QUOTE(Ryan @ Jul 26 2009, 07:55 PM)
share your iphone 3G GPS usage, Sygic map-Voice turn-by-turn available!
Jul 26 2009, 08:04 PM
1,357 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Jul 26 2009, 11:03 PM
hai yo...This a replay route from Sygic la..Is a kind of Sygic features, u can even set the replay's speed..Therefore u see 160km/h...
QUOTE(Ryan @ Jul 26 2009, 08:25 PM) |
Jul 28 2009, 01:37 PM
What is the defination of FAST calculation...hmn.. As for my experience.. the recalculation took about less then 5 seconds.. To me, this is very fast.. Maybe Garmin perform in split second.. I am not sure..
QUOTE(Ryan @ Jul 27 2009, 07:02 PM) |
Jul 28 2009, 11:03 PM
It will never works in in door environment.. I found out that Sygic only works in clear sky environment.. And when i am in car, i always got a 2 bars GPS signal.. How about you all?
QUOTE(lkmnb @ Jul 28 2009, 08:05 PM) But when I open the Sygic It show that no GPS signal and I wait for quite a long time it is still the same. Anyone know what's the problem? Added on July 28, 2009, 11:04 pmmy 3G is turn off.. and i have no problem using it... QUOTE(zc_squash @ Jul 28 2009, 10:44 PM) I was just meddling with it last nite and i noticed that your 3G must be turned on (if you've turned it off using bosspref). I tried turning it off after that and the GPS could never lock my position. Also I notice that there is down/upload activities when GPS is used. But the amount is quite negligible, 2-5kb. This post has been edited by sugen: Jul 28 2009, 11:04 PM |
Jul 29 2009, 12:17 PM
I think our wrong concept of using GPS in iphone needs 3G/EDGE's data connection is rooted in our mind.. To make things clear, a general GPS device does not need all this.. Why iphone need this if u are using their native google maps.. BECAUSE, the google map is not store on the iphone.. Therefore, each time u use the NATIVE iphone google map for GPS navigation.. 3G/EDGE is needed to LOAD the map..
Tomtom, Sygic STORED maps INTO iphone... Same like Garmin & others GPS device.. So, NO 3G/EDGE data services is needed.. hope this is clear to all.. This post has been edited by sugen: Jul 29 2009, 12:18 PM |
Jul 30 2009, 02:30 PM
Yes.. my experience.. Sygic won't able to work at in door (won't able to detect GPS signal).. Walk out of the building and get a clear sky.. Immediatelly u will get GPS signal & your current GPS location... It is not iphone problem, but it is more on Sygic... As if i use native googlem map in door, google map able to detect my current GPS location...
QUOTE(lkmnb @ Jul 30 2009, 12:04 PM) |
Aug 6 2009, 03:22 PM
Just to share
Source http://www.daniweb.com/blogs/entry4607.html# ow much for an iPhone-powered TomTom satnav? That's the question that has been on the lips of many an iPhone user ever since TomTom announced it was developing a version of the market leading turn-by-turn satellite navigation system especially for the iPhone. Now, it seems, we are a little closer to knowing the answer. I just hope you are sitting down before I reveal it. According to one online retailer which has broken ranks and gone public with pre-order pricing, if you want an iPhone-powered TomTom satnav in your car it will cost you a cool £113.85 ($193.75) or which works out to £99 ($168.50) plus tax. Which is not, by a long shot, the most expensive iPhone app. Now before you reel too far back in absolute horror, that isn't the cost of the maps and satnav software alone. In fact it's the price for an in-car kit which includes the software (with the latest Tele Atlas mapping and the TomTom IQ Routes feature) plus a specially designed, and I have to admit rather sexy looking, cradle which provides secure docking, enhanced GPS performance, voice instruction sound boost, hands-free telephone calling and in-situ charging of your iPhone. In fact, a quick scout around the same site that has published that pre-ordering price is selling the cheapest standalone TomTom in-car unit for £118 ($200) which means that the iPhone version is actually cheaper, assuming you already own an iPhone 3GS that is. Currently TomTom are neither confirming nor denying the pricing, or availability for that matter, other than to say that the cost is to be confirmed and the iPhone satnav should be released this summer. Of course, the TomTom software application itself will also be available from the Apple App Store as a standalone download for the iPhone, and one has to assume that the cost will be fairly dramatically reduced if you are not buying into the hardware kit as well. Certainly one would hope that it will swing in lower than the only real competition at the moment, the Navigon MobileNavigator for iPhone which is currently being sold at a reduced price of £59.99 ($102) for the European maps version until the end of August when one assumes it will zoom back up to £79.99 ($136) - you also have to assume that the timing of the price cut is to try and ward off the inevitable TomTom effect. Which does, indeed, bode well for a release some time later this month. There are still some questions to be answered, such as will TomTom for iPhone be Homer Simpson powered and how will the in-car kit deal with the 3GS getting hot issue considering Apple has already warned about leaving the phone exposed to heat through car windows. It will be interesting to see if the new TomTom software developed for the iPhone can actually use data for traffic reporting. If so, I might just be tempted to invest. My wife has had her eyes on my TomTom Go530 for quite some time, so all being well I might just have solved the what to get her for Xmas problem - and, no, I don't mean the iPhone car kit! |
Sep 12 2009, 08:58 PM
That is cool... Where u got your Belkin TuneBase FM? USD 99 leh..
QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Sep 12 2009, 08:04 PM) just got the sygic SE app today while i was in spore... must say, im impressed by the performance of the app... locking the signal was fairly an easy ordeal... no loag watsover... however, i can surely suggest tat it needs sm improvement in the gui part...no apple feel thr... for a while remembered my bro's garmin on his 5800XM... im nt gonna post SS of the app, maybe thr wud be alot out thr..on da other hand, just showing the setup of it in my car... its being used with a holder frm kensington and a fm transmitter by belkin... perfect combo... Added on September 12, 2009, 8:59 pmThat is a good idea... However, will have to wait for the official release of tomtom for MAS & SG map first... Although, i know that u can get the unofficial somewhere now.. QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Sep 12 2009, 10:39 AM) i This post has been edited by sugen: Sep 12 2009, 08:59 PMAdded on September 12, 2009, 10:40 amand bro sugen, maybe we can try 2 add a poll here to see which is highlt rated n which is nt... just a thought... |
Sep 13 2009, 09:42 AM
Sep 13 2009, 03:39 PM
I am using Sygic once at Shah Alarm last month.. I want to go to Lot6 Persiaran Perusahaan, Sek23.. Sygic only has Jalan Perusahaan.. It ends up that i reach the destination by conventional way. Which is phone guide from my friend
Not sure how is tomtom works.. Anyway, my iphone will be back only on month end from Singapore...Really miss it alot.. To me, iphone GPS is great but we really need a comprehensive map.. And ONLY malsingmaps (Garmin format) cover the most update & complete map at the moment.. QUOTE(honght @ Sep 13 2009, 01:42 PM) I'm just telling the truth after using Sygic while driving in KL. This post has been edited by sugen: Sep 13 2009, 03:43 PMThe only time I reached my destination successfully was Sunway Pyramid and that's all. I got no signal in the middle of KL city and I'm not kidding. |
Sep 14 2009, 09:11 PM
Ya.. But i thought tomtom map & Sygic is the same.. As, both map is provided by Tele Athlas... I still think that our local maping community malsing, malfree etc.. cover the most complete map...
QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Sep 14 2009, 06:42 PM) |
Sep 28 2009, 01:15 PM
It is all about the map issue.. Not on features etc.. Again.. official local map provider like malsingmaps for Garmin rules.. As u know la.. they only do Malaysia & SG map.. sure to be very updated ! Our only hope is that Apple allow Garmin format in iphone..
QUOTE(pierreye @ Sep 28 2009, 11:16 AM) |
| Change to: | 0.0207sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:23 PM |