This post has been edited by sugen: Oct 26 2008, 12:24 AM
share your iphone 3G GPS usage, Sygic map-Voice turn-by-turn available!
Oct 26 2008, 12:22 AM
1,357 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Was testing it.. However information given in WORD seems is not updating & incorrect. It keep shows the same message..
![]() This post has been edited by sugen: Oct 26 2008, 12:24 AM |
Oct 26 2008, 01:58 PM
Oct 26 2008, 07:24 PM
So means for iphone2G the blue circle is moved by collecting the Digi cell tower?hmn... R u sure? I am in doubt about it's accuracy..
QUOTE(potion @ Oct 26 2008, 05:38 PM) ahah. just came back from digi center subscribe the unlimited data plan. planning to get this phone on some work!. fyi, 2g iphone user will see a blue circle, which is same as the 'find my location' located bottom left of the google map and it will move along to where we were moving which is what mr. Nokia2003 said by using cell tower. but not sure about the wifi. just test the map this morning. beraya dari shah alam ke gombak with gprs/edge on while watching the map on iphone. the accuracy of positioning is quite good, not as good as ifontrigi which is default with the blue dot for current location. the blue circle respond like 5 - 15 second and during my way to gombak which is good since im just using gprs/edge. sedut all RM50 licin2 just like that. really pain in the ass. may provide with screeny when i have 1. well, the blue circle will follow where we are of course.. cheers! |
Oct 26 2008, 09:24 PM
hmn..You got Malaysia offline map? The whole map? U r using firmware 2.1? hai.. but need to JB the phone..
So, is that any different how the offline map works for the driving direction.. Is it the same? Sound nice, mind to share how u did it QUOTE(Shock @ Oct 26 2008, 08:54 PM) Added on October 26, 2008, 9:28 pmGuys.. i am really serious looking for it.. Already turn the whole PG up side down. No body is selling... Anyone saw it in KL, pls let me know.. My friend is coming down to PG, so will need to ask him to get it for me in KL.. Pls share... ![]() This post has been edited by sugen: Oct 26 2008, 09:28 PM |
Oct 27 2008, 01:28 PM
Er.. if no 3G it will drop back to GPRS... unless we got no signal.. But, still i prefer offline map... But the full map instruction is not clear yet. So, for the time being.. just use as it is first..
QUOTE(baretta @ Oct 27 2008, 01:19 PM) |
Oct 28 2008, 12:58 PM
Oct 28 2008, 11:03 PM
Nov 2 2008, 08:56 AM
well something like that but not quite the same one that I m looking for.Anyway I had purchased it through eBay.com at RM20 includes shipping from HK.Last week purchased USB car charger 1000ma RM14,Iphone3G USB syn cable RM14.Both price include sniping n goods received d
Feb 13 2009, 02:36 PM
Guys.. xGPS will Turn your iPhone into a True GPS device with Turn-By-Turn Voice Navigation. It will be release in Cydia at 20 Feb 2009... Watch the pre release Video.. The result is impressive ! I am sure many will happy about this..
Part1 Part2 http://www.iphonehacks.com/2009/02/xgps-wi...navigation.html This post has been edited by sugen: Feb 13 2009, 03:09 PM |
Feb 13 2009, 05:18 PM
Not yet Bro.. It is coming soon in Cydia.. It says 20 Feb
This post has been edited by sugen: Feb 13 2009, 05:19 PM |
Mar 3 2009, 09:36 AM
I am downloading...... hope u guys can share here...
Added on March 3, 2009, 1:46 pmI had just tested it out.. Work great !! This post has been edited by sugen: Mar 3 2009, 01:46 PM |
Mar 3 2009, 01:58 PM
YUP.... But there is a portion call offline map/“Routes manager”. Using this function you can compute and save routes for offline use. It let you choose places and addresses as starting and ending point.. i had not tested it out on this part.. It allow u to download the offline map & perhaps able to do the job without the need of 3G/EDGE/GPRS services..
Who had tested out the offline map in XGPS 1.2? QUOTE(pelvin @ Mar 3 2009, 01:55 PM) This post has been edited by sugen: Mar 3 2009, 02:06 PM |
Mar 3 2009, 09:14 PM
You have to turn on the voice instruction
Go to XGPS setting-- Driving direction- Voice instruction Just to share my discovery on this app Downloaded the full map on PG island from XGPS-- Setting--Maps.. 9.8 MB The turn by turn voice navigation works great.. It does use the downloaded map.. EDGE/GPS only use when it auto recalculate a new path(auto recalculate is perform where i did not follow the pre calculate path) QUOTE(Rinyuu @ Mar 3 2009, 04:33 PM) This post has been edited by sugen: Mar 3 2009, 09:19 PM |
Mar 4 2009, 09:07 PM
YUP.. i had custom made some map.. It works great on the offline map.. However, i found out that 3G/GPRS is still needed if u are heading toward the wrong direction & that trigger the auto recompute of route (i like this features)...
You can download the below XGPS map manager on your Windows XP PC.. Then transfer into your iphone.. It is so continence & so easy to make a custom made map.. You can download Map manager at http://xgps.xwaves.net/ QUOTE(GymBoi @ Mar 4 2009, 03:06 AM) So if preload the map and route at home then can use for free without 3G/GPRS connection ? How does it detect where is your position if it's not connected to anything ? Added on March 4, 2009, 9:09 pmYes.. the great answer is iphone 3G build in GPS module.. QUOTE(baretta @ Mar 4 2009, 03:43 AM) Added on March 4, 2009, 9:10 pmNo ooo.. It only shows GOOD or POOR only.. QUOTE(MaxLaw @ Mar 4 2009, 05:41 PM) Is there any way to see the strength of GPS signal in xGPS? This post has been edited by sugen: Mar 4 2009, 09:12 PMAdded on March 4, 2009, 5:42 pmMy iPhone 3G GPS Status is always "disconnected". Don't know why.... |
Mar 5 2009, 09:18 AM
Sometime i do have this issue, but by putting in the FULL address .. it does compute.. perhaps.. we much specify more details.. And also discover that, if the signal is poor it does has this issue too..
QUOTE(keithchen @ Mar 4 2009, 09:32 PM) you guys have no issues with computing the route? This post has been edited by sugen: Mar 5 2009, 09:24 AMi tried simple POI test like "KLCC" as my destination for eg..but always prompt me an error saying unable to query the route.. i have no issue with goggle map though.. |
Mar 6 2009, 11:56 AM
Yes.. Already answer in post # 219..Here is the copy & paste from 219.
##YUP.. i had custom made some map.. It works great on the offline map.. However, i found out that 3G/GPRS is still needed if u are heading toward the wrong direction & that trigger the auto recompute of route (i like this features)... You can download the below XGPS map manager on your Windows XP PC.. Then transfer into your iphone.. It is so continence & so easy to make a custom made map.. You can download Map manager at http://xgps.xwaves.net/ ## QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 6 2009, 10:06 AM) |
Mar 6 2009, 06:28 PM
the answer is YES and NO. See what u want to use the XGPS for..Let say u have downloaded an offline map of the entire PG island.Then u use it to search for location(eg Komtar).This type of search does not need data access as it can locate it from the offline map.
If u want to use it as GPS driving navigation.It need GPRS data access to compute/plot out the direction.THEN,after that is will use the offline map(no GPRS/3G/EDGE) to navigate u to the destination. GPRS/3G/EDGE is needed again IF U R turning the wrong way.This causes XGPS to auto recompute new route. TRY to understand it...then u will get your answer. QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 6 2009, 11:59 AM) This post has been edited by sugen: Mar 6 2009, 06:31 PM |
Mar 9 2009, 11:42 AM
yea.. i like the creator of XGps map manager.. I had download the entire West coast of Malaysia.. Start from Kedah to JB.. Only took me 350MB. This include entire PG island & Langkawi...
QUOTE(matkoi @ Mar 8 2009, 02:02 PM) I've manage to download Perlis, Kedah, Pulau Pinang, Melaka and Selangor map totalling 280Mb with zoom detail of 0,1,2,4,6.Now I'm downloading Perak map. This post has been edited by sugen: Mar 9 2009, 11:48 AMIt will always stop half way when downloading so need to restart downloading the map again.Fortunately it has an auto resume. P/s: Other generation of Iphone can use as well but will need external GPS reciever. |
Mar 9 2009, 02:15 PM
You have to plot out the area.. Click Add a region, the "draw out" the are u want.. Only that Click Download.. If the area is big.. It will take a while to calculate before prompt out to save it ..
QUOTE(pierrechoong @ Mar 9 2009, 11:52 AM) how long did it take? ive tried downloading the maps but when the download button is clicked however there's no indication tat the map is being downloaded mind to shed some light on this thanks Added on March 9, 2009, 2:25 pmJust to show you my download map for the West coast... Once downloaded it will shows in Yellow color... Of course, i downloaded it pieces by pieces.. ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by sugen: Mar 9 2009, 02:25 PM |
Mar 21 2009, 11:19 AM
Try to key in the Full address of the destination.. It works in this way sometimes..
QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 17 2009, 01:32 AM) Meh, I haven't been able to download xgps off Cydia. Keeps giving me a md5 checksum error. Added on March 17, 2009, 9:14 pmEh I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. I've downloaded the maps in windows n transferred to my iPhone. In xgps I can view the maps and I can get gps lock to show my position. But when I try to get driving directions no matter what I try it always errors, something like can't find the route. What gives? Did I miss a step somewhere? [edit] here's the error i get. |
| Change to: | 0.0317sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:38 PM |