All About Badminton Equipment v2, Racket, Shoes, Grip, String, Cocks

devince83
post Aug 20 2010, 09:48 AM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Aug 20 2010, 01:16 AM)
choosing badminton shoe is almost the same as choosing normal shoes.
make sure your toes and feet have ample space to move. around the width of a thumb, then i guess it's okay

and i 200% agree on siajolene's opinion.
it's especially important for heavy people. i'm heavy so it's important for me.
good and suitable racket will does not make as much difference as having good skills.
so make sure your technique is good..
my 2 cents smile.gif
when u gonna play badminton with tennis or squash racket? icon_idea.gif thumbup.gif laugh.gif tongue.gif
devince83
post Aug 20 2010, 04:23 PM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Aug 20 2010, 04:02 PM)
well..maybe 1 day when i have such arms?

your skill is beyond godlike mode ma.. whistling.gif
sure can one flex.gif
devince83
post Aug 26 2010, 09:36 AM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

QUOTE(chenal @ Aug 26 2010, 12:39 AM)
Does anyone know where to buy shuttlecock keychain as accessory around KL area?
there is quite a lot shop selling sport equipment have it...
the most easy is to find shop that sell major badminton equipment.
In bangsar there is this shop call Chiang Siah (near Bangsar LRT).
KL area like Pertama Complex should have it.
devince83
post Sep 3 2010, 05:09 PM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

QUOTE(Omage007 @ Sep 3 2010, 02:38 AM)
Got any international player use Prince racket? A sifu recommend me it is a very good racket also with more reasonable price compare with Yonex/LiNing. . .
BTW I thought LiNing is a quite new brand but actually it is already started since 1990, but maybe on others sport equipments and not badminton racket??  hmm.gif
u can ask chiller's opinion. He's using Prince racket if i'm not mistaken smile.gif
devince83
post Sep 4 2010, 09:59 AM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

indeed the RSL Heat and Laser series (some of it) is quite fragile.

My RSL Heat 9500 broken (total lost) few months ago... and it's only age 26 days only when it broken doh.gif

This post has been edited by devince83: Sep 4 2010, 10:01 AM
devince83
post Sep 4 2010, 10:56 AM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

lol..
so now i'm changing from light balance to medium heavy racket type...
at least can stand some minimum-minor-impact racket-hit-racket sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by devince83: Sep 4 2010, 10:57 AM
devince83
post Sep 20 2010, 09:40 AM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Sep 20 2010, 01:26 AM)
of course stretched longer is more painful when hit our hand
but..more painful means?

from what i see, it's the opposite (no offense fantasia bro blush.gif)
u pull the rubber band a little bit which illustrate the string movement when the shuttle hits
higher tension will have smaller X while lower tension will have bigger X

it's like jumping on bed(low tension) and floor(high tension)
bed will allow higher jump (means more power)

that's the theory that i understand

btw, good effot to explain the 'trampoline effect' bro fantasia rclxms.gif
sorry if it is not what u're trying to explain blush.gif
he did mentioned to pull the rubber band X cm same for experiment 1 & 2. This make the X cm is the constant figure.
When you stretch the rubber band longer a bit, you will need more strength to pull the rubber band to X cm.

Stretching the rubber band = tension
Pulling the rubber band = strength / hitting force
In short, the higher tension of your racket the more force you need to make stronger hitting power than using low tension string.

I just give a guess on what he mean.
devince83
post Sep 20 2010, 10:37 AM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

QUOTE(melvin93 @ Sep 20 2010, 09:54 AM)
yes so you need a tension suitable for your playing style including the force comfortable used by you when u smash or hit or wtv
guess so... you can also train more on ur wrist power in order to produce more strength power.
Besides, some minor minor aspect like flex or stiff and weight do influence.
sometimes when use different tension with same type of racket the strength and speed is same in our eye, but it can't be same right.
How can we judge 180kmph and 200kmph with our own eye? if u say 60kmph and 200kmph is easy cos the different is huge.
If you are comfortable and can perform well with the racket that you are using, then it will be a good racket with good string tension for you.

Currently, I'm using Victor BS10 & Spira 21. It much more stiff and heavy than the racket i used to use last time, therefore it affect my smashing power a bit but front core play is still the same or even better. Even someone always tell me to reduce the string tension (currently using 27 for BS10 & 25 for spira 21), but i'm kinda of stuborn type. LOL. Trying to use more wrist power force now. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by devince83: Sep 20 2010, 10:43 AM
devince83
post Sep 20 2010, 10:59 AM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Sep 20 2010, 10:55 AM)
sifu devince83 got it right ^^

yes, u r correct  notworthy.gif  and the pain comparison is to understand the power produced. more pain=more power produced
i'm not sifu.. i just testify according to your experiment only....
No matter how much i understand, I can't produce strong powerful smash. Besides, i'm not smasher type..
lol

devince83
post Sep 20 2010, 01:07 PM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

confuse... string and shaft stiffness.. =.="""
devince83
post Sep 20 2010, 06:40 PM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Sep 20 2010, 02:57 PM)
now i get what u mean..
let's say the stretching is done vertically
the higher the stretching, the higher the tension
now i get it lol blush.gif

definitely, more force is needed to pull the rubber band to Xcm if the rubberband is stretched more

we have the same understanding..just showing it in a different way laugh.gif

wa deVince, using TWO top end victor rackets eh drool.gif ..i wan try~~
your lethal 50 gantung-ed? lmao

Added on September 20, 2010, 3:03 pm
you emailed apacs asking how to get more power? blink.gif
lethal 50 crash and broken with someone from la salle session doh.gif doh.gif dry.gif dry.gif
devince83
post Sep 21 2010, 09:28 AM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Sep 20 2010, 06:50 PM)
ooo another fallen warrior in the year.

what makes u buy the sp21?
initially plan to buy another bs10 as back-up...
when my string broken & sent to re-string, hardly can play the same feel with pro ace sweetspot 2000.
arc said spira21 about the same feel just more stiff than bs10.
it took me some times to get adapt the spira21 cos it's more heavy and stiff than bs10.

devince83
post Sep 21 2010, 12:31 PM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Sep 21 2010, 10:18 AM)
i see yonex racquet with "sp" on their shaft. what does it mean?
All rackets provided by Sunrise must be marked SP on shaft and it is it's own marking to distinguish Sunrise distributed products for after sales services.

*found this in badmintoncentral*
devince83
post Sep 22 2010, 09:45 AM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Sep 21 2010, 04:47 PM)
nice collections
u hv the rackets that i always wanted to try rclxms.gif
now after start to adapting to spira21, it cause me another headache..
which backup racket to buy, bs10 or spira21.. doh.gif doh.gif
devince83
post Sep 22 2010, 01:27 PM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

QUOTE(alan kc @ Sep 22 2010, 12:20 PM)
buy 2..haha
tat will cost me a boooom lehhh shocking.gif sweat.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
devince83
post Sep 22 2010, 05:13 PM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

not all i think.. mine is with blue cap...
i went to some store and saw sp21 with black emboss cap

i heard from some seller, it's depend on shipment badge...
e.g badge 1 with black emboss cap, the other badge might be with blue cap..
it's apply to victor bs & sp series racket... (not sure other series got different cap or not)

This post has been edited by devince83: Sep 22 2010, 05:15 PM
devince83
post Sep 28 2010, 09:30 AM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

QUOTE(Jeljian @ Sep 28 2010, 01:34 AM)
im selling my 2nd hand Apacs Lethal 60 for RM 100 only !!! are you guys interested?

it is a very good racket ...heavy head...
post it at LYN Street Mart...
devince83
post Sep 28 2010, 02:56 PM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

QUOTE(siajolene @ Sep 28 2010, 01:06 PM)
RCL Black Gold RM66, Black Silver RM63, RCL Black No 1 RM56 wink.gif

tried and tested.. for the moment, these are very durable.. coz the quality is very dependent on the feathers and different weathers, gives different feather quality  rclxms.gif

Added on September 28, 2010, 1:10 pmoh.. if you guys havent know yet, there's a newly launched racket from Yonex, VOLTRIC 70

Official Yonex Website

*Tri Voltage System - For the first time ever, the new Voltric System successfully combines power and agility, these contrasting characteristics
- POWER, 5%increase in smashing power (researched by Yonex R&D Team)
- AGILITY, Precisely balanced weight for improved handling

*Sound Filter - A strong and powerful sound is created on impact, making hitting more comfortable, and also unsettles opponent and provides more aggressive tone to your game for a relentless attacking style of play.  flex.gif
the website load slow.. keep on see the lighting effect... rclxub.gif
wonder when it smash can produce electricity and lighting or not laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Update : the paint graphic does look like arc saber 8 dx...

This post has been edited by devince83: Sep 28 2010, 03:04 PM
devince83
post Sep 29 2010, 10:26 AM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

transformer racket~? sweat.gif rclxub.gif wink.gif doh.gif
anyway, satisfied with bs10 & spira21 now. tongue.gif
after use training racket (120 gm weight) for stroke 15-30 min, then use bs10 or spira21, the control, power & speed is even better.
next target to train backhand reach baseline... rclxms.gif

Added on September 29, 2010, 10:46 amAfter read the thread from BC about Victor Bumblebee Hornet, I have a good laugh.

Yonex Voltric - Voltron
Victor Bumblebee Hornet - Transformer Autobot

Sooner, all the racket will have the name of their new racket using cartoon/anime. laugh.gif

Link

This post has been edited by devince83: Sep 29 2010, 10:47 AM
devince83
post Sep 29 2010, 04:44 PM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

Lethal 7 vs Lethal 70

Lethal 7 (4U)

Frame Material :30T HM Graphite ( Toray M30 ) + CNT
Shaft Material : 24T HM Graphite ( Toray T700) + CNT
Flex : Flexible (9.5)
Weight : 4U (84-86g) G2
Length : 673mm
Balance : 285 ± 3mm (Even Balance)
Max String Tension : 35lbs!

Special Features :-

* New high speed frame design
* Even balance
* Unique UK specification
* Special apacs internal muscle wave frame

Lethal 70 (3U)

Frame Material : 30T HM Graphite ( Mitsubishi M30 ) + Titanium Mesh
Shaft Material : 40T HM Graphite ( Toray M40)
Flex : Stiff
Weight : 3U (86-89g) G2
Length : 675mm
Balance : 290 ± 3mm (Head Heavy)
Max String Tension : 40lbs+, Yes 40lbs!

ISO frame New shaft and t-joint design for lower torsion.
Spring back reaction on the shaft improved by 30%. Better energy transfer during impact.
Full Titanium Mesh Power Frame
NEW AND IMPROVED 76 gromet system for the UK

Lethal 9 vs Lethal 90

Lethal 9 (4U)

Frame Meterial : Hi Modulus Graphite + High Speed Frame + CNT
Shaft Material: Hi Modulus Graphite + CNT
Flex: Medium
Weight: 85 +/- 1g (4U-G2)
Length: 675mm
Max Tension: 35lbs
Balance: 285 +/- 3mm

• Isomectric head frame - Equalizes the length of main and cross strings in the stringbed, enlarging the sweet-spot for more consistent accuracy even on off-center hits.

• 76 Grommets system - This single-pass grommet holes construction provides more grommet holes, creating a high-performance stringing pattern that puts 7% more durability.

• CNT Carbon Nanotube- The new material ‘CNT Carbon Nanotube’ is adopted in both sides of the frame in order to give strength and perseverance.
It holds large amount of energy at the impact, and releases it back like an arrow. It gives you depth and control in your game.
The strength and flexibility of ‘CNT Carbon Nanotube’ will lead your game into the next level.

• High Speed Frame - The High Speed Frame design is an aerodynamic shape frame designed to reduce drag on the frame during straight on swing or hit.
Resulting in a fast swing-through and the quicker maneuverability.

Lethal 90 (3U)

Frame Material : 30T HM Graphite ( Mitsubishi M30 ) + Titanium Mesh
Shaft Material : 40T HM Graphite ( Toray M40)
Flex : Stiff
Weight : 3U (86-89g) G2
Length : 675mm
Balance : 290 ± 3mm (Head Heavy)
Max String Tension : 35lbs!

ISO frame New shaft and t-joint design for lower torsion.
Spring back reaction on the shaft improved by 30%. Better energy transfer during impact.
Full Titanium Mesh Power Frame

Source : Badminton Bay Blogs & Apacs UK

This post has been edited by devince83: Sep 29 2010, 04:46 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0331sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:19 AM