31 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

share your iphone 3G GPS usage, Sygic map-Voice turn-by-turn available!

Maverick Wil
post Nov 26 2008, 05:19 AM

303 posts

Yup...just under 5GB. That includes several levels of zoom all the way down to street detail. I got the map tiles using the GMDL application. You can find the link for it on OfflineMap's site here (on the right side of the page).

I don't recommend getting anything done for now though because of the FW2.2 update. There are some changes going on that the OfflineMaps' developers are still trying to identify. I will resume testing the cache I've downloaded once the issues have been sorted out and the results will be posted here of course. If successful, I was thinking of offering to help burn the data on to dvd discs for anyone who wants it. It would save a few days download...but yea we'll see how things develop.

This post has been edited by Maverick Wil: Nov 26 2008, 05:20 AM
g3n0c1d3
post Nov 26 2008, 04:28 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

5gb? tot 8gb was enough bfore.. but if ure really wanna download this.. better have a bigger capacity lah....

sheesh... 5 gb
Maverick Wil
post Nov 26 2008, 04:33 PM

303 posts

mmhmm.. 5GB is huge I know. I'm not even sure the iPhone will be able to load that big a cache.

This post has been edited by Maverick Wil: Nov 26 2008, 07:14 PM
Shock
post Nov 26 2008, 07:14 PM

518 posts

i think maverick dl all in different files, my idea is, only load in the file i need or when needed. let say i going penang, then only i load in penang maps.
Maverick Wil
post Nov 26 2008, 07:15 PM

303 posts

mmm bad news for the West Malaysia map. GMDL will not convert the file because I guess it's too damn big. I will try to see what alternative I can come up with.

In other news though, for those who have updated to the 2.2 firmware and need to use OfflineMaps, the existing cached maps that was posted on page 2 of this thread will not work anymore. This is because Apple has changed the tile square fragments from 64x64 to 128x128 size. There is a conversion tool though available now. I will post up the tutorial for that in a bit so those looking to make their own cached maps can do so.

I am also in the process of making a new KlangValley cached map for the fw2.2 that can be used with OfflineMaps which I will also post up in a bit.

Check back sometime after 9 tonight. Cheers.

Added on November 26, 2008, 7:16 pm@Shock

Yea I was thinking something along the same line. I'll think of that later. Will start with KlangValley first.

This post has been edited by Maverick Wil: Nov 26 2008, 07:16 PM
leonloke
post Nov 26 2008, 07:23 PM

55 posts

Tried to use the gps to generate the routing.....and it works. Testing done at my office in USJ7 , routing to my house in USJ20. It gives turn by turn directions to destination.
nokia2003
post Nov 26 2008, 07:23 PM

5,786 posts

@ Maverick Wil

thank you
Maverick Wil
post Nov 26 2008, 07:32 PM

303 posts

@nokia2003

Not a problem.

---

I think I might go with this. I'll have one cache for the entire West Malaysia starting somewhere around the Thai border and ending at Singapore but only between 128x and 512x zoom levels for a big picture. Then I'll create caches for each state for a map with more detailed zoom.

What do you guys think? Practical?
Shock
post Nov 26 2008, 09:07 PM

518 posts

i think you better go by state then city is much more better...
stephenCSW
post Jan 10 2009, 11:28 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(sugen @ Oct 26 2008, 12:22 AM)
Was testing it.. However information given in WORD seems is not updating & incorrect. It keep shows the same message..

I had tried out GPS and I found out the "Wording" on the top doesn't change from Page 1 to Page 2 automatically when I turn to the next turn. ( Always at the 1st "Wording" even I have been far away from starting point ). Any advice ??

Here what I do to set for direction on my iPhone FW2.2 ....
1) First, I wait until it have triangulate my current posiiton ( until small blue dot shown )
2) Then, I'll go for Direction page to set from "Current Location" to my Destination.
3) It will loading and shows the route where it will guide me.
4) Then, I shall press "Start" and it will zoom in to my starting point.
5) Follow by pressing the button on the bottom left corner, just to make sure when the blue dot shall remain at the centre screen with the map are moving as I drive.
* Miss out this step, and you will see the blue dot will move in the map, and soon it will out of the sight as the map never move.
6) Then, the only abnormal is I supposed the "Word" should also change to next when I make next turn in.

Any step that I have miss out ?

midoban
post Jan 21 2009, 12:06 PM

37 posts

There are aGPS and gps. For those iphone 1G users they can use aGPS which required internet access for positioning. However the position accuracy is very lousy.

For iphone 3G users, u can use the GPS feature without any gprs or wifi connection.

For the route guiding i think we put our faith on those 3rd party developer instead of waiting from apple. Im using a appstore offline map on my iphone in china which u can look for restaurant, bank, public facilities and bla bla bla, route guiding for public transport or driving, traffic flow.... Gt anything but just lacking of GPS function.
nandayryu
post Feb 10 2009, 03:28 AM

1,072 posts

why my GPS on my iphone doesnt work ?i've been trying to find a way out ,been filling the start : and End : with serdang and KLCC ,but both of them doesnt work,they said they could determine my location,or do i have to go to the roadside for that ?or Digi doesnt support ?then it said i cant connect to the internet,but there was one warnin from my cydia,but dont know whats that,coz i dont dare to go too far,am scare other prob with show up .pls reply me in PM ,as i hardly can find back the thread that i was in,thanks

Added on February 10, 2009, 3:48 ami eventually went to the cydia,and it said i need to update,do i have to update them as advised ?or how ?pls guide me.am some kind of headace now .the seller who sold me the iphone didnt want to take any responsibility.hope to settle this phone prob asap.

Added on February 10, 2009, 4:05 pmGPS is working with celcom number now,i was wondering if i aldy rquest for GPRS setting with my Digi .but now it has new prob appears,the ipod,to make call, all the 4 applications where it supposed to be at the bottom of the starting menu has been moving to the 3rd pages,i dotn know how to put them to the origin locations bck .

This post has been edited by nandayryu: Feb 10 2009, 04:05 PM
Shock
post Feb 10 2009, 05:21 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(nandayryu @ Feb 10 2009, 03:28 AM)
why my GPS on my iphone doesnt work ?i've been trying to find a way out ,been filling the start : and End : with serdang and KLCC ,but both of them doesnt work,they said they could determine my location,or do i have to go to the roadside for that ?or Digi doesnt support ?then it said i cant connect to the internet,but there was one warnin from my cydia,but dont know whats that,coz i dont dare to go too far,am scare other prob with show up .pls reply me in PM ,as i hardly can find back the thread that i was in,thanks

Added on February 10, 2009, 3:48 ami eventually went to the cydia,and it said i need to update,do i have to update them as advised ?or how ?pls guide me.am some kind of headace now .the seller who sold me the iphone didnt want to take any responsibility.hope to settle this phone prob asap.

Added on February 10, 2009, 4:05 pmGPS is working with celcom number now,i was wondering if i aldy rquest for GPRS setting with my Digi .but now it has new prob appears,the ipod,to make call, all the 4 applications where it supposed to be at the bottom of the starting menu has been moving to the 3rd pages,i dotn know how to put them to the origin locations bck .
i be good user today not shooting you by not reading the manual.

1)put ur thumb to any app and stay for few sec, once it shaking, drag it around, you can drag any app u like to bottom 4. or rearrange any apps according to your liking.
TSsugen
post Feb 13 2009, 02:36 PM

1,357 posts

Guys.. xGPS will Turn your iPhone into a True GPS device with Turn-By-Turn Voice Navigation. It will be release in Cydia at 20 Feb 2009... Watch the pre release Video.. The result is impressive ! I am sure many will happy about this..

Part1

Part2

http://www.iphonehacks.com/2009/02/xgps-wi...navigation.html

This post has been edited by sugen: Feb 13 2009, 03:09 PM
qwe65
post Feb 13 2009, 04:17 PM

my assistant
815 posts

iphone support garmin xt o not?

shockk
post Feb 13 2009, 04:21 PM

[ T A R G E T - L 0 C K E D ]
11,883 posts

QUOTE(sugen @ Feb 13 2009, 02:36 PM)
Guys.. xGPS will Turn your iPhone into a True GPS device with Turn-By-Turn Voice Navigation. It will be release in Cydia at 20 Feb 2009... Watch the pre release Video.. The result is impressive ! I am sure many will happy about this..
Part1

Part2

http://www.iphonehacks.com/2009/02/xgps-wi...navigation.html
i wonder is this Xgps Voice Turn free? i can't seem to find any info on that.

QUOTE(qwe65 @ Feb 13 2009, 04:17 PM)
iphone support garmin xt o not?
nope. not at the moment at least.
because garmin uses its own maps and the Aifontriji only allows its GPS chip to be used in Google Maps so far.
TSsugen
post Feb 13 2009, 05:18 PM

1,357 posts

Not yet Bro.. It is coming soon in Cydia.. It says 20 Feb

This post has been edited by sugen: Feb 13 2009, 05:19 PM
frozzbyte
post Feb 13 2009, 08:54 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

The voice damn scary la.
frequency
post Feb 14 2009, 03:05 AM

我要挑战十个!
2,567 posts

This is interesting but the load on demand map (googlemap) which drives ur $ with 3G still a headache issue..

Really cross finger some developer done it.....tomtom(Apple say no) or Garmin (have their own phone why Iphone)
baretta
post Feb 14 2009, 01:38 PM

1,853 posts

U can try xgps 1.1. And compare with others like offline maps etc....

31 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:02 PM