Car shaking when over 100km/h

TSychwang
post Oct 3 2008, 11:28 AM, updated 18y ago

Little *
4,607 posts

I just did my wheel balancing and alignment not long ago, and also change two front tyre.
When the car going below or 100km/h is ok, but once it over 101km/h, the car suddenly feel very shake. May i know what cause the problem like that?
imr4n
post Oct 3 2008, 11:31 AM

283 posts

bring the car for tuning, not just balancing
redkyuubi
post Oct 3 2008, 12:29 PM

20 posts

engine shaking or all car shaking...

try to send to mech and checking ur car lower arm...maybe already worn... just my opinion.. ehehe
the_catacombs
post Oct 3 2008, 01:45 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Oct 3 2008, 11:28 AM)
I just did my wheel balancing and alignment not long ago, and also change two front tyre.
When the car going below or 100km/h is ok, but once it over 101km/h, the car suddenly feel very shake. May i know what cause the problem like that?
did u do any on-wheel balacing after swapping the tyres??... unsure.gif
kopiokao
post Oct 3 2008, 03:46 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Oct 3 2008, 01:45 PM)
I think he did the wheel balancing...

Btw, i've experience the same problem u have with my 405 Peugeot, after certain speed, then the car will shake like washing machine... and after some checking, the main cause is the drive shaft koyak. u might want to check ur drive shaft?
TSychwang
post Oct 3 2008, 04:34 PM

Little *
4,607 posts

QUOTE(imr4n @ Oct 3 2008, 11:31 AM)
bring the car for tuning, not just balancing
U mean engine tuning? its not the engine problem i guess

QUOTE(redkyuubi @ Oct 3 2008, 12:29 PM)
engine shaking or all car shaking...

try to send to mech and checking ur car lower arm...maybe already worn... just my opinion.. ehehe
The front part all shaking, like washing machine lo, haha. Shake till i also pening, and dare not go further.

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Oct 3 2008, 01:45 PM)
QUOTE(kopiokao @ Oct 3 2008, 03:46 PM)
I think he did the wheel balancing...

Btw, i've experience the same problem u have with my 405 Peugeot, after certain speed, then the car will shake like washing machine... and after some checking, the main cause is the drive shaft koyak. u might want to check ur drive shaft?
My driveshaft on lefthand side already got sound, but i think just a minor one cause i change not long ago. And the sound only come out when do max turn.

mine problem is right after 101km/h it suddenly become shaky one woh, not happen gradually from 90km>100km. Something wrong with the alignment?

Then I try to drive until 110km/h and quickly press clutch to make it disengage become freegear. But the shaky doesnt dissapear. I presume the problem is not Engine or Transmission Gearbox related.

Tanakwagu_noh
post Oct 4 2008, 09:39 PM

Photographer
866 posts

alignment and balancing...normally for my waja auto..
PrinceCC
post Oct 4 2008, 11:39 PM

292 posts

Rim Bengkok..?will also happen..

Lower Arm Bush...?check it..

or wat Rim u using?if stock come wif rim13" and u upgrade to 15" and above..then try add wat the called is CORN.it put all around ur rim there..
is jus a round thing..

u tell them CORN at tyre shop,they will know it..
^^
redkyuubi
post Oct 5 2008, 02:10 AM

20 posts

for me the problem like my frenz kancil... lower arm and liazup rod prob... ehehe

just sharing my experience...
lotiman2003
post Oct 6 2008, 11:19 AM

1,367 posts

Yes, Alignment and balancing.
TSychwang
post Oct 6 2008, 05:00 PM

Little *
4,607 posts

alignment n balancing already check when change type
btw, i still using the same width/size tyre,
tplcaik
post Oct 7 2008, 09:50 AM

<DeaL WiTh ConFideNcE>
3,541 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Oct 6 2008, 05:00 PM)
alignment n balancing already check when change type
btw, i still using the same width/size tyre,
Normal shop do normal balancing for normal driver only. U go back the shop ask them do over-wheel for u. Tell them u sometime need drive over 110km/j. This is my exp la, last time I also face this problem. Finally fixed with over-wheel. icon_rolleyes.gif
zeist
post Oct 7 2008, 03:10 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

It's your driveshaft. If your driveshaft is faulty, even if you do alignment, balancing, chamber it won't work. It will still lari afterthat. The moment you hear krrukk krruukk sound coming from the driveshaft, whether soft or loud, it is faulty already.

The day when I change new tires, my both driveshaft already koyak. The tireman asked me to do chamber settings, since both front tires went inner. Then upon testing the car, he found out that both of my driveshafts already koyak. So he told me to change the driveshafts first, then come back some other day to do the chamber settings.

I then immediately I go to my mech shop, and change both sides, then head back to the shop. He redo the alignment and chamber for me.

UltraConductor_41
post Oct 11 2008, 04:49 AM

428 posts

try to continue raise ur speed..if only shaking within a range, eg: between 100-120km/h....go check ur driveshaft....

remember get a experienced mechanic.
previously i been going for 3 mechanic, all say my driveshaft no problem. and the 4th which is my dad fren, just test drive for 5min, then confirm its driveshaft problem. after change, no shaking anymore~
loong2020
post Oct 11 2008, 02:41 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

will taking out tyre effect over wheel balancing?...coz that day i change brake pads, then vibrate again around 110km...then redo over wheel balancing, yesterday night, driving along federal, felt the steering shaking and vibrating...but then after sometimes no shaking/vibrating..but very minimal..la... hmm.gif....wads the problem?...if i din hold the steering, it will vibrate slightly..even over balancin has done.. doh.gif
the_catacombs
post Oct 11 2008, 04:29 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Oct 11 2008, 02:41 PM)
will taking out tyre effect over wheel balancing?...coz that day i change brake pads, then vibrate again around 110km...then redo over wheel balancing, yesterday night, driving along federal, felt the steering shaking and vibrating...but then after sometimes no shaking/vibrating..but very minimal..la... hmm.gif....wads the problem?...if i din hold the steering, it will vibrate slightly..even over balancin has done.. doh.gif
nope... wont affect ur wheel balancing if jz remove ur wheel.... thats why we have off-wheel balancing machine... they pre-balance the wheel before fitting it to ur car... icon_rolleyes.gif
GuyzNexDoor
post Nov 30 2008, 01:21 PM

486 posts

Since my problem almost the same, dun think i ned to open new thread. Last weekend, went back to my hometown in Perak. To & fro with average speed around 120km/h - 135 km/h, no problem happened. This week, i went outstation from Monday - Wednesday, came back on Thursday. Went by plane, so i parked my car at my office parking lot coz got roof & security guard. tongue.gif So, the problem is since thursday till now, my car shaking very badly when i drive over 100km/h, as if the engine wanna fall off. Does it happen because drive shaft oso? I already change my front drive shaft late last year, not even one year. Need advice here coz dun wanna go to workshop with zero knowledge of the possible cause of the problem. Nowadays, too many dishonest w/shop, later they will charge me for something that i dun even have to change. Thanks in advance.

BTW, some info about my car - Proton Wira Aeroback 1.5 (manual), 2002 made.
the_catacombs
post Nov 30 2008, 01:38 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(GuyzNexDoor @ Nov 30 2008, 01:21 PM)
Since my problem almost the same, dun think i ned to open new thread. Last weekend, went back to my hometown in Perak. To & fro with average speed around 120km/h - 135 km/h, no problem happened. This week, i went outstation from Monday - Wednesday, came back on Thursday. Went by plane, so i parked my car at my office parking lot coz got roof & security guard.  tongue.gif  So, the problem is since thursday till now, my car shaking very badly when i drive over 100km/h, as if the engine wanna fall off. Does it happen because drive shaft oso? I already change my front drive shaft late last year, not even one year. Need advice here coz dun wanna go to workshop with zero knowledge of the possible cause of the problem. Nowadays, too many dishonest w/shop, later they will charge me for something that i dun even have to change. Thanks in advance.

BTW, some info about my car -  Proton Wira Aeroback 1.5 (manual), 2002 made.
it shakes even when u let go ur accelerator pedal??... or jz shake whenever u accelerate???...

if shake when u accelerate, could be driveshaft...

if shake whenever it moves even free gear slowing down, check ur wheel balancing first...
GuyzNexDoor
post Nov 30 2008, 01:51 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Nov 30 2008, 01:38 PM)
it shakes even when u let go ur accelerator pedal??... or jz shake whenever u accelerate???...

if shake when u accelerate, could be driveshaft...

if shake whenever it moves even free gear slowing down, check ur wheel balancing first...
It shakes when the speed over 100 km/h.. I mean, when i accelerate over 100 km/h the car starts shaking even when i let go the accelerator pedal as long as the speed still over 100 km/h.

Hmm.. seems like i have to change my driveshaft yet again. sweat.gif
post Nov 30 2008, 04:39 PM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

Its either your wheel not properly balanced or you inflate ur tyre at the incorrect air pressure.

Please make sure your tyre not kembung.This happens if water vapour gets inside your tyre.When it cools,it condenses on ur tyre wall.

This post has been edited by 779364: Nov 30 2008, 04:42 PM
the_catacombs
post Nov 30 2008, 07:54 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(GuyzNexDoor @ Nov 30 2008, 01:51 PM)
It shakes when the speed over 100 km/h.. I mean, when i accelerate over 100 km/h the car starts shaking even when i let go the accelerator pedal as long as the speed still over 100 km/h.

Hmm.. seems like i have to change my driveshaft yet again. sweat.gif
if it still shakes when u let go ur accelerator even at speeds of 100kmh, might not be ur driveshaft... check ur wheel balancing and other bushing around ur suspension geometry...

0.0190sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:44 AM