mine on 24/7 usually around 45-50c. sometimes hit above 50c but rarely. for me, i get black because i wanna test its performance and dont forget it comes with 5 years warranty. but then, when i think back, if i get to choose again i'll get green rather than black. i dont like my hardware to hit such high temp laugh.gif
though i've received a few replies, i still would lk more inputs on the black vs green thing...
yr temp doesn't look very appealing 2 me, my current 500gb WD green averaged a T of 30 - 35, so if i'll put it into my same casing, how much the T i should b expecting? anybody can help predict? if its 40-50, it would b consider quite high 4 me...btw in term of performance, is it rly noticeable? cuz the price diff is bout RM40-50, and plus the fact that green's cooler and less noise & etc which r all d disadvantageous of black. I dunno which 1 i should go for now but this'll b my primary desktop driveLA. If WD made black without its 'weaknesses', no doubt i'll go 4 it ad...but now i jz feel hard 2 justify spending more and if 'the performance' is not noticeable plus the added disadvantages, Y bother 2 go black rite? I ad browse through many reviews & still can't make up my mind. for example a good review on the WD green

seems lk they say new WD green the WD10EADS has alot better in performance, lk here

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/green-...1tb,2078-2.html

i dun rly know wat the comparison rly meanla, but from the nums, is it good enough as a primary OS drive? Again, i do light to moderate gaming, but heavily on video encoding/burning/photoshop etc. Plus I lk to multitask alot...will black give me a justifiable performance boost? and worth spending more money? plus the added disadvantages of it lk d not so good temp that come with it? which 1 u all will choose?

sry guys..jz having hard time making up my mind here....WD1001FALS vs WD10EADS, pls help out ya, THX alot notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by superb88: Nov 4 2009, 10:49 AM
superb88
post Nov 4 2009, 02:11 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Nov 4 2009, 11:20 AM)
I'm currently using a WD10EADS as my primary and I don't have any experience to compare with against the WD1001FALS, but I will say that the WD10EADS can be used as a primary drive. At the least, it's faster than my previous 250 GB 7200 RPM drive.

Then again, the WD10EADS is an old drive. You should consider other hard drives in the same class. For instance, Samsung's SpinPoint F3 HD103SJ 1 TB. It has a higher throughput rate than even the WD1001FALS because the HD103SJ uses two 500 GB platters compared to WD1001FALS's three 333 GB platters. Unfortunately, I have no idea on its access times, current availability and pricing.
oh yea, the samsung f3 1tb, read a review on it, and it seems good and extremely fast...I think it should b priced somewhere around WD10EADS & WD1001FALS, not sure wat it will b in LY plaza..i think its not available yet.

Cuz I sort of have tendency 2 choose WD cuz i feel that its reliable as I had seagates dying prematurely on me b4...SAMSUNG's sounds new to the business, nvr heard of it few yrs bak...***mayb cuz i nvr keep myself up 2 date

but SAMsung's reliability's good? any comments? I like em becuz it seems lk the all in one package & they don't give me dilemma with the green and black thing... rclxub.gif

0.0420sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:23 PM