All About Badminton Equipment v2, Racket, Shoes, Grip, String, Cocks

siajolene
post Jun 17 2009, 12:52 AM

QUOTE(kumanosuke @ Jun 3 2009, 05:02 AM)
hi my first time in this thread

just want to find out where i can get cheap Yonex shuttlecock ? my location is KL, PJ, Kepong

Can recommend other shuttlecock brands that is as good as Yonex shuttlecock ?

THere's this new shuttlecock from PRINCE brand. They have 3 categories of shuttles; Classic Silver, Classic Gold and another one (cant remember the name).

Review:

Classic Silver is as good as RSL No 1; Price difference RM46.00(PRINCE), RM50.00(RSL)
Classic Gold is as good as Protech Platinum; Price difference RM59.00(PRINCE), RM60++(PROTECH)
Another category, sorry I cant rember coz i tot its quite expensive and not worth the value so i didnt pay much attention to this. tongue.gif

You can try out this new product. Tried & tested by former BAM players icon_idea.gif

Added on June 17, 2009, 1:13 am
QUOTE(quintesson @ May 10 2009, 03:10 AM)
hi there do u guys or gals know how to read the balance point describe in the racket specs? eg. 280mm where is this measurement from? if the head is heavy, normally what is the Balance Point and vice versa?
some rackets are meant for single and double, what are the differences between them and the points that we need to take into consideration?

Just my personal opinion, frm experience & my so-many-racquets to compare frm. nod.gif

If u want to know whether the head is heavy or not, u look at the flex as guide. If flex is high/stiff, meaning the head is heavy. If the flex is medium meaning its weight is balanced. Soft flex usually means the head is light.

hmm.gif Actually the better way to determine a good racquet is a racquet that can compliment your skill & physical status rather than using certain racquet for either single player or doubles player. There's no restriction to it.

e.g. If u have really strong arms flex.gif u ought to use a heavy racquet such as Amortec 700 (used formerly by Lin Dan) or Amortec 900Power (Chong Wei). As for the doubles players, racquets such Ti10 which have a stiff shaft(flex) are used because in a doubles game, fast & attacking play is the usual strategy to win.

Hope it helps.. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by siajolene: Jun 17 2009, 01:13 AM
siajolene
post Jun 17 2009, 09:56 PM

QUOTE(dcking @ Jun 17 2009, 08:59 AM)
the bold part is misleading  doh.gif
flex is the stiffness of the shaft not the head
oh, of cos.. its true that flex refers to the shaft stiffness but what i'm implying is that the stiffness of the racquet will affect your hand feel whether the head is heavy or not. blink.gif
siajolene
post Jun 26 2009, 11:06 AM

QUOTE(dcking @ Jun 24 2009, 02:33 PM)
where can get Prince shuttle?
I got it at the a Sports shop at kelana jaya. Tehy have branch at Ara Courts, Kayu Ara. If u need, i can PM u the sellers contact no.
siajolene
post Aug 15 2010, 12:57 AM

QUOTE(bogensaebel @ Aug 14 2010, 04:19 PM)
anyone knows the best prices for Yonex Player Series ie. AT900PLC,ARC10PG and ARCZSTH?
we have that, stock in hand.. New arrival! XD will pm u the best price..

Added on August 15, 2010, 1:07 am
QUOTE(Omage007 @ Aug 8 2010, 10:51 PM)
brands like Apacs, Proace, Finnex, Line7 or low end Yonex shoes should fit your budget quite well with reasonable quality. . . the price usually is RM69 / RM79 / RM89. . .
pls note that if u wan to compare between yonex lowest range shoes i.e the world champ series ard RM80, I'd suggest u take apacs or other brands for that budget..

If u try pressing the outsole, u can feel that the w.champ series are very hard.. Made of rubber so it's better if u choose other brands using better material called pylon (dunno if correct spelling).. Its slightly softer than rubber sole which u will feel more comfortable when wearing and do not stress out your muscles as much as rubber soles do.. If u really wan buy yonex range try choosing those ultima series or shb..

This post has been edited by siajolene: Aug 15 2010, 01:07 AM
siajolene
post Aug 19 2010, 09:33 PM

QUOTE(joanne871207 @ Aug 19 2010, 06:24 PM)
guys, when u play badminton, u actually wore thick or thin socks?
and does using proper badminton racket better than running shoe?
my max budget for a racket is RM200 with or without string so any recommendation? im using HEAD nano rave and this racket is not very good for smashing so im looking for a smashing racket here sweat.gif
in my point of view, i think your shoes are the most important equipment.. u would wanna protect your knees & ankle with a good badminton shoes, than u get an expensive racket which helps u to boom boom paw.. but in a long run, use a good shoes to minimise the rate of getting injured..

but that of course have to take into consideration the intensity of the game that u play.. if u play tik tok style, then normal RM40 shoes would be good enough.. and also your body size/weight.. if u small size then the stress that burden your knees & ankles are lesser than if you are a big and heavy person.. then the more u have to get yourself a very good shoes..

of course after shoes, the second most important equipment is your racquets icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by siajolene: Aug 19 2010, 09:34 PM
siajolene
post Aug 27 2010, 08:43 PM

QUOTE(chenal @ Aug 26 2010, 12:39 AM)
Does anyone know where to buy shuttlecock keychain as accessory around KL area?

RCL shuttlecocks now comes with a free shuttlecock keychain, not sure if all models have this promotion or not, the batch that im having for GOLD, Black, Silver all comes with a free keychain shuttlecock..

if you want to buy only the shuttlecock keychain, we have some as well.. YONEX brand somemore wink.gif have got a little YONEX sticker under the cork.. btw sent u a pm d
siajolene
post Sep 3 2010, 02:15 PM

QUOTE(Omage007 @ Sep 3 2010, 02:38 AM)
Got any international player use Prince racket? A sifu recommend me it is a very good racket also with more reasonable price compare with Yonex/LiNing. . .
BTW I thought LiNing is a quite new brand but actually it is already started since 1990, but maybe on others sport equipments and not badminton racket??  hmm.gif
bro, it really does not mean if no international player using certain brand racket meaning the brand is not a good brand.. there is this thing called sponsorship, where both parties gets certain level of benefit.. if a brand's racket is not a good quality, but sponsors some player.. then the player is bound by the agreement saying that they cannot use other brand racket other than written in the contract..

i've a semi-retired international player friend, sponsored by a brand.. he came in and asked for the best price of other brand, we asked him, if he's being sponsored by brand ******? he said yeah, but dont know why when smashing, the smash not as powderful..@@

so, does that mean that sponsored brands are confirm, guaranteed good brand and vice versa? ok.. even the player racket & other model racket of the same brands have a quality difference there.. unless u take the exact same RM1059 or RM929.90 racket then maybe u get the quality as good as the player..
siajolene
post Sep 3 2010, 04:05 PM

QUOTE(alan kc @ Sep 3 2010, 02:55 PM)
wa..if like that,tell him to sell thier sponsorship racket to me...haha...wat model he get sponsor??
lolz.. i think its not good to expose the brand here la.. later ppl selling this brand cannot sell anymore lei.. blink.gif
siajolene
post Sep 3 2010, 04:55 PM

QUOTE(alan kc @ Sep 3 2010, 04:48 PM)
haha...i also knw wat brand he get it..haha...u can pm me la...
who are u referring to la? the same person ke?
siajolene
post Sep 4 2010, 01:08 PM

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Sep 4 2010, 03:22 AM)
it's a clone of Yonex's Nanospeed 9000-S. the specs are different i think
YY's NS series are head light. what about this Impact? 290 seems kinda head heavy.
RST should be the max string tension..cant figure what the R stands for
RST =recommended string tension
siajolene
post Sep 28 2010, 01:06 PM

QUOTE(fatnfit @ Sep 27 2010, 05:52 PM)
I think RCL Black Gold roughly RM65, RCL Black Silver RM62, RCL Black No.1 RM58. Not sure how it is compared to Protech models, as I never use Protech, but most of my friends agree that they are one of the most durable in the market.
RCL Black Gold RM66, Black Silver RM63, RCL Black No 1 RM56 wink.gif

tried and tested.. for the moment, these are very durable.. coz the quality is very dependent on the feathers and different weathers, gives different feather quality rclxms.gif

Added on September 28, 2010, 1:10 pmoh.. if you guys havent know yet, there's a newly launched racket from Yonex, VOLTRIC 70

Official Yonex Website

*Tri Voltage System - For the first time ever, the new Voltric System successfully combines power and agility, these contrasting characteristics
- POWER, 5%increase in smashing power (researched by Yonex R&D Team)
- AGILITY, Precisely balanced weight for improved handling

*Sound Filter - A strong and powerful sound is created on impact, making hitting more comfortable, and also unsettles opponent and provides more aggressive tone to your game for a relentless attacking style of play. flex.gif

This post has been edited by siajolene: Sep 28 2010, 01:10 PM
siajolene
post Sep 28 2010, 06:19 PM

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Sep 28 2010, 05:25 PM)
thumbup.gif yeaps.. retailing at RM669.90 in malaysia.. havent tried it though, but its said to be combining both very contrast characteristic of a racket.. in general, heavy racket produces more smashing power and lighter racket enables great speed.. and this fill the gap, for smashing and speed wink.gif if you feel the racket frame, the 2 & 10 o'clock & T-joint area are slightly thicker than other positions.. function is to add density to the top frame for smash power..

have not heard about victor though.. must give the saleman a call and ask abt it wink.gif thanks for the info tongue.gif

0.0198sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:20 AM