Superkian
post May 14 2010, 02:12 AM

SooYoong
939 posts

i need portable hdd on coming monday.
my budget is rm300-400..
how cheap is 2T hdd?
can anyone suggest me?
i need to format my pc,but dont hv external hardisk. need it urgently,cause my pc is fagking lag for 2 years,and i tahan until now...zzz.my friend said my pc is damn damn slow.enter window have to wait 15minute.

This post has been edited by Superkian: May 14 2010, 02:15 AM
Superkian
post Jun 7 2010, 12:15 PM

SooYoong
939 posts

how much power to supply 2 2TB hdd?
Superkian
post Jun 7 2010, 04:31 PM

SooYoong
939 posts

so the chaplang rm50 psu can support?
Superkian
post Jun 7 2010, 05:50 PM

SooYoong
939 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jun 7 2010, 04:40 PM)
I would recommend you to invest on a better PSU in any case possible
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jun 7 2010, 05:08 PM)
Get a reasonable PSU.
Vantec ION2+ 460w @ RM150 is a rather good buy and its components is at a rather decent quality as well.

RM50 PSU doesn't meant can't support... but if anything goes wrong and it decides to pull your system down to hell with it, then its game over.
i see.
actually i got one cpu,plan to put in 2 2tb hdd..but im worried my chaplang psu cannot supply.
aik..
well,i think have to spend big buck liao...plan to upgrade next month..crazy..
Superkian
post Jun 11 2010, 03:50 AM

SooYoong
939 posts

i just bought 1.5tb external hdd,wd mybook essential...i feel nice got smartware preinstalled..
convenient for backup data
Superkian
post Jun 11 2010, 11:12 PM

SooYoong
939 posts

QUOTE(Superkian @ Jun 11 2010, 03:50 AM)
i just bought 1.5tb external hdd,wd mybook essential...i feel nice got smartware preinstalled..
convenient for backup data
so crazy,i back up my pc internal hdd,80GB.2 partition,each with 40 GB,and one portable 20GB hdd.
it took me about 20hour to finish backup!!!!!!!!
Superkian
post Jun 12 2010, 01:29 AM

SooYoong
939 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Jun 12 2010, 12:32 AM)
What happened? External HDD should be doing 30MB/s.
QUOTE(lok3i @ Jun 12 2010, 12:33 AM)
Maybe your mobo only support USB 1.1
QUOTE(everling @ Jun 12 2010, 12:39 AM)
(80GB + 20GB) / (20 hours * 3600 seconds) = 1.38 MB/s

Maybe it's USB 1.0? Other possibilities are very heavy file fragmentation and lots of tiny little files (they incur a huge performance cost).
i am not sure too.how to check it is usb 1.0 or usb 2.0.
i remember when i plug in my WD external hdd and portable hdd, it prompt out the ysb 2.0 speed on the right side menu(clock side).
beside that,my pc got alot of virus,and bloodly hell lag for almost 1year+.That's why i bought WD external hdd for backup,because i want to format my pc.

i using acer cpu,aspire sa85 model.
Superkian
post Jun 13 2010, 01:57 PM

SooYoong
939 posts

QUOTE(lok3i @ Jun 12 2010, 03:19 PM)
It's clearly not USB 2.0 my friend..
The key word is ENHANCED. If you have an ENHANCED USB Host Controller then you have High Speed USB (USB 2.0)
i got this enhanced USB Host Controller,refer to my picture below.

If your Device Manager shows an ENHANCED USB Host Controller, the system has High Speed USB (USB 2.0) capability.

Types of High Speed USB (USB 2.0) Host Controllers

Intel Enhanced

SiS Enhanced

VIA Enhanced

ALi Enhanced

Standard Enhanced

NEC Enhanced

The system shown has onboard Intel High Speed USB (USB 2.0) with an NEC High Speed USB (USB 2.0) PCI card installed.

The key word is ENHANCED. If you have an ENHANCED USB Host Controller then you have High Speed USB (USB 2.0)

All other types are USB v.1.1

The difference between v.1.0 and v.1.1 is explained here.

Jeff Roberts

USBMan

source: http://www.usbman.com/Guides/checking_for_usb_2.htm

Superkian
post Jun 14 2010, 07:26 PM

SooYoong
939 posts

QUOTE(Fjive @ Jun 14 2010, 05:53 PM)
hi guys, i'm currently looking to buy an 3.5" ext hdd, 1.5TB. Anyone has good feedback on certain brands/model? Please recommend ya..thx
i bought a WD HDD 3.5 external hdd, 1.5TB.

he got smartware which is preinstalled in the hdd,so it will autobackup all the thing for u and separate picture,ducumentation,movie,music categories for u.nice
Superkian
post Jun 15 2010, 02:04 PM

SooYoong
939 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Jun 14 2010, 09:38 PM)
hdd very fast drop price one, dont keep so much smile.gif
earn few ringgit things, when price drop, then loss money
nice price. but 5400rpm not worth to buy unless u look for big storage not performance.

QUOTE(Fjive @ Jun 14 2010, 11:42 PM)
oooh...tak mau auto backup can or not...i prefer manual copy paste la...possible to disable the software? how is it so far in terms of speed and reliability?
u can select manua copy paste also.no problem 1.
Superkian
post Jun 15 2010, 03:12 PM

SooYoong
939 posts

QUOTE(Fjive @ Jun 15 2010, 02:37 PM)
oooh...if can then ok...is it true all 1.5 TB drives are 5400rpm? I prefer 7200rpm actually...

I currently rely on an aging 2.5" 160gb ext hdd for backup...dont prefer to use some fancy auto-mated backup which i have no ctrl...i rely on my trusty sync-toy for backups..sometimes manual copy/paste
i not sure is 5400rpm or 7200rpm wo.how to check?lolz
Superkian
post Jun 15 2010, 03:44 PM

SooYoong
939 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 15 2010, 03:20 PM)
normally on hdd label got stated..
external hdd,mybook essential no state any
Superkian
post Jun 15 2010, 07:26 PM

SooYoong
939 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 15 2010, 04:00 PM)
what brand? maybe u can check online..
WD lo,i check online also no have.their specification also didnt state.

0.0360sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:59 PM