Top Glove 7113, High speed growth

cucumber
post Sep 16 2020, 10:42 AM

821 posts

QUOTE(Eurobeater @ Sep 14 2020, 10:01 AM)
PE ratio for this stock damn high wey. 180+

On one hand, I feel like I want to goreng and get 10 lots. On the other hand, it looks very overvalued
Depends on how you calculate the PE ratio. If you estimate based on the next 4 quarter earnings. It's undervalued as of now. TP should be at least RM14 (based on PE 30) after tomorrow's qr results (if the rumored 1bil pat is right and provided if they are able to maintain the same quarter to quarter earnings in 2021).

This post has been edited by cucumber: Sep 16 2020, 10:48 AM
cucumber
post Jul 8 2021, 07:25 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jul 8 2021, 04:20 PM)
With all intents and purposes, topg has reached last December JPM target price.

Next question, will topg overshoot and by how much?
Based on TA, fair value trend line is at rm2.60 to rm3 range. I'm planning to collect if it falls within that range.
cucumber
post Jul 8 2021, 07:37 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 4 2021, 08:41 AM)
covid pumped it too high... otherwise should peaked around rm 3.6-4...and retrace to rm 2.5 would be good entry
Agree. Might have to wait a few more months... I feel it's due for a rebound already, should see it being pumped back up to >rm4 soon before final retracement to rm2.60 thereabout.
cucumber
post Jul 8 2021, 08:12 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(tailangong @ Jul 8 2021, 07:59 PM)
No point to buy if it falls into this range. Dividend yield will be lower at that time. Unless u plan to hold long.
Next week would be good time to pump and wait announcement for factory reopen, imho
Yea, for long term hold.
cucumber
post Aug 11 2021, 11:43 PM

821 posts

Harta has reached a very good price now, anyone here buying?
cucumber
post Sep 12 2021, 12:08 AM

821 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Sep 7 2021, 07:36 PM)
Hartalega is currently operating only at 70% of its capacity utilising 60% of its workforce, Kuan said.
Hartalega sees the average selling price of gloves to normalize by the first quarter of next year after having been on a downtrend since its peak moving into second of the year, Kuan said.

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...o-glove-market/

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/202...-hartalega-says
Covid has not ended, yet their stock price has now dropped to pre-mco level & with much much more extra cash on hand. You don't think it's undervalued?
cucumber
post Sep 12 2021, 10:57 AM

821 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Sep 12 2021, 02:00 AM)
If you buying long term dividends then by all means go ahead

Current level 52 week low next week will be interesting whether retail buying is hunting due to CBP approval back  rclxms.gif
Yea, I think based on chart TG stock price still got room to fall, support at rm2.50 to rm2.80.

But harta to me is already undervalued, I'm slowly collecting at rm6.60. Will buy more if below rm6. Plan to keep for a few years.
cucumber
post Sep 23 2021, 10:23 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 23 2021, 09:13 PM)
Why invest in a stock which is most likely to earn less and less money the next few years?
Make less money in the next few quarters yes, but their stock price has almost came down to pre-covid level. So it has already priced in. They have a lot more free cash flow now, fundamentally it is still very strong compared to other companies in Bursa... at some point, it's going to bounce back up because the stock price can only go so low. So why not?
cucumber
post Sep 23 2021, 11:24 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 23 2021, 11:06 PM)
Pre covid price levels. The prices around March last year was 1.60 (adjusted due to the bonus shares last year). And before that it was trading in the 1.10-1.39 range.

Making less money in the next few quarters. For every less money making quarter, how would the market react? Will the market be forgiving or will the market punish it lower every time? So why rush to buy now?

After these make less money quarters, how will TG perform? Will its earnings stabilise or will there be growth? What if it takes a long time to stabilise? For comparison, you could use the previous Sars pandemic as an example. After Sars, the industry was hit with massive over capacity, which drove selling prices lower for many years. So you gotta ask, what if this happens again?
Not saying we should jump in and buy now, but I'll monitor and wait for the prices go back to 1.50 levels. I'm optimistic that the earnings will stabilised, it's a risk I'm willing to take.

SARs time was the same it ran up and price dropped 60% for about 2 years only. Then it just kept going up and up.

cucumber
post Sep 23 2021, 11:57 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Sep 23 2021, 11:53 PM)
why not buy in about 24 months time or after price turned for the better.
It's been dropping for over a year.. if the price reach my projected DCF model's fair value then I'd start buying, nobody can predict exactly where the bottom is right.

This post has been edited by cucumber: Sep 24 2021, 12:00 AM
cucumber
post Sep 24 2021, 12:23 AM

821 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Sep 24 2021, 12:21 AM)
Previously, china glove producers were not strong competitors. some china glove producers have invested in upstream (nitrile), will have cheaper raw mat cost than topg.
Sure give it a discount, otherwise how should we value a company?

What do you think topglove is worth now with all the negative news?
cucumber
post Sep 24 2021, 12:59 AM

821 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Sep 24 2021, 12:46 AM)
From China export data, asp is likely to drop below pre pandemic level by the end of the year.
Yes I understand. We could give it a discount.

At the end of the day, the company is still going to be worth something, if want to wait until the revenue goes up only buy sure, go ahead.

I prefer to buy when nobody wants it. Not going to put all my money in for sure. I think at rm1 to 3 range there's already a good margin of safety, compare to buying it at rm6+.
cucumber
post Sep 24 2021, 11:09 AM

821 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 24 2021, 09:23 AM)
Ahh... I see. Cause in your initial post was 'why not'... nvm...

Yes, investments is all about the risks. Which is why I raised those questions. Those are the risks.

SARS.

Firstly, here's a sector report on the glove sector just on Sep 2019... not long b4 Covid.

and here is screenshot...

Despite the glove sector export recording 12% y-y growth, swelling capacity and intensified competitions caused pressured on the..... ASP.
See? 2019... and the glove sector had the issue of over capacity and pricing wars... since SARS day...

(that was posted on the stock market discussion thread not too long ago)

So, even from SARS, the gloves sector suffered from a long drawn over capacity and price wars. It was known as a sunset industry until Covid 19 hit.

Hence the risk. Over capacity is going to be worst as we are seeing more players now and then China. If you know China products or had dealt with Chinese players b4, you would know that in nature, they are extremely aggressive. Once they are in an industry, they WILL go all out and price wars follows without fail. It's early days now but the lowering prices can be seen already.

So you have supply issue. And then what about demand issue?

Yes, SARs, TG went up a lot...

but after that .... have a look at this multi year weekly chart (which has been price adjusted for bonus+dividends)

without another worldwide pandemic, glove stocks could be stuck for a long while....
Profits.... what is the risk? A long drawn profit decline is probably the worst scenario.... every year down about 10% type... cos the investor will never know when the rot will end....
or what if profit stagnates for a long time?

Dividends... yeah... dividends did look sexy but since the dividends is tied to a percentage of the profit, once the profit goes down, the dividends will go down in a hurry too.... as dividend drops, the stock price will follow....

lot's of concerns/risks....

and naturally, the logical question is what if the glove sector becomes back a sunset industry, just like how it was b4 Covid..... so does appeal to you as a good no brainer investment?
price declines... naturally will attract some value hunters... but just remember ... not value plays are safe... some do turn into value trap.
so do think about all these.... dun dive in just cos the stock appears to have fallen a lot.
Thanks for taking the time to post this. I do appreciate it, all are valid points. I have considered them as well. Investing in glove companies have always been risky, I don't think people should jump into this right now without considering the risk... for me, it's still a good value stock to own as a part of my overall portfolio. Just a small percentage anyway. It's no big deal.

cucumber
post Sep 26 2021, 05:40 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ Sep 26 2021, 01:07 PM)
Any advice to those who bought this share at rm6 or rm7? The only way I can think of is buy low to breakeven? Question is when is the right moment as price is getting lower and lower. It bounced back once a while but dropping again..
It is already in a bear market so there's always risk of it going lower. So what if it doesn't go up ever again, then what?

Nobody knows the future, anything can happen in the market, the only thing you can do now is manage your risk properly.

There are only 3 options :

Hold - If you have holding power and don't care if the price goes up or down.

Sell - If your position size is too big and can't handle the loss + stress. Selling some might be something you want to consider. Preserve your capital so you can live to fight another day. There are other opportunities out there.

Buy - If you're still optimistic about the company, create a strategy to buy/sell. For example, only add if it goes down every 20%. Don't simply average down and don't use all your allocation. Also, sell some when the stock price goes 20% above your average price. So there's no need to time the market if you have a system like this in place. There are stock rebalancing spreadsheets you can find online to manage this. You can Pm me if you want the spreadsheet I'm using.

Hope this helps.

This post has been edited by cucumber: Sep 26 2021, 06:00 PM
cucumber
post Sep 27 2021, 11:14 AM

821 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Sep 27 2021, 01:12 AM)
That's a advantage for glove industry in Malaysia.
A big advantage is also in our ability to innovate like Hartalega. If they were able to disrupt the industry many times in the past, then it is entirely possible for them to continually to do so because it is in their DNA.

People now made it seem like just because China has some advantage during the pandemic, our companies will start failing and lose money from here on.

30 years in the business. Highest quality grade gloves. Good relationships with the clients around the world. Billions of net cash sitting in the war chest. Market consumption still projected to have 10% yearly growth.

Is it really that bad of an investment? If Malaysian glove companies lose market share, then just switch to China companies. But don't forget China also got a lot of issues right now and foreign investors are running away from them.

Maybe, just maybe we should have a little more faith in our capabilities.

cucumber
post Sep 27 2021, 11:38 AM

821 posts

QUOTE(squarepilot @ Sep 27 2021, 11:34 AM)
This shall applies to other gloves company in malaysia but not for topglove, don't forget they have already issued out massive dividend and also the losses due to share buyback

don't only look at the biggest tree in the forest, learn to look at the whole forest too.

during price war, everyone except buyer are casualties. calculate your own risk before going in

p/s: topglove management so-so only, if you are serious into gloves, why not look at better ones sweat.gif
I'm buying Harta, not TG. Which better ones are you referring to?

This post has been edited by cucumber: Sep 27 2021, 11:38 AM
cucumber
post Sep 27 2021, 11:50 AM

821 posts

QUOTE(squarepilot @ Sep 27 2021, 11:47 AM)
definitely not toglove

was assuming you are referring to Topglove because you posted on Topglove thread
Yea sorry, there's no glove section here.. so I just chime into TG thread and post, i'm not their biggest fan too. Haha

This post has been edited by cucumber: Sep 27 2021, 11:50 AM
cucumber
post Sep 30 2021, 02:42 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Sep 30 2021, 02:03 PM)
Never ending down trend along with other glove players 🤔
Spglobal analysts upgraded their fair value recently to rm4.50 from rm1.80. Something must have changed.

Technical wise we're already seeing a throw over close to the end of a big descending wedge. With bullish divergence in the weekly macd. Oversold in monthly stochastic. All these are signs of trend reversal.
cucumber
post Sep 30 2021, 06:22 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(HolyAssasin4444 @ Sep 30 2021, 04:11 PM)
I'm gonna give an unpopular opinion here to all the blind bulls for gloves. Tip, don't hold on to a loser. Averaging down, buy the dip etc are just sunk cost fallacy. Just cut loss, why lose more money as gloves drop further.

Everyone so surprised about analysts downgrading to sub RM2, technical 'analysis' constantly predicting a rebound (as good as astrology for me). Every broken support confirm got sifu come in and say more support, buy more.

Just look at precovid quarterly revenue, compare to covid, and then the most recent quarter. Doesn't take a genius with computers to see that the covid spike in sales is most likely gonna be a one-off thing. ASP price data also shows continuous trend towards normality ie precovid. Doing a simple DCF, even being really optimistic on 15% CAGR next 5 years with 0 capex also doesn't yield a price any higher than RM2.20. New players in the glove industry both locally and in China. You really gotta ask yourself, do you think that TG still can grow revenue and maintain margins as before? I personally don't think so, and there are further downside even when at RM2.20

"But what about covid profit? Must be worth something in the share price no? Share price must be higher than pre covid la." Yes, but no. Previous profit already accounted for in the cash balance of the company + any assets the company reinvested. For TG tho, not so much. Remember the special dividend they issued previously? All the buyback done by the company when it was RM6-ish? That's where all your covid profits went to, all the free cash flow being returned to shareholders already.

I'd be happy to be proven wrong, but if the next few quarters of profit continue to trend back to normality (the scenario that I think is most likely), TG is just gonna slowly trend towards sub RM2 no matter how many squiggly lines you draw on a chart. Even if there are sudden spikes in share price, it's not going to be long term
Your opinion is actually the popular one. Don't worry about it.
cucumber
post Sep 30 2021, 06:23 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Sep 30 2021, 04:24 PM)
But ib can change their tp within few days while nothing has changed. Hmm agree with oversold but doesn't mean it won't go lower?
That's true. It can definitely go lower.

0.0272sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:29 AM