Agile Mobile, IM for iPhone

TSliewxxx
post Oct 5 2008, 02:29 PM, updated 18y ago

133 posts

Just upgraded my iPhone to ver 2.1 today and i can't find a place to download the agile mobile app that i've been using on my v1.1.3. is there any chance anyone know a similar client (it doesn't turn off when the phone is on standby) or how to download the app again?

tinkerbel
post Oct 5 2008, 03:04 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@liewxxx,
Palringo doesn't do an immediate 'switch off' but I'm quite sure it switches off after a while - U could try that application?

PS: If U find one which doesn't switch off, do share please smile.gif Thanks !
Clarencerx
post Oct 5 2008, 05:07 PM

Apple. The only perfection.
971 posts

from what i know,there is no agile for firmware 2.1 yet.jus wait for another few weeks,might appear..haha
jakesean
post Oct 5 2008, 06:57 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 5 2008, 03:04 PM)
@liewxxx,
Palringo doesn't do an immediate 'switch off' but I'm quite sure it switches off after a while - U could try that application?

PS: If U find one which doesn't switch off, do share please smile.gif  Thanks !
doesnt switch off? wat u mean? like working on the background? if yes, then u should give backgrounder a try.. its somewhere on cydia.. couple it up with palringo and u can have palringo running on ur background...
tinkerbel
post Oct 5 2008, 07:05 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@jakesean,
Yes, doesn't switch off as in it works in the background smile.gif

Hmm.. backgrounder huh?! I should check that out - the only other thing I need to know - do we need to jailbreak our phone to be able to use those applications on Cydia?! Coz I haven't done that to mine just yet! tongue.gif
jakesean
post Oct 5 2008, 07:07 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 5 2008, 07:05 PM)
@jakesean,
Yes, doesn't switch off as in it works in the background smile.gif

Hmm.. backgrounder huh?! I should check that out - the only other thing I need to know - do we need to jailbreak our phone to be able to use those applications on Cydia?!  Coz I haven't done that to mine just yet! tongue.gif
yah have to jailbreak.. some of the apps are quite useful.. e.g Backgrounder, PdaNet, Cycorder, etc..
tinkerbel
post Oct 5 2008, 07:08 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@jakesean,
oh oK.. is it possible to give me a solution/suggestion; without having to jailbreak my phone?! wink.gif
samlee860407
post Oct 5 2008, 07:23 PM

4,631 posts

tinkerbel, there is 1 IM application that does not switch off , which is selling at apps store, and you dont nid to JB ur phone,

however, it cost USD15.99
the apps name is beejiveIM

do search at apps store
rushmode
post Oct 5 2008, 08:59 PM

221 posts

try fring on itunes app store.. its free.. and i dun think its switch off when on standby..

or u can use backgrounder to make in stay active.. JB and install using cydia.
Masamune
post Oct 5 2008, 10:01 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

I think fring is great..
For me in russia being able to make skype and voip calls is just great..
Will suggest for anybody lol.. =)

Added on October 5, 2008, 10:05 pm
QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Oct 5 2008, 07:23 PM)
tinkerbel, there is 1 IM application that does not switch off , which is selling at apps store, and you dont nid to JB ur phone,

however, it cost USD15.99
the apps name is beejiveIM

do search at apps store
Just wanna ask..appstore say beejive im run on background but require mobile me or push email to notify u..
So if i use msn will it notify me if i run it on background?

This post has been edited by Masamune: Oct 5 2008, 10:05 PM
Fighteden
post Oct 5 2008, 10:24 PM

Stark Industries
977 posts

just get IM+, its the best so far..

But still AgileMessenger is better..

I hope they port it to 2.x firmware.. sad.gif
kmheing
post Oct 5 2008, 11:34 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(Fighteden @ Oct 5 2008, 10:24 PM)
just get IM+, its the best so far..

But still AgileMessenger is better..

I hope they port it to 2.x firmware.. sad.gif
agree..i think no other software can beat IM+ for now..
samlee860407
post Oct 6 2008, 12:55 AM

4,631 posts

IM+ sucks for hell la...LOL
nokia2003
post Oct 6 2008, 12:55 AM

5,786 posts

IM+ is bad for yahoo messenger users.
whizzy
post Oct 6 2008, 01:17 AM

37 posts

In my opinion you'll never say IM+ is the best if you've tried beejive
its way way better compared to IM+
best IM so far BUT $15.99 is hell lot of money
Masamune
post Oct 6 2008, 03:30 AM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

I've used both parlingo and IM+
I still think parlingo is better even though u need a paringo acc..
The interface is better and easier than IM+
tinkerbel
post Oct 6 2008, 12:44 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@samlee860407,
Thanks for the info. Call me a cheapskate but USD15.99 for an IM software is definitely NOT worth paying for ! tongue.gif
TSliewxxx
post Oct 6 2008, 06:27 PM

133 posts

will give backgrounder a try.

but i think the small small things in agile mobile makes it so much fun to use. like it will vibrate when there's a message coming in, the user interface is nice etc etc...
Fighteden
post Oct 7 2008, 01:26 AM

Stark Industries
977 posts

Instant Messenging software should be free.. hence all the PC based software are all free right?

MSN, YM, ICQ, Skype and etc etc ..

Correct me if i am wrong ..
TSliewxxx
post Oct 7 2008, 08:28 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(Fighteden @ Oct 7 2008, 01:26 AM)
Instant Messenging software should be free.. hence all the PC based software are all free right?

MSN, YM, ICQ, Skype and etc etc ..

Correct me if i am wrong ..
agree!
tinkerbel
post Oct 7 2008, 11:27 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Fighteden,
It'll be nice if it's free - thus far the reviews on this beejive thingy is v good. And, we can't stop people from charging - thing is, even at USD15.99 people are paying for it!

Too bad I don't earn in USD otherwise in local currency it might not be that much ! *grins* I might consider spending RM15.99 on it [Yeah right! I probably won't either!]
rushmode
post Oct 7 2008, 12:44 PM

221 posts

you can always use meebo!

0.0917sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:03 PM