HTIB - Home Theater In Box Comparison Thread, Budget below RM2500

jutamind
post Dec 3 2008, 07:51 PM

2,429 posts

I'm looking at this model. any comment about this model? would it be suitable for music listening as well (which i spend most of my time)?

QUOTE(Johore @ Nov 25 2008, 02:31 PM)
pioneer htz373 is around 1299, this is the price while i'm asking megatronik shop at puchong..
TSbmipp
post Dec 3 2008, 10:08 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Dec 3 2008, 08:51 PM)
I'm looking at this model. any comment about this model? would it be suitable for music listening as well (which i spend most of my time)?
This is well enough for those who want a Home Theater In Box

If higher budget go for LG 953TV which won What Hi Fi Home Theater In Box of the year
skyxsg
post Dec 5 2008, 11:49 AM

QUOTE(bmipp @ Dec 3 2008, 10:08 PM)
This is well enough for those who want a Home Theater In Box

If higher budget go for LG 953TV which won What Hi Fi Home Theater In Box of the year
i've just bought the LG 953TV and the sound is awesome ....... BUT, the picture is worst than my old JVC htib ( which is cheaper by 2/3 the price ) ...... i watch the Celine Dion latest DVD concert previously wt my JVC and the picture was very clear but when the LG picture was soft and a bit grainy ....... very disappointed with the set mad.gif
furthermore, the LG was with the hdmi & upscaling feature while my old htib was only using component wire sad.gif
TSbmipp
post Dec 6 2008, 02:15 PM

196 posts

Yah. LG has reputation for sound impressiveness in a box, but for picture processing, they are not really doing that well.

prazole
post Dec 9 2008, 09:44 AM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

i just bought myself samsung HTz315 (very good price)

its my first htib.. and im very very impressed with the sound quality esp when using it for gaming and movies..
but upscaling job is bad also thru HDMI using DVD.. so sometimes i juz use ps3 upscaling instead.. much much better

i never imagine i would actually go for samsung as im auditioning sony/pioneer set at first
but at that same price range they dont offer digital input.. so i juz go for sammy set.. it has 1000rms and its using 4 tallboy speaker for set less than 1.5k.. awesome!

skyxsg
post Dec 9 2008, 02:30 PM

hi all sifu,

jst 2 seek ur advice , will the picture quality of the htib improve if we change to a better quality hdmi cable coz i read in another thread that there will b no difference whether is cheap ayam or monster hdmi cable icon_question.gif
my lg 953tv come wt a free hdmi cable and i wonder an upgrade will improve anythg or nt in the picture quality or shld i gt a separate dvd / blue ray player to obtain an improve picture ???

TSbmipp
post Dec 9 2008, 05:41 PM

196 posts

Anyhow it will increase the PQ, it's just that value of upgrading should count in first.

for LG953TV, it's the original set that doesn't do upscalling well, and thus for good HDMI, it can only do what a HDMI should do...nevertheless, the sound quality is quite impressive for a HTIB set...no wonder they get the best Mid Range HTIB of the year..

Even the RM1100 LG HTIB already sound wonderful..
limyusiong
post Dec 9 2008, 08:01 PM

2,815 posts

if wan good SQ for PS3, any HTIB recommended from all sifu here?
TSbmipp
post Dec 9 2008, 10:54 PM

196 posts

HT-SF 2300 seem to be the best one recommended so far...SONY...PS3 and this is brother mah wink.gif
nikita
post Dec 9 2008, 11:03 PM

43 posts

HT-SF 2300 can have wireless rear issit?

limyusiong
post Dec 10 2008, 11:04 AM

2,815 posts

produce superb optical sound quality???
sa12ad
post Jan 9 2009, 07:29 PM

Need quick reply from all the sifu here...

Which one would be better for pairing up to PS3, LG HTZ762TZ or Pioneer HTZ777DVD. Already purchased HTZ762TZ but the shop is waiting for stock to arrive, the towkay offered HTZ777 as a replacement (need to pay up a bit)...

Both got optical, so can pairing with my PS3 should be no problem but how about the sound quality and the DVD upscaling?

TOMEI-R
post Jan 11 2009, 12:39 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(nikita @ Dec 9 2008, 11:03 PM)
HT-SF 2300 can have wireless rear issit?
Yeah...thats what I wan to know also. How much is the HT-SF 2300 retailing anyway. I couldnt find it at a few stores I visited. They seldom stock on this model isit?
jafree
post Jan 27 2009, 10:45 PM

waht about Pioneer htp lx70?.. this is w/o player so we can use our existing player/BR Player.
aiman04
post Jan 28 2009, 07:11 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

PS3 decodes all the HD audio codecs internally, and sends out as high bitrate multichannel PCM signal via HDMI. So, to hear lossless/HD audio from PS3, the home theater must have the capability to accept multichannel PCM via HDMI only.

If you use optical connection, the DTS-HD MA/Dolby TrueHD will be downgraded to normal DTS/Dolby Digital only, and it gets worst if the movie only provide uncompressed multichannel PCM tracks where it will be downmixed to stereo. So, you can still hear the audio, but just normal audio like you hear on DVD, you won't get to experience the lossless/HD audio on blu-ray.

Don't know about other models, you guys must check the specs sheet first. But I can confirm that the Sony HT-SF2300 does accept mutichannel PCM via HDMI, and no, it's not wireless (I think must buy some sort of adapter to make it wireless). But this model only suitable with PS3 and other internal decoding standalone BD players only.
Bishop
post Apr 11 2009, 10:08 AM

Diagonal Views
816 posts

QUOTE(skyxsg @ Oct 20 2008, 12:58 PM)
(Hi how much was offered for LG-HT953TV)

Was quoted RM 2600 in east malaysia ...... hw much is the pricing in west m"sia ?
I am in KK now. Where did you get the quote from? Cant find any place selling it...

PS. Sorry for digging up an old thread...

This post has been edited by Bishop: Apr 11 2009, 10:09 AM

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0245sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:26 AM