QUOTE(chiller @ Nov 2 2010, 06:18 PM)
Thanks sifu, great racketpedia ! Will look into this option once I discard one of my racket 1st....hehehe
which racket you wanna discard? All About Badminton Equipment v2, Racket, Shoes, Grip, String, Cocks
Nov 2 2010, 10:21 PM
1,519 posts Joined: May 2006 From: madness city |
Nov 3 2010, 03:34 PM
Nov 4 2010, 07:21 PM
QUOTE(chiller @ Nov 4 2010, 02:44 AM) thanks ! have ya prepare your sword, bravely to cull it ? hehehhe every hall store 1 bag la..go there straight can change and playMy hand macam roti, lembik saja. Cant sweep the kaya well. Ingat sendiri can smash like Fu, but end up Fu Lat Yalor yalor, then I can store them in every hall (like snooker center cabinet), no need bring so many racket around, kekekke. 1 racket oso no nid bring |
Nov 8 2010, 03:06 AM
QUOTE(aaronwu @ Nov 7 2010, 09:16 PM) Hey guys, really need your recommendation for a new racket. offensive and cheapI'm more of an offensive player, play doubles more often. My budget's below 400 but if possible, below 350. I'm still indecisive on getting a offensive racket or a all rounder racket as i'm worried an offensive racket would sacrifice some certain extent of control. Also, I'm still rather unsure about other brands besides Yonex as i've nvr bother researching about racket brands and stuff, and yonex has always been well known mainly becuz of it's mass marketing. And i heard the optimum strings for offensive style players is BG66Ti? Care to comment anyone? As for grips, any grip wouldn't make much of a difference right? As long as you choose your preference of either PU grips or the cloth type material? Thanks alot. Apacs Tantrum 200 - below RM250. slightly head heavy and stiff. Apacs Lethal 90 - slightly more than RM300 i think. head heavy and stiff. aero frame. Victor SuperWaves 35 Yonex Ti10 with the below promotion is good for you as well. string and tension is rather personal. there's no BG66 btw. if u string at high tension (28lbs and above), get thicker string (BG80, BG85, Zymax67 etc) for better durability. if lower than that, BG66 is fine. can try BG66UM (0.01mm thinner than BG66). if you are very accurate with your shots, can try thinner strings as they will give utmost power but worst durability. grip wise, another personal thing. some like super tacky grips (karakal PU, victor PU, YY supergrap etc). some like towels. some like spongy feeling. experiment to find your most preferred setup. can mix and match. very flexible issue QUOTE(mois @ Nov 7 2010, 10:57 PM) Few weeks ago perfect sport at pertama complex got promotion for ti10 RM380. ti10 + bg66 should be good. For grip, no comment. Choose whatever you like that's quite cheap |
Nov 8 2010, 06:10 PM
Nov 9 2010, 01:46 AM
QUOTE(pininalo @ Nov 8 2010, 09:46 PM) Hi, anyone can recommend a racquet for female player. Prefers head light and plays doubles most of the time. Would most probably purchase the racquet from Arc, so if possible pls recommend racquets from his list. Budget around RM 150. that's already a pretty good choice for that budget.Was thinking of Apacs nano, but I am open to all brands. Thx a bunch. you can also ask him for recommendations |
Nov 9 2010, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(aaronwu @ Nov 9 2010, 08:37 AM) 1. Where'd I find good second hand nanospeed 9900? 1. no specific place. keep yourself updated in the trade section here in LYN. you can try monitoring BC's market but there's a lot of sellers of non-malaysia. if i remember correctly, there's a seller name Roan here which sells used high end YY rackets.2. And isnt 28lbs for bg66 abit too risky? Been reading up on alot of reviews and stuff, now cut down to ti10, nanospeed 6600 or arc saber 8dx(which is abit over my budget). 2. tension is very subjective. avantasia might be able to play with 28lbs but you might not. do experiment with string type and tension until you found the setup you prefer the most. QUOTE(economist @ Nov 9 2010, 10:26 AM) hi newbie here...can i ask for racquet recommendations here? can try look into the Apacs Tantrum and Visible Hollow range. they are good for doubles.for doubles play...not a strong smasher though.... Budget RM150-300 (include string and grip without bag) what strings and tension are recommended? what are the good grips? thanks alternatively, i personally recommend the RSL Laser 9900. i feel that it's quite fast and able to withstand high tension. arc1414 selling for RM250 including bag and grip i think. you can always sell the bag although the bag i got is very nice. for a newbie, Yonex BG66 is a good start. although tension is player preferred, an average male should be able to play with 24lbs. can try increase or decrease from there. there are few types of grips; replacement grips (thick), overgrip (thin) and towel grip. if you're a heavy sweater, get a towel grip. i've not used any so i'm not sure what's good. replacement grip: karakal PU, victor nanotec PU. they're cheap, tacky and long lasting. overgrip: not very sure coz i dun use them. i tried a wilson overgrip on my friend's racket. completely different feeling than karakal/victor but it's good. might get some to try. i also tried a yonex overgrip. not sure what is the model. good luck with this "science project" QUOTE(jonlee @ Nov 9 2010, 10:33 AM) Aaron, which gen? why above 23lbs is risky? I'm a Ti10 user with 23 lbs cross 25lbs BG66 String, stringed with Yonex ES5 ProTech...Anything above this tension is risky already. if you mean complying to the recommended string tension then i can understand but playability wise, Ti10 2nd gen onwards can easily string up to 30lbs provided good stringer with good skill. not sure about the 1st gen though since it's quite old. i only know it's a gem right now. a used unit's price is GILA high Added on November 9, 2010, 11:04 am QUOTE(jonlee @ Nov 9 2010, 10:33 AM) Aaron, that's a very THICK replacement gripI'm a Ti10 user with 23 lbs cross 25lbs BG66 String, stringed with Yonex ES5 ProTech...Anything above this tension is risky already. Added on November 9, 2010, 10:47 am I used to own an Armortec 70 MG, not bad, heavy head, but a bit tough in defensive play. I'm currently using grip by Technifibre TecDry 2.10mm, very durable (2months+ and counting) and if used with a wrist band, it's very sweat resistant also... price around RM26 but price.. i can get 4 karakal PU with it technifibre, rare brand in Malaysia. tennis brand right? This post has been edited by ziggy87: Nov 9 2010, 11:04 AM |
Nov 9 2010, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(jonlee @ Nov 9 2010, 11:20 AM) Ti10 3rd Gen, yes rec tension is just up to 22 lbs. According to my stringer, anything above my tension is risky for the racket. Yes I agree with you that a NEW racket can go up to 30lbs, but on 2nd time onwards, even the stringer dun dare to guarantee it. The rackethead looks to be so fragile due to the slim frame, but cant compliant much cos it's cheaper compared to the more hi tech NS9900. yonex rackets are not that fragileAs for grip, yes...Technifibre is a tennis brand. The thickness is just right for me. Haha yes I know it cost 4x the price of Karakal PU and I used Karakal before this, din last really long and slips alot...thats why I changed the safety 22lbs is just for warranty issues. most experienced stringers dare to string yonex rackets at high tension even after many times of stringing. i'm not saying that your stringer is not good and all. maybe he just want to protect his customers and make sure the warranty T&C is not void, just in case. pardon me but low tensions are no fun |
Nov 9 2010, 07:50 PM
QUOTE(wtfoo1 @ Nov 9 2010, 05:36 PM) Yes, I got friend who claim warranty from Yonex, take him 9 months....from unofficial source, dunno true or not, they will do a very thorough test on your racket, to make sure that the damage is not due to human problem (i.e. racket clashed, hit floor, etc), also to study why their racket so "fragile", i.e. how come can pass QA test one, and last but not least, to discourage ppl to claim. i'm just wondering whether Apacs does that or not |
Nov 10 2010, 07:40 PM
Nov 12 2010, 04:36 PM
Nov 18 2010, 12:07 AM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 17 2010, 10:13 PM) i just bought myself an asics gel-task version for rm215, saw ppl saying it is a more specific squash shoes, but then its and indoor shoes, i like the support of the shoes, altho abit heavy compared to other model, i dont wanna sacrifice cushioning and comfort for that bit of weight advantage, it might just give some annoying pain later on. i kinda thing the design arent bad lar, ut if compared to adidas and nike shoes, the later would have a better "brand appearance" la haha. BUt then, i no luck getting big shoes size for the later one, so i would just go for asics, much more suitable for my feet. don't think it's exactly the same since it's in the difference seriesAdded on November 17, 2010, 11:12 pm i think somebody says it isnt the shb-95mx, altho it looks totally the same. it is ultima version. however, the differences are very very minor..it's very similar |
Nov 20 2010, 02:48 AM
QUOTE(ashly @ Nov 19 2010, 06:12 PM) i think some low end Nanospeed should suit youhead to some sport shops and get hold of some rackets i suggest keeping your options open for non-YY rackets do provide more info such as play style, singles/doubles etc we can help you better with such info This post has been edited by ziggy87: Nov 20 2010, 02:50 AM |
Nov 21 2010, 04:08 PM
Nov 22 2010, 12:22 AM
QUOTE(Omage007 @ Nov 21 2010, 11:55 PM) ask sifu SUI to repair and let u know hahai think should be worse, especially for those playing at high tension Added on November 22, 2010, 12:32 ami just saw that LiNing offers trial for their rackets. however, deposit is the retail price of the racket. trial is 1 week. after that, you can get a new piece of the same model or get back full deposit provided the racket is in same condition when it came out. info from LiNing fb page but did not provide info on where have such services This post has been edited by ziggy87: Nov 22 2010, 12:32 AM |
Nov 22 2010, 04:58 PM
Nov 22 2010, 05:48 PM
Nov 23 2010, 02:13 AM
QUOTE(momorac @ Nov 22 2010, 09:32 PM) Malaysia sleeveless shirt for RM30? Anybody which shop selling malaysia shirt around cheras if any? Thanks ![]() i heard there's similar offer at Perfect Sports@Pertama Kompleks..not sure if they still have stock This post has been edited by ziggy87: Nov 23 2010, 02:16 AM |
Nov 23 2010, 05:50 PM
ASIAN GAMES JERSEY RELEASED!
Retail Price RM 259.00 but purchase at RM199 for Jersey with China wording, RM 159.00 for Jersey without China wording 22/11/10-27/11/10.PLACE YOUR ORDER THRU EMAIL @WEBMASTER@SUNLIGHT.COM.MY LIMITED QTY only from Li Ning Malaysia's FB crazy price @.@ |
Nov 24 2010, 01:08 AM
arc have stock..pm him lol