~LY.Net Honda City Enthusiast Club~ V5

julnoel
post Oct 20 2009, 12:04 PM

739 posts

Oh I noticed something else ):

the one time jerk/slip/choking happens when I slow down then want to accelerate again. Say I'm following a dumb car that has been very slow in the neighbourhood, then the car moves aside and I'm trying to move ahead, then it happens when I accelerate.

Then it happens also when say I turn into a corner, or stop to pay the toll, I have to slow down quite a bit right, then when I want to accelerate again it happens. ):

julnoel
post Oct 22 2009, 05:35 PM

739 posts

i also notice my problem doesnt happen when i activate the 7 speed transmission. (is it ok to drive with that constantly?) but i use the auto one only, cos i dunno how to use the manual one. T.t helpppp
julnoel
post Oct 22 2009, 10:36 PM

739 posts

owh okay i used it smile.gif through out the way back from work and no jerking whatsoever

then i went to some empty space, deactivated it and drove with my D, and the jerk happens again! woohoo tongue.gif

but is it normal that the gears on the 7 speed is super high? im hittin abt 40 km/h with the gear in 4

then about 80-100 with gear 7

x_x

update: sent car to SC, service dude brought the car around and deduced quite quickly that it could be the transmission although the car did not jolt/jerk through out the time he was driving, instead he said he felt some other shit in the accelerator pedal. I told him that the D light doesnt come on and the car still accelerates and doesnt jerk/vibrate continuously, happens at low speeds only but still he was quite persistent that it could be the tranny, even quoting me the price of 23k for a new one and 6.5k for a recond unit from a place he knows.

SLIGHTLY annoyed by that..but okay whatever

left the car there for them to do a pressure test of some sort. ):

This post has been edited by julnoel: Oct 23 2009, 10:54 AM
julnoel
post Oct 23 2009, 03:36 PM

739 posts

Service centre guy called back, apparently its the gearbox.

But I refuse to believe, somehow ):

Cos the usual symptoms of gearbox failure did not happen! The D light did not flash, the car does not vibrate/jerk, the car can still pecut, RPM does not fluctatue like crazy

Can anyone help pls.
julnoel
post Oct 25 2009, 01:11 AM

739 posts

ya la..

abit the wtf-ing la

the guy just..suddenly..say its gearbox..blablabla

=.=

and the car still moves..without the D light problem lor! (i dont know why but i'd love to use that as a guide when determining gearbox issues)..

and he said he could feel some jerk..which i did not feel..

PLUS when he test drove the car, the car did not lunge forward or anythin..

so annoyed.
julnoel
post Oct 28 2009, 03:04 AM

739 posts

QUOTE(larkowen @ Oct 27 2009, 10:27 PM)
Hey guys,

I'm planning to buy a secondhand Honda City Year around 2005 to 2006.

Is there anything I should notice before I buy? I mean like which version is better and such...
save up buy a new city. peace of mind biggrin.gif

i honestly dont know how people can buy 2nd hand cars..its very disturbing lor. unless you PERSONALLY know the seller. If not right, ull end up being paranoid most of the time, then little noise here and there also ull be very worried..etc etc. sometimes no problem also will become a problem.

if you can, get a new car ok? wink.gif

in my opinion lah smile.gif

julnoel
post Oct 30 2009, 01:42 AM

739 posts

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Oct 29 2009, 11:29 PM)
Any of you guys know the owner of Black Honda City number plate : BGW 3327 ?
whoa..why..scary
julnoel
post Nov 3 2009, 12:21 PM

739 posts

I have the same stains too, just that its LIGHTER than the car colour and its on the hood ):

I think bird shit...somehow..yeah ):

julnoel
post Nov 4 2009, 12:19 AM

739 posts

QUOTE(the_sandman @ Nov 3 2009, 02:56 PM)
Sorry to hijack this thread but I hope someone can share a little on oil change.

I recently bought a  2006 City VTEC with 14000km on the clock. According to the Honda manual, the oil change is to be done every 5000km. I find this interval very short, as even Proton cars come with a 10000km service interval.
I checked through the forum, and some people recommended using semi-syn oil and stretch up to 8000km. Is this advisable?

There are also talks on changing the CVT (gearbox?) oil every 20000km. Can someone elaborate more on this?

If this has been discussed before, I would appreciate if you can point me in the right direction.
The SC service guy told me that the gearbox oil should be changed every 5k ._.

But then again, I guess it depends on your driving style as well. if you're easy going and relaxed opposed to if you push really hard or somethin smile.gif

julnoel
post Nov 4 2009, 11:10 AM

739 posts

QUOTE(cikun @ Nov 4 2009, 05:58 AM)
i think you mean the engine oil. the gearbox oil change is for every 20k. that gearbox oil change cost around RM350. if that's the case you can easily be charged RM500 plus for your regular maintenance at the SC.

btw julnoel, i found few posts on motortrader and teamcity forums - the remote spare parts u can get cheaper at cobra sc. one forumer claimed he bought only the rubber stick for 1RM/pc.. dunno if it's true. but no harm to check it out. got 1 in kepong also. http://www.cobra.com.my/iframe_dealer_contact.html

Green Cool Tints & Security Sdn Bhd (Kepong Branch)
35, Jalan Ambong, Kepong Baru,
52100 Kuala Lumpur.
Tel / Fax : 03 - 6250 9638

i always wonder the use of mineral oil, semi-syn and full syn oil. i read somewhere that these oil grades can extend to longer service intervals, 5k, 8k and 10k respectively. but it's the oil filter that cannot withstand more than 5k. if that's true - are there alternatives to get better oil filter to match the oil grade? any thoughts on that, guys?
maybe you can be more specific? is it like knocking sound? where exactly does the sound come from?

correct me if i'm wrong, the car comes with 3 yr or 100,000km warranty right? if it's bad, you better send your car to a trusted SC for the warranty. else u'd have to fork out your own money.
gearbox oil change is 350? X_X but i got mine for like 100+ wor..the bottle itself is like 80 bucks or 90 bucks if im not mistaken :/ right? or u mean complete flushing...

the remote spare parts that i want is the remote itself actually ._. cos now the entire button has come off, leaving the bare metal thingy there..i scared water goes in and it rosaks, especially if it rains and im goin to my car in the rain or sth..

and apparently to change that..its gonna cost a lot ._.
julnoel
post Nov 5 2009, 12:02 AM

739 posts

QUOTE(cikun @ Nov 4 2009, 11:58 PM)
haha.. maybe i was exaggerating a lot, but the point was it cost a hole in my pocket when combined with engine oil change plus parts and labor. which brings me the question, as posted by our friend - do we to have change the gearbox oil every 5000km ?

julnoel,
i went to cobra sc in TTDI today.. got myself the remote casing for just RM20. i also bought 2 extra rubber sticks, RM1/pc.  rclxm9.gif i'm so happy!
heyy...

can tell me more ah? i wanna change my casing too, its just change the casing right cos nth is wrong with the chips inside..how did you ask the ppl? and they could do it fast? 20 bucks to change the casing?? smile.gif

tell me mroe ok
julnoel
post Nov 28 2009, 12:57 PM

739 posts

Hey I notice too that I find it difficult to rev above 3k rpm. ):

But when I sent my car for service the other day, the Sc fella who drove it around was revving it like nothing, I didnt notice if it did hit over 3k rpm or not but he didnt say anything so shld be okay??

And that memory reset thing, does it rly work? seems fairly simple to do smile.gif
julnoel
post Jan 15 2010, 01:32 PM

739 posts

can someone recommend a good mechanic who knows citys very well in kl?? I think sendin my 200k plus city to authrozied sc is startin to get a bit xpensive.
julnoel
post Jan 16 2010, 09:09 AM

739 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jan 15 2010, 10:47 PM)
200k+ already? blink.gif  I guess you might ask your mechanic to check on your timing chain to ensure it is not loosen yet. The rest of maintenance like break fluid,engine oil,CVTF need to be replaced according.
Yeah, my dad bought the car even with its 200k mileage because he knew the guy and the guy had good service record. Ah well, what can I say right? smile.gif As much as i disagree...I still use the car smile.gif

Mmm can anyone like share, what would be the important things that need to be done at the SC lah, this way I can save up on the not so important things that can be done outside.

The SC also said my front arms are weak or something (suspension??) and my mounting too (engine mounting?? quoted me RM 900) so yeah..and need to skim disc (dont rmb how much but quite expensive too). Can all of these be done outside?? Since my car is no longer under warranty..

Its just, what are the sensitive things that needs to be done by the authorized SC, please enlighten, any sifus.
julnoel
post Jan 17 2010, 03:01 PM

739 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jan 16 2010, 04:21 PM)
200k km - a hardcore user there. sweat.gif As long as your father satisfy with the car then it is ok. Between,yours is a VTEC or IDSI version? Front arms,guess should be the front absorbers.....Does the car vibrates a lot ? The engine mounting and from absorber i guess will not be that cheap. Skim disc,the rotators  are in equivalent both sides?  The these jobs can be done at outside shops as long as the mechanics good in repairing cars.
Mine is IDSI. No the car doesnt vibrate a lot.. ):

Anyone can recommend good mechanic familiar with City?
julnoel
post Jan 18 2010, 11:38 PM

739 posts

QUOTE(rmage @ Jan 18 2010, 09:30 AM)
Hi All,

Has anyone changed their City absorbers?  My back absorbers seemed to be giving problems. 

Went over a hump quite fast and there was this clang-clang sound (like no more support) from the back.  cry.gif

Some more there was no reflector painted at the hump.  So didn't see it when driving at night.

Wonder how much it would cost to change the absorbers....

5 years old CITY (vtec)  sweat.gif
hey...

i was on some hump in pyramid (those really hard rubbery hard humps and although i went supe rslow my friend said sittin at the back hurt him)

then on some normal hump it wasnt too bad, provided i went at abt 30kmph

is this a bad absorber as well or what??

julnoel
post Feb 11 2010, 08:31 PM

739 posts

Hey guys...

Need some help here ):

Recently while driving with the radio off, I noticed this sloshing sound whenever I brake. Its like water being sloshed around, like if you take a bottle then turn it over rapidly, then the water takes awhile to settle and while settling it makes that sloshing noise.

I can feel it usually at the handbrake, like the sloshing and was just wondering if its the fuel tank or something??

Please help ):

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0288sec    0.09    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:37 PM