130 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Bottom

All About Harddisk Thread V2, Discussion for Good Harddisk

Superkian
post Jun 11 2010, 11:12 PM

SooYoong
939 posts

QUOTE(Superkian @ Jun 11 2010, 03:50 AM)
i just bought 1.5tb external hdd,wd mybook essential...i feel nice got smartware preinstalled..
convenient for backup data
so crazy,i back up my pc internal hdd,80GB.2 partition,each with 40 GB,and one portable 20GB hdd.
it took me about 20hour to finish backup!!!!!!!!
mitodna
post Jun 12 2010, 12:32 AM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(Superkian @ Jun 11 2010, 11:12 PM)
so crazy,i back up my pc internal hdd,80GB.2 partition,each with 40 GB,and one portable 20GB hdd.
What happened? External HDD should be doing 30MB/s.
lok3i
post Jun 12 2010, 12:33 AM

cycling for a healthy life
559 posts

QUOTE(Superkian @ Jun 11 2010, 11:12 PM)
Maybe your mobo only support USB 1.1
everling
post Jun 12 2010, 12:39 AM

3,591 posts

(80GB + 20GB) / (20 hours * 3600 seconds) = 1.38 MB/s

Maybe it's USB 1.0? Other possibilities are very heavy file fragmentation and lots of tiny little files (they incur a huge performance cost).
Superkian
post Jun 12 2010, 01:29 AM

SooYoong
939 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Jun 12 2010, 12:32 AM)
What happened? External HDD should be doing 30MB/s.
QUOTE(lok3i @ Jun 12 2010, 12:33 AM)
Maybe your mobo only support USB 1.1
QUOTE(everling @ Jun 12 2010, 12:39 AM)
(80GB + 20GB) / (20 hours * 3600 seconds) = 1.38 MB/s

Maybe it's USB 1.0? Other possibilities are very heavy file fragmentation and lots of tiny little files (they incur a huge performance cost).
i am not sure too.how to check it is usb 1.0 or usb 2.0.
i remember when i plug in my WD external hdd and portable hdd, it prompt out the ysb 2.0 speed on the right side menu(clock side).
beside that,my pc got alot of virus,and bloodly hell lag for almost 1year+.That's why i bought WD external hdd for backup,because i want to format my pc.

i using acer cpu,aspire sa85 model.
fisherman10
post Jun 12 2010, 02:12 AM

1,372 posts

guys...i got a question. how do i erase a hdd back from ntfs/fat32 to RAW format?

i know darik's boot and nuke can do it but that would need me to boot from the cd and it'll need to fill the whole hdd with 00s to get it back to RAW.

so is there any way where i can do it quicker like through windows or any other ways?
sotong168
post Jun 12 2010, 08:45 AM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

rejoice rclxms.gif

2TB Hard Drives Crack the $100 Barrier

2TB drives are down as low as $100 street, a year and a half after first coming to market, at $250 and up. That's $100 on promotional sales, for moderate-performance drives. Over the weekend, NewEgg.com offered the Seagate LP ST32000542AS, a 2TB 5900-rpm internal SATA drive, for $99.99 to its mailing list customers. This drive falls into the energy-consious, moderate-performance part of the spectrum. Other resellers with these Seagates and with competing drives are hovering in the $105-$130 price range. Highest-performance 7200-rpm drives with 6Gb/s transfer rates are in the $200-$300 range.
Cyclonechuah
post Jun 12 2010, 10:06 AM

(  ̄ c ̄)=c |。◕‿‿◕。|
1,726 posts

just gone to kangaroo to self pickup my lovely Samsung Spinpoint F3 1tb from lingloong.

When i open the box, it is HD103UJ. WTF

This post has been edited by Cyclonechuah: Jun 12 2010, 10:09 AM
8tvt
post Jun 12 2010, 10:27 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

that's F1
Cyclonechuah
post Jun 12 2010, 10:32 AM

(  ̄ c ̄)=c |。◕‿‿◕。|
1,726 posts

yeah, i'm packing the whole damn thing to send back, watse my $$, ZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzz

i was "WTF NOT THIS SHIT AGAIN" i faced like 2 times in a roll for people to send wrong stuff to me, and i have to send back again.

i was sleepy while driving, after i taken the thing and and straight open it in my car, when i saw the UJ, i felt like a slap in the face, render me completely in RAGE mode, and Vrroom Vrrooom back to home to repacking and contact lingloong via HP.

This post has been edited by Cyclonechuah: Jun 12 2010, 10:38 AM
limhongwoon
post Jun 12 2010, 01:08 PM

Intel Certified - COre I7
2,892 posts

QUOTE(Cyclonechuah @ Jun 12 2010, 11:32 AM)
yeah, i'm packing the whole damn thing to send back, watse my $$, ZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzz

i was "WTF NOT THIS SHIT AGAIN" i faced like 2 times in a roll for people to send wrong stuff to me, and i have to send back again.

i was sleepy while driving, after i taken the thing and and straight open it in my car, when i saw the UJ, i felt like a slap in the face, render me completely in RAGE mode, and Vrroom Vrrooom back to home to repacking and contact lingloong via HP.
Samsung still produce F1 drive ???
mitodna
post Jun 12 2010, 02:25 PM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Jun 12 2010, 08:45 AM)
rejoice rclxms.gif

2TB Hard Drives Crack the $100 Barrier

2TB drives are down as low as $100 street, a year and a half after first coming to market, at $250 and up. That's $100 on promotional sales, for moderate-performance drives. Over the weekend, NewEgg.com offered the Seagate LP ST32000542AS, a 2TB 5900-rpm internal SATA drive, for $99.99 to its mailing list customers. This drive falls into the energy-consious, moderate-performance part of the spectrum. Other resellers with these Seagates and with competing drives are hovering in the $105-$130 price range. Highest-performance 7200-rpm drives with 6Gb/s transfer rates are in the $200-$300 range.
from newegg review, it has suffers reliability issue, however, usually only the one that failed being reported.
lok3i
post Jun 12 2010, 03:19 PM

cycling for a healthy life
559 posts

QUOTE(Superkian @ Jun 12 2010, 01:29 AM)
i am not sure too.how to check it is usb 1.0 or usb 2.0.
i remember when i plug in my WD external hdd and portable hdd, it prompt out the ysb 2.0 speed on the right side menu(clock side).
beside that,my pc got alot of virus,and bloodly hell lag for almost 1year+.That's why i bought WD external hdd for backup,because i want to format my pc.

i using acer cpu,aspire sa85 model.
It's clearly not USB 2.0 my friend..
Akfratic
post Jun 12 2010, 08:15 PM

what HDD you guys prefer for gaming?
mois
post Jun 12 2010, 09:40 PM

Enemy Territory
3,625 posts

I am going to buy an external harddisk to store movies and play it. 500Gb external harddisk.

WDBAAA5000ABK-PESN, Passport 2.5" 500GB - RM 290...good?
hezda
post Jun 12 2010, 10:37 PM

402 posts

Guys, I'm asking my friend to help me buy samsung f3 drive in kl soon. What is the actual model number my friend is looking for? My friend knows nothing abt pc so have to make sure he got the right drive. Thanks.
8tvt
post Jun 12 2010, 10:54 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

2TB EcoGreen F3 --> HD203WI
1.5TB EcoGreen F3 --> HD153WI
1TB EcoGreen F3 --> HD105SI

1TB Spinpoint F3 --> HD103SJ
0.5TB Spinpoint F3 --> HD502HJ
shinjite
post Jun 12 2010, 11:27 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,318 posts

QUOTE(hezda @ Jun 12 2010, 10:37 PM)
Guys, I'm asking my friend to help me buy samsung f3 drive in kl soon. What is the actual model number my friend is looking for? My friend knows nothing abt pc so have to make sure he got the right drive. Thanks.
Get the spinpoint F3 drives

750GB Spinpoint F3 --> HD754JJ
500GB Spinpoint F3 --> HD502HJ
Cyclonechuah
post Jun 13 2010, 12:15 AM

(  ̄ c ̄)=c |。◕‿‿◕。|
1,726 posts

QUOTE(hezda @ Jun 12 2010, 10:37 PM)
Look at below for reference, if your hdd is other model number from the list below, it's not F3.

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 12 2010, 10:54 PM)
2TB EcoGreen F3 --> HD203WI
1.5TB EcoGreen F3 --> HD153WI
1TB EcoGreen F3 --> HD105SI

0.5TB Spinpoint F3 --> HD502HJ
zhen^wei
post Jun 13 2010, 12:31 AM

4,057 posts

em. actually supplier can't give dealer F1 or F3 Samsung HDD, if deler request for F3, they only put remark there, then give to logistic ppl to prepare the hdds, if lucky then got F3 la. haha. if everyone want F3, then their F1 canot sold.

btw, now normally Samsung 1TB is F3, and 500GB F1, very rare to get 500GB F3 and 1.5TB F3 now.

130 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Top

0.0177sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:31 AM