58 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

~LY.Net Honda City Enthusiast Club~ V5

agv7981
post Jul 26 2009, 12:23 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(rmage @ Jul 25 2009, 10:52 PM)

Just changed tyres at Klang today.  Previously using Hankook Ventuz, and noted that when cornering at the kerinchi link (wet road) it'll slide to left eventhough just going around 70-80km.  Scare-scare, so friend recommended to change the tyres since mine has been more than 3 years already but the threading still look like new.  Is there a limit in tyre life since mine still looks new (with a bit makan the side - front wheels)? 

Sent it for service early July but they skipped the 80K service where they're suppose to change the spark plug & straight go to 85K service. mad.gif
Will need to check with SC if they can help to recalibrate ECU & see if it'll help. Hmm, wondering if it's also because I'm using semi-oil as well?

IMO tyres usually can be used for 1 year or 2 year (risky)... even you can see there are still many thread left.. very risky if use more than 2 year, the trye maybe already keras n crack.. it might meletup when you are driving... better safe than sorry..

mm maybe need to change the spark plug.. and if your car battery pernah kong.. also need to setting the ECU.. the SC mechanic told me that, if we want to change our car battery, the car engine must be running... then baru change the battery if not you need to setting the ECU, that what the SC mechanic told me la..

rmage
post Jul 27 2009, 08:35 AM

40 posts

blink.gif Wow... no wonder sliding. Luckily change already. If meletup sure die...

Last time my battery kong once and the SC change to new battery not sure if they on engine while changing it or not. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by rmage: Jul 27 2009, 08:37 AM
neato4u
post Jul 28 2009, 12:14 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

rmage :

Hey neato4u, thx for the helpful advice. 

Yeah, mine is the same version as yours... if not mistaken it's 2005 (not the facelift one). Outlook quite charn already lo... cause front & back bumper also kena kiss (paint came off + scratches) but haven't send for repainting yet. Was thinking of waiting to paint whole car only take care everything.

Mine older than yours lor.. version 2003 laugh.gif yeah mine got some scratches too at rear and side rear. Previously front bumper smashed, then repair, then rear bang pulak.. so now wait lor, not that free to repair yet (maybe mod? haha)

Just changed tyres at Klang today. Previously using Hankook Ventuz, and noted that when cornering at the kerinchi link (wet road) it'll slide to left eventhough just going around 70-80km. Scare-scare, so friend recommended to change the tyres since mine has been more than 3 years already but the threading still look like new. Is there a limit in tyre life since mine still looks new (with a bit makan the side - front wheels)?

If feel sliding better change. I slided once, but it's too late and smashed the front bumper on the divider (lucky just the front bumper!). And yes i was driving around 70 - 80 wet road, corner as well sweat.gif now not that brave anymore to take corner higher than 60km/h even after change new tyre (unless it's dry).

Sent it for service early July but they skipped the 80K service where they're suppose to change the spark plug & straight go to 85K service. 
Will need to check with SC if they can help to recalibrate ECU & see if it'll help. Hmm, wondering if it's also because I'm using semi-oil as well?

I tot the 80k is major service that costs around 800 bucks? Why they skipped that? But if you know what parts that need to be changed, better do it outside - SC costs a bomb.

Also when put into reverse gear and start reversing sometimes it'll jerk, send to the SC so many times but they say no problem with the car. Last time they mentioned it's because of the air-cond cause the guy who fixed the compressor set it to high that's why can feel jerking. After that, the SC fix it and it was ok awhile. But came back after awhile

The very common issue of honda city. Some guy even changed his gearbox, only to realize the issue happened again several weeks later! It's the cause of the lag of the auto transmission. When you change to R, it will take some time to engage the clutch or something... but it's normal, just keep your foot at brake, switch R, wait few seconds until you feel car pulling reverse, then only disengage your brake.. unless anyone else have a proper solution, i want to know oso.. hehe

Got a friend to try the emergency braking today (before changing new tyres) and he mentioned seem ok... But still, I think better send back to the brakepad workshop cause normally when I feel something is wrong with my CT, I'm usually right. Is it because I'm too in-tune with my car?
Your friend can only judge based on the current settings of your car brake. But he didn't feel what's it like previously. Only you can feel it. If you do feel there's something wrong, trust your guts and i agree if you send back for further check. Your old brake, it's stock or non stock? If you had a better brakes before, then changed to a cheapo brake pads, that maybe the cause oso.

All the best! laugh.gif
rmage
post Jul 28 2009, 01:22 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Jul 28 2009, 12:14 PM)
Mine older than yours lor.. version 2003 laugh.gif yeah mine got some scratches too at rear and side rear. Previously front bumper smashed, then repair, then rear bang pulak.. so now wait lor, not that free to repair yet (maybe mod? haha)
Me not going to mod le, girl driver here. tongue.gif So not really familiar with the mod thingy. Hehe

I tot the 80k is major service that costs around 800 bucks? Why they skipped that? But if you know what parts that need to be changed, better do it outside - SC costs a bomb.
Not sure why they skipped the 80K service as well. A friend was saying that they're trying to save cost for me cause current milleage is only 60K. sweat.gif

Was contemplating of not going to SC (Roda BB along old Klang road) anymore, can save money but unfortunately don't have any workshop that I'm familiar with

Does anyone have recommendations of any good workshop along Old Klang Road?

The very common issue of honda city. Some guy even changed his gearbox, only to realize the issue happened again several weeks later! It's the cause of the lag of the auto transmission. When you change to R, it will take some time to engage the clutch or something... but it's normal, just keep your foot at brake, switch R, wait few seconds until you feel car pulling reverse, then only disengage your brake.. unless anyone else have a proper solution, i want to know oso.. hehe
Haha.... yeah, if anyone got any other solutions, please do let us know. In the meantime will try out neato's advice first. biggrin.gif

Your friend can only judge based on the current settings of your car brake. But he didn't feel what's it like previously. Only you can feel it. If you do feel there's something wrong, trust your guts and i agree if you send back for further check. Your old brake, it's stock or non stock? If you had a better brakes before, then changed to a cheapo brake pads, that maybe the cause oso.
hmm.gif According to the guy, it's ori Honda (showed the honda box some more) but not sure whether they're tipu or not

This post has been edited by rmage: Jul 28 2009, 01:48 PM
agv7981
post Jul 30 2009, 09:06 AM

21 posts

Morning all..

what's up today..

raymond5105
post Jul 30 2009, 10:04 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Jul 16 2009, 11:48 AM)
zzzzzzz.... very quiet.

Went to kedah the other day. Max speed update was 180+km/h , was tailing a Rexton.

Can go faster i think but scared aldy bcoz got passenger inside car sweat.gif
That's fast man, 180km/h on VTEC..Not bad though. Your engine rev. until 6k rpm? Rexton is a monster on the road,don't play play. I tried to tail a Vios before with 160+km/h...The car just can't get off in front of me although.Haha.

I'm also going to change my tyres already,i planning to change to Michelin Energy XM1 with size 185/60/R14. The best price quoted to me is RM170 per piece with alignment and valves done on 4 tyres.

Added on July 30, 2009, 10:07 am
QUOTE(rmage @ Jul 28 2009, 01:22 PM)
hmm.gif  According to the guy, it's ori Honda (showed the honda box some more) but not sure whether they're tipu or not
Don't use Honda original break pads,they are still a lot of choices for you. The popular one would be Bendix,i changed mine to Nissin breakpads about 5 months ago,can feel it's better than the original one from Honda.

This post has been edited by raymond5105: Jul 30 2009, 10:07 AM
F1meteor
post Jul 30 2009, 10:26 AM

1,391 posts

QUOTE(rmage @ Jul 28 2009, 01:22 PM)
Me not going to mod le, girl driver here.  tongue.gif  So not really familiar with the mod thingy.  Hehe
Not sure why they skipped the 80K service as well.  A friend was saying that they're trying to save cost for me cause current milleage is only 60K.  sweat.gif

Was contemplating of not going to SC (Roda BB along old Klang road) anymore, can save money but unfortunately don't have any workshop that I'm familiar with 

Does anyone have recommendations of any good workshop along Old Klang Road?
Haha.... yeah, if anyone got any other solutions, please do let us know.  In the meantime will try out neato's advice first.  biggrin.gif
hmm.gif  According to the guy, it's ori Honda (showed the honda box some more) but not sure whether they're tipu or not
hmm.. the 80k is a major service. it changed quite a number of stuffs, brake fluid is 1 of the stuff they changed which i can remember. because once they changed the brake fluid, i can feel the brake is a lot better. they didn't change my brake pad.. they say still got more than 50% left...

when i do 80k service, my car is also lesser than 80k km...
but mind you some stuff needs to be changed after a period of time..
agv7981
post Jul 30 2009, 02:32 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(F1meteor @ Jul 30 2009, 10:26 AM)
hmm.. the 80k is a major service. it changed quite a number of stuffs, brake fluid is 1 of the stuff they changed which i can remember. because once they changed the brake fluid, i can feel the brake is a lot better. they didn't change my brake pad.. they say still got more than 50% left...

according to our service booklet, we must service our car every 5k or every 3 month which ever come first. In fact all cars follow the same rules.

if i not mistaken for major service at SC they change our spark plug and some other thing, for VTEC - RM 400++, for IDSI i'm not sure. That why the cost is expensive. I know this because i had a problem before, my car seem lack of power, then the SC check and they said my spark plug already need to replace even though my mileage only 15k at that time (normal VTEC sparkplug can last for 100k). It happen because of my car been to long (almost 2month) in the workshop and the work shop didn't start up my engine every day or once a while to warm up the engine. cry.gif
raymond5105
post Aug 1 2009, 07:19 PM

5,341 posts

@agv7981, booklet is benchmarked to the mineral based engine oil from them. If you are with semi-synthetic oil you may go for 7000 km before service. Replacing spark plugs and other are costing RM400+ ? What are the others parts which change? Spark plugs changed at 15k km seems to be abnormal,the life time of them wasn't long enough before the standard one.
rmage
post Aug 3 2009, 12:45 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jul 30 2009, 10:04 AM)
Don't use Honda original break pads,they are still a lot of choices for you. The popular one would be Bendix,i changed mine to Nissin breakpads about 5 months ago,can feel it's better than the original one from Honda.
That's good is it? Might think of changing it when my current one is worn out. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(F1meteor @ Jul 30 2009, 10:26 AM)

Hmm..... need to get them to do the 80K service on my next car service then. Worried already since it's major service. sad.gif

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Aug 1 2009, 07:19 PM)
@agv7981, booklet is benchmarked to the mineral based engine oil from them. If you are with semi-synthetic oil you may go for 7000 km before service. Replacing spark plugs and other are costing RM400+ ? What are the others parts which change? Spark plugs changed at 15k km seems to be abnormal,the life time of them wasn't long enough before the standard one.
Normally go service every 3 mths... if wait for 7K only service might have to wait 9 mths *paiseh* cause only use the car to drive to & fro office and go jalan-jalan only. blush.gif

This post has been edited by rmage: Aug 3 2009, 12:53 PM
raymond5105
post Aug 3 2009, 01:44 PM

5,341 posts

@rmage, currently with the Nissin break pad i can feel better in breaking. Let me go home and fine out the photo which i snapped previously. Your car mileage is only 2-3k km in 3 months? That's little man.
fredphua
post Aug 3 2009, 06:12 PM

Hi neato4u,

Read your post regarding honda city steering stuck issue. I'm having same issue and it is very irritating. Can you share more on the adjustment you made?
neato4u
post Aug 4 2009, 06:31 AM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

Hi fred, you can read about it in my blog here

http://neato4u.wordpress.com/2009/06/18/ho...ng-wheel-issue/

Although I start to feel a bit iritated of the clanking noise sweat.gif

rmage - Who say girl cannot mod? I seen lots of girls who modded their cars laugh.gif both are so sexy! hahaha

raymond5105 - oh yea i want to see em too. Not too syiok with my current brake. Er.. my mileage oso like 2 - 3k per 3 months I think tongue.gif
raymond5105
post Aug 4 2009, 09:07 AM

5,341 posts

@neato4u,yesterday was too late back to home. I will try to upload the photo by tonight if possible. The original break pad not so good though. Your car mileage is really low,2-3k only in 3 months. sweat.gif I thought driving in KL area should go more with the mileage.
fredphua
post Aug 4 2009, 09:12 AM

hi neato4u,

Thanks for your response. I'm trying to DIY and wonder can you point out exactly where is the place i need to perform the adjustment?
agv7981
post Aug 4 2009, 12:50 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Aug 1 2009, 07:19 PM)
Hi raymond,

the plug it self cost RM400++, the sc said it for VTEC, and can last for 100k KM.. since my car got an accident.. (only drove my car for 3 month) cry.gif
it been in the workshop for almost 2 month for repair.. at the workshop they cabut my battery and didnt start the car frequently..
so the plug already damage... and i can see it when the SC mechanic take out the plug..

they did recommend me to replace the normal plug but can only last for 10k KM only.. and that one cost more cheaper than the stock that our CITY use.

before i change the plug, i can see my car lack of pickup and power.. after change the plug.. i can see the different in power.. so i think the plug is the problem..
raymond5105
post Aug 4 2009, 01:17 PM

5,341 posts

@agv7981,their spark plugs is the normal NGK plugs. I don't think that the normal spark plugs are having such a short life at 10k km only.They are definitely bluffing on you.The plugs from them are costing RM400++? You ask them tapao and go home. In fact if you get 4 pieces of Iradium series also no need so expensive. doh.gif doh.gif I have no idea if the plugs will spoiled after 2 months in the car if no ignition started.

This weekend i'm going to do my 103k km service. I'm going to replace my spark plugs,engine oil,gear oil and fan belt if necessary. I'm going to replace my plugs with NGK G-Power series on my IDSI after my last replace at 56k km.

http://www.ngksparkplugs.com/products/spar...er.asp?mode=nml

Added on August 4, 2009, 1:21 pmIf i not mistaken,the OEM NGK plugs on our City is looking like this.

I do have 4 more spark plugs from Honda where i'm not going to use anymore. Thinking of letting go at cheap price. Will show some photos to you all tonight.

This post has been edited by raymond5105: Aug 4 2009, 01:21 PM
agv7981
post Aug 4 2009, 02:00 PM

21 posts

Haiyaa... they got me.. doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif since my car still under warranty had to believe what ever they say..
if not warranty void.. sad.gif

have to wait until the warranty period over.. just done my 30k service last Saturday. got 2 more free service.. then have to pay..

raymond5105
post Aug 4 2009, 02:04 PM

5,341 posts

SCs are really blood suckers.
agv7981
post Aug 4 2009, 02:23 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Aug 4 2009, 02:04 PM)
SCs are really blood suckers.
agreed with you nod.gif

58 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:20 PM