Does magnetic flap casing affects iPhone?
TSkayden
Oct 2 2008, 05:17 PM, updated 18y ago
I have a magnetic close case/pouch for my iphone. The magnet area is beside the home button. Which means it is near the speakers too.
Strong magnets in close proximity to computers tend to cause data losses and system crashes (magnetism wipes out electronically stored data). I have been curious as to whether or not magnetically attached cases would have a similar effect on my iPhone, or whether the magnets are too weak to have any real effect.
After googling this up, there are undefinite arguments on this. Althou APPLE told "someone" that it does not affect the iphone, but we know that we shall not by any chance place magnets near to electronic devices. What say u?
kelvin_tan
Oct 2 2008, 05:26 PM
better safe then sorry =)
TSkayden
Oct 2 2008, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(kelvin_tan @ Oct 2 2008, 05:26 PM) better safe then sorry =) I do like my case alot If i have to leave it in the closet, any recommended casing for 2g iphone?
dyii95
Oct 2 2008, 05:32 PM

those type of magnets are not strong enough to wipe out ur data. only those heavy-duty magnets can. so its safe. but casing may block the wifi signal.
TSkayden
Oct 2 2008, 05:39 PM
Im not too worried bout the data becuz i backed them up. What i'm concern is will the magnet kill some of my phone chips?
SUSN's
Oct 2 2008, 05:40 PM
how can a magnet affect data from a flash type memory?
TSkayden
Oct 2 2008, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(N's @ Oct 2 2008, 05:40 PM) how can a magnet affect data from a flash type memory? Bro, u've got it right. Magnet doesnt wipe away flash drive's memory. Not the data i'm worried bout  The speakers and other components that is.
kok_hui
Oct 2 2008, 05:48 PM
It's safe lah, almost all case nowadays also use magnet one, the phone won't spoil because of a small magnet.
TSkayden
Oct 2 2008, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(kok_hui @ Oct 2 2008, 05:48 PM) It's safe lah, almost all case nowadays also use magnet one, the phone won't spoil because of a small magnet. http://www.everythingicafe.com/forum/iphon...cases-5226.htmlhttp://www.everythingicafe.com/forum/iphon...-case-4199.htmlAfter reading this 2 thread my balls shrunk. And yea, i do love my iPhone alot.
baretta
Oct 2 2008, 06:10 PM
any branded casing for aifontriji got magnetic casing ? Chap Ayam got lot magnetic casing.
kelvin_tan
Oct 2 2008, 08:07 PM
well i've read somewhere that any metal casings is discouraged because it will jam up ur iphone.. since then i've avoided putting my iphone near any metal things ><
kennyshan
Oct 2 2008, 10:52 PM
aiya kayden.. use back the casing la.. i like it very much or if u wan to sell pls tell me ok. i will buy with high price.
if im not mistaken it is Uniea brand right?
TSkayden
Oct 3 2008, 12:01 AM
I dunno what brand it is lol. Looks like got a distorted nike sign with 2 feathers. hehe.
Choongster
Oct 3 2008, 12:30 PM
i use to have an ipod ...... and i used a magnetic leather casing from a phone to hook it up to my belt to use when i was cycling.. it killed the HDD in my ipod after a week ... probably due to alot of magnetic on the hDD ....
so i can safely say that the magnet MIGHT have some influence on your iphone as well
kok_hui
Oct 3 2008, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(Choongster @ Oct 3 2008, 12:30 PM) i use to have an ipod ...... and i used a magnetic leather casing from a phone to hook it up to my belt to use when i was cycling.. it killed the HDD in my ipod after a week ... probably due to alot of magnetic on the hDD .... so i can safely say that the magnet MIGHT have some influence on your iphone as well Are you listening to ipod while cycling? Then the hdd spoil probably not due to magnet, but the vibration while cycling. Harddisk is easily spoil on vibration, that's why the new ipod use flash memory.
Choongster
Oct 3 2008, 10:39 PM
QUOTE(kok_hui @ Oct 3 2008, 01:06 PM) Are you listening to ipod while cycling? Then the hdd spoil probably not due to magnet, but the vibration while cycling. Harddisk is easily spoil on vibration, that's why the new ipod use flash memory. i know where u going with this but ipod are built to take some vibration ... i am not running with it but only cycling ..... i used it for quite some time until i decided to use the magnetic phone leather casing and it killed it like in a week ...
TSkayden
Oct 4 2008, 03:04 AM
QUOTE(Choongster @ Oct 3 2008, 10:39 PM) i know where u going with this but ipod are built to take some vibration ... i am not running with it but only cycling ..... i used it for quite some time until i decided to use the magnetic phone leather casing and it killed it like in a week ... Yes. Magnetic field kills harddisk. It is discussed in several forums if u googled. But iPhone is using Flash Drive for its memory so magnet doesnt affect the memory drive. But i heard ppl say the magnet drains the battery faster. Not sure whether its real anot.
TSkayden
Oct 29 2008, 12:31 PM
CONCLUSION: NO IT DOESNT AFFECT IPHONES. PERIOD.