130 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

All About Harddisk Thread V2, Discussion for Good Harddisk

ndgoh
post Nov 6 2008, 01:44 AM

928 posts

Any one tried hardware RAID0 setup before?
beatlesalbum
post Nov 6 2008, 01:47 AM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(ndgoh @ Nov 6 2008, 01:44 AM)
Any one tried hardware RAID0 setup before?
No, and I dunt advice you to. Its highly insecure, should one of the disk fail, your recovery chances is NIL
seanlimys
post Nov 6 2008, 08:38 AM

2,751 posts

i tried...on two system, one is tpower and one more is p35 t2rs..superb fast...tested the dfi board wif 2pcs of seagate 500gb 32mb and tpower wif samsung 160gb 8mb...both are superb fsat..but the seagate will b faster
Maxieos
post Nov 7 2008, 03:36 PM

3,756 posts

any help guys ??
I want to know seagate 320GB and western digital 320GB , which one using one platter ?
Which one more silent ?

Aquariusdenz
post Nov 7 2008, 10:47 PM

1,533 posts

HDD aren't that noisy nowadays.. but if you save a lot of files, some HDD will start to produce noisy sound when loading... no need to worry about the brand.. but i personally go for Seagate.. smile.gif
chanws8
post Nov 8 2008, 01:20 AM

ИΞШB!Ξ
2,165 posts

Ya,me too....Coz seagate offers 5 years warranty...Anyone knows bad sector can be warranty or not?
seanlimys
post Nov 8 2008, 09:29 AM

2,751 posts

lol..bad sector can warranty wan..juz request for rma in the website...dey will replace u one..dun worry
jasonkwk
post Nov 8 2008, 02:59 PM

Self Improvement is Masturbation
10,596 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Nov 7 2008, 03:36 PM)
any help guys ??
I want to know seagate 320GB and western digital 320GB , which one using one platter ?
Which one more silent ?
its better you list out the model name. you question is too general.
jacc
post Nov 9 2008, 01:59 PM

224 posts

anyone knows where to get the new WD Raid Edition 3? FBSY code.?? Lowyat?
victorboy
post Nov 10 2008, 03:50 PM

3 ngien yiu 3 ngien :(
1,756 posts

wow, Seagate seem there were people who facing bad sectors... rclxub.gif
so far all my Seagate hdd doesn't have any this symptoms.. doh.gif

any good comments on Samsung hdd?
thinking to buy Samsung hdd for my future storage expansion... hmm.gif
Aquariusdenz
post Nov 10 2008, 04:43 PM

1,533 posts

not sure about Samsung but they sure had improved a lot in HDD sector... if their HDD are getting better then i think i might to grab one and try..
c2v2
post Nov 11 2008, 03:32 PM

41 posts

i as a newbie sweat.gif compare to all u experts, need an answer to this:

i recently found my old 80gb harddisk under my old desk. I want to convert is to external harddrive BUT 1st i want to check if it still functioning or not. The problem is, i dont have any desktop pc for now to check it manually, i only hav laptop..

is there any method to check the hdd b4 i buy the hd casing?
rosihan
post Nov 11 2008, 03:47 PM

*\(-_-)/*
1,223 posts

juz buy new hdd its cheap rite now....
anyway r ur hdd 2.5" or 3.5" Hdd?
mADmAN
post Nov 11 2008, 03:56 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(c2v2 @ Nov 11 2008, 03:32 PM)
i as a newbie sweat.gif  compare to all u experts, need an answer to this:

i recently found my old 80gb harddisk under my old desk. I want to convert is to external harddrive BUT 1st i want to check if it still functioning or not. The problem is, i dont have any desktop pc for now to check it manually, i only hav laptop..

is there any method to check the hdd b4 i buy the hd casing?
if u wanna do it with ur laptop... ur gonna need a hdd casing laugh.gif

OR u can plug it into a desktop PC and test it out

then use softwares like Seagate's SeaTools to test to make sure its in perfect health.
seanlimys
post Nov 12 2008, 07:27 PM

2,751 posts

i guess u better try using the ide to usb or sata to usb b4 investing into larger thgs...getting a external case is much more costly den buying those cables alone to test it out
Aquariusdenz
post Nov 12 2008, 10:53 PM

1,533 posts

ya its cheaper to get those cables.. who knows how if the HDD is faulty... then you will wasted your money buying external case.. smile.gif
chillly
post Nov 13 2008, 07:18 AM

35 posts

Is there such thing as 7,2000rpm 1.8'' laptop harddisk?
if got where can i buy it?

seanlimys
post Nov 13 2008, 10:06 AM

2,751 posts

i guess 1.8" is too small to run at 7200rpm lar
GrandElf
post Nov 13 2008, 02:19 PM

HyunA
1,154 posts

QUOTE(victorboy @ Nov 10 2008, 03:50 PM)
wow, Seagate seem there were people who facing bad sectors... rclxub.gif
so far all my Seagate hdd doesn't have any this symptoms.. doh.gif

any good comments on Samsung hdd?
thinking to buy Samsung hdd for my future storage expansion...  hmm.gif
samsung HDD??i did own 1.....80GB which i make it as an external HDD 3.5''.....wat i can say is tat my samsung HDD a bit noisy though.....dunno tat they have improve tis or not.....tat samsung HDD of mine about 5years ago de...... laugh.gif laugh.gif
Aquariusdenz
post Nov 13 2008, 03:20 PM

1,533 posts

QUOTE(chillly @ Nov 13 2008, 07:18 AM)
Is there such thing as 7,2000rpm 1.8'' laptop harddisk?
if got where can i buy it?
erm... the motor of the HDD can be that fast? blink.gif

130 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:09 AM