plsss help me to decide...

TSespree
post Oct 3 2008, 12:04 AM, updated 18y ago

1,214 posts

Hi all masters and sifus..

I don't know which is better for long term dividend yield, I'm thinking to buy either
Berjaya Toto or Amway

Or other better alternatives welcome.

Also, thinking to add YTL to my portfolio.. any opinion or suggestion appreciated.

Thank you thank you.

This post has been edited by espree: Oct 3 2008, 12:05 AM
Jordy
post Oct 3 2008, 12:19 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(espree @ Oct 3 2008, 12:04 AM)
Hi all masters and sifus..

I don't know which is better for long term dividend yield, I'm thinking to buy either
Berjaya Toto or Amway

Or other better alternatives welcome.

Also, thinking to add YTL to my portfolio.. any opinion or suggestion appreciated.

Thank you thank you.
BTOTO and AMWAY are both good and stable dividend counters. You have to do a little thinking and analyzing to make that decision.

BTOTO: People will gamble, regardless of economy situation. So, the income from Toto is very stable, but do not expect the earnings for BTOTO to increase a lot, since it is quite a stagnant business model. The only drawback is that it is a sin counter, and the price would be greatly affected by the increase of sin tax (which is expected to increase each year).

AMWAY: A consumer related counter, so it means that the cashflow is cyclical. Expect to see lower income during hard times like now. Once the crisis hits our pockets and then reflected in Amway's balance sheet, the price would fall. This might not be such a good counter for long term as the business income is mostly cyclical, which means it moves up and down quite frequently.

I have not done a thorough analysis into it, so I could not give you a more accurate answer. This is just the basic fundamentals you should look into.
TSespree
post Oct 3 2008, 01:41 AM

1,214 posts

Just as i thought for Amway. But Berjaya Toto..
I've checked Berjaya's intercompany loan and transparency.. How likely will that be an issue?

0.0121sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:53 AM