Dec 5 2009, 11:18 AM
10,459 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Puchong |
I'm sorry but is Shook Yee the Panasonic girl?
Dec 5 2009, 11:43 AM
3,508 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
Dec 5 2009, 01:41 PM
5,075 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Hey, the pc fair photos are nice =)
Mind sharing how u capture the 1st photo (panasonic showgirl aka shook yee)? You are using prime lens right... So what ISO did you use, and how did you fire the flash? Im using D40+kit lens+Nissin di622 so the noise control and lighting is not that good. I use a bounce card and bounce the flash, but it seems a bit harsh too. See the following pic (click)http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2775/415887...909938ff0_o.jpg Sifu can teach? Thanks =) |
Dec 5 2009, 01:44 PM
14,242 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: JAVABUS |
zelleonhart, what flash mode u using ar ?
btw, u can use Manual control in ur body. then u can control ur ambient exposure. seems like the background exposure is a bit under |
Dec 5 2009, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(168257061 @ Dec 5 2009, 01:44 PM) zelleonhart, what flash mode u using ar ? I was using manual flash mode from my flash Nissin Di622, not TTL. TTL will be underexposed a lot. I bounce the flash, not direct flash, but it still shows some harsh flash on the face and the background is not illuminated, only the person. How can I improve? I only have one lens though. ISO 400 is already my limit, ISO 800 too noisy for my camera...btw, u can use Manual control in ur body. then u can control ur ambient exposure. seems like the background exposure is a bit under |
Dec 5 2009, 04:18 PM
9,778 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: KL(Wangsa Maju) , Seremban 2 |
QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Dec 5 2009, 01:49 PM) I was using manual flash mode from my flash Nissin Di622, not TTL. TTL will be underexposed a lot. I bounce the flash, not direct flash, but it still shows some harsh flash on the face and the background is not illuminated, only the person. How can I improve? I only have one lens though. ISO 400 is already my limit, ISO 800 too noisy for my camera... PC fair's lighting condition is pretty harsh I would say. Most of the time the photographers will face gears limitation instead of wrong setting. Having said so, you guys are just lucky that they brighten up the area this time. |
Dec 5 2009, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Dec 5 2009, 04:18 PM) PC fair's lighting condition is pretty harsh I would say. Most of the time the photographers will face gears limitation instead of wrong setting. Having said so, you guys are just lucky that they brighten up the area this time. Yea i agree this time's outcome is better than august's pc fair and the previous ones. Last time I bounce flash even with 1/2 power @ ISO 400 it will be either underexposed or very harsh. Hmm, upgrading body or upgrading lens help in my condition? |
Dec 5 2009, 04:29 PM
3,508 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Dec 5 2009, 04:26 PM) Yea i agree this time's outcome is better than august's pc fair and the previous ones. Last time I bounce flash even with 1/2 power @ ISO 400 it will be either underexposed or very harsh. Hmm, upgrading body or upgrading lens help in my condition? got $$$, upgrade body la~ but will still give similar results i think, unless u upgrade to D3 la better buy prime lens or constant aperture lens |
Dec 5 2009, 04:30 PM
9,778 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: KL(Wangsa Maju) , Seremban 2 |
QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Dec 5 2009, 04:26 PM) Yea i agree this time's outcome is better than august's pc fair and the previous ones. Last time I bounce flash even with 1/2 power @ ISO 400 it will be either underexposed or very harsh. Hmm, upgrading body or upgrading lens help in my condition? The previous PC Fairs, shooting with 40D also can die. Pretty tough weh. Better body has better noise control. Certainly that would help a lot. You get faster shutter speed, you don't need to manually tune your flash power. Better lens has bigger aperture hence you don't need to step down too much to get sharp pictures. |
Dec 5 2009, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(General_Nic @ Dec 5 2009, 04:29 PM) got $$$, upgrade body la~ but will still give similar results i think, unless u upgrade to D3 la better buy prime lens or constant aperture lens QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Dec 5 2009, 04:30 PM) The previous PC Fairs, shooting with 40D also can die. Pretty tough weh. Better body has better noise control. Certainly that would help a lot. You get faster shutter speed, you don't need to manually tune your flash power. Better lens has bigger aperture hence you don't need to step down too much to get sharp pictures. Perhaps a D90 paired with 50mm F1.8 or Tammy 17-50mm F2.8 will be a good upgrade...But just the D90 body is already a wallet killer... I don't have income, only have PTPTN to support my daily needs and school fees. I hope i can save up to that amount in 2 years T.T Before that i can only bear with it and get more experience =( |
Dec 5 2009, 08:48 PM
QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Dec 5 2009, 01:41 PM) Hey, the pc fair photos are nice =) Thanks for the compliment.Mind sharing how u capture the 1st photo (panasonic showgirl aka shook yee)? You are using prime lens right... So what ISO did you use, and how did you fire the flash? Im using D40+kit lens+Nissin di622 so the noise control and lighting is not that good. I use a bounce card and bounce the flash, but it seems a bit harsh too. See the following pic (click)http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2775/415887...909938ff0_o.jpg Sifu can teach? Thanks =) All photos from this set was shot using Sigma 30mm f/1.4. Aperture typically ranges from f/1.4 to f/2.8. With this prime lens, I used ISO ranging from 200 to 640. Canon 580 EX II flash is mounted on the camera accompanied by lambency diffuser. No studio strobe, no worries This post has been edited by mengsuan: Dec 5 2009, 08:48 PM |
Dec 5 2009, 08:52 PM
QUOTE(mengsuan @ Dec 5 2009, 08:48 PM) Thanks for the compliment. Oh i see... In your opinion is lambency diffuser versatile and good to be used instead of a bounce card?All photos from this set was shot using Sigma 30mm f/1.4. Aperture typically ranges from f/1.4 to f/2.8. With this prime lens, I used ISO ranging from 200 to 640. Canon 580 EX II flash is mounted on the camera accompanied by lambency diffuser. No studio strobe, no worries |
Dec 5 2009, 09:01 PM
Lambency is versatile but heavy. Don't be surprised when everyone stares at you while you are shooting with that mangkuk maggi mee.
I am so far satisfied with the output. |
Dec 5 2009, 09:17 PM
Dec 5 2009, 11:15 PM
14,242 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: JAVABUS |
QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Dec 5 2009, 05:26 PM) Yea i agree this time's outcome is better than august's pc fair and the previous ones. Last time I bounce flash even with 1/2 power @ ISO 400 it will be either underexposed or very harsh. Hmm, upgrading body or upgrading lens help in my condition? Don't worry the ISO noise bro.as long as ur pic is good, the little bit more noise is worth imo. try pump to ISO800 , background may look brighter. QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Dec 5 2009, 09:52 PM) Oh i see... In your opinion is lambency diffuser versatile and good to be used instead of a bounce card? Lambency diffuser is very good for portrait.But you might don't like the size... big QUOTE(mengsuan @ Dec 5 2009, 10:01 PM) Lambency is versatile but heavy. Don't be surprised when everyone stares at you while you are shooting with that mangkuk maggi mee. I am so far satisfied with the output. Last time I borrow my friend's flash also along with this diffuser to attend my sister prize giving ceremony reward. and the OP guess he first time see that |
Dec 5 2009, 11:24 PM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
the only photo i needed to brighten was this
![]() as for the rest, it turned out as it is. i find that the place is indeed brighter. |
Dec 5 2009, 11:25 PM
I just went one wedding dinner too, the lighting is even worse than pc fair's lighting. But i saw the photographer also using 'maggie cup' haha. I guess it should be very useful...
Dec 6 2009, 01:56 PM
3,801 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Dec 6 2009, 09:38 PM
51 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
| Change to: | 0.0225sec